Tours and Tickets

Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas provided by Foaming Fury

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas

Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas
5
Book in advance
from
$84.30
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Recommended by 96% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Spectacular views of the Barron Gorge from the water
Duration:
3h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
70
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
The lush rain forest, sweeping gorges, and dramatic cliffs of Barron Gorge National Park provide a spectacular backdrop for a rafting adventure. On this tour, cruise down the Barron River on a white water rafting excursion and get your adrenaline pumping as you paddle over Class II and III rapids.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Chinese
Highlights
  • Full instruction provided: suitable for complete beginners
  • Hassle-free hotel pickup and round-trip transport from Cairns or Port Douglas
What to expect
Begin your tour with pickup from your Cairns or Port Douglas hotel and a short transfer to Lake Placid in Barron Gorge National Park. On arrival, get suited up in your safety gear, listen to the safety briefing, and learn the basics of paddling and balancing the raft. Once you’re ready, climb aboard and set out along the Barron River. Admire the stunning scenery as you paddle through the Barron Gorge, beneath soaring cliffs, steep ravines, and dense rainforest. Glide downstream, picking up speed as you pass over Class II and III rapids, and tackle tricky river passages with the help of your guide. Afterward, return to shore, where a driver will be waiting to take you back to your hotel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Chinese
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Full instruction provided: suitable for complete beginners
  • Hassle-free hotel pickup and round-trip transport from Cairns or Port Douglas
What to expect
Begin your tour with pickup from your Cairns or Port Douglas hotel and a short transfer to Lake Placid in Barron Gorge National Park. On arrival, get suited up in your safety gear, listen to the safety briefing, and learn the basics of paddling and balancing the raft. Once you’re ready, climb aboard and set out along the Barron River. Admire the stunning scenery as you paddle through the Barron Gorge, beneath soaring cliffs, steep ravines, and dense rainforest. Glide downstream, picking up speed as you pass over Class II and III rapids, and tackle tricky river passages with the help of your guide. Afterward, return to shore, where a driver will be waiting to take you back to your hotel.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 28754P1
Important information
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from Cairns or Port Douglas with transport by air-conditioned coach
  • Safety equipment
  • River guide
  • National park fees
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
Exclusions
  • AU$30 river levy (payable direct)
  • Optional extras such as shoe rental ($5)
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Snacks (available to purchase)
Duration
3h 30m
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • We pick up from all hotels and accommodations in Cairns, Northern Beaches and Port Douglas.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Minimum age is 12 years
  • Children between 12 and 17 years require a parent or guardian to sign a waiver form
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 70 travelers
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from Cairns or Port Douglas with transport by air-conditioned coach
  • Safety equipment
  • River guide
  • National park fees
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
Exclusions
  • AU$30 river levy (payable direct)
  • Optional extras such as shoe rental ($5)
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Snacks (available to purchase)
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • We pick up from all hotels and accommodations in Cairns, Northern Beaches and Port Douglas.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
3h 30m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Minimum age is 12 years
  • Children between 12 and 17 years require a parent or guardian to sign a waiver form
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 70 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
934 reviews
Excellent
854
Very good
51
Average
11
Poor
5
Terrible
13

Emma R
Northmead, Australia53 contributions
Took the teenagers and they loved it better than their devices (which is saying something). We had guide Spencer who was very skilled and made us feel like we were doing a great job the whole time - there was no fear and he took us the 'hero path' on each white water. The whole process was easy, pic up near the Lake Placid caravan park (but don't use their amenities, pop to the end of the road to use the public bathrooms). Bus up the hill to the top of the river run, and straight back out to your cars again at the bottom. The tour itself is awesome fun, as expected, and good value for the adventure. Be careful if you're booking with an online agent like GetYourGuide - when it says 'River Levy not included' it means you have to pay an additional $30 per person when they pick you up. We didn't know this so it came as a bit of a surprise, but the deal didn't work out any dearer overall. We had originally booked for the afternoon but they called us the day before to offer a morning time. We took it and there were only 5 boats, which was great, but apparently it was very crowded in the afternoon (20 boats) which I can imagine would have been hectic! We wore springer wetsuits in case it was cold, but even in mid winter (July) it was very pleasant in the water and the boat.
Written July 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Coastal42869579950
Thanks emskyb0p for taking the time to write a review. We are stoked to hear that your family loved rafting with us on the Barron! We will pass on your excellent feedback to our amazing guides! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in the region.
Written July 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

HY0569
1 contribution
Picked up by bus from hotel by host Kristina - knew we were up for a great time, very humorous / icebreaker putting you at ease not to take things too seriously with fun & safety a priority. First time for my 14 yo son was priceless. Foaming Fury are an excellent crew gave me & my son an ultimate experience to remember. Jean our rafting guide knew his stuff, couldn’t recommend him and the other 14 guides on the Barron River.
Written April 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PetaFF4870
Great to hear you and your son had such a good time rafting with Kristian, Jean and the crew! Thanks for traveling with us and sharing your wonderful feedback! :-)
Written April 25, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Arun
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
Family
What an amazing day it was! My family together with a friend and her 2 sons went to do half day white water rafting down the Barron River. Our guide, Joe, was AMAZING. He made us feel at ease with his friendly and confident nature. His skills in guiding us through the rapids was flawless and we were immediately reassured that we were safe with him as our guide. We highly recommend Foaming Fury Team and will definitely do this exhilarating activity again.
Written January 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PetaFF4870
Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback and recommendation! We're delighted to hear you all had such an amazing time rafting with Joe! Thanks for traveling with us, we hope to see you again some time! :-)
Written January 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

helsimbur
Gladstone, Australia37 contributions
Couples
This was amazing. Have never done it before and a bit nervous Christian made us feel so at ease, honestly was the most entertaining, down to earth guide and was well suited to our group of inexperienced rafters. We all had a lot of laughs along the way. No experience necessary, just be prepared to get wet! Definitely recommend paying to get the photos, they captured some candid moments and certainly we will get a lot of laughs looking through them and be reminded of the fantastic day we had. Thanks for an amazing day, we would definitely do this again. Thanks Christian!
Written October 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PetaFF4870
Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your Barron Rafting trip with Kristian! Great to hear he was able to put you at ease and give you an entertaining adventure! Thanks for traveling with us :-)
Written October 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sophie M
1 contribution
Our tour was very poorly organised and the actual white water rafting was really disappointing. When we were picked up I told the guide that we needed to be back in Cairns no later than 6.30pm to get a flight out at 8pm. No problem he said. We ended up having to get an Uber at great expense to pick us up from the gorge and only just made our flight because the boats didn’t get off the water until well after 6pm and there was no way we would have made it otherwise.

As for the actual white water rafting, there were only about five rapids. We spent most of our time waiting around in the rain or scrambling up and down a very dangerous path to avoid a rapid deemed ‘too risky’ to go over. Climbing up and over muddy, slippery rocks seemed far more risky, and I’m surprised no one was injured.

When we finally reached our destination there was only one toilet to change in, and with over 100 people on the tour, there was no way this could be done quickly.
Written April 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PetaFF4870
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your rafting tour. On the day you travelled we were dealing with high water which meant we had to portage (walk around) the largest rapid as this was a safer option than rafting through it. Unfortunately this added extra time to the trip resulting in our return time being later than usual. Thank you for traveling with us, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the region.
Written April 25, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tanja A
1 contribution
Family
This was a wonderful experience. Kristian our guide was extrenely competant, very knowledgable and quite the comedian. I commend his professionalism and dedication for the perfect customer experience.
Coming from the customer service industry I can not emphasise how rare this type of employee is. How you would not want to drown multiple people daily (self included) baffles me.
I was very obviously the least experienced in extreme sports on this boat. My comrades on the day all performed beatifully. They listened, retained information and worked well together. I on the other hand have the memory span of Nemo, have selective hearing and am a bit of a wuss. Kristian handled this situation brilliantly. All the while keeping his eye on the strange lady ensuring she felt safe, whilst also kicking her in the ass when she needed it to man up and put her big girl pants on and not hold up valuable time, all in the most respectful patient way. The rafting experience is a must for anyone and everyone. People with 0 experience that may um and ah don't waste your precious time. Just do it and you will never look back. It was exhilirating, exciting, and soul refreshing. This tour company is also a must as they are a well oiled machine. Bravo to each and every one of them. This experience has now made me want to jump out of a perfectly good plane. Once again 5*****
Written August 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Christopher D
1 contribution
Couples
Tom the guide was outstanding and could not have made the 2-3hours any more enjoyable or "funner".
His attention to detail and his passion for nature and the environment were highly commendable as well as his concern for our safety.
Employees like Tom make companies a standout and so easy to reccomend. Well done Tom You really do deserve a pay rise of more than 5.1%
The whole crew were fantastic and contributed to a great Holliday memory for our group.
Congratulations Guys
Chris and Amanda.
Written May 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PetaFF4870
Thanks for your awesome feedback Chris and Amanda, we're delighted to hear what a great time you had rafting with Tom and the crew and fantastic you were left with a great holiday memory! :-)
Written May 25, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fitzy05
Mackay, Australia80 contributions
Great day out with the kids. This was a good introduction to rafting for the kids. Joe the guide made sure we all were safe and also he was calm and gave us confidence on the raft. All the photos we got were amazing. The guy on the bus getting us all pumped up before we rafted and on the return trip made the hole rafting experience excellent and with all his local knowledge of restaurants and places to see, I would recommend this for everyone
Written October 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PetaFF4870
Thanks for letting us know what a great time you had rafting with Joe and the crew! We appreciate your wonderful feedback, thanks for traveling with us! :-)
Written October 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mellyboom
Mount Coolum, Australia54 contributions
My girls and I were collected from Riley hotel in Cairns on time, had a banter and laugh with Andy and Kristian on the way up to the gorge. It was a short drive from the hotel. It’s so beautiful, huge green trees, a waterfall and of course the river on which we seek our thrills. We were kitted up, shoes ( $5 well worth the hire) helmets and a life jacket, headed down to the river with Andy, our guide and away we went. We had an awsome afternoon, filled with laughter, stories and the rapids. They were such fun, there is no age limit to this activity. Our crew followed instructions and had a safe passage down the river, we got to swim in the pools and float down a rapid without the boat. Felt totally safe the whole trip. This was a taste o the 2/3 rapids and we are now ready for the big 4/5 rapids on a full day. Our whole trip was photographed, our pack had 75 pics and it only costs $55.. memories for lifetime. Thanks boys. Totally awsome day!
Written October 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PetaFF4870
What wonderful feedback, thank you! We're stoked you and your girls had such a great time rafting with Andy and the crew! Thanks for traveling with us! :-)
Written October 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul_and_Antonia
Surfers Paradise, Australia8 contributions
This was a great first time rafting experience for us and we thought good value too, we chose to self drive to the Lake Placid pickup point. Our coxswain Jordon was excellent, he gave us a thorough safety briefing at the start which proved to be invaluable as my wife fell overboard going down one of the rapids, she remembered to hold onto the rope that runs around the outside of the raft and Jordon hauled her back into the raft, all happened in seconds, well done Jordon, you were brilliant mate. Getting wet with the possibility of falling overboard is all part of the thrill, we highly recommend this adventure trip.
Written July 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Paul, Thanks for the review and glad to hear Jordan took good care of your wife when she went over, it can sometimes be pretty scary to fall out but as you said the guides will have you back in a matter of seconds, highly trained and skilled in all white water rescues our guides will ensure a fun but safe rafting experience.
Written August 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 928
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Foaming Fury
738lawries
738lawries
00
A Must
White water rafting is Definitely a must when visiting Cairns, it was amazing. Kristian our guide was so good, he w
822jasc
822jasc
00
Loved every bit!
One of the best parts was going down the rooster tail and cheese cutter, thanks to Eli for the great experience 😊
laycek2022
laycek2022
00
Awesome
This is one of the best activites we've had in cairns so far ! Great fun And awesome guide (Bush chook) Highly rec
sjbarrie
sjbarrie
00
Great fun and well organised
Seeing my wife, who has just learned to swim enjoy the experience with our adult children (daughter & boy friend)
kristyjanin
kristyjanin
00
Fantastic fun!
Such a well run tour. Carlos was an incredibly skilled and senior guide. He certainly made us feel safe throughout
Jess05xo
Jess05xo
00
5 star experience
Full day on the water, loads of laughs and smiles all round. The team for tubing Jess, Jazzy and Keanu were awesome
katewO7812AB
katewO7812AB
00
Awesome experience
Excellent experience even though I was petrified. We was in safe hands with Eli. We thought the whole activity was
N3988WGjohnp
N3988WGjohnp
00
Excellent
Great tour, guides were excellent. Recommend to anyone. Had plenty of laughs and would definitely do it again.
Expedition658832
Expedition658832
00
Great morning.
Thoroughly enjoyed the half day Tubing, recommend this experience. Tour with Jordan & Olivia, informative and frie
maxzel2020
maxzel2020
00
good stuff
jess the bus driver made me feel very at home and very cool. good job jess. and the rafting was fun too
keyvansamimi
keyvansamimi
00
First and great adventure.
It was our first experience which was so fun, exciting, safe, and joyful. The whole team was great and amusing.
jennychen888
jennychen888
00
Super fun and safe
We have learnt basic skills how to raft and we had so much fun on the water. It’s safe for older kids. It requires
821jatint
821jatint
00
JT rafting
Excellent and very friendly guide Jimmy. Very thrilling and safe at the same time. Thank you very much Jimmy and y
zendaf2020
zendaf2020
00
Experience of a lifetime
Absolute must do when in Cairns. It was an experience of a lifetime. Joe was our guide, he was excellent and he m
P496Q
P496Q
00
Such a fun tour
A brilliant day, we laughed from start to finish! Our guide Joe was so helpful and informative. Would recommend to
Frequently Asked Questions about Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas

Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas price starts from $82.56. Discover and book Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas on Tripadvisor

Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas on Tripadvisor

Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas is hosted by Foaming Fury. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Foaming Fury on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Barron Gorge National Park Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns or Port Douglas on Tripadvisor