Tours and Tickets
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest

By Cityrama Sightseeing Tours
from
$62.17
per adult
from
$62.17
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 45 per group
Duration:8h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:Mobile
German, English, Spanish


  • Professional guide
  • Boat ride between May and September (Szentendre – Budapest)
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entry/Admission - Esztergom Basilica / Cathedral
  • Entry/Admission - Danube River
What's not included
  • Hotel pick-up & drop-off
  • Lunch
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - Visegrad


Departure details
  • Budapest, Báthory utca 19, 1054 Hungary Báthory utca 19
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Infant seats available
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 43641P11

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest?
How much is Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest?
Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest price starts from $61.15. Discover and book Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest on Tripadvisor
What is the Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest cancellation policy?
Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest?
Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest is hosted by Cityrama Sightseeing Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Cityrama Sightseeing Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 43641P11

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Báthory utca 19
    Budapest, Báthory utca 19, 1054 Hungary
    Báthory utca 19
    See address & details
  • 1
    Esztergom Basilica / Cathedral
    Stop: 30 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Parkovisko - Námestie slobody II
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Visegrádi fellegvár
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 4
    Main Square (Fo ter)
    Stop: 75 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Danube River
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Báthory utca 19
    Budapest, Báthory utca 19, 1054 Hungary
    Báthory utca 19
    See address & details
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

Paradise531620
Paradise531620
00
Gyuri was the Best!
This was the first time we visited Budapest. The 4- hour tour took us to major sights and scenic views. The driv
Calum G
Calum G
00
Interesting and comprehensive half day trip
I was very pleased with Cityrama's City Tour with Danube Cruise. The tour allowed us to cover a lot of ground quic
OnAir697666
OnAir697666
00
1st time to Budapest tour
Getting the tour to the Parliament was an unexpected treat for the short time we were in Budapest. When making the
igorsdriga
igorsdriga
00
Very good!
Today had fantastic private Budapest City tour with guide Gyuri. Very nice easy going with lots of info and great p
anntE6032DP
anntE6032DP
00
It was a very informative tour
It was a great experience from beginning to end with our tour guide Gyuri who was very informative and entertaining
Fabio M
Fabio M
00
Week End with friends
Amazing building which is mandatory to visit in Budapest, perfect organization and guide. Handy audio guide.
Kathleen M
Kathleen M
00
Exceptional tour & Guide - Andi
Andi (Andrea) was an outstanding tour guide for our group of 8 English-speakers. She managed the time well so that
Basil V
Basil V
00
Nice trip to Godollo palace
A nice trip to Godollo palace, a beautiful palace with an interesting story. Excellent guide mrs Vera , she gave us
CandaceR139
CandaceR139
00
Guide with knowledge
My husband and I met up with Mike (Mihaly) at the appropriate time. He quickly got us informed about the bike and
Jake H
Jake H
00
3 Hour Budapest Tour review
Fun and informative tour around some of Budapest’s main attractions. Heavy traffic prevented us from going to Heroe
Rafael G
Rafael G
00
Amazing lake and visit to he Hereld porcelain shop and museum
The guide Gguri was an excellent guide and adjusted to our needs and the situation of the trip. He went out of his
Explorer642077
Explorer642077
00
Budapest Grand City Tour with Parliament Visit
There was extremely limited information given by the tour guide, did not learn much. Most places were just a drive-
86saarg
86saarg
00
Half day trip close to Budapest
We took a taxi, but can also arrive by boat or public transport. About 30 min drive. Note, once there a bit more d
bratislavacitytours
bratislavacitytours
00
Pest 2 hours walking tour
I highly recommend this tour for those who want to become familiar with Pest side of Bratislava. The guide has been
800marciag
800marciag
00
Excellent Budapest tour
Excellent tour by Andreas, although his fist language was French , his English was excellent and explanied the poin
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
27 reviews
Excellent
17
Very good
2
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
3

Petra
2 contributions
Jul 2022 • Friends
Be aware; it is NOT a boat trip! Once we got over that disappointment and entered the minivan (with airco, that was perfect with 36+) from Gyuri we had a wonderful day full of storys, facts and beautiful sights.

Gyuri was the best. He had an immense knowledge and the stories about his childhood neighborhood and all the local facts about the places we visited was absolutely wonderful!! Thank you!!
Written July 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mary-Grace O
Houston, TX3 contributions
May 2022
We had a great day visiting these beautiful places. Our tour guide, Gyuri, was very knowledgeable about the area, the history of these towns and the history of Hungary. He showed us very unique places with magnificent views of the Danube. Highly recommended!! Thank you Gyuri for your excellent service.
Written May 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Tamás F
1 contribution
Jul 2019
It's a huge thank you to Cityrama inc. for secured a whole day of entertaintment and fun for us. We had an opportunity to see Hungarys most famous and most beautiful nature attractions. It was a plesure to see Esztergom and Szentendre.
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear 856tam_sf, what a nice review! Thank you very much for sharing it with us. It is a great pleasure for the whole CITYRAMA Team that you were satisfied with our services! Yours sincerely, Dorottya Berkes Sales Representative
Written February 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patricia T
Aarhus, Denmark20 contributions
Aug 2018 • Couples
The tour started nicely, a taxi picked us up and drove to the meeting point. It became annoying afterwards. We started late because apparently some other pickups weren't that flawless. The driver and the tour guide lady were keep chatting in Hungarian and probably I was the only one understanding it since I was the only Hungarian guest there with my German boyfriend. They were complaining about their job, random mean gossips and complaining about the trip organizations - or the lack of it. The time arrangement of the trip is VERY BAD. The given free times are totally insufficient to explore the places. This trip is just a drive around with a few stops where the tour guide is bored out of her mind and telling to take a few photos. In the basilica of Esztergom she suggested to climb up to the top (ticket not included in the trip). We climbed up rather speedily but still from the top we practically had to run down and couldn't see anything else around the basilica.
Visegrad castle was even worse. Based on my experience, the driver's and tour guide's chat, it's a shady business between the agency and the castle. We went in but neither us or the tour guide got a ticket upon entrance. After a literally 3 mins intro speech of the castle, we got 25 mins to explore the castle and were told that inside if we were asked to present our tickets, just say "we are with the group". I tried, I talked even Hungarian with the local ticket checking people but they had no clue and refused letting us in, said they don't know about any group. I'm very upset to be humiliated and treated as a person who just trying to sneak in somewhere, when I was paying for a trip and followed the tour guide's instructions!
After this, the lunchbreak came which is the most upsetting experience of the whole trip. We've driven past a fairly nice corner with at least 3 restaurants with view to the Danube but instead we stopped later at the most touristic rip-off place ever, with kitsch souvenirs. There was super overpriced OLD food, possibly standing behind the glass for several days, each dish starting at least at 4000 Forint which doesn't sound much by converting to other currencies but a fortune compared to general Hungarian prices. We were given more than 1.5 HOURS to stay at this obviously tourist rip-off place, most certainly because of some deal between the agency and the restaurant to bring guests there for whatever in exchange for the agency! Most guests didn't dare to wander around but as a native Hungarian, me and my boyfriend left this place. After only 5 mins of walking in the middle of nothing, we found several local restaurants for half the price, still prepared for tourists with menus available in English and German. They made delicious, fresh, Hungarian food. As a Hungarian, I'm deeply ashamed that foreign tourists are exposed to such an experience via a travel agency! I'm disappointed that Hungarians still feel like they are allowed to chit-chat whatever, assuming that nobody understands them, like the tour guide and the driver did. I'm disappointed that I've paid for a nice trip to show my home country for my boyfriend but instead of the beauty and history of the country, only corruption and shady business activity were highlighted!
After the lunch we took the bus to Szentendre where we were just set free after a ridiculously brief intro. Again for way too short time, only around 1.5 hours max. I was really upset about why we had to take that uselessly long restaurant break! I would much rather spend longer time in Szentendre and ate there. After Szendendre, the boat trip back to Budapest was fairly nice, though the ship was very old with uncomfortable seats and without sun umbrellas or whatsoever...pretty burning hot. At least this one is on MAHART (ship company), not the agency's fault.
The tour guide of the trip was visible bored with her life all the way, not even trying to hide it. Totally impersonal, she didn't even bother to show her face and look at people when she introduced herself. I don't understand why this is done by a real person?! An audio guide would do a much better job with more understandable pronunciation. The tour was multilingual, everything was repeated in English and Spanish. Total waste of time...I understand that it must be hard to organize the tours to create profit but I don't want half of the time listen a language I don't know at all!
The only reason I'm rating this tour poor instead of totally terrible is the A/C in the minibus. Unfortunately, public transportation is practically not existent from Budapest to these beautiful, worth-to-explore places and the mini-bus with A/C was comfortable and efficient.
Written August 14, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Patrícia T, first of all let me thank you about sharing your opinion with us. We are truly concerned that our services did not meet your expectations, however let me assure you that quality is always in the focus of Cityrama. For this reason we made a thorough investigation and we will make steps to avoid such a situation in the future. On the other hand a local person has a different view of point about the sights, therefore I sincerely hope that your partner and the other guest enjoyed their time along the Danube Bend. For the inconveniences please accept our apologies and we hope that you give us a chance to better serve you next time. Again thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best! Yours sincerely, Fanni Manek Sales Representative
Written August 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dottye H
Round Rock, TX23 contributions
This was an excellent tour and my guide was informative, well-prepared, thorough, helpful, interesting, and charming. His name is Gergely (Gregory) and I was treated to a wonderful day of sightseeing and was able to take advantage of Gergely’s knowledge of the area and history of the Hungarian people. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. We started our tour with a beautiful drive through forest and mountains, emerging in Estergom. I had all the time I wanted to explore the church, even climbing the 400 stairs to the top of the cupola to enjoy the view. The stop in Esztergom also includes a quick trip to the other side of the Danube, where you find yourself in Slovakia! Next, we drove to Visegrad, where we saw both the palace and castle. Along the way, we discussed the scenery, which is breathtaking. After visiting the castle, we stopped at a local restaurant for a break and lunch. Again, this was absolutely delicious food and the service was top notch. The next portion of the trip took us through small villages to the artist’s town of Szentendre. This is a beautiful little village with very interesting sights to see—among them the marzipan factory and the Herend store. It was a lovely day, well-spent. Thank you, Gergely!
Written October 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear dottyeh, we do appreciate your feedback about our Danube Bend tour! Hopefully you could enjoy every minute of the sightseeing and you gained nice memories! We will pass this comment to the guide, Gergely too, we are sure that he will also be grateful for your opinion! See you soon again in Hungary! Yours sincerely, Dorottya Berkes Sales Representative
Written October 10, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stephen F
6 contributions
Sep 2018 • Couples
The trip started very well with a timely taxi pick up from the hotel to the departure point but after then it started to deteriorate.
The first stop in a car park in Slovakia really was unnecessary as equally good views of the cathedral in Esztergom could be seen from many other locations. This may seem a minor point but it made the latter parts of the trip to become more compressed. This was then compounded by the fact that we spent over one hour at the cathedral which wasn’t so interesting and could have easily been managed inside 30 mins. When we then proceeded to Visegrad castle we were told by the guide that we only had 20 mins here because „there isn’t much here so you won’t need any longer“ - so why bring us then? We were asked to return to the bus for 1pm. When we got to the castle which was a 5 min walk uphill the guide got us past the queue and then let us walk around alone. This actually was a very interesting location and warranted much more time than the cathedral, yes it was small but there were many things to look at and to learn about. So we rushed around and were back at the coach at the prescribed time with around half of the party. The other half had been separately informed by the guide of an additional 15 minutes!
So at around 1.20pm we left for lunch at a restaurant that was clearly making a lot of money from similar tours. We were told to be back at the bus at 2.15pm which was 45 mins after our arrival time. The restaurant was very busy so we decided to only have a snack to be sure we could be finished in time for departure. Whilst eating our snack we noticed the bus driver tucking into a full 3 course meal!!
We returned to the coach at 2.15pm along with a few other people. 2.30pm arrived and no Other people had returned. The tour guide arrived and informed us that she had extended the time until 2.45pm (I’m sure so the driver could consume all of his dinner). Again she did not make sure everyone was aware of this! We eventually left for the next destination at around 3pm. Given it was a 30 min drive and the fact we needed to meet for the boat at 4.30pm this would leave us only 1 hr in Szentendre which,for us, was by far the most interesting location of the whole tour and 1hr wasn’t nearly enough to enjoy this beautiful town.
The rest of the trip passed without incident but we were not given any apology for the poor timings and poor communication of the whole trip.
I would not recommend that anyone spend their hard earned money on this shambolic outfit and that they find alternatives means of visiting these locations.
Written September 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Stephen F, thank you very much for taking time and post a comment on Tripadvisor. We are concerned to read your mixed feelings about the tour, however we are sad that you did not like the Esztergom Basilica that is the largest church and tallest builing in Hungary, so we are proud to show it to our guests. The Visegrad Castle is also interesting but as we do not have time to visit the whole area (what would be a few hours) we can show the first part and the facade. Regarding the timing I am sure that there was some misunderstanding as we always tell a fix appointment to keep the pace of the tour. Later on we suggest to have a meal in one of the restaurants in Visegrád which is an option only and not compulsory at all. All in all we are sorry that the sightseeing did not meet your expectations, we do hope that next time our services fit more your imagination. Yours sincerely, Fanni Manek Sales Representative
Written September 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Seniortraveller51
22 contributions
Jun 2019
It appealed to my crossing over the boarder into Slovakia for a photo opportunity of the largest Catholic Church in Hungary, then we crossed back over to visit the church properly. Enjoyed the scenery on the way to Szentendre a lovely little village which I enjoyed, had some great service from the shops i bought some great gifts, they couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful and English was no problem, they seemed to like we were Australian and flew 22 hours to get there.
Then a nice boat cruise back to Budapest.
Written October 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Suzanne h, thank you very much for providing us with such a nice comment about your experiences. We do appreciate that you chose CITYRAMA for exploring area. We are waiting the next occasion to meet you! Yours sincerely, Dorottya Berkes Sales Representative
Written October 7, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kathy H
Aurora, CO10 contributions
Aug 2019
I was disappointed in this tour. It was way too long and with too much free time for shopping at the end of the tour. There are several stops with breathtaking views of the Danube and good photo opportunities. The boat ride at the end was nice, but not very scenic.
Written August 31, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Kathy H, we are glad about your review, it is always nice to hear if our guests enjoy our services! Thank you very much for choosing CITYRAMA, hopefully we will have the chance to meet you soon again! Yours sincerely, Dorottya Berkes Sales Representative
Written September 2, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

patjohn62
Puerto de Mazarron, Spain21 contributions
Jul 2019 • Couples
As always always waiting for the same couple - Italian this time - why can’t they go after waiting 5 mins?

We were told that when we disembarked from the boat in Budapest it would be easy to get a taxi and they were plentiful- absolute rubbish, a 25 minute walk to get a taxi, in our late 70’s and not what we want at the end of a day.

Lunch was usual buffet rubbish that was hot when collected but cold to eat as so long to pay.
Written July 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear patjohn62, we are truly sorry that several things through your tour did not meet your expectations. However, let us tell you that in some cases due to the traffic conditions our guests do not arrive to the meeting point on time so the sightseeing may start a couple of minutes later. Regarding the end of the boat trip we do not provide the drop off service only on request, therefore we recommend you to inquire about this options prior booking. We will follow up your comment of the restaurant as this is the first time we get this review. We truly hope that apart from above mentioned issues you enjoyed travelling in the Danube bend and liked the sights there. Thank you for your review. Your Sincerely, Dorottya Berkes
Written July 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steve S
Hailsham, UK25 contributions
May 2019 • Couples
Excellent trip. Collected from hotel we went in a group with 3 couples but driver very attentive. This trip does not include lunch but I think this was an advantage as we could decide when and what to eat. The driver got us into a castle for free (optional part of the tour as it was a bit of a climb) this saved as £7 pp. Not a massive amount but worth it. The driver/guide was very attentive and really made the trip. Visited so lovely places but unhurried and responsive. Go on this trip with this company.
Written May 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Steve, what a nice review! Thank you so much for sharing it with us! It is a huge pleasure for the whole CITYRAMA team that you were content with our service and with the way how our colleague provided the sightseeing. We hope that you could learn a little bit from the Hungarian history and you felt the special atmosphere of the medieval era! See you next time, we are waiting you back to another tour! Yours sincerely, Fanni Manek Sales Representative
Written May 16, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 17
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

Danube Bend: Day trip from Budapest | Hungary