Tours and Tickets

Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour provided by Back to Nature Tours

Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour
4.5
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
7h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
16
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 7h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 7h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 6586ROYAL
Important information
Inclusions
  • Local guide
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
  • Hotel/Port pickup and drop-off
  • Entry/Admission - Larnach Castle & Gardens
  • Entry/Admission - Penguin Place
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
Duration
7h
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Dunedin i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, 50 The Octagon, Central Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
  • Ports:
  • Port Chalmers Cruise Terminal, 21 Beach Street, Port Chalmers 9023, New Zealand
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A moderate amount walking is involved, there are 90 steps at the penguin reserve. A moderate level of fitness is required
  • Bring a waterproof jacket , sunglasses, hat and closed-toe shoes suitable for walking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Departure time may change depending on cruise ship schedule
  • We guarantee you will see at least 1 penguin, but please be aware penguins are wild and shy birds and sightings may be limited
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
Inclusions
  • Local guide
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
  • Hotel/Port pickup and drop-off
  • Entry/Admission - Larnach Castle & Gardens
  • Entry/Admission - Penguin Place
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Dunedin i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, 50 The Octagon, Central Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
  • Ports:
  • Port Chalmers Cruise Terminal, 21 Beach Street, Port Chalmers 9023, New Zealand
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
7h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A moderate amount walking is involved, there are 90 steps at the penguin reserve. A moderate level of fitness is required
  • Bring a waterproof jacket , sunglasses, hat and closed-toe shoes suitable for walking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Departure time may change depending on cruise ship schedule
  • We guarantee you will see at least 1 penguin, but please be aware penguins are wild and shy birds and sightings may be limited
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Dunedin i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Signal Hill
    Stop: 7 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Baldwin Street: The Steepest Street in the World
    Stop: 7 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    University of Otago
    Stop: 7 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Dunedin Railway Station
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Otago Peninsula
    Stop: 5 hours
    See details
  • 6
    Larnach Castle & Gardens
    Stop: 75 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 7
    Penguin Place
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 8
    Taiaroa Head
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
23 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Miles Plueger
Minneapolis, MN1 contribution
Maybe it was the beautiful scenery, maybe it was the very friendly tour guide, maybe it was both, regardless, this was an amazing excursion. Although it really caters to those who are getting off of a cruise ship and have very little time, we spent just about the right amount of time at every location. Although some wildlife was not as abundant as I expected, my guide Glen was super knowledgeable about the area and what we should have been expecting to see. We saw everything expected except for albatross, which was a bummer, but it did not take away from the overall experience. Glen really helped to make this my favorite city in New Zealand. I recommend this tour for anyone getting off a cruise ship and I highly recommend my guide as well,
Written February 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Back2NatureTours
Hi milezplu, Thanks for your 5 star review! Our small group tours allow our guides to be personable, it s a real focus for us. Small groups allow us to get people on and off the bus quickly, where we can make the most of the places we stop. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back in New Zealand one day. Your a Back to Nature legend, Haste Ye Back!
Written February 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Przemysław L
1 contribution
Family
The excursion to Otago Peninsula was one of highlights of our stay in NZ. The guide-driver was the best of the kind I ever met. Very knowlwdgeable, friendly and always willing to share the infos about what we see. The excursion itself is a great combination of visiting the city of Dunedin and admiring and observing the wildlife on the Peninsula. Very highly recommended if one has one day in the region.
Written February 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Back2NatureTours
Thanks for this stunning 5 star review. We have a pretty solid team of guides and we're thrilled yours was the 'best of the kind' you've ever met! What a great way to describe a guide! This could very well be the review of the year - thanks for taking the time to make our day:) Dunedin misses you - Haste Ye Back!
Written February 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dorthy K
Llano, TX5 contributions
Friends
Our tour guide gave us a complete tour of the area with commentary. It was a good mix of city, country side, and animals. The guide, Ollie, was very familiar with the penguins and we were able to spot several in the wild.
Written January 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Back2NatureTours
Hi Dorothy, Thanks for your feedback - we're really glad you enjoyed your time with us here in Dunners. Haste Ye Back!
Written February 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Churb2014
Juno Beach, FL25 contributions
The tour guide, Sharon was very good. The van was way to crowded and uncomfortable. They added extra people at the last minute. We pay for a private tour to avoid being crowded.
Written March 12, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Churb2014, You joined our 'shared group tour'?? These tours put like minded people together and there were a few seats left on the bus so I'm sorry if you felt crowded? Haste Ye Back!
Written April 23, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian F
San Francisco, CA2 contributions
First off, I appreciate that the operator (Back to Nature Tours) did not cancel my tour - although they had the right to: all of the other members had canceled, and I had a solo tour. Ben, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable about the native wildlife, and he was successful in locating four rare Yellow-eyed Penguins, including one chick. For me, seeing penguins in the wild is one of the coolest things I have ever seen, and I recommend this tour.
Written December 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Brian, We're all about making your experience in Dunedin the best it can be. We did have a number of cancellations that day but were determined not to cancel your tour - thanks for the 5 star review!
Written January 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Les P
1 contribution
Our tour ran smoothly and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip around Dunedin and the beautiful Otago Peninsular. Our guide Ben was informative and enthusiastically showcased the magnificent scenery of the Otago area. He showed us lots of birds and the fur seals on the beach was impressive.
Written November 2, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Back2NatureTours
Hi LesP, Thank you for your kind feedback - I've just passed that on to Ben who is coincidentally in the office. His comment was 'it was a great group on a great day'! Your a Back to Nature Legend, if your ever back in Dunedin get in touch for some 'mates rates'. Haste Ye Back!
Written November 3, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ORGinH
Yamhill, OR59 contributions
Couples
Glenn, our tour guide, did a great job of showing us the highlights of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula. As a knowledgeable local he provided not only the overview, but some interesting insights which only a resident would know. Most impressed that he was able to modify the tour to meet the needs/desires of all those on board so that we missed nothing AND got the tour highlights we wanted. Well done.
Written May 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shakaka
Sydney, Australia207 contributions
Family
Despite miserable weather we had a great time with Back to Nature tours - Dave our guide was an absolute legend and walking encyclopedia. We immediately felt like he was a part of the family. We got see the beautiful sites around the Otago Peninsula, including the penguins and seals. The private tour suited our group, as we were able to spend more or less time at the sites that we chose and were able to move around quickly without waiting for an entire group. Highly recommended and ask for Dave, you won't be disappointed. Can't wait to take you up on the BBQ mate LOL.
Written January 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

mgiard27
Mexico City, Mexico2 contributions
Family
A total fraud. Oli the guide was great but I booked the tour to see penguins and they are not there. They are out fishing and supposedly come back at night. DO NOT BOOK this tour if what you are looking for is seeing penguins,
Written January 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Mgiard27, Thank you for your feedback. We are one of the oldest tourism companies in Dunedin so we obviously take your feedback pretty seriously... the only problem is that we don't know who you are? Could you please let us know so we can address your complaint. We have reached out to you twice through this forum - even if you can send a reference number that would be great;) You have only written one review and traveled all the way from Mexico so we want to make sure you remember the south-east of NZ well.
Written January 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David B
37 contributions
Family
We visited the Otago Peninsula with Matteo and the day was very enjoyable and memorable. As well as passing the beautiful beaches and landscapes of the Penisula, we were taken through wetlands and passed bush where we saw herons, oyster catchers, and even a NZ Falcoln. Other highlights were albatrosses and finally penguins. Prior to the penguins, we walked passed a colony of seals and sea lions.
Matteo was a wonderful guide and shared his love and enthusiasm for the Peninsula where he grew up. He was a very genial and knowledgeable guide who makes you feel like you are being shown around by an old friend. My 18 year old nephew was raving about this trip afterwards and he will be telling all his friends about it.

We highly recommend this trip. Thanks again Matteo
Written May 20, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We're glad you enjoyed your trip on the Otago Peninsula - We'll pass your regards on:) Your're a Back to Nature Legend:) Haste Ye Back
Written September 7, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 22
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Back to Nature Tours
madelinequah
madelinequah
00
Excellent tour with breathtaking scenic views
Ben, my knowledgable guide started me off with Baldwin Street, then down Otago Uni and around the beautiful Peninsu
118materesal
118materesal
00
Well spent day in Dunedin! It was an awesome experience.
Highly recommended day your - Chris was nice, friendly and very informative. Will definitely recommend this to my
richardtL9568WQ
richardtL9568WQ
00
Otago Peninsula
We were very fortunate to see the both sealions and fur seals on a picture perfect beach on the Otago peninsula.
Shirley G
Shirley G
00
The train was great but peninsula excellent
Great to be picked up and expected the Taieri Gorge Railway trip would be the highlight but no. The shuttle trip ar
Cy1175
Cy1175
00
Soaring South Island Scenery
Architectural highlights of Dunedin included Otago University, Railroad station and steepest street in the world. L
E2493VXaliciar
E2493VXaliciar
00
Fantastic
Our guide Mel was very knowledgeable and humourous. I loved watching the sea lions and penguins. Lanarch Castle the
JLS1125
JLS1125
00
Dunedin and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour with Optional Larnach Castle Visit
A near-perfect day in terms of the tour, guide and weather. The tour was well designed with adequate time at each
JohnWTravel
JohnWTravel
00
Outstanding, educational and scenic, tour
We did this tour during a cruise ship port stop. Our group of 12 was very comfortable in our tour vehicle, and our
terif413
terif413
00
Amazing Day In Dunedin!
Our day with James was amazing! He was knowledgeable about Dunedin, the indigenous culture and all the wildlife in
Dolly502014
Dolly502014
00
Half day
Chris picked us up from the ship in a minibus. As he’s lived in Dunedin for a number of years he was very knowledge
Annie S
Annie S
00
Wonderful experience
The trip began with a very friendly guide meeting us at the port exit. The day got even better from then. The tra
rma7477
rma7477
00
Nice trip and ride
I would recommend this day excursion as it gives a nice ride and taste of the country side through the area. The tr
khowlettt
khowlettt
00
Rainy Day in Dunedin
We were only in Dunedin for one day and this tour gave us a good overview of the area. Our guide was very knowledge
KScott55
KScott55
00
Great driver/guide (Scott). Comfortable van.
Tour was as described. Had some fog in the morning but cleared late morning. Driver Scott was very informative an
928kevinl
928kevinl
00
An outstanding tour with Oli!
We had a very delightful tour. Our guide/driver Oli is exceptional. He is very knowledgable, personable, interesti