Krakow Tours
Auschwitz-Birkenau Group Tour from Krakow
4.5

Auschwitz-Birkenau Group Tour from Krakow

By Prime Tours Krakow
About
Save yourself the hassle of planning rides to Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum from Krakow on this stress-free tour. Along with saving money on transport, visit both Auschwitz I and Auschwitz II, and tour the museum with a guide who knows the history and significance of this WWII concentration camp. For added convenience, hotel pickup and drop-off are included.

Ages 0-99, max of 30 per group
Duration: 7h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Brush up on WWII history on this guided tour of Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum 
  • Take a guided tour of the complex and hear stories from the Holocaust
  • Visit both Auschwitz I and Auschwitz II all in one day
  • Avoid the hassle of renting a car with round-trip transport from hotels

  • Free pick up directly at your hotel or apartment in Krakow city centre 
  • Group transportation by comfortable minibus or minivan  
  • English speaking driver or tour leader
  • Local English speaking guide at the Memorial (visiting in a group)
  • Entry tickets
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Headsets to hear the guide clearly (does not apply to children under 13 y.o.)
  • Free drop off within Krakow city centre - you can choose from 4 drop off locations
  • Entry/Admission - Państwowe Muzeum Auschwitz-Birkenau
What's not included
  • Food and drinks

This Auschwitz tour starts with pickup from your hotel in the Old Town or the Jewish Quarter of Krakow. Hop aboard your air-conditioned vehicle, and get ready for the ride over to the memorial and museum. Once you arrive at Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum, spend time exploring the memorial at your own pace. After your time is up, move on for a guided tour of the museum. Your guide tells you all about the history of Auschwitz I and Auschwitz II and their part in WWII. Walk through some of the 13 surviving former prison blocks that now feature museum exhibits. See diaries, letters, and other personal items from people who spent time at the concentration camp. Your guide takes you through both areas. After your experience at the Holocaust memorial, ride back to Krakow and get dropped back off at your hotel.

Start:Traveler pickup offered.
    Pickup details
    • We pick you up at your hotel/hostel/private apartment if it is located in Krakow city centre. Please provide the name and address of your accomodation by typing it manually. We need to know your address no later than 24 hours before the tour starts otherwise we will ask you to come up for a pick up at a designated place in the city center. VERY IMPORTANT REGARDING PICK UP TIME: We have different pick up time each day, it can be between 6.00 am and 3.00 pm. You'll be informed about the exact pick up time, a day before the tour, in the afternoon.
    Additional pickup options
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included pickup points.
    • Radisson Blu Hotel, Krakow, Floriana Straszewskiego 17, 31-101 Kraków, Poland
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Stroller accessible
      • Infant seats available
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 10425P1

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on time of the day and traffic conditions
      • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
      • The maximum size of bags and backpacks allowed to carry on the Museum grounds is 30 x 20 x 10cm
      • Travelers are required to undergo security checks, and necessary disinfection procedure.
      • Not recommended for children aged 13 and under
      • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
      • Most travelers can participate
      • We require full names of all participants as entry tickets are named
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      The tour operator has provided the following answers to customers’ questions.
      How can I let you know where to pick me up?
      We can offer pick up for this tour from Hotels in Krakow city centre. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
      Answered Jul 2019

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 10425P1

      Currently unavailable
      This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor.
      Explore other options
      Itinerary
      • 1
        You will visit both parts of the former largest Nazi German Concentration and Extermnation Camp: Auschwitz I (spending about 2 hrs there) and Auschwitz II - Birkenau (visit takes about 1 h), in a group with a local English speaking guide.
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • Prime Tours Krakow
        728
        Krakow, Poland
        Joined in April 2012
      • jadonp420
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        10 out of 10!
        This was the best World War Two tour I have ever experienced, and it all started and ended with our guide Magda! She was very friendly and cares a lot for what she does and what she is talking about. Very informative and gives information that a lot of times is not included in the writing of the museums! Incredible… would highly recommend!
        Written July 9, 2024
      • 761dukei
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Best tour and tour guide I have experienced yet!!
        This tour was the most informing tour I have ever experienced. Our guide Magda was so friendly and did an excellent job of taking us through Kraków’s rich World War II history. There was never a dull moment while we were on the tour, and I came away from it having a deeper understanding of that people endured during that dark time in history. I would want everyone who visits to be able to experience the history this way, and with a guide like Magda!!
        Written July 9, 2024
      • Ljpage04
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Tomasz - best driver/guide in krakow!
        As difficult as it was, this is a must when in Krakow. I would do it with no one else other than our driver/guide, Tomasz. His English is perfect, he is professional yet personable, friendly, and shares historical and personal stories of his culture. Once in Auschwitz, a tour from their museum is given, but Tomasz’svan comfortably fit all five of us. He always had cold water on hand and left in time to stop for snacks on the way if we preferred. We fell in love with krakow and if (when!) we come back we most certainly would do another tour specifically with him!
        Written July 9, 2024
      • jadonp420
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        10 out of 10
        Our drive/guide Tomaz was probably the best tour guide I have ever had! He gave us lots of facts and insight about both Krakow and the World war. Great atmosphere and very friendly and talkative. I wish to have him on another tour sometime soon! Would highly recommend…
        Written July 9, 2024
      • 761dukei
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Excellent driver, excellent experience.
        Our driver Tomasz was incredible! It was perfect for what our group was looking for in a tour. He gave great facts and told amazing stories. Super easy to talk to and we were able to have conversations that stretched far beyond the topics of the tour. I would wish everyone could have the same experience that we had because of Tomasz!
        Written July 9, 2024
      • Ljpage04
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Best historical tour of krakow
        I highly recommend this tour. Magda, our guide and Tomasz, our driver, were a TEN! Magda gave us so much historical information as well as some of her own personal stories from growing up in the very areas we toured. They were both personable and knowledgeable. I would not come to krakow without going on this tour. 5 stars! We came with two teen boys and they loved it. Life changing.
        Written July 9, 2024
      • willdY4002TY
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        An excellent experience! Will do again!
        The tour was EXACTLY what we were hoping for. The guides were very passionate about history, and provided detailed knowledge about the subject of the Holocaust and WWII here in Poland. Tomasz was an excellent driver, but was also very knowledgeable about Krakow and the surrounding area. His love for Poland and its rich history is why I want to return. Magda was an incredible tour guide. She was equally as passionate about the history, and provided insight you won’t be able to find anywhere else. There’s no better way to see the sights and history of Krakow/Auschwitz-Birkenau than with this tour group.
        Written July 9, 2024
      • DavidJCook
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Honestly, I can't praise these people enough!!!
        This isn't one of Prime Tours normal trips, but Rafal organised it at the end of several other trips to finish our week in Krakow off. Tomasz our driver was in excellent form (we had him for 4 days) and joined us on the long walk around the village looking at the painted houses and translating for the local villagers where necessary. A fabulous day out, a beautiful village and well worth the visit. Tomasz provided an excellent service above and beyond. Thank you Tomasz for making our week extra special, and thank you again Rafal for organizing a tour not in your list.
        Written June 26, 2024
      • DavidJCook
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Gloriously Sunny Day Rafting down Dunajec River
        This trip gave Tomasz our driver a bit of a headache as the weather wasn't good for the day it was planned, so after consulting the weather forecast he re-arranged for later in the week and we ended up with a gloriously sunny day instead of a rainy day. Once again proving the worth of having a private driver for all our tours and not a group tour. Tomasz was fantastic throughout, and took some pictures of us leaving on the raft and sent them to me before moving to wait at the bottom of the gorge for us. Can't praise Tomasz enough for his help and humour throughout our trips.
        Written June 26, 2024
      • DavidJCook
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Excellent Service Again
        Tomasz our private driver for the trip was on time, very friendly and informative about the area and took excellent care of us. The drive to the mine was relaxed and once there he showed us to the queue where we needed to be and sent us the tickets to get in. He was waiting for us when we came back out and was happy to stop off for pit stops whenever needed. Fabulous day out and would thoroughly recommend.
        Written June 26, 2024
      • DavidJCook
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Fabulous Service from Start to Finish
        I'd used Prime Tours 11 years earlier and was so pleased with the excellent service then, that I emailed them again hoping to arrange several trips for our 6 day visit. Rafal responded quickly and sorted out an itinerary for our trips with all the pricing and times. He even organized a trip to Zalipe which my partner asked if we could visit and which isn't on their list of tours, but he made it happen. Fabulous service. Marcin our driver from the airport was waiting for us and was friendly and polite and answered several questions about the area enroute to our hotel. The drive was comfortable and relaxed and made a good start to the holiday. I can't recommend this company enough!!!
        Written June 26, 2024
      • DavidJCook
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Fabulous Trip to the Auschwitz Birkenau Memorials
        The locations are an amazing memorial to all the poor people that didn't survive. Words don't really do these places justice, you need to see them to appreciate the scale and the inhumanity. Somewhere everyone should visit at least once. Our driver picked us up on time in a very nice Audi and drove us to both sites. Marcin even added an additional stop at the original off loading ramp at Birkenau which isn't part of the trip but we had some spare time before our tour. Marcin couldn't do enough for us and told us lots of interesting info during our trip about Poland and the sights enroute and made sure we were at the locations in good time for our scheduled tour. A fabulous day trip and well worth the having the private driver. Would heartily recommend Prime Tours Krakow to anyone. I last used these 11 years ago, and they are still as good as ever.
        Written June 26, 2024
      • D7779RFaaronw
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Incredible all round
        Had a great trip organised with Prime Tours Krakow. Rafal was really helpful and communicates well throughout the whole booking process. Michal, our driver was great and informative on our drive to Auschwitz. He even passed on some keys things to see and do in Krakow which was really helpful. Would certainly use this company again on my next visit to Krakow.
        Written June 25, 2024
      • Dreamer12785424982
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Prime Tours were amazing!
        I just wanted to leave a review for Prime Tours. They were amazing. I was initially unsure when I emailed but Rafal was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. He was able to answer all the questions I had about the tour and transport options. He booked the tour for us, I was able to pay a small deposit to guarantee the tickets and he informed me of the next steps. We had a private car pick us up outside our hotel. The car was very comfortable and Thomas our driver was awesome. He was so friendly, kind and made our journey to Auschwitz fly by. Thomas told us how the day was going to go and where to meet him but not only that he made sure that we got inside safely and made sure we met the correct tour guide. We met our tour guide, she was great. She made sure everyone in our group of around 15 has a headset that was working. The study tour was good. I recommend wearing comfortable walking shoes as the terrain in Birkenau is very hard going. The first part of the tour was around 3 hours in Auschwitz I and mostly inside. There is one stop for a toilet break half way through but please note you cannot eat or drink during the tour. The second part of the tour happened after a short break. You have around a 25-30 minute break and Thomas was so kind to let us sit in his car whilst we had some snacks and to hide from the rain! The second half of the tour you had to get a bus outside of the museum. The guide meets you before getting on the bus and it is a 10 minute drive to Birkenau. This part of the tour was around 2.5 hours and mainly outside. Be prepared for whatever the weather is in Poland it was raining and chilly on our visit. The tour guide was incredible. She was so knowledgeable. The only downsides of the tour was that I felt a bit rushed. There was not enough time to read all the information in the museum and had to keep up with the guide. I do recommend this tour though because otherwise you dont get to see Birkenau and that had much more of an impact on me. Thomas waited for us all day, our tour finished around 15:00 and he drove us back to our hotel and he let us sleep as we were exhausted! I just want to say I highly recommend Prime Tours. I will definitely book with you again and thank you for such excellent customer service.
        Written June 19, 2024
      • 982PeterC
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Unbelievable And sad WW2 tour of Krakow
        Wow....what a tour. First of all our Guide Joanne was brilliant, she pitched her tour at just the right level, she was so knowledgeable not just on WW2 and Krakow, but the history of this fabulous city and Poland. She explained to us each location , brought us of the beaten track, and answered all our questions, which we had many. The best six hours I have spend, and we'll worth it. Thank you Rafel for arranging it, and Paul our driver. But the star if this visit is Joanne. Thank you.
        Written June 1, 2024
      See all 728 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      4.5
      4.5 of 5 bubbles83 reviews
      Excellent
      66
      Very good
      7
      Average
      6
      Poor
      1
      Terrible
      3

      Megumi H
      Finland471 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      The tour didnt start smoothly. The day before the booked tour the operator contacted us if it is ok to come to a pickup point, although pickup from the hotel is promised. Which was fine for us, the point was just around the corner and I thought this makes pick ups quicker. There were groups waiting at the pickup point. Nobody was sure which car to look for, until the driver or guide from each car started asking names of their group. Logo of the opetator on the car or a big card held by the driver will help. Then one couple was late. Seemed like the pickup time informed to them was different from what the driver got.
      After everyone was collected, it got better. The guide at Auschwitz was good and I am glad I visited it. The tour itself was rushed, 5 min. Break for toilet etc., but this probably has to do with the visiting time slot of the museum and large number of visitors.
      Written February 25, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about the tour, and the ideas on how to make the service more effective and the pickups fluent. As your apartments were just around the corner from the pick up spot, where the Clients without the ‘hotel pick up option’ meet, we asked you if you could meet us there. To make it easy for you, we attached the link with directions just in case. Some apartments in Krakow don’t have a space in the front where we can easily and safely stop our vehicle for the Clients pickup. This is rather a very rare case when we ask our Clients to meet us somewhere else. We really avoid situations where we ask the Clients to come up a little bit for the pickup. But sometimes this is the only option for the pickup. In these very rare cases, when it is no more than about 1 - 2 minutes distance on foot, we would either ring or email you asking if you can meet us around the corner for the pick up. If we notice that our Clients would have any problems with meeting us anywhere else than their hotel or apartment and we are we are not able to drive there, then we send a member of your staff to walk up, meet you there and escort you to the location where the minibus or minivan is parked. When booking our Auschwitz tour by minibus, we kindly ask our future Clients for understanding especially in some cases where the hotels are located in the no traffic zones, or no minibus traffic zones. But we are normally able to pick up directly from the 98% of all accommodations in the Krakow city center. We apologize for the stressful beginning of the day. I am glad you have had a good experience with the rest of the tour.
      Written February 27, 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      LeeseM
      Fife, UK13 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Putting aside the horrific, sad and devastating events that’s happened here, this tour is harrowing.

      Excellent service from initial booking. Great communication after booking and clear and concise instructions. Picked up from our hotel, hand delivered tickets and a good explanation of how things would work for the tour. We opted for guided tour and our guide was so passionate about all the facts she was giving us.

      Would highly recommend taking this tour to fully appreciate the unexplainable events.
      Written October 19, 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Many thanks for your review! Well organized Auschwitz tour is a key to the undisturbed experience at the Memorial
      Written February 28, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Chris A
      9 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jun 2024 • Family
      Rafal and the team from Prime Tours Krakow made a day trip to visit the Auchwitz- Birkenau site possible. We unfortunately didn't have time on our trip for time in Krakow, but since we were close to this important historical site, we wanted to ensure that we could visit without stress or worry. Rafal and team arranged pickup, transfer, luggage storage, coordinated our site booking and our dropoff at the train station - all without issue or worry.

      Since this was a tight visit for us logistically, knowing that we were in capable hands was a huge benefit. I found the cost to be reasonable and was worth the investment.

      Highly recommend!!!
      Written June 23, 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that we made your day trip to Auschwitz-Birkenau easy and stress-free. We understand the importance of visiting such a historical site without worry, and we're glad that you felt in capable hands throughout your experience. Your feedback on the reasonable cost and the value it brought is much appreciated. Thank you for highly recommending us! Should you return to Krakow in the future, we would be honored to assist you again.
      Written June 27, 2024
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Darren
      Dubai, United Arab Emirates6 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great communication and service for our tour to Auschwitz. Thomas met us at the train station and took us around Krakow in the car with a bonus tour before we left for the Auschwitz tour. Thomas is very knowledgeable, friendly with excellent English. Highly recommended.
      Written October 30, 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      catlangenhoe
      langenhoe england143 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      We did two tours with Prime Tours - Auschwitz group and Salt Mine to airport private and both were great. Rafals communication was good and our guides were friendly and informative. Both days were perfectly organised and punctual. This was an easy way to do these trips and I will definitely use Prime Tours on future visits.
      Written August 25, 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Many thanks for your kind review. We’d love to see you again during some of our tours in Krakow.
      Written February 28, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      shazza s
      United Kingdom21 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      This tour promised free hotel pick up and drop off, which it provided. The driver was excellent. We arrived a little early so he took us to see the original ramp away from the camp, and drove us around the outside of Birkenau so we could get an idea of the size of the camp.
      When we began the guided tour, however, we were very disappointed. The guide gave as little information as possible. He would point out certain aspects, such as the room with the shoes, and say very little else. He often turned away from the microphone so the little he did say was often lost.He was very obviously out of breath and wheezed his way round the camp. When we got to Birkenau we decided to go off on our own as we realised we would not get any more info from the guide than we already knew. Unfortunately we did not manage to catch the guides name.
      This was an extremely disappointing tour and the only reason I am giving it 3 stars is because of the fact 2 of us had a car to ourselves and the driver was so nice!
      Written March 17, 2018
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you are very happy with the service of our driver. In fact, this is the only part of the service that was provided by our company and the only item that was supposed to be reviewed and rated here. The guides that operate in Auschwitz are not our employees but always provided by the Auschwitz State Museum, we have no direct influence on this part of the service. We feel that in this case we were put at a disadvantage to be associated with something out of our competences. Tour companies are not allowed to bring their own guides in Auschwitz Birkenau. But it's clear, that because of the fact we sell these tours, we are in the adverse conditions to be assessed for the service at the Museum, which we have no influence on. We are very sorry that your Auschwitz guide provided poor quality service. Auschwitz representatives always emphasize and ensure us that only the best guides are selected to do to their job. But considering your review it is not always like that. We do our best to secure the experienced guides to operate our regular reservation in Auschwitz to meet our Clients expectations. But it sometimes happens that Auschwitz State Museum fails to provide only high quality employees. We are very sorry that the guides performance was at best mediocre, that the commentary was brief and the guide was not able to operate the microphone in a proper way. This is certainly the worst was the Client can face, as the guides are primarily responsible for the general impression after taking the tour. On the basis of your review, we made a formal request to the Museum Office to make sure that this particular guide will never be assigned for our company for the future tours. Thank you once again for taking your time to submit this review.
      Written March 19, 2018
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Jan N
      Northwich, UK12 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Very efficient and courteous service throughout. Would definitely use again.
      Tomasz the driver was excellent and very informative.
      Written March 4, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you very much for your opionion! Feel free to use our services during your next trip to Krakow!
      Written December 28, 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Helen C
      Barton-upon-Humber, UK204 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Nov 2019 • Couples
      This is a must do for anyone visiting and Jacek, our tour guide was absolutely amazing. He really made the tour interesting and was extremely knowledgable. We couldn’t have asked for a better experience
      Written November 29, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      mgee500
      Manitoba, Canada37 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jul 2019
      We booked with Prime tours Krakow for a tour of Auschwitz-Birkenau. The pick up was with an private driver and then tour was a larger group tour. We had booked as a couple with an English speaking driver and tour.

      We were picked up at our hotel on time and met our driver who introduced himself and then requested if we'd mind if our tour guide could drive with us, as she does not have transportation. We would have felt uncomfortable at that point saying no, considering she was there but also felt that it would perhaps enhance our experience. We both agreed to having an additional person on board.

      Once we were on our way, it surprised us both that they chose to speak in Polish and not English. I felt that I may have misunderstood and she was not our tour guide but A tour guide. I had interrupted their conversation to ask about the area, as this is the advantage of having a private driver on our tours. She did not speak directly to us at all during the trip and at one point answered a question we had in Polish to him and he translated. Given this, I thought she did not speak English. The overall conversation with us was minimal during the drive to the tour.
      Once at Auschwitz our driver was helpful, as my husband was delayed slightly and he ensured we kept with our group. Once on the tour and to both of our surprise, the women was in fact our group's English speaking tour guide and she spoke wonderful English.

      The tour throughout Auschwitz was overwhelming - the level of inhumanity on such a large scale is really beyond words.. I feel this is such an important site for all to visit so we can ensure that the past is not repeated. The tour guide was good at ensuring everyone stayed together and spoke loudly enough for us to hear. Overall, it was fast paced and we did not get a chance to look at alot of the areas. However, I think this is an issue with any large tour group. Generally, we do like more private or self guided tours but were aware that is what we had booked prior to coming.

      After Auschwitz, we were instructed to all go back to our drivers and meet up at Birkenau. The tour guide again came with us for the short drive. Once at Birkenau, we left our driver and walked with the tour guide and had a pleasant short general conversation. Birkenau was unbelievably vast and we were given an opportunity to see a glimpse of what life was like surviving in the camp. The tour guide was informative and the tour was again fast paced. Once the tour was over, she advised everyone to go back to their drivers, which we did. She went off in another direction towards the entrance. When we were back in the parking lot, our driver said that our tour guide was looking for us and wondering where we went. We were both confused, as she did not say anything to us and did not make an attempt to seek us out or walk with us but carried on in a different direction. We had no idea if she had another tour and was staying there. Anyway, she came shortly afterwards - not really a big deal but again the whole way back to our hotel they spoke polish and made no attempt at all to communicate with us. I was tired or interrupting the conversation, as I did with the trip there and let it go. It is really unfortunate because we travel alot and the reason we spend extra money on a private transfer is the one on one conversation and learning about another country and culture.

      BTW. there was no discount offered for the additional passenger and we paid the full price for her transportation. Overall, I would not recommend having a private transfer with this company for that reason. Unless, you are someone who like to just have a drive and not chat.

      Please note that this is not a review of Auschwitz-Birkenau and this site is highly recommended for all to experience.
      Written August 8, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      First of all I would like to thank you for the review and deeply apologise for this situation. We have just encountered one of the biggest, if not the biggest, mistake in our career of providing our professional services during that day. Apparently, the biggest problem was with logistics management, hence, a private car booking was seriously mistaken with a regular group transportation to Auschwitz Memorial. When we realised we had made such a huge mistake, it was already too late to react in any other way than asking you for the possibility of our Auschwitz tour guide to be taken from Krakow in the same vehicle. We are absolutely aware that this should not have happened at any time during the private tour and that is what we do sincerely apologise for. We are absolutely aware, that this is not what customer might expect from the service inlcuding private car and the private English speaking driver. Especially when you have to listen to private conversation in non-understandable language. As you have noticed, both the guide and the driver are good at their jobs, however they have been with us for a short time yet and apparently they have not got used to our common customer service level standards. We had obviously already spoken to both of them about this situation in details and managed to work out proper firm actions to prevent even a slight possibility for such a situation to happen ever again. What I would like to add is that it has been an utterly isolated case while providing our professional services and assignments like this one. Such situation is absolutely beyond, not even close to our professional approach towards customers. Once again, we deeply regret the occurrence of this situation and we do apologise for what you had to face during the tour with us. Surely, it is a very important lesson that helps us a lot to be extremely careful for future. We do appreciate this.
      Written August 12, 2019
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Miguel C
      Porto, Portugal32 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Regarding the tour to Auschwitz-Birkenau: 5 stars.
      However, there was an issue regarding transportation back to Warsaw that didn’t allow me and my son to go for the tour to Krakow.
      So we and the van driver made an agreement and they gave back part of the money I had paid, which I think it was correct.
      However, later another driver (who took us to the airport) questioned the agreement and ‘suggested’ he didn’t agree with it.
      I calmly said it was unbelievable that after an agreement I had made with his colleague this guy was questioning the deal, and I said that I definitely would bother for €20!
      He insisted and calmly I just gave back the 80 zloti (€20) and we (myself and my son) left the car without saying a word.
      An absolutely pitiful behaviour ...
      Written September 20, 2018
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for your review, however it is unjust, undeserved and contains false information. This is a result of the fact that you completely misunderstood a request of our driver when he was dropping you off at the airport. We would never ask anybody for money once we have already agreed the price and applied a discount. You booked only the Auschwitz tour with us. In your original email your requested a city tour as well. However we clearly informed you straight away that because of the times your booked your flight to and from Krakow (arriving and departing on the same day) it is not possible to incorporate anything else than the Auschwitz tour into your itinerary, as you had only about 8 hours time frame between arriving and departing. We also informed you that there was no time for you to see the Krakow city at all as you must go straight to the Krakow airport after visiting Auschwitz or you miss your flight. You totally missed this very important information or did not understand this information send by email. Also your final confirmation clearly showed all details of your booking, which was: the Auschwitz tour and a taxi transfer straight to the airport. There wasn't a word in the final confirmation about getting you to the Krakow city and seeing it guided or unguided at all. If you had at least looked at the confirmation your would have known what you booked and paid for. You and your son thought there was a city tour arranged for you after the Auschwitz tour, but this was completely wrong. It could not have been arranged this way as you booked your return flight to Warsaw for too early, there was not enough time for that, which we knew from your first email and informed you about that. There wasn't actually even enough time to take you to the city center after the Auschwitz tour. That is why we offered taking you straight to the airport after the tour, without driving you all the way to the city center back and forth. Therefore - making sure you do not miss your flight - we planned that our driver meets you on your way back from Auschwitz and takes you straight back to the airport to safe time and avoid a risk of stucking in traffic in the city. This information was also included in the final confirmation, but it looks like you either did not read or did not understand it. I know how disappointing for you was not being able to see our beautiful city, that you most probably had promised to your son as well. But you cannot put the blame on us for it. We knew from the very beginning this was not possible and informed you about that. Nothing else we could do for you apart from sending you all these information by email written in English plus all the same again in the confirmation. The content of your review results from the fact that you did not understand what our driver was saying to you. He never asked you for any money. All he ever wanted was to make the itinerary of the tour clear for you and explain why all you took that day was the tour to Auschwitz. You were too upset and disappointed to listen what he tried to say and you left the car dropping 20 euro at the back seat. We do not want our Clients to feel regretful and disappointed that is why our driver just wanted to explain the content of the tour you took. Neither did we push you, ask you or expect you to leave this money, if the tour you took did not meet your expectations. It is important that all the Clients make double sure what they have planned and booked to avoid a very stressful situation at the day of the tour or total disappointment. Still during and after the tour you could have checked the email communication and the details of the tour confirmation so you know what exactly what the issue was, before leaving a comment which is unjust, inappropriate and entails harmful and unfavourable consequences to our company.
      Written September 21, 2018
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Showing results 1-10 of 73

      Auschwitz-Birkenau Group Tour from Krakow provided by Prime Tours Krakow

      All Krakow HotelsKrakow Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Krakow
      All things to do in Krakow
      Day Trips in Krakow
      RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars