Tours and Tickets

Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA provided by Walkin' On Water Surf School

Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA

Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA
5
Book in advance
from
$42.47
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
About
Surfing is an iconic Australian activity and our location is the perfect place to learn to surf. Our premium surf lessons with our fully qualified professional instructors and comprehensive step by step, easy to understand lesson plans make this a must do activity with Walkin' On Water Surf School at Greenmount Beach. We are passionate about sharing our love for the ocean, the surf and our sport and get as excited as our students when they ride wave after wave, beaming with huge smiles and having a great time!
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
  • Our Lesson begins with an introduction, explanation and demonstration of the lesson and all the techniques needed for the lesson in a simple easy to understand step by step format. Everyone then practices all these movements on the beach before we head into the water and put all these new skills into practice in the water. Our fully qualified professional instructors maintain a super fun, relaxed, enjoyable and non threatening environment for everyone throughout the lesson. The instructors are there to help people catch waves, give plenty of feedback and support all our surfers to continue to learn and develop during the whole lesson, no matter how quickly or slowly someone is picking it up and progressing.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • Our Lesson begins with an introduction, explanation and demonstration of the lesson and all the techniques needed for the lesson in a simple easy to understand step by step format. Everyone then practices all these movements on the beach before we head into the water and put all these new skills into practice in the water. Our fully qualified professional instructors maintain a super fun, relaxed, enjoyable and non threatening environment for everyone throughout the lesson. The instructors are there to help people catch waves, give plenty of feedback and support all our surfers to continue to learn and develop during the whole lesson, no matter how quickly or slowly someone is picking it up and progressing.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 169422P1
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • All equipment needed for the surf lesson is provided including a soft learn to surf board, rash shirt, wetsuit (if needed) and sunscreen
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • Beach Lodge, 140 Marine Parade, Coolangatta QLD 4225, Australia We meet at our big colourful truck in the Greenmount Beach Car Park, close to the Greenmount Beach Surf Club. Look for our eye catching Learn to Surf Truck and we will meet you here!
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
Inclusions
  • All equipment needed for the surf lesson is provided including a soft learn to surf board, rash shirt, wetsuit (if needed) and sunscreen
Departure details
  • Beach Lodge, 140 Marine Parade, Coolangatta QLD 4225, Australia We meet at our big colourful truck in the Greenmount Beach Car Park, close to the Greenmount Beach Surf Club. Look for our eye catching Learn to Surf Truck and we will meet you here!
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
Popular mentions

5.0
41 reviews
Excellent
39
Very good
2
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Suzanne Janine
Wentworth Falls, Australia2 contributions
Very lovely teacher
Wonderful experience! Only reason 5 stars not given was due to crowds and surf current so strong. It was exhausting and fun.
Written April 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
Thank you very much for your Review and Rating. It is fantastic that you had such a wonderful experience. We always strive for all our lessons for people to have the best experience we can offer so it is always disappointing when we do not quite meet this and do not get 5 Star rating. Sadly we cannot control the crowds nor the current. We are at the whim of what the environment gives us in terms of conditions and then the number of people at the beach. We are however very happy that you found our instructor lovely and had a wonderful time.
Written April 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Liesl C
2 contributions
Best fun ever!
Mar 2021
My 3 children attended a surfing lesson which was a birthday celebration. Such an awesome idea! The weather was perfect, our instructor Jamo was obviously very experienced giving each child equal attention. The thrilled look on the kids faces said it all- fun, fun and even more fun. Thanks!!
Written March 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
Thank you so much for such a fantastic amazing Review and Rating. We really appreciate it and are so super stoked that you and your children were so happy and that they had such an excellent time. Thank you so much for the feedback and the time you have taken to write this Review and we would love to see you guys again and maybe have you join your children in a lesson as well :)
Written April 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Spinkyspy
Gold Coast, Australia29 contributions
Fantastic Fun while Learning to Surf!
Mar 2021
What an awesome day for my 2 girls! The team was organised and really helped the kids to take the first steps to riding a surfboard. 2 hours later we have 2 girls keen to keep going with surfing, and both caught plenty of waves.

Fun, informative, instructive and safe. What more could you want? Highly recommended to try, and it's suitable for all ages:)
Written March 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
Thank you so very much for your amazing words and fantastic feedback. We really appreciate it thank you and are so happy that your girls loved their experience with us so much and are keen to keep on surfing! We love what we do and love that we get to teach and share with others our passion for surfing, the ocean and the aquatic playground around us! Thank you again for your sensational Rating and Review, it is always so special to read that we have been able to give people such highlights and experiences, and really appreciate the time you have taken to write and post this Review! We would love to see the girls again if ever you are on or near the Gold Coast.
Written March 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Clinton F
Gold Coast, Australia14 contributions
Epic morning on the waves!
Jan 2021
I highly recommend Walkin on Water to anyone wanting to learn to surf on the Gold Coast. Greenmount beach is a perfect location as it is nice and protected and we scored some beautiful crystal clear waves which will stay in the memory bank for a while to come. Jamo is an absolute legend who clearly loves what he does which really adds to the overall experience. Thanks for an epic morning mate!!
Written January 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
Thank you so much for such an amazing Review and 5 Star Rating Clinton. We are so stoked to read your fantastic words and really appreciate your comments and feedback, thank you. It was a perfect morning with those clean waves in crystal clear warm water. Thank you again for your sensational Review, we really appreciate it.
Written February 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

AveandJadedoUSA
Coolangatta, Australia3 contributions
Rewarding & Fun!
Jan 2021
My twin boys had a group lesson with Jamo, and absolutely loved it! Whilst one of the boys was a little fearful of standing on his board, he did eventually get up and for that it was a huge achievement. Lots of encouragement, positive energy, and fun surrounding all the people in the group. It was a great session and we will be back for more!
Written January 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
Thank you so much for your Rating and Review Aveline. We really appreciate it. It is fantastic to hear that you found our lessons so good and you were so happy with all that our sessions entail. I am super stoked that they both did really well and enjoyed it and even more stoked that Matt is so keen to keep surfing. I am looking forward to having him surfing back with us again in the coming week! Thank you again very much for such amazing feedback
Written January 31, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hugh M
1 contribution
100 % Recommend
Jan 2021 • Solo
I had a private 1 on 1 surf lesson with Jamo this week and it has been my most memorable activity since being in Australia. He was very technical and picked up on things to improve straight away. The private lesson was great as Jamo was there at every wave with me. He had me standing up every time catching some of the biggest and most enjoyable green waves I've caught. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to improve their surfing, whether it be for technique, or confidence on bigger waves. Jamo is also a top bloke and can see how his surf school does so well.
Written January 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
Wow, thank you so much Hugh. Your Review and words are amazing thank you. The session with you was so much fun with perfect waves to push and extend your surfing. It is hugely satisfying to work with someone who listens and works hard to implement change and then I get as stoked as you to see such great amazing progress. Watching your waves where you were havnig some latish takeoffs, traversing across the waves, changing direction , riding them to the shore and getting little face drops was epic. Your first wave where you got that drop down the face from the lip and did everything right with your body and then nearly every wave from then on just got better and better - it was, as an instructor, so massively satisfying to watch! Thank you for surfing with me, I loved having you join us and as well as being excellent to help you with your surfing, it was a really enjoyable lesson spending time with someone who is a really great relaxed friendly guy, having a chat and laugh with, and then watching huge improvements! Thank you again Hugh for your really fantastic feedback, it means a lot and is hugely appreciated thank you. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia and hopefully if you can fit it in, we would love to have you back surfing with us again when you return to the Coast! Thank you Hugh
Written January 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ashley S
1 contribution
Awesome experience
Jan 2021
Took the girls both aged 10 years to this and they had an absolute blast. I can highly recommend Jamo and the team as they were outstanding in every respect.
Written January 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
Wow, thank you so much for such an amazing Review and Rating. This so sensational to receive and read. We love what we do, feel privileged to and love sharing our passion of surfing and the ocean with others and helping them experience a small part of our aquatic playground and hopefully start to stoke a new fire of passion in others for our sport and the ocean. Thank you so very much for this feedback. It always blows us away and is humbling to read words like this! Thank you. We hope to see you guys again soon
Written January 16, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Belinda Fowler
Port Douglas, Australia2 contributions
Family Fun
We had 2 lessons with Marcella and Martin. They were excellent teachers, our family of 6 were all able to ride a small wave by the end and we had heaps of fun!!! Thanks so much!
Written December 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
Thank you very much for your Review and words. We are super happy to read that you all loved your lesson with us so much and had so much fun. It was fantastic seeing you all catching waves in the lessons and then so satisfying to then watch you all hiring a board and practicing yourselves, seeing you catching and riding waves all on your own! We really appreciate your feedback, thank you.
Written December 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

hptravels71
Brisbane, Australia8 contributions
Family Fun
Oct 2020
So much fun! We had a perfect day and perfect instructors to help us. We are a family with 3 teenage boys who thought it was all a bit 'lame' to start with, especially when I made them take a photo in our matching rashies. Within half an hour we were all riding our first wave and loving it! Fantastic experience all round. Thanks Jamo & team. Highly recommended.
Written October 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
hptravel thank you so much for your amazing feedback and review. We are so super happy to read you had so much fun and loved your experience with us as much as you did thank you. We loved having you and your 4 boys! ;) Thank you again so much for taking the time to write such sensational words and let us know how much of an excellent time you had!
Written October 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Traceandmick
Sunshine Coast, Australia8 contributions
Technique, technique!
My friend and I visited from Sunny Coast and were lucky enough to get Jamo for 3 days of lessons. We had already been having weekly lessons for some time but learned so much from Jamo. His enthusiasm and commitment to teaching correct technique was awesome. We will be back!
Written August 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkinOnWaterSurf
Thank you so much for such a great review and rating for us Tracea... we really appreciate thank you. It was fantastic having you both for the 3 sessions and to see such amazing progress from the first day. From the initial hesitation in working on correct technique using the single movement jump, where you you both thinking you were unable to do it, to getting really competent even in the first session and then cementing this technique over the lessons was awesome. It is so hugely gratifying as an instructor to see such great improvement. It was super fun being in the water with you both and we really look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully, and possibly also your husband too!! Thank you again for such great feedback and congratulations on such positive progression!
Written August 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 41
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Walkin' On Water Surf School
smegley
smegley
00
Individual surfing lesson
My 18 year old had been surfing beach breaks for 5 years and had transitioned from a foami to a 6.9 board but had b
gregmS898ZF
gregmS898ZF
00
Fantastic - 100% Recommended
Booked a private lesson with Jamo for my 16yr old daughter. Very professional and a fantastic instructor who made
ads264
ads264
00
Absolutely the best!
They are absolutely the best. We met jamo, dan and the rest of the team 2 yrs ago. My son and some friends had grou
lovegroveangela
lovegroveangela
00
Riding the wave Greenmount Beach
Excellent tuition, fabulous location and lots of encouragement from the coach’s. Great equipment. Cannot recommend
ChrisLinko
ChrisLinko
00
Absolute Legends
Another great morning surfing with these guys. Regardless of ability and skill level, Jamo, Dan and the rest of the
taanielnommik
taanielnommik
00
Awesome Experience!
Instructor Dan, treats people very humanely and he makes sure you leave his lesson with a good feeling. Thank you f
greyeyedwanderer
greyeyedwanderer
00
Great Experience!
So glad I signed up for the short adult course. With an amazing instructor, Dan, taking great care of us, to the al
Amo_Aus
Amo_Aus
00
Fun for all!
We had a private lesson with 3 adults and a child. First time on a board and we all had such a great time! Thanks D
211sergeig
211sergeig
00
Dan is the best surf coach on the east coast:)
Dan is a very friendly and experienced surf trainer. I took a whole week of daily lessons and was very happy. He al
AdrianR437
AdrianR437
00
Great for all ages to learn
Dan was great. Our lesson included more than a 50 years age difference. He was able to make it fun for all us , en
5Aloha
5Aloha
00
Walk-in on Water
Great place for surf lessons. Easy admin. Amazing price (cf NZ), and brilliant instructor (Dan). Helena loved every
bennyboy1111
bennyboy1111
00
Don't even think about it, just book. These guys are brilliant.
Having never surfed before at the age of 53 I was very happy that I was standing up riding a wave within 5 minutes
aaronp233
aaronp233
00
Highly recommend!
Cannot recommendation the WoW guys highly enough. I did a learn to surf lesson with Jamo and his guys on a busy Sa
488helenr
488helenr
00
Fabulous
My son had a private lesson with Jamo. What a nice guy! He was positive and encouraging and Matt had the best surf
JoannaG1953
JoannaG1953
00
First ever surfing experience and was amazing!!
Absolutely amazing!!!! The boys had so much fun and although they didn’t have high water confidence, the encourage
Frequently Asked Questions about Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA

Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA will start at 10:00 AM. Discover and book Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA on Tripadvisor

Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA price starts from $42.57. Discover and book Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA on Tripadvisor

Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA on Tripadvisor

Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA is hosted by Walkin' On Water Surf School. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Walkin' On Water Surf School on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Learn to Surf Group Lesson - Walkin On Water - Coolangatta,Gold Coast,AUSTRALIA on Tripadvisor