We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rangitaiki River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Select Date and Travelers
From
$97.54
Date
2 travelers
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Start your white-water river-rafting adventure with hotel pickup in Rotorua. After transferring to the rafting base and the Rangitaiki River, you’re fitted with a life jacket, safety helmet, and wetsuit along with booties, a weather-dependent polar fleece top, and spray jacket.

    Before launching into the water, you’ll receive a safety training that includes paddling instruction and commands, as good teamwork is required to run the mostly Grade III (and one Grade IV) river rapids—suitable for anyone who is physically active.

    Paddle past sheer rock walls surrounded by a plantation forest, and be rewarded with a section of flat water around the midpoint of your whitewater rafting, where you can relax. Take in the epic New Zealand scenery, chat with your river guide and dip in for a swim if you’d like.

    Your white-water expedition includes lunch and a hot shower at the base before you’re returned to your Rotorua hotel.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Your Rotorua Hotel
    or
    Hangar 14 S, Rotorua Airport, 837 Te Ngae, Rotorua
    Departure Time
    11:30 AM
    Duration
    6h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point at approximately 5:00pm
    Inclusions
    • Lunch
    • Professional guide
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    • All necessary equipment
    Exclusions
    • Gratuities
    • Food and drinks, unless specified
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Minimum age is 10 years
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Please bring swim wear and a towel
    • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    21Reviews2Q&A
    Traveler rating
    • 17
    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Great team of people, cant thank them enough. The team kept us well informed and my nervous feelings were appeased very quickly with their professionalism and smiles
    Read more
    We had originally booked in for the grad 1-2 raft as I was not sure how my family would cope with the rafting but thankfully we were talked into doing to 3-4. Apart from my youngest son having to walk around the first major rapid (a bit disappointing for him but he loved the
    Read more
    Response from RiverRatNZ, Owner at Rangitaiki River White Water Rafting from Rotorua
    Responded Apr 25, 2019
    Thank you for your your review and for trusting our advice :-). The section that he walked is only around 150m out of the 14km trip. At lower levels everybody is required to walk around this section. Please note that we do not allow Go Pro to be helmet mounted on the Kaituna and Wairoa Raft trips and we do not allow sticky mounts to be added onto our helmets. If you have a helmet strap it can be used on the Rangitaiki Grade 2 and Grade 3 - 4 trips. A chest harness under the life-jacket will usually hold the Go Pro pretty securely.
    Read more
    Our family of 4 had a great time with the River Rats team on our first ever white water rafting trip. I have to admit, I was a bit nervous beforehand, but the team gave plenty of safety tips to put my mind at rest, and our guide, Adam, was excellent- very friendly and clear with
    Read more
    Great rafting experience, and although it's slow in the middle part, the beginning and end parts of the river are super fun! The guides were all helpful and knowledgeable about the river and the area.
    Read more
    Amazing time for it was my first time White Water Rafting. Can't wait to go again at a later date. Thanks again for all the good times down the rapids!!!!
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • River Rats Raft & Kayak
    • Duration: 6h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Hotel Pickup
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: