South PacificNew ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupoThings to Do in TaupoTours and Tickets

Half-Day Kayak to the Maori Rock Carvings in Lake Taupo - with unbiased reviews

Half-Day Kayak to the Maori Rock Carvings in Lake Taupo

Save
Share
Select Date and Travelers
From
$73.55
Date
2 travelers
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Overview
Explore Lake Taupo as you kayak to the Maori Rock Carvings at Mine Bay. You will start your half day tour from the sheltered waters of Acacia Bay before paddling out on the lake below native bush, past steep cliffs and mini inlets that can only harbor a kayak. The experienced guide will explain the carving's cultural significance to the lake and surrounding areas while you float beneath them. On the way back stop for gourmet refreshments and can take the opportunity to swim in the clear waters of the beautiful lake. If the breeze comes up, you can raft your kayaks together and sail back – bliss! Children under the age of 12 must be accompanied by an adult. Departure time is at 8:30am and 1:30pm in summer and 10:00am and 1:30pm in winter from our base in Acacia Bay. Allow approx 4 hours per trip (3 hours on the water). 
What to Expect
Itinerary
This is a typical itinerary for this product

Stop At: Lake Taupo, Taupo Marina New Zealand

Stop At: Taupo Kayaking Adventures, Taupo 3351 New Zealand
Show More
Important Information
Duration
4h
Inclusions
  • Full instructions and commentary
  • Professional and experienced guide
  • Top-quality kayaking equipment
  • Safety gear
  • Gourmet refreshments
  • Snacks
  • Bottled water
  • Coffee and/or Tea
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off. On request only. Please call or email to arrange.
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
Cancellation Policy
All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
31Reviews
1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Lianne S wrote a review Sep 2019
111 contributions21 helpful votes
The team on this experience were super friendly. They had good knowledge of the area and hearing about the culture from a kayak was fun! They provided hot drinks and excellent muffins which were a nice bonus. Unfortunately we didn't make it to the rock carvings due to bad
Read more
Response from Lisa C, Owner at Half-Day Kayak to the Maori Rock Carvings in Lake Taupo
Responded Sep 29, 2019
On any particularly day, and exspecialy during winter season the weather is changeable - due to unforeseen circumstances we reluctantly choose to return back for safety reason. This is our priority in all cases, and this outlined in our acknowledgement form that all clients signed on arrival. If we do not think we can make it around - we cancel the trip. On the day the weather conditions before your tour hit the water the conditions were fine and unfortunately the wind picked up in your trip case. We always offer alternative option to clients in rougher weather.
Read more
mattmutimer wrote a review Aug 2019
7 contributions
Taupo Kayaking Activities (TKA) offer an amazing opportunity to see local NZ culture from a very different perspective. Being able to see Maori culture from this viewpoint was extremely immersive, with particular thanks to our guide Brett who was professional and approable
Read more
Response from Lisa C, Owner at Half-Day Kayak to the Maori Rock Carvings in Lake Taupo
Responded Aug 16, 2019
Hi Matt Thank you for taking some time our to review us. Brett is a great young guide and loves giving everyone a awesome experience. We do try our best to accomodate people travel needs - so we were happy to run a tour outside our scheduled times. Thanks
Read more
William R wrote a review Jul 2019
7 contributions
+1
We had an awesome experience with Taupo Kayaking Adventures! Went on a guided kayak tour to view the Maori rock carvings and was definitely a morning well spent! Our tour guide (Brett) was awesome, friendly and very knowledgeable. Couldn't have been better and I would highly
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Response from Lisa C, Owner at Half-Day Kayak to the Maori Rock Carvings in Lake Taupo
Responded Jul 26, 2019
Hi great to hear that you had an awesome trip - the carvings are spectacular.
Read more
Shane M wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
Hi everybody, we have had a tour with Taupo Kayaking Adventures, out to the maori carvings. Overall, we had a great experience, considering the average weather on the day. Our guide Brett, was very courteous and informative. Now people do not panic, if you have not kayaked
Read more
Response from Lisa C, Owner at Half-Day Kayak to the Maori Rock Carvings in Lake Taupo
Responded Jun 20, 2019
Hi Shane and Kaz, It was absolutely fantastic meeting you both, Kaz you're a trouper and an inspiration. Thanks for the review and tips for future clients, we really do aim to create memorable and enjoyable experience exploring our gorgeous region. I will also be sure to pass on your kind words to Brett. I hope its a bit warmer back in Australia and look forward to seeing you both again. Thanks!
Read more
Kerry O wrote a review May 2019
110 contributions33 helpful votes
this is an amazing trip and we had a lovely guide, who spent time with the kids and had lots of fun with us. Light refreshments are provided, take suncream no matter what the weather. it is a slog but worth it
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Response from Lisa C, Owner at Half-Day Kayak to the Maori Rock Carvings in Lake Taupo
Responded Jun 20, 2019
Hi Kerry, Thank you for coming on a tour with us. I am happy to hear your family had an amazing time with your guide out on the lake. Kayaking is definitely a great activity for all ages. Thanks for the review!
Read more
Key Details
  • Lake Taupo, Taupo Kayaking Adventures
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 Support
TripAdvisorknow better book better go better
© 2019 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... more
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
CURRENCY/REGION
$USD
United States