We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shore Excursion: Highlights of Marlborough Wine Region from Picton

Select Date and Travelers
2 travelers
    What to Expect
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Stop At: Queen Charlotte Sound, Queen Charlotte Walk, Picton New Zealand

    The Port of Picton in the Queen Charlotte Sound welcomes cruise ships throughout the season and it is a lovely seaside spot to explore. Just 25 minutes south of Picton, your tour takes you on a scenic journey to enjoy the famous Marlborough wine region.
    The most popular highlights of the day are wine tasting, sampling local gourmet treats and the spectacular scenic routes of the Wairau Valley while travelling to and from the most beautiful winery gardens and cellar doors.

    Duration: 2 hours

    Stop At: Makana Confections, Corner of Rapaura Road and O'Dwyer's Road, Blenheim 7273 New Zealand

    Experience gourmet treats of cheese tasting, manuka honey, oils, liqueurs, a refreshing gelato or decadent fudge.  If time allows you can also request a stop at the Omaka Air Museum where you can view Peter Jackson’s amazing displays of his classic aircraft.  The tour can continue and your chauffeur/guide will return in approximately one hour to pick you up from the Air Museum.
    Seasonal produce is also available at roadside stalls from December through to February. You can take these aboard but must eat them before you disembark. You can buy juicy strawberries, cherries, apricots, and nectarines.
    Although your cruise ship caters well for you, a light tapas or cheese/meat/seafood platter with matching wines is a great way to experience the local cuisine. Your tour guide arranges a picturesque winery garden or a chateau high on a hill with magnificent views for your pleasure.
    Generally tours are from 4-5 hours but we keep flexibility in schedules for each ship and cater for passengers comfort and requirements.  You travel in comfortable, small personal vehicles of 6 or 11 seats and will return to your ship at least 2 hours prior to your scheduled departure.
    Before leaving Blenheim you can visit the Makana Boutique Chocolate Confections – a treat not to be missed.

    Duration: 2 hours

    Stop At: Your Local Chauffeur, Springswood Grove Springlands, Blenheim 7201 New Zealand

    For a highlight to end a wonderful day when we arrive back in Picton, why not take advantage of a short 15 minute return drive from the township to the Victoria Domain for high vantage views of Picton Port, Queen Charlotte Sound and your ship.
    Your chauffeur/guide is a local owner who has great passion for the Marlborough region, and looks forward to sharing it all with you.
    Worry-free Shore Excursion:
    We will ensure your excursion ends with ample time for you to return to the Picton port for your ship’s departure.  In the extremely unlikely event your ship has departed, we will arrange for transportation to the next port of call. If your ship is delayed and you are unable to attend to this activity, your money will be refunded. See our terms and conditions for full details.

    Duration: 2 hours
    Show More
    Reviews (66)
    Filter reviews
    13 results
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Traveler rating
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews chocolate factory new zealand pamela operator tours
    Selected filters
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 13 reviews
    Reviewed 5 weeks ago

    “Well yet another cruise tour over and here I am finally writing my review Pamela. I am slack I know – January was a long way back now.. It was great to meet you and I am sure I will come up to Marlborough on...More

    Date of experience: January 2019
    3  Thank Cruising69
    Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

    Sorry for late review! Our day was made perfect by the great weather when we arrived into Picton. We were excited to try the wine and it did not disappoint. Going home with new favourites. What a busy day, Pamela our tour operator was amazing...More

    Date of experience: January 2019
    3  Thank sfs89
    Reviewed April 8, 2019

    This tour was very disappointing. We only had one day in Picton and it was wasted. Despite being told to be at the car park within one hour's arrival of our cruise ship, we were left waiting for over an hour and a half with...More

    Date of experience: February 2019
    2  Thank margj396
    Pamela M, Owner at Your Local Chauffeur, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

    HI Mardi As mentioned to you I would respond as your review is not warranted. I have reported your review and if you could not understand that the delay was of no fault of our wonderful tour that has terrific reviews and you have created...More

    Reviewed March 17, 2019

    Through an arrangement of the cruise ship we were dropped off at a nearby iSite. My wife and I purchased this 1.5-hour trip there for $45 each. When the minivan came to pick us up, we found we were the only two people on that...More

    Date of experience: February 2019
    1  Thank Bruce C
    Pamela M, Owner at Your Local Chauffeur, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

    THIS IS NOT MY TOUR. PLEASE REMOVE AND CONTACT THE TOUR THAT YOU ACTUALLY TOOK. This is not my rate and I do not have an Indian Driver. Two people on a cruise ship tour. I have numbers of more than 11 -40 people.

    Reviewed March 3, 2019

    Ship docked at 7:00 suppose to meet the guide an hour later BUT no one showed till about 9:15. We were told we would be on next van which did not show till 9:45. We told the company when we booked the ship left at...More

    Date of experience: March 2019
    2  Thank Barbara P
    Pamela M, Owner at Your Local Chauffeur, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

    Hi There Barbara I welcome reviews and with a positive note I must reply accordingly. I do not accept your comment of giving you a lie. This borders on a legal matter. In actual fact Port Marlborough made a huge mistake to which I can...More

    View more reviews
    Questions & Answers
    Ask a question
    December 13, 2018|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Pamela M | Property representative |
    Hi from Pamela The schedule isn't released until February. However I have my own search process into the cruise lines and usually the first to release dates available. To speed up Your booking can you give me your date... More
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: