Tours and Tickets

Surfing Lesson in Phuket provided by Talay Surf School

Surfing Lesson in Phuket
4.5
Book in advance
from
$36.09
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
91% of travelers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
1h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
10
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    1h 30m
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    10
  • Stroller accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 12255P1
Important information
Inclusions
  • Surfing lesson
  • Professional istructor
  • Use of surfboard, leash, and rash guard
  • Sunscreen
  • Bottled water
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
1h 30m
Departure details
  • Unnamed Road, Tambon Choeng Thale, Amphoe Thalang, Chang Wat Phuket 83110, Thailand Please meet on the beach in front of Catch Beach Club, Bangtao Beach
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A minimum of 3 people is required for a group lesson
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
Inclusions
  • Surfing lesson
  • Professional istructor
  • Use of surfboard, leash, and rash guard
  • Sunscreen
  • Bottled water
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Unnamed Road, Tambon Choeng Thale, Amphoe Thalang, Chang Wat Phuket 83110, Thailand Please meet on the beach in front of Catch Beach Club, Bangtao Beach
Duration
1h 30m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A minimum of 3 people is required for a group lesson
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
12 reviews
Excellent
11
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Dataspice
Singapore, Singapore9 contributions
Aug 2019
Thanks for the awesome surfing lessons for my sons, Tim & crew! They are now hooked! Will be back for more!
Written August 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skylassurf
Thanks, we had a lot of fun surfing with them! Can't wait for the next surf session together, thanks again! Skyla's Team!
Written August 8, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jaywhytravels
1 contribution
Jun 2019 • Friends
Had been wanting to try surfing for a long time and Skylas came up as a beginner-friendly surf club! They didn’t disappoint at all as the instructors were friendly, patient and encouraging! Instructors were close by all the time in the water, so those less confident in swimming can be assured that you are in good hands! We never ventured further than chest to neck high waters in any case.

We were blessed with great weather and bangtao beach in Phuket is known to have friendly waves that are not too challenging for beginners to ride. The surf school is also conveniently located just outside Catch Beach Club so friends or loved ones that do not want to engage in the sport can relax. It also provides for ease of washing off with a shower and changing rooms available for use!

Definitely recommend Skylas for anyone that wants to try out surfing!
Written June 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skylassurf
Hey Jayme, Was great to have you join us for a surf lesson. You did really well for your first session. Hope the rest of your Phuket holiday was fun & hope to see you back again soon to keep building on those surf skills. Skyla's Team!
Written June 6, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Esther D
1 contribution
We did one surfing lesson with three friends. The teachers were amazing. Very friendly and so motivating. They give you great advise and help you. In the end everybody improved a lot.
The surf school is also the cheapest that we found so far. Best offer :) thank you for an amazing day !!
Written July 28, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Vacationer815094
Edinburgh, UK3 contributions
Sep 2019
I booked this for myself and my partner & paid well in advance.

When we got there not only is there no club but we were told me couldn't proceed with surfing due to the bad weather conditions. The guy, Tim, told us we would get a refund.

Two weeks have passed by and still no refund.

They had been communicating with me on the lead up to the excursion. Why wasn't I informed even a few hours before the lesson that they had cancelled it? I spent a fortune just travelling to the Surf "Club".

The whatsapp number they provided is now non-existent i.e. no one responds or picks up.
Written September 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skylassurf
Hi Anisah, I’m sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Our club is a group of people not a building sorry If there was confusion about that. As we are in our monsoon season conditions change very quickly and because we put safety first it was a shame you couldn’t have your lesson at that time due to the bad weather. As promised your refund has already been processed so, Trip Advisor is handling this refund and can take some time. I’m sure you’ll receive it soon. Hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable, take care. Skyla’s Team
Written September 10, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chedi
2 contributions
Jun 2019 • Solo
Had a great time Surfing with Tony and Tim, they were super easy going and made it an experience to remember! Highly recommend!
Written June 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skylassurf
Hey Chedi, It is great to see your surfing improve every time you come surfing with us, well done! Thanks and see you soon, Skyla's Team
Written June 28, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

greywolf789
Hong Kong, China6 contributions
As a father with two sons visiting Phuket, we joined Skylas for surfing last week. Had a great time and were catching waves in no time. Tim and “Big” are excellent. Loads of fun and surprising calorie burn too. Superb location for an afternoon with nearby good beach lunch, nice spa, and can finish up with a cocktail and sunset at Catch.
Written June 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skylassurf
Hey Hey, It's great to see the parents get involved with their kids, you did great! An excuse now to book more family surfing holidays! Thanks again and hope to see you back, Skyla's Team!
Written June 8, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Josie L
42 contributions
Aug 2018 • Family
My kids and I both enjoyed ourselves throughout the surfing sessions! We wished we could have done more! Instructors were very motivating and cheerful ! and of course responsible and helpful. Other than that, I would say that they do have very good interaction with the kids, my son absolutely adores his instructor and even named him "Apple" !To find an instructor who is good is not easy but a good instructor that could handle kids that was a bonus! I was slightly worried at first as its the first time for both of my 7 + & 8+ children to experience surfing, plus not absolutely sunny weather but it turned out to be fantastic! I'm glad that they now loved it! Any first experience for a child is important! I would definitely recommend this area for beginners and Skyla's Surf & SUP of course ! Tim himself was very helpful and replied us promptly.My partner and I are both very happy and satisfied !
Written August 26, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Josie, So stoked you & your kids had fun. Yes seeing your kids head out into the ocean & waves for the first time can be scary. It's a great age to start when they are young as it builds their confidence and skills. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon. Skyla's Team
Written November 27, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bxnyc63
New York City, NY12 contributions
Jul 2018 • Solo
This was my very first time ever surfing. So I really had no idea what to expect. That was probably a great thing. No expectations other than trying to learn something new in beautiful Phuket.

Tim is an amazing teacher. He is very calm, collected, thoughtful and attentive to you as a learner. From the very first moment of introductions he was always welcoming and friendly. Before going out to do anything he made sure I had the right clothing and let me wear one of the surf shop’s top. I would recommend a bright color for photo at the end if you bring your camera.

Tim took his time to explain everything on land before we even began to do anything in the water. I also practiced on the beach before doing it out in the ocean. Another great way to learn before jumping in and doing it. Each step of the way he made sure to coach me through what he thought was an opportunity for me to improve my practice.

Once we were out on the water he was always by my side. Holding the board so I could jump onto it and lay down. Reminding me where about my feet placement. He watched and waited for the right moment to turn the board around to face the beach. When he felt the right wave was coming he would let me know he was going to let go. Therefore I always felt safe and secure.

Throughout the experience I never felt like he was watching a clock. Tim loves what he does and he wanted to make sure I had a great experience. I also believe he wanted to keep on going till he felt I caught and rode that wave.

The experience itself was truly amazing. It is soooooooooooo much fun. It is exhilarating to do. Also you will get a great work out. Although it’s fun you are using your whole body to really get things done trying to catch and ride a wave.

I would highly recommend Tim for an amazing surfing experience. Even if you’re not a beginner I am highly confident he can adjust his instruction to meet your level of knowledge.

Tim thanks for a great experience.
Written July 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kay W
2 contributions
Jun 2018 • Friends
We did a last minute booking for SUP for weekend getaway. Tim was very helpful and suggested us to do a surfing instead because of the wave. We ended up book for three for surfing. It was really a nice first time surfing experience. And Tim was there to take pictures for us (all stand on the board!). Finally, three of us managed to get on the board. Thank you Tim and the team.
Written July 3, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rudi C
Hong Kong, China6 contributions
May 2018 • Solo
This is my first surfing lesson ever and the experience is awesome. The coaches are very patient and very willing to share the experience and knowledge. Thanks to their guides I am able to stand up from the surfboard in the first lesson.

Skyla's is located on the beautiful Bangtao Beach. The location takes 20-25 mins drive from Patong Beach but given it is away from the crowd you could enjoy all kind of wave among the long Bangtao Beach.

I will definitely recommend this Surfing experience with Skylas if you're in Phuket! And I am planning to meet the team again later this year !
Written May 15, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Talay Surf School
wanetteg2020
wanetteg2020
00
30th Birthday Experience
To Tim and his team! Thank you for making our birthday the best birthday ever. From all the laughing to falling of
dobbo60
dobbo60
00
Best hire for SUP in Phuket.
Hire boards couple of times at Bangtao Beach Which great place to paddle they have full range of boards also back
Cameron M
Cameron M
00
Best Surf Experience
I traveled up and town Thailand to surf. Booked 5 different surf camps this by far was the best. I even came back u
J955YGdaniellem
J955YGdaniellem
00
School Holiday 2-day Surf Camp
My three children did the 2-day School Holiday Surf Camp with Tim and his team at Bangtao beach. They had an absolu
Andy L
Andy L
00
Andy
Had an amazing experience learning SUP from these folks. Highly recommended. Will definitely do it again the next
202andreyk
202andreyk
00
Fantastic experience = must do on Phuket!
I went for SUP tour on my first vacation day on March 1st and it was the brightest impression of my stay on Phuket.
Nuala P
Nuala P
00
Great group activity and fun way to explore the Bay
We all loved our SUP tour which I organised for my sisters Hens day. It was a great group activity and they catered
Will_oo_Wisp
Will_oo_Wisp
00
SUP lesson
Very informative paddleboard lesson for an hour, with good tips for how to paddle, stop and turn. Even got to keep
JckNmn
JckNmn
00
Excellent friendly service, definitely recommend.
I rented a 10’6 SUP for the day, and only booked it the afternoon before. Emailed through the contact form on the w
matthew m
matthew m
00
Paddle board patong beach
I emailed them the day I was arriving and got a quick response. Tim delivered a nice board and paddle to my hotel,
catchagirls
catchagirls
00
AMAZING
I was in Phuket on the weekends and I thought it would be nice to have some fun apart from chilling and sunbathing
Dawn C
Dawn C
00
Adventure with a Heart
Had initally chatted to Tim on doing surf classes, but was unsure how my travel plans would turn out, so they sugge
veershah16
veershah16
00
Pretty chill instructors. Perfect for beginners.
I’ve surfed before and thought this would be a good place to practice. Water is warm waves are alright. Most inst
Jing Y
Jing Y
00
Awesome relaxing 2 days package!
Travelled solo for a week and stumble across their holiday package, save me heaps planning and I can just relax and
Kirsten O
Kirsten O
00
Great Surf Escape from Bangkok!
I work in Bangkok, and needed a break from the big city at the ocean, and the Skylas Surf Club was the best choice.
Frequently Asked Questions about Surfing Lesson in Phuket

Surfing Lesson in Phuket price starts from $46.40. Discover and book Surfing Lesson in Phuket on Tripadvisor

Surfing Lesson in Phuket cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Surfing Lesson in Phuket on Tripadvisor

Surfing Lesson in Phuket is hosted by Talay Surf School. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Talay Surf School on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Surfing Lesson in Phuket on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 1h 30m. Discover and book Surfing Lesson in Phuket on Tripadvisor