Tours and Tickets

Milford Sound Scenic Cruise provided by Mitre Peak Cruises

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Milford Sound Scenic Cruise

Milford Sound Scenic Cruise
5
Book in advance
from
$61.38
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Recommended by 96% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Get a more intimate, up-close perspective on this smaller cruise boat
Duration:
2h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
65
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Milford Sound is one of New Zealand's most beautiful and well-known sights, and you can enjoy seeing it for yourself on this cruise. The mountains that rise out of the sound, the waterfalls, and other natural features are impressive whatever the weather conditions. On this cruise, go all the way out to the sea, and get the chance to look for wildlife like seals, dolphins, and penguins.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Chinese, Japanese, English, French, Spanish
Highlights
  • Receive free tea/coffee on board
  • Children under three ride for free
  • Take great photos from the boat's viewing deck
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, Chinese, Japanese, English, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Receive free tea/coffee on board
  • Children under three ride for free
  • Take great photos from the boat's viewing deck
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 29858P2
Important information
Inclusions
  • Free tea and coffee on board
  • Free for children under 3
  • Smaller boats makes for a more ‘up close’ tour
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • Mitre Peak Cruises, Visitor Centre 1 Milford Sound Highway, 94, Milford Sound 9679, New Zealand Departure Point: Milford Sound Visitor Centre
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Check in is 30 minutes before departure time
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Subject to favourable weather conditions. If cancelled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers
Inclusions
  • Free tea and coffee on board
  • Free for children under 3
  • Smaller boats makes for a more ‘up close’ tour
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Departure details
  • Mitre Peak Cruises, Visitor Centre 1 Milford Sound Highway, 94, Milford Sound 9679, New Zealand Departure Point: Milford Sound Visitor Centre
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Check in is 30 minutes before departure time
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Subject to favourable weather conditions. If cancelled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Dec 6, 2021
A note from Milford Sound Scenic Cruise
Masks are required while indoors All particpants who are over 12 years old must present proof of full vaccination.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
757 reviews
Excellent
657
Very good
71
Average
12
Poor
9
Terrible
8

Babs
Auckland Central, New Zealand12 contributions
Tania our tour guide on the bus was so friendly, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and entertaining. She made the 3-4 hour journey to Milford feel so manageable with lots of stops and interesting facts. The van was comfortable and spacious and the glass ceiling made all the difference. It also had charging ports and for the areas with phone service there was working wifi. The boat was perfect for viewing the sound with plenty of open and covered viewing areas. I could not have chosen a rainier day (100% and thunderstorms) and it was still worth every penny.
Written April 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kia Ora Babs, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review. I have just spoken with Tania and passed on the lovely feedback! She was thrilled. Comfort is key when it comes to such a lengthy drive and altitude certainly know how to do that. It looks as though you picked a fantastic day to cruise in Milford Sound, judging by those photos the waterfalls must have been magical with the heavy rainfall you had. We hope to welcome you back into Milford Sound again soon. Kind Regards, The Mitre Peak Cruises team
Written April 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Helen
3 contributions
Family
The captain of the boat was awesome in his commentary and his safe practice when he took us out to experience the 5 metre swell. He also took us in close to see a fur seal and a massive waterfall. I highly recommend this trip as it was exciting, informative and brilliant views.
Written June 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kia Ora Helen, Thank you for the review! Yes, our captains have been sailing in Milford for a long time – they definitely know what they’re doing! We only go into areas of swell when it is safe and comfortable to do so. Ngā Mihi, Mitre Peak Cruises Team
Written June 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Dreamer217032
1 contribution
It's one of the smaller boats on the dock so you know you will have a more personal experience with less people on board compared to any other boat tour company. They have a nice little complementary tea and coffee corner. They also made it fun going under the falls for a fun, soaking time (optional). If you are not keen on getting wet, there is an indoor area for you to enjoy viewing us morons getting soaked from a warm and dry area of the boat. They were very cogniscient of where you were on the boat and made sure everyone was able to have a view of it regardless of location of the boat.
Written January 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kia Ora Dreamer217032, Awesome review and thank you for finding the time to give us some feedback. We wouldn’t call anyone a moron for get stuck in and getting soaked underneath the Sterling falls. Understandably it’s not for everyone and you can still enjoy the experience from the comfort of the indoor cabin, however, some people will venture to Piopiotahi once in their lifetime so it’s an opportunity not to missed! It seems like you enjoyed our small boat experience with us and that’s all we can ask for. Thank you for joining us. We appreciate the support and any feedback from our customers. Ngā Mihi, Mitre Peak Cruises Team
Written January 30, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Alan S
Tauranga, New Zealand3 contributions
The cruise itself deserves a five star rating. Boat captain and crew are top notch, very friendly, very knowledgeable and happy to please. They knew what to do, where to go and kept us well informed at all times

But, the after sales service is sadly lacking. We were promised by Mitre Peak Cruises that a shuttle service would be available between the car park and the cruise terminal in both directions. We got the promised service to take us to the terminal. But when our cruise returned to the terminal, not only was the terminal closed with no amenities available, there was no return shuttle service to be found! We were among a dozen or so happy cruise passengers who soon became very unhappy when it became apparent there was no return shuttle. Nobody told us it wasn't available, we had to work it out ourselves after a long wait and then trudge (in the pouring rain I might add) all the way back to the car park, cold and VERY wet (that's a 15-20 minute walk at the best of times). Not much fun for a couple in their sixties let me tell you. And it was quite embarrassing for us Kiwis to have to explain to the foreign tourists that this is not typical for New Zealand

We have since discovered that this is not an isolated incident and that passengers from previous late cruises have also met a similar fate. Yet knowing this, Mitre Peak Cruises choose to sell us something they could not deliver. Yes we were lied to

We took this up with the cruise company. They have accepted zero responsibility for this sad situation, placing all of the blame on the shuttle company. However the shuttle company doesn't provide any service after 5:30pm yet Mitre Peak Cruises sells cruises which do not return to the closed terminal until 6:30pm. They knew full well that no shuttle service was ever going to be available at that time yet still sold their package which supposedly included a return shuttle service

I strongly recommend that anyone considering a Milford Sound cruise consider a provider that can deliver on their promise. Our experience was that Mitre Peak Cruises can't do that and will push the blame elsewhere when called to task
Written January 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Alan, Many thanks for the feedback. You have been dealing with this matter privately with our Base Manager and hopefully, your experience can be resolved. If you wish to discuss this further then please contact us via email on info@mitrepeak.com and we will do our very best to clear this situation that you had on the day. Many thanks from the Mitre Peak Cruises Team
Written January 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jo P
1 contribution
Family
This trip is a must do. Being driven in the comfortable Mercedes bus meant I could take in all the amazing scenery without any stress. Andy our driver is a credit to NZ, safe driver, very informative and a lovely guy.
The bus trip was as much of a highlight as the boat trip.
If traveling with children only advice would be to pack enough food as it's very expensive to buy at the cafe stops for hungry teens.
Fantastic day out, would highly recommend.
Written December 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kia Ora Jo What an awesome recommendation, thank you! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed every leg of your trip. Many thanks, The Mitre Peak Cruises Team
Written January 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shivraj P
2 contributions
Couples
I had booked online through their website, it was easy and offered good deal. Their boat is smaller compared to other company cruise to minimize the people on board for better viewing and experience. I couldn't make it on the day of booking, called them arranged for next day (usually they charge fees for change but did something extraordinary being the 31st eve, thank you so much for that).
The drive from Queenstown is 4hrs without halt, so plan it properly as you cannot resist stopping on the way with all those scenic spots. After arriving at the reception, it was very quick process and the reception girl was very friendly. Then we were greeted by Captain (Phillip) and cabin crew (Jazmin), the captain was entertaining and informative n Jazmin was friendly and took couple shots for us.
Now onto the main part, the milford cruising experience. It was 2hrs spot on journey as mentioned with information and stops for pics of beautiful waterfalls and sea lions. We had the best experience to spot dolphin pod, 3-4 of them even followed our boat. Thank you Mitre peak for amazing experience.
Written January 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kia Ora Shivraj We are so glad that you had such an awesome experience with us and that you think the trip was good value for money. We do pride ourselves on our smaller, more intimate experience we offer around Milford Sound so it is super cool to hear how much you enjoyed it. There are indeed plenty of beautiful spots to stop at along the famous Milford Road so that is a great tip for our future guests – thank you! I will pass your words onto our awesome crew too; I know they’ll appreciate it as they try to create such a memorable and special day for every one of our guests. Stoked that you got to spot some of our local dolphins and seals too, that is always a treat! Many thanks The Mitre Peak Cruises Team
Written February 10, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jax
Opotiki, New Zealand574 contributions
Our Mitre Peak cruise was fantastic & I was very happy that I booked with them rather than some of the larger boats/cruises. We had an epic trip down to Milford with Altitude Tours & was equally satisfied with our Sound cruise. The small boat enabled us to get much closer to the waterfalls and animal life than would have been possible on a larger vessel. The boat itself was extremely comfortable for the amount of passengers and had good viewing deck options. The very front of the boat was my favourite & even enjoyed a bit of a “Kate & Leo” I’m on top of the world moment. The captain was very knowledgeable and informative of the different features & wildlife of the Sound. The tea & coffee was great (even had Dilmah) and felt the cruise length of 2 hours was perfect. We were lucky to have a lovely sunny day so will have to return another time on a waterfall day. Very Happy!
Written November 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kia Ora Jax, Our smaller boats really do ensure that we are able to provide a super memorable and personalised experience, with nature being the main focus. Altitude Tours in which we work in partnership with are a great company who focus on a personal coach experience just as much as we like to create a personal aspect to our cruises. It is awesome to hear how happy you are with your experience with Mitre Peak Cruises. Many thanks, The Mitre Peak Cruises Team
Written January 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Faith L
1 contribution
Couples
Our experienced ‘Altitude Tours’ coach driver, Andy was awesome. He had great energy and a wealth of knowledge that made our drive from Queenstown to Milford Sound safe, enjoyable and educational. The scenic drive itself is amazing. I’d recommend taking the coach so you can kick back and take in the beauty of Fiordland without the stress of driving and the responsibility of staying alert all the time.

The cruise itself was breathtaking. For New Zealanders, take advantage of the boarder closures and experience Milford before it’s flooded with visitors again. Add it to you bucket List 😁
Written October 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kia Ora Faith L, Thank you for the lovely review. We agree that Andy, Tour Guide from Altitude Tours is indeed awesome. The sights along the way are just lovely. Having a great guide in a comfortable vehicle makes for an enjoyable experience. We will be sure to pass on this review to Andy. The cruise along the Fiord is breath-taking and it’s a pleasure to be part of anyone’s bucket list experience We appreciate the support of anyone who joins us for a cruise and many thanks for the recommendation. Ngā Mihi, Mitre Peak Cruises Team
Written November 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jonathan S
San Jose, CA11 contributions
There are a number of tour operators that cruise through Milford but we're glad we chose this one. This was the best deal and the experience was still excellent. It's on a smaller 2 story boat compared to the others, so it's more intimate and less crowded. There's also a guide who walked around to answer any questions about the Fiord, along with the skipper who gave a great audio tour. Make sure you give yourself ample time to pay for parking and walk the 10-15 min from the carpark to the dock. Highly recommended!
Written January 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Sounds like you had a lovely day on our cruise in Milford Sound with us. Giving you a big thanks from everyone on our team.
Written January 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Chris H
Paraparaumu, New Zealand23 contributions
Fantastic cruise on a smaller boat than most of the fleet so felt as though there was plenty of space with fewer people. Captain was great - just enough commentary without being over the top. We combined it with flights from/to Queenstown with Milford Sound Flights and would highly recommend.
Written March 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kia Ora Chris H, We take pride in being one of the smaller boats in Milford Sound. It allows us to get up closer with nature and deliver a more personal experience. We are stoked to hear that you flew in as it gives you a completely different perspective of the Fjord. Thanks for stopping by and leaving an awesome review. Kind Regards, The Mitre Peak Cruises Team.
Written April 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 740
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Mitre Peak Cruises
Bron1k
Bron1k
00
Awesome trip.
Awesome trip, the dolphins following the boat was definitely a highlight. Abby was friendly and helpful. Have alrea
Ameliajsmith
Ameliajsmith
00
Great cruise
Really great experience, skipper was very skilled and knew exactly where to go for dolphins and extra experiences
breer668
breer668
00
Absolutely Fantastic
The Coach Cruise Coach with Roland is amazing. He has such a wealth of knowledge & is a fantastic driver!!! When on
LaingTravelator
LaingTravelator
00
Scenic Flight
Scenic flight over some of the most beautiful alpine location in New Zealand. Running commentary gives you an appr
mikeymikenzuk
mikeymikenzuk
00
A must do!
Amazing experience. It was a stormy day when we went but the skipper was perfect, he took us close to many waterf
trudy_11
trudy_11
00
Fantastic experience
We were fortunate to go on a wet, rainy day. The waterfalls were spectacular. The staff were very accommodating a
NewMaxwell
NewMaxwell
00
Boat cruise - Mitre Peak Cruises
Great trip stunning scenery. Enjoyed the smaller boat Friendly and welcoming staff. Skippers commentary great a
102janetteb
102janetteb
00
Magical
We took the flight into Milford Sounds and had the experience of a lifetime. Great service and Katy our pilot was
Kiwi00710
Kiwi00710
00
A great trip
As an ex Driving instructor and Tester I felt completely at ease with the Driver driving a Mercedes Van, The VIP
bethpnz
bethpnz
00
Fantastic trip
We had 5 kids and 4 adults in our group. We all had a really good time. 2 hrs was perfect. We highly recommend thi
Craig and Jan G
Craig and Jan G
00
Great company. Great tour
Thanks guys. Awesome service. Highly recommend this company. Will certainly use your company again. Many thanks
Y497UUbrunod
Y497UUbrunod
00
Paradise
Best experience of my entire life. We saw many dolphins and seals, the day was sunny and the crew were very polite
adventure_hb
adventure_hb
00
Scenic cruise
Amazing cruise. Beautiful scenery, very relaxing with knowledgeable and friendly staff. Would recommend
BringOnTheFun
BringOnTheFun
00
Fantastic must do experience!
Just loved this cruise and was wowed by the stunning scenery in Milford Sound. Smaller sized boat was modern, clean
kainoabrass
kainoabrass
00
Great trip
I booked fly/cruise/fly but due to bad weather it was cancelled. They offered a alternative scenic tour which was w
Frequently Asked Questions about Milford Sound Scenic Cruise

Milford Sound Scenic Cruise price starts from $59.34. Discover and book Milford Sound Scenic Cruise on Tripadvisor

Milford Sound Scenic Cruise cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Milford Sound Scenic Cruise on Tripadvisor

Milford Sound Scenic Cruise is hosted by Mitre Peak Cruises. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Mitre Peak Cruises on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Milford Sound Scenic Cruise on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Milford Sound Scenic Cruise on Tripadvisor