Tours and Tickets

Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class provided by Chefparade Cooking School

Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class

Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class
4.5
Book in advance
from
$86.62
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
4h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
10
Near public transportation
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 11218P1
Important information
Inclusions
  • All necessary ingredients
  • Three-course lunch
  • Soft drinks and glass of wine
  • Recipes to take home
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
4h
Departure details
  • Budapest, Fővám tér 6, 1056 Hungary If you book only the cooking class, the meeting point is the cooking studio: Páva street 13., 9th district, Chefparade
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please specify dietary requirements at time of booking. Options for guests with allergies and religious dietary restrictions may be limited
  • Vegetarian menu available upon request
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
Inclusions
  • All necessary ingredients
  • Three-course lunch
  • Soft drinks and glass of wine
  • Recipes to take home
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Budapest, Fővám tér 6, 1056 Hungary If you book only the cooking class, the meeting point is the cooking studio: Páva street 13., 9th district, Chefparade
Duration
4h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please specify dietary requirements at time of booking. Options for guests with allergies and religious dietary restrictions may be limited
  • Vegetarian menu available upon request
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
34 reviews
Excellent
25
Very good
4
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Jerrey F
3 contributions
Chef Vesna provided the four of us with an excellent tour of the City Market and an even better and more enjoyable hand-on cooking class. We prepared and the n ate 3 traditional and delicious Hungarian dishes: goulash, chicken paprikash, and and apple streusel variation.

The 4-5 hour tour and class was relaxed, with excellent guidance on cooking technique and management of seasoning, resulting in a delicious lunch.

Vesna was both skilled and charming. The facilities were fully furnished with all the necessary kitchen tools to make the class flow smoothly.

We would totally recommend this experience to foodies or those experimenting with cooking.
Written October 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

laurhp
7 contributions
What a great way to begin a trip! On my first day in Budapest, we began with a market tour where our guide taught us all about the local delicacies and alcoholic beverages providing some samples as we wandered through the market. We then hopped in a car to the Chef Parade cooking school where we made Hungarian goulash soup, Chicken Paprikash and Hungarian crepes for dessert. It was all delicious and so much fun. I felt prepared to tackle the local cuisine after learning about it from an expert.
Written February 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Line M
Denmark7 contributions
We went on the Market Hall Tour and cooking class with a lovely chef. On the market tour she showed us all the traditional kinds of bread, vegetables, wine, sausages, pickled vegetables, cheeses ect. She boughts us samples of both sausages, pickles vegetables and bread/pasteries to taste!
In the kitchen we cooked 3 lovely courses. It was very hands on and the chef guided us and explained everything as we did it. There was lots of different beverages to drink from during the whole day including different wines, beers, soft drinks and palinkas. The kitchen was beautiful, clean, cosy and homely. We had fun and learnt a lot from experience. It was definitely worth every penny and it is something we will remember and talk about for a long time!
Written January 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CookingBudapest
Thank you so much for such an amazing and detailed review! I am super glad that you had such an amazing experience with us and hope we were able to really give you an insight into Hungarian cuisine and gastronomy! If you have any tips on how we could make the experience a 5 star, please send me an email, we always aspire to be better and better!
Written January 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Violet B
42 contributions
Couples
Fantastic. Great experience. Will be able to reproduce these recipes once we are home. The instructor was excellent. I booked early and was able to work with the school to select the 3 dishes I wanted to learn to make. Thanks
Written July 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Derbyslass
21 contributions
Couples
This could have been done so much better.

We chose not to do the market tour and just start from the cooking place. We were told to arrive for 10am but the rest of the group didn’t get in for another 30/40 minutes so we were hanging around (we did get given coffee)

Nobody came over to say hello and introduce themselves, which considering we’d not done the tour, would have been nice. The impression from the website was we got to choose what we cooked and my partner and I would be able to cook together. The reality was the menu is chosen for you (we did goulash, chicken paprikash and strudel). The group was made up of 11 and so we were split into a 5 and a 6. So my group of 6 all cooked together. I basically got to chop a carrot and a parsnip for the first courses and then stir the pan a bit. By the time it came to the strudel, luckily I managed to do a bit more and put one together, but the guy leading our group, Peter, clearly showed his annoyance when I did one little bit wrong (I dusted the strudel with icing sugar before it went on the oven tray and not when it was on it) Not in the spirit of what we were doing.

We did get wine tasters whilst waiting for things to cook. We all got to sit down and eat what we’d made which was delicious. But this course really wasn’t worth the money for what we actually got to do. The best bit was meeting the other people booked on, we all had a laugh together and it made my morning, the cooking element did not. We weren’t given recipes to take away either!
Written May 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CookingBudapest
Dear Debbie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review, it is important that we know when something does not go as planned, so we can improve! Due to time-management, every participant prepares the same set of menu, which is written in the email, explaining the class. Of course, we always try to accommodate as many wishes and dietary restrictions as possible. I am really sorry to read that you did not get what you have expected and that you had the feeling that your chef was not in the proper spirit. I will definitely look into it since that could not be further from what we are representing. If you did not receive the recipes, please send me an email to the following address: info@cookingbudapest.com and I will make sure, that you get them immediately! I hope that in the future we will have a chance to welcome you to our classes once again and give you the very best experience!
Written May 27, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

edmsgt
The Villages, FL164 contributions
Couples
We were in Budapest for a Viking River Cruise and had already done a city tour on a prior river cruise. If we have a free day on our travels, we try to pick up a local cooking class. We found Chefparade Cooking School and scheduled a class for the end of March 2019. Our chef was Barb and she did a great job. We prepared Hungarian Goulash, Chicken Paprikash, spaetzle style noodles, and apple streudel. The class was very well run and the food we prepared was delicious. I would have rated them a "5" except for the fact we received no recipes. We were told they would be emailed to us, unfortunately never arrived. I have emailed the school no less than 3 times over the last month and have not received any acknowledgement of receipt or recipes. We have done cooking classes in Paris, Amsterdam,Rome, Barcelona, and throughout the USA and always leave with recipes. In most cases, the cooking classes were the highlight of our vacations. We are pretty accomplished cooks and understand the preperation process, however we need ingredients and quantities to aid us. I would say that this school ranks up there as one of the best, but if you do attend, by all means make sure you leave with the recipes including ingredients list. Was a great experience, but follow-up left a bad taste.
Written May 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CookingBudapest
Hello, I am really glad that you have enjoyed the class and had a nice lunch with us! Unfortunately, I have not received an email from you, otherwise, I would have responded immediately! After the class I am no longer able to send our guests messages, therefore we usually ask for their contacts on the spot, and I apologize if this did not happen. My email address is info@cookingbudapest.com if you send me an email, I will get back to you with the recipes as soon as possible! I apologize for the inconveniences, hope I will be able to make it up to you and send the recipes!
Written May 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ann310
Dallas, TX26 contributions
Couples
We chose to skip the market hall tour and met the others at the kitchen, which was centrally located in the city. Our instructor, Bridgette, was delightful! We made three dishes: Hungarian Goulash, chicken paprikash, and dessert crepes (palacsinta).

Everything was delicious and easy to make. Bridgette broke all the steps down into easy-to-follow instructions. We also had palinka and elderberry soda. The best part is that you could take the leftovers back to your apartment!!

Recipes were printed out and you could take them home. Everyone got a turn and it was very hands-on.

Great cooking class!
Written October 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CookingBudapest
Dear Ann, Thank you for the kind words! I am really glad you enjoyed our classes and that you experienced Hungarian gastronomy, beverages, and food as well! That is our mission and always happy to read when we succeed!
Written February 1, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

OnAir618653
Charleston, SC21 contributions
Couples
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the activity starting with the tour of the Budapest Market Hall. Then we were taken by taxi to the Chef Parade cooking school - first rate. Our chef Peter was outstanding - very knowledgeable and friendly and an excellent teacher. We prepared Sour Cherry Soup, Chicken Paprikash with Dumplings and Gerbeaud cake for dessert - yum. All was delicious and all the beverages and wine you can drink are included. Even the palinka was included. We were given a mixing spoon as a gift and were able to take the recipes home as well. A very fun day and we enjoyed meeting and socializing with the others in our group.
Written October 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

nhaim
3 contributions
Couples
The cooking class and the guy who manage the cooking class were nice and friendly but not professonal in cooking. He explained that he is not a real chef he just worked in a restaurant for a year. The work was not accurate and very different from the receipt we recei ved. We were expected to learn from an Hungarian chef and we didn't.
Written May 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CookingBudapest
Dear Haim, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always heartwarming to read good reviews, but criticism is very important in order to do better, which is definitely our goal every day! The animators working with us are mostly tour-guides with a passion for cooking and Hungarian gastronomy, they are not certified, chefs. The way we are cooking these very traditional dishes usually differ from one household to the other and our chefs like to bring their own twists from home on a certain dish. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the class, but I hope that you will have fun preparing the dishes at home based on the recipes and if we can help with that at any point, please do not hesitate to contact us!
Written May 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

SBok0819
10 contributions
Solo
This was my first visit to Budapest and I joined this cooking class to learn Hungarian food culture.

Reception : Luca, a reception staff who confirmed my booking was so kind. She explained details of the timeline and gave me all required information for the day. Her response to my e-mail inquiry was very quick and I felt no stress. She was also flexible to cordinate a solo visit.

Location : It is located in the city center and very easy to access. It is close to the St.Stephen’s Basilika and you can find it easily.

Course and Instructor : I chose three course menu as below.

1. Sour cherry soup
2. Mashroom paprikash with dumplings
3. Cottage cheese Strudel

Gery, a nice cooking instructor, explained all steps in details and it was really easy to follow. I am from Japan and his english is really easy to understand. Every instruction he gave me was very clear. From time to time, he also explained the history of the country or background. It was very good experience to learn not only the hungarian food, but also the hungarian culture and history.
Oh, a Palinka and a hungarian wines that he offered me was awesome and match with all dishes above. Of course, all dishes were tasty!

Overall : I would like to give 5 star rating for this class. I would like to come again with my family. It was more than expected! I will recommend this class to my friends in Japan as they are very interested in hungarian dishes.
Written March 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 30
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Chefparade Cooking School
bailey1560
bailey1560
00
Fabulous Cooking School
We were a small group, some vegetarian, some not. The leader easily accommodated each preference. We were led in th
mrubin78
mrubin78
00
Once a Hungarian, Always a Hungarian! A worth the experience!
It is hard to describe the insurmountable experience I had with the Hungarian cooking class. I must say it is FANTA
Moment-of-truth
Moment-of-truth
00
A fun and worthwhile experience
We had a great instructor, Agnes/Agi lead a class of 7 people. We had a great time together as a group and perfect
RoyS1657
RoyS1657
00
Great time
we had a tour of the market and then off to the cooking! We made Goulash, Chicken Paprikash and apple strudel. Th
Victoria R
Victoria R
00
Great class!
Our class started with a shot of the local vodka like drink for good health. It was a team effort cooking class wi
Kaye S
Kaye S
00
Loved it!
Enjoyed this class so much! It was within walking distance to the intercontinental hotel, cooked approx. 3 hours t
Judy G
Judy G
00
Great fun!
Had a great time with Chef Andrea and 3 other couples. The trip to the market was fantastic- wonderful smells o
Mom4797
Mom4797
00
Taking class while visiting teen studying
Amazing!!! So happy to have done food and experience priceless. Delicious and truly a great cooking class weathe
Shayna S
Shayna S
00
Fun dinner in Budapest
We (family of 5 -- parents and 3 boys in their 20s) -- regularly explore food/alcohol based cultural experiences as
AthenaF185
AthenaF185
00
What a great cooking class!
My husband, two teenage boys and I learned to make goulash, chicken paprikash and crepes one morning with Barb. Bo
Jesper M
Jesper M
00
Super food event cooking
Super good and fun cooking with a profession chief. Both fun and with a lot of learnings. Can be receommneded to ma
Berni M
Berni M
00
Fun and Informative and Delicious Cooking Class!
I love taking cooking classes and the Chefparade class provided a good view of the Hungarian culture as well as a d
Mathtravel
Mathtravel
00
Unexpected great experience and lunch
My husband and I went as part of our Rick Steves tour. Neither of us were interested but went along because it was
dingdong1
dingdong1
00
Fun experience
Joined the class in August during my visit to Budapest. had a great time with the walking tour in the market hall,
AdriBalo
AdriBalo
00
Tasty experience
Great, memorable cooking adventure! Super receipts! Special thanks to the chef, Peter, who was extraordinary and sw
Frequently Asked Questions about Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class


Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class price starts from $86.62. Discover and book Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class on Tripadvisor

Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class on Tripadvisor

Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class is hosted by Chefparade Cooking School. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Chefparade Cooking School on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Budapest Market Hall Tour and Cooking Class on Tripadvisor