Tours and Tickets

Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included! provided by Inti Travel

Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included!

Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included!
3.5
Book in advance
from
$49.42
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
7h
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
12
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    7h
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Group size:
    12
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 7h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 7h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 85529P1
Important information
Inclusions
  • Professional bilingual guide (English and Spanish)
  • Transport round trip.
  • Lunch.
  • Hotel pickup (selected hotels only) (or meeting point)
  • Drop-off San Francisco Church.
  • Entrance Fee to Tiwanaku.
  • Entry/Admission - Tiwanaku
  • Entry/Admission - Puma Punku
Exclusions
  • Drinks
  • Hotel drop-off
Duration
7h
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • All Hotels in DOWNTOWN. Ask about your hotel.
  • Maria Auxiliadora Church, Av. 16 de Julio, La Paz, Bolivia Meeting point with prior announcement. pick up time: 8:30 a.m. The main gate of Maria Auxiliadora Church.
  • Basilica of Saint Francis, Sagarnaga 173, La Paz, Bolivia Drop off time 04:30 p.m.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Adult pricing applies to all travelers.
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required.
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
Inclusions
  • Professional bilingual guide (English and Spanish)
  • Transport round trip.
  • Lunch.
  • Hotel pickup (selected hotels only) (or meeting point)
  • Drop-off San Francisco Church.
  • Entrance Fee to Tiwanaku.
  • Entry/Admission - Tiwanaku
  • Entry/Admission - Puma Punku
Exclusions
  • Drinks
  • Hotel drop-off
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • All Hotels in DOWNTOWN. Ask about your hotel.
  • Maria Auxiliadora Church, Av. 16 de Julio, La Paz, Bolivia Meeting point with prior announcement. pick up time: 8:30 a.m. The main gate of Maria Auxiliadora Church.
  • Basilica of Saint Francis, Sagarnaga 173, La Paz, Bolivia Drop off time 04:30 p.m.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
7h
Return details
  • Basilica of Saint Francis, Sagarnaga 173, La Paz, Bolivia Drop off time 04:30 p.m.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Adult pricing applies to all travelers.
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required.
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Maria Auxiliadora Church
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Tiwanaku
    Stop: 4 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Puma Punku
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Basilica of Saint Francis
    Sagarnaga 173, La Paz, Bolivia
    Drop off time 04:30 p.m.
    See address & details
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

3.5
11 reviews
Excellent
4
Very good
1
Average
3
Poor
1
Terrible
2

CanadianOnABreak
12 contributions
Dec 2018 • Solo
This tour was okay - the tour guide was pretty good and enthusiastic about the site, although a bit hard to understand in English. The lunch was good. Tiwanaku is nice to see, especially the statues (!!), but isn't the best archaeological site in South America that's for sure. I'd only recommend for those who love ruins - like me, and even I wasn't overly impressed.

I don't think we got what we paid for with Inti Travel though - people who booked in person seemed to have paid a lot less than we did (we booked online). I don't mind a small surcharge for the ease of booking online but I think we paid about 60% more. If I had paid what the others paid, I would say we received good value.
Written December 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Janice, Thank you for your comment, Tiwanaku is amazing, and there are a lot of archaeological places for discover, that part that you visited is only the 5% everything is underground. Impresive. About price, is not correct that is 60% more expensive, maybe you asked the price in other tour operators, yes, they are ""cheap"", but they dont include ENTRANCE FEE that is expensive, they dont include LUNCH, they dont include a Bus only for tourists. they dont include a especialized guide in Tiwanaku. We include everything into the price, because we have one ideology : "Pay everything at the beginning, and then only enjoy your tour" for that reason is a different price to the other companies. Thank you Janice.
Written December 22, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sean K
Canberra, Australia276 contributions
The places we visited were nice and I'm glad I got to go to Tiwanaku and Puma Punku, but I wasnt really happy with the tour itself.

I changed hotels and even though I informed them, they didn't pass the information on to the driver so I waited an extra 40 minutes before the bus got me.

I got the feeling the guide was rushing the tour and giving a lot more information and going much deeper into the history of the place to the group in Spanish than she was when speaking in English.

Written October 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Irena S
1 contribution
Dec 2018 • Solo
Tour well organized. All participants were English speaking, however, the guide continually mixed Spanish and English and we were getting lost in hearing such mix.
There should be more research archaeological research done for this site!
Written December 5, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you Irena. :)
Written December 22, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

oolong18
Rotterdam, The Netherlands43 contributions
I booked this tour via Tripadvisor as it received some good ratings and the guide was in English according to the description. I was picked up with a large coach (30 pax) with 18 spanish speaking folks and 2 English speaking. Besides the really large group, it also meant that the biggest part, about 85-90% of the explanations of the guide were in Spanish. It really felt like a rip-off, I could have gone to Tiwanaku with a private driver and would have been cheaper off. The other English speaking person spent 35% less and received the same ‘all-inclusive’ offering. I also did my research online, and saw that not all the tour operators are as good as others, as usual. I went deliberately not with Maya Tours since they received many negative comments. At the end of our tour, I received an envelope (with tips for the guide) and a booklet to write down my positive feedback, that said largely: Maya Tours. Please make sure not to book via them if you are looking for an informative tour around these great sites.
Written July 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1HappyTraveler2008
Boston, MA13 contributions
Aug 2019
Tiwanaku has so much history and interesting stories about the culture and the place. I really wish we had a better guide who was interested in telling us about the place. It was a shame really.

We were picked up by the guide in our hotel in downtown La Paz. He didn’t introduce himself. He just asked us for our names and told us to follow him to the van. When we got to the van, we saw that the van was old, kind of dirty, and it was full. My husband and I had to seat separately as there were no two seats together and the guide did not even bother to ask other passengers to allow us to sit together.

Throughout the trip, I had problems understanding the guide. He would speak 2 sentences in Spánish, then a sentence in English, then go back to Spanish again. It got tiring following him, so I stopped paying attention. This was very unfortunate because I was interested in learning more about Tiwanaku as I have heard so much about it. However, as much as I tried to listen, it was difficult trying to listen to someone who spoke too softy in half Spanish and English and rather in a monotonous voice.

During lunchtime, we ate at a local restaurant. The food was fine and the place was clean. The driver and the guide (along with other guides) were sitting in a separate table and drinking beer. I am not sure if this is an accepted practice in Bolivia, but I thought this was rather unprofessional to be drinking while working - especially the driver.

Perhaps, it was my lack of understanding of SpanGlish from the guide, but before our van arrived to our final destination in San Francisco Plaza, our guide left us in the middle of nowhere. We were left in the van with the bus driver who did not speak any English. Again, maybe I have set my expectations too high, but I would think (and expect) it is the guide’s responsibility to accompany us to our final destination.

Final thought: I felt a bit ripped off by this tour. It was not the money, but the time spent. I felt we wasted 6 hours of precious time listening to someone who obviously was not interested in his job. My advice: spend a bit more money and hire a private car and guide. Make sure that the guide is someone who likes his job and is interested in telling you the story and history about Tiwanaku.
Written August 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Zhoe O
Mollendo, Peru5 contributions
Inti Travel, 10xu! for this fabulous tour!
Our guide Leo was really informative he spoke in English &Spanish everybody were excited... Leo show us puna punku
Wtf! A lot of history...
I really enjoyed this tour.
Food: delicious :)
Written March 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inti T
Thanks.
Written June 28, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KOEHLER B
2 contributions
Mar 2019 • Friends
1. Tour guide was brusque at pick-up, did not introduce himself
2. Guide did not speak well in english, and his translation style (one sentence spanish, one sentence english) was not good for easy comprehension
3. There was a 1.5 hr delay in the trip due to driver getting the van booted, not communicating to us, and then leaving without explaining why (and leaving his cellphone in the car)
4. Tour operator was not receptive to feedback, left us hanging
Written March 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inti T
Dear KOEHL, About your comments, First we are really apologize, for the tour and because the guide didn’t introduce himself with you. The guide surely spoke a phrase - idea ( not only sentences) and translated it into English and Spanish because that day there were people who spoke English and Spanish, and apologies if we couldn't do the tour only in English for you. But we must integrate all people. When there was the problem with the driver, it was not that the driver went for a walk, the problem was that we had to pick up a person from the bus station, and when we picked up the person from the bus station, a police officer put a lock and the driver had to go to the bank to pay for the car lock that the police officer put to the car. We are really apologies, but it wasn’t our fault, the police didn’t understand that it was a tourist transport. And when you wrote your claim here, we can’t understand why you say "Tour operator was not receptive to feedback, left us hanging". We try to find a solution for all the group quickly. Can you also talk about the good things? And Also can you say that when you arrived to Tiwanaku you and your friend were far from to the group and explanation of the guide? We always try to do the best job for all our clients and that day was an mistake that came out of our hands. Again, please we are apologize.
Written March 14, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Inti Travel
Ahryfree
Ahryfree
00
My best wishes to you
We had an amazing experience at Uyuni 3 days + Buses. From start to finish, a wonderful team was ready to give you
crescentisland
crescentisland
00
Impossible rock cutting
Very interesting rock placement, precision cutting and connections that are impossible today but done centuries bef
Hakon202
Hakon202
00
Culture & bikes
Perfect full day trip, with a skilled guide who was good at telling about the death road and to ensure a safe desce
GlenLivet
GlenLivet
00
Disappointing Tour and a Tough Climb
We booked a tour to the Valley of The Moon and Mt Chacaltaya out of LaPaz. We were there in November, 2019 during t
kgolsan
kgolsan
00
Private transport
I contacted Inti Travel about a night transfer from Uyuni to Potosi. Although I did not end up using their service
Peligugu
Peligugu
00
Culture & Bikes
It was a great trip with the bike down the Death road,thank you Octavio for this amazing trip Gustav
yjk72770
yjk72770
00
Inti company
This company was very disorganized. They didn't pick me up, and I had to call them multiple times. The reason why t
Elias_Rovielo
Elias_Rovielo
00
Second day and without fear.
The tour is really cool. It was our second day, we felt the altitude sickness as soon as we got to the hotel. The
ross1711uk
ross1711uk
00
Problems with a bike and lots of hassle to get t-shirts and photos
Having done the La Paz city tour with Inti Travel and having being impressed with them (Steph was a great guide), I
boblaws
boblaws
00
the biggest mirror in the world
It was one of the best tours we took, we did the tour of Chacaltaya and Moon Valley, and then they helped us with t
Joshclk
Joshclk
00
Exciting death road
we started the tour very early ... we were picked up from the hotel and we enjoyed the descent ... pure adrenaline
normanbusch
normanbusch
00
Excellent service
We had a tour to Uyuni for 3 days in shared service, it was the best ... highly recommended ... thanks inti travel
ianlN6171ED
ianlN6171ED
00
A lot of wasted time
The actual biking section was good,but the whole tour didn’t need to take 14 hours We were picked up about 40min la
cheneric924
cheneric924
00
Great tour guide but horrible logistic
The tour guide is professional and friendly. Really enjoyed the bike ride on death road. However, the tour logistic
Caitlin J
Caitlin J
00
Chacaltaya and Moon Valley Half Day Trip
This is advertised as a half day trip although you don’t actually get back to La Paz center until about 4:30pm, so
Frequently Asked Questions about Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included!


Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included! price starts from $49.42. Discover and book Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included! on Tripadvisor

Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included! cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included! on Tripadvisor

Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included! is hosted by Inti Travel. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Inti Travel on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Tiwanaku & Puma Punku - The Ancient Civilization - Everything Included! on Tripadvisor