Tours and Tickets

Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise provided by Melbourne River Cruises

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise

Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise
4.5
Book in advance
from
$109.80
per adult
Free cancellation
Free Cancellation up to 4 days in advance
Tour snapshot
A Melbourne luxury dinner cruise shows you a different side of the city
Duration:
3h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
100
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
About
If you’ve already explored Melbourne on foot, see the city from a different perspective on an evening dinner cruise—a great way to avoid the daytime heat and see Melbourne illuminated by night. Without having to jostle among crowds, sail the Yarra River and pass Federation Square, Flinders Station, and the Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria while enjoying a 4-course meal and unlimited sparkling wine, beer, and spirits all night.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • If you cancel at least 4 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel within 3 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Combine sightseeing with a culinary experience
  • Admire the city of Melbourne when its illuminated by night
  • Take advantage of free-flowing beer, wine, and spirits 
What to expect
Your evening excursion begins at Southbank Promenade, where you board your vessel and take a seat. As you sail down the Yarra River, see top Melbourne attractions such as the Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria, Flinders Station, Rod Laver Arena, and Riverside Park illuminated by night.  Enjoy a premium 4-course meal of Australian-inspired cuisine, including lamb, beef, and seafood, accompanied by free-flowing wine, beer, sparkling wine, and spirits. Your meal culminates with cheese, coffee, and a glass of port or liqueur. At the end of the cruise, the boat returns to Southbank Promenade.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • If you cancel at least 4 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel within 3 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
Highlights
  • Combine sightseeing with a culinary experience
  • Admire the city of Melbourne when its illuminated by night
  • Take advantage of free-flowing beer, wine, and spirits 
What to expect
Your evening excursion begins at Southbank Promenade, where you board your vessel and take a seat. As you sail down the Yarra River, see top Melbourne attractions such as the Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria, Flinders Station, Rod Laver Arena, and Riverside Park illuminated by night.  Enjoy a premium 4-course meal of Australian-inspired cuisine, including lamb, beef, and seafood, accompanied by free-flowing wine, beer, sparkling wine, and spirits. Your meal culminates with cheese, coffee, and a glass of port or liqueur. At the end of the cruise, the boat returns to Southbank Promenade.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3013DINNER
Important information
Inclusions
  • 4-course dinner (Main choice at check out)
  • Beer, wine, soft drinks, premium spirits and liqueurs
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
3h
Departure details
  • Southbank Promenade, Southbank VIC 3006, Australia Southgate Berth 1. Located in front or the Langham Hotel
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Not wheelchair access
  • If wanting to add children please contact us
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers
Inclusions
  • 4-course dinner (Main choice at check out)
  • Beer, wine, soft drinks, premium spirits and liqueurs
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Southbank Promenade, Southbank VIC 3006, Australia Southgate Berth 1. Located in front or the Langham Hotel
Duration
3h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Not wheelchair access
  • If wanting to add children please contact us
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
125 reviews
Excellent
85
Very good
24
Average
5
Poor
6
Terrible
5

Robert H
1 contribution
Family
We really enjoyed our dinner cruise on Friday evening. The food was fantastic definitely 5 star. The staff were very friendly and attentive. A very relaxing cruise up the Yarra with fantastic views of the city at night and beautiful homes upstream on the river banks. We highly recommend this dinner cruise.
Written January 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, We're delighted that you enjoyed your dinner cruise with us! Thanks for your positive support and description of your experience on the Spirit of Melbourne. Again, thank you for your recommendation and hope to see you cruising with us again soon!
Written January 26, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alison S
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia11 contributions
Went to Melbourne for our anniversary. Booked a two hour river cruise and notice they were also doing a Sunday night dinner cruise. Three courses with drinks for $125pp. Went to book and pay for both but the lovely man gave us the day cruise for free!! First course: delicious cauliflower soup with bread. Second course: the best cooked rib-eye I’ve ever had, beautifully seared on the outside and blushing pink in the middle. Generous portions with accompanying vegetables. Third course: a selection of individual cakes. All with bottomless red wine. As it was our anniversary they even presented us with our own “happy Anniversary” plate. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Can’t recommend it highly enough!
Written June 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for taking your time and leaving this wonderful review of your experience on the Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time on the dinner cruise. We also would like to say happy anniversary and we can't thank you enough for the recommendation! We really hope to see you back on board cruising with us again soon!
Written June 27, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ken B
1 contribution
Friends
A must do in Melbourne. Captain and assistant were polite and very welcoming. The food was plentiful, tasty and well plated. The night itself was so calm and it was beautiful cruising in Melbourne at night specially with all the drink options on board. The wait staff didn’t stop and they are the ones who made our night. They were prompt, accomodating and very helpful throughout the night.
We could see that this cruise is popular cause it’s well known for its service and they didn’t disappoint and no wonder the previous reviews all speak about the wonderful service. Will definitely return and hopefully we see some familiar faces again.
Written June 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for leaving such a descriptive review and feedback of your experience on the Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time on the dinner cruise. We can't wait to have you back on board again soon!
Written June 27, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Courtenay Z
Melbourne, Australia1,417 contributions
I decided to book the dinner cruise as part of hubby’s birthday present this year. It was a relatively nice experience with a beautiful view the whole 3 hour trip (we were lucky enough to get a window table) but the atmosphere and value were a little bit of a let down. The booking for example lists “tea, coffee and chocolate” as the final inclusion but this just never happened so there were a few disappointing elements given the premium price paid and impacted negatively on value for money.

Overall it was nice to experience once but I wouldn’t go again or recommend it for a special occasion or as a must do experience unfortunately, especially for the priced, I would expect better quality.

To start you get a dinner roll (thank goodness as 7:30 is so late to eat for me I’m getting old lol) then an Entree Tasting Platter each that has Lamb Kofta (served with minted yoghurt) - my favourite of the night, Peking Duck (on a bed of garden salad) & Seafood Cocktail (dressed in a creamy seafood sauce)

You then get a choice of main to be ordered at the time of booking and we shared:

1. Crispy Skinned Moroccan Salmon Fillet with a creamy pimento sauce, served with potato and seasonal vegetables (although salad not actually vegetables and was overcooked)

2. Chargrilled Beef Eye Fillet cooked “medium” with a port wine jus, served with potato and seasonal vegetables (which was also over cooked and definitely not served medium)

You then share a Dessert Platter including (I think these were right as there was no menu on the sat to review) Tiramisu, Cheesecake, Chocolate Cake, Carrot Cake & Brandy Custard (the brandy was so strong if almost knocked my socks off).

Finally we had a Cheese Tasting Platter (Australian Cheeses, dried fruit and nuts served with crackers). As mentioned tea and coffee were listed but never offered or served.

Drinks were included but it’s seated service so you can only get so much, drinks were often empty and waited awhile before replenishment even for this like me who don’t drink alcohol!

The trip itself was nice and takes 2 round trips up towards the MCG and back again.
Written April 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MRC M
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Spirit of Melbourne dinner cruise. We truly value your opinion and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is provide our customers with the best possible hospitality and service. We take pride in our food served on board and we are deeply sorry that you weren't able to enjoy it. We hope you can give us another chance to surpass your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Written April 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jocelyn G
2 contributions
The Spirit of Melbourne cruise was great value, with delicious and quality food and plentiful drinks for our group of 6 celebrating milestone birthdays.
Our lovely waitress Clare looked after us with a smile all night and we loved all the drinks and the kind service she and the other staff provided.
The cruise staff really made our night special with cakes for our 2 milestone birthdays, and acknowledgement of the 2 Engagement proposals on the cruise that night!
And the night lights on the with touches of pink for Olivia were beautiful
Written August 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi! We really appreciate your detailed review! Thank you for much for acknowledging our staff members and will definitely share you feedback with them! We look forward to see you on board again soon.
Written August 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jackie G
1 contribution
We booked this cruise for my mum's 85th Birthday and from booking to the Dinner I could not fault a thing. Our dinner meals all came out together with all correct and all dietary requirements met. The Spaghetti Bolognese for the kids was an absolute hit even with the Adults as the kids could not eat what was given to them. The supply of drinks to the table was fantastic with waiters constantly asking if we needed any refills. It was a beautiful evening overall :)
Written April 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Firstly, happy 85th birthday to your mum from the Melbourne River Cruises team! Thank you for taking your time and leaving a review. We're thrilled to hear that you and your family had a fantastic time on our Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise! We hope to see you back on board again soon!
Written May 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lindatMelb_Vic_
Melb. Vic.3 contributions
What a fabulous night! Staff were very friendly, jovial and very attentive. The 4-course dinner was delicious (we had beef and salmon for mains) and the entree grazing tray, and dessert shared tasting plate per 2 people, were great ideas - all very tasty. We were a party of 4 and all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Drinks were plentiful all night and we were able to sit inside on the lower deck at nicely presented tables, or go upstairs and enjoy the river views and city skyline. Restrooms were clean. We would certainly take this trip again - it was one of the highlights of our city stay.
Written May 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for taking your time and leaving a review for our Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time on the dinner cruise with your party of 4! We can't wait to have you on board with us again soon!
Written May 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Saumya J
Melbourne, Australia8 contributions
I booked the mothers day lunch cruise for my mom and it was the best mothers day that she has ever had!!! Everything was lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and the drinks kept flowing! They had decorated it beautifully and had soft music playing in the background. The cruise was so relaxing and the views of yarra paired perfectly with it.

I highly recommend this for a lunch or dinner cruise that you can do! its a great experience and better than going to a restaurant.
Written May 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for taking your time and leaving a review of the Spirit of Melbourne. We're thrilled to hear that you feel that way about our Mother's Day cruise! We hope to see you again on board with us soon!
Written May 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Grace T
92 contributions
A must do! We absolutely loved our experience on the dinner cruise. The staff were fantastic, so friendly and attentive. They never let your drink go empty and really made an impact on the whole experience. The food, delicious! We were lucky enough to get a superb summer evening. We stood on the deck drink in hand and watched the sunset! I'd recommend this to everyone and would love to do it again. Well done team, thankyou for a fantastic evening.
Written January 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Grace! Thank you for choosing us and providing such a positive review! We're are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience on our dinner cruise and the sunset view. Hope to see you cruising with us again soon!
Written January 19, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

rickyg1975
Coffs Harbour, Australia5 contributions
On the final night of our weekend in Melbourne we experienced this absolute gold nugget. From the moment we were welcomed on board to our farewell we loved every minute of the experience. We didn’t leave our seats for the duration with Melbourne and the Yarra providing the perfect backdrop for our evening. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the food, our glasses were topped up all night and the service was outstanding lead by our waiter Adrian who was both professional and humorous.

Great night couldn’t believe how quick the 3 hours went. Would highly recommend.
Written April 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for leaving such a detailed review regarding your time on the Spirit of Melbourne! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time on the dinner cruise! We can't wait to have you back on board with us again soon!
Written May 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 122
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Melbourne River Cruises
Companion294305
Companion294305
00
Interesting snd Entertaining
Fantastic commentary on this cruise, lots of information on history and buildings. Seating comfortable, plenty of
Niccers16
Niccers16
00
Great way to see Melbourne
Such a great way to see Melbourne!!! Boats are comfortable, however surprised that hardly anyone was wearing a mask
nikolinaj421
nikolinaj421
00
Disgusting
Almost $500 for 4 people in a tent with deteriorated plastic curtains so that you can’t even resemble the beautiful
lindal0vely
lindal0vely
00
BORING Don't waste your money
Well that was 2hrs I won't get back. Very boring, nothing to see but mostly Industrial sites. Commentary also bor
BCLW2022
BCLW2022
00
Good cruise bad brunch
We went on the Bottomless Brunch Cruise on Sunday. The boat and the cruise were quite pleasant, but the food was no
Madonna G
Madonna G
00
Fun police
We were very excited about our trip on the Yarra. But the experience did not meet our expectations. We were told to
lorrainemM6371TH
lorrainemM6371TH
00
Enjoyable cruise up & down the Yarra
Really enjoyed sitting outside at the back of the boat today. It was a pleasant, sunny, July day, & it was my choic
col852
col852
00
Very misleading and disappointing
After paying for a one hour cruise we were told on board that we couldn't go upstream or downstream due to various
W1497NNpatricias
W1497NNpatricias
00
Beautiful garden show ,free tram ,great cafes & great walks across river to restraunts
Rendevous hotel great ,clean close to transport ,quiet rooms spacious ,clean no breakfast as covid staff short cafe
619jeffry
619jeffry
00
Take a cruise around the Yarra
Melbourne River Cruises will take visitors for a cruise along the Yarra River, which will allow passengers to see t
jogriffinkirk
jogriffinkirk
00
Great
I loved this trip. It is amazing what can see and learn about the river and Melbourne from the river that you canno
JessicaP2899
JessicaP2899
00
Enjoyable Melbourne sight-seeing activity.
Great commentary, beautiful trip up the Yarra River, basic but great facilities. Would prefer if it was a non-smo
lindamD3990RB
lindamD3990RB
00
Delicious Dinner Cruise Celebration
Captain, service, food, drinks, ambience......loved Everything! Highly recommended. This dinner cruise on the river
Nessa M
Nessa M
00
View was good
We couldn't hear the commentary. Quality of sound was very poor. Coffee was advertised as being available but was n
689christyp
689christyp
00
Perfect quick activity for kids and adults
The storytelling… it was captivating ! We thoroughly enjoyed seeing the city from a different perspective and learn
Frequently Asked Questions about Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise

Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise will start at 7:30 PM. Discover and book Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise on Tripadvisor

During this experience, places you will visit include:Discover and book Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise on Tripadvisor

Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise price starts from $107.53. Discover and book Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise on Tripadvisor

Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise cancellation policy: If you cancel at least 4 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel within 3 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee. Discover and book Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise on Tripadvisor