Cairns Tours
Green Island Day Trip from Cairns
4
About
Discover the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park on a catamaran cruise to Green Island, a coral cay surrounded by spectacular reefs and marine life. Enjoy activities like snorkeling, relaxing in the sun, and a glass-bottom boat tour. Visit Green Island Resort to enjoy a spot on the sandy beach, with the option to add a trip beneath the surface in a semi-submersible and a buffet lunch.
from
$81.45
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 150 per group
Duration: 8h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • See spectacular marine life and vibrant corals of the Great Barrier Reef
  • Spend half a day exploring and relaxing on Green Island
  • Enjoy access to Green Island Resort facilities and showers
  • Choose from two departure times suit your schedule

  • Cruise transfers to and from Green Island by modern air-conditioned catamaran
  • Morning tea / coffee (served on 9am full day only)
  • Buffet lunch (if option selected)
  • Choice of a glass-bottom boat tour or use of snorkeling gear for the day (if option selected)
  • Semi-submersible tour (if option is selected)
  • Environmental Management Charge (Reef Tax)
  • Entry/Admission - Great Barrier Reef
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Optional activities. (Can be booked locally, subject to availability. Payable locally. Introductory Scuba Dive AU$152, Seawalker Helmut Dive AU$165, Semi-submersible Coral Viewing Tour AU$20)
  • Food and drinks (available to purchase)
  • Flotation vests and lycra suits are available for hire

Travel to the Reef Fleet Terminal on your own to meet your boat. Board a catamaran bound for Green Island and the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. Upon arrival at Green Island, you have the day to explore and relax, choosing from a wide variety of activities offered by Green Island Resort. When booking, select a snorkeling trip to the coral reef, a glass-bottom boat tour, or a trip in a semi-submersible that gets you below the surface without getting wet. The resort’s facilities are available for your use, and you can rent beach loungers, canoes, sailboards, shade umbrellas, and more. If you’ve selected the lunch option when booking, return to the catamaran for a fresh buffet, or just purchase a meal on the island. After your island time, the tour concludes with the return trip to Cairns.

Start:
  • 1 Spence St, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia
    Please call to reconfirm your booking prior to travel to receive your boarding pass. If you have not received your boarding pass, please meet directly at the Reef Fleet Terminal, 30 minutes prior to your departure time
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Infant seats available
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2438FDBIGCAT_CNS

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessibility is available but limited. Passengers must have some mobility and/or the presence of a carer who can assist them.
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travelers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2438FDBIGCAT_CNS

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • 1 Spence St, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia
      Please call to reconfirm your booking prior to travel to receive your boarding pass. If you have not received your boarding pass, please meet directly at the Reef Fleet Terminal, 30 minutes prior to your departure time
    • 1
    • 2
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour
      1,121
      Australia
      Joined in February 2010
    • CherylH439
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great option to see coral and tropical fish
      Enjoyable trip to see the coral and fish, just what I needed to fill up a half day. Trip over from Cairns quite rough due to overnight weather but well worth it. The crew were great and help many people who suffered a little. On the island I do not swim and not confident in water so to have option of glass bottom boat was great, was amazed how much we could see. Super morning.
      Written May 24, 2024
    • yefersonc417
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      That was very good.
      The spot is a beautiful piece of the wonderful Great Barrier Reef. You can go snorkeling or just swimming. We went snorkeling and it was easy to reach out and see a lot of reef fish from the shores. The trip was worth it. At the end of the day, we spot some turtles breathing on the surface and a couple of reef sharks. My wife loved it.
      Written May 13, 2024
    • Kristine G
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Please improve.
      Sadly the reef is white and deteriorating, there was no reminder to anyone about preserving the environment. The employees were disengaged, they obviously hate tourists, the boat broke down and there was no communication. They ran away.
      Written May 3, 2024
    • Vladosan
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Shorter than expected but worth it.
      The activity itself worth it. Boat staff were nice and helpful. However, the cruise run late 30 minutes. No communication, whatsoever. We’ve been left clueless to wait on the warf. The activities on Green Island had set times and the departure was not subsequently delayed. This basically shortened our experience with 30 minutes. I would recommend booking the morning departure with the latest return. It is possible. We wish would have known this before. Island is very pretty and you wouldn’t be disappointed spending the whole day there.
      Written April 20, 2024
    • nettieg123
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Family trip to see Coral Green Is
      1/2 day trip with semi submersible. 3 yr old loved it. Views cloudy as raining but still could see coral, fish. Rough trip over but crew took care of those seasick. Easy to find where you needed to be to get glass bottom, semi sub and boat home. Just lovely day out.
      Written March 24, 2024
    • jashadman
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Average
      The transfer boat was faultless. Great staff, no issues. The main boat where you have lunch etc was disappointing. It was busy, which I understand is stressful for staff, but at some points I couldn’t believe how rudely some of them were talking to customers. The fish feeding was a bit disappointing as it didn’t last long and the person speaking didn’t seem very confident about their facts. Otherwise good - food was pretty good, snorkelling gear passable, and the submarine boat was great. The guy who did the sub commentary was really knowledgable and friendly. The island itself was unreal - a must see.
      Written March 19, 2024
    • UncleGabeCalifornia
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Beware!!!!
      Terrible!! Went out when there was 95% chance of rain, it rained all day, and chance of thunderstorms. When asked if they would refund that day because of horrific forecast, they refused. You don’t book a day on the beach on an island when there’s nothing but rain! They don’t show rainy cloudy days on the island in any of their advertising!! Terrible customer service and/or empathy
      Written March 9, 2024
    • Burniston
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A day to remember and cherish
      Green Island is beautiful. Trip over took 45 minutes. If you want to swim or snorkle, hire a lycra suit as high risk of jelly fish stings. Glass bottom boat was superb plenty of coral and loads of fish. KEEGAN was an excellent skipper, friendly and knowledgeable.
      Written March 4, 2024
    • N3626LFphilipm
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Brilliant customer service
      As a consequence of a delayed trip, I contacted Big Cat Reef Cruises and they immediately responded and agreed that I could defer my trip to the next day! Fantastic customer service and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience on Green Island!
      Written February 29, 2024
    • David H
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great experience
      It was fantastic. I swam with a turtle and snorkelled over many coloured fish. Staff were very helpful. It was stinger season. Staff provided me with a protective stinger suit.
      Written February 24, 2024
    • alisaloves2travel
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fish galore!
      I took my daughter who is 21 and we both had an amazing time! We did the half day trip with the glass bottom and semi submersible excursions. We saw so many fish and coral! This was a trip that I will always cherish! The staff on the boat were friendly and answered my questions. We visited Cairns for the sole purpose of seeing the Reef and this tour made it possible without us having to get wet.
      Written January 25, 2024
    • Ashley K
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Recommend
      Amazing day in the Great Barrier Reef. Submarine was great and got to see lots of marine life with the children. We had a fantastic time. Thank you
      Written January 24, 2024
    • Andimoo
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      I’d do it again tomorrow!
      Great green island trip with snorkeling! Comfy boat, well cared for gear, they had all our sizes. Masks were high quality and everything is disinfected. Snorkeling off the beach was amazing, so many fish. Chairs and umbrellas available for rent on beach. The 1/2 day tour was just enough for a great snorkel then returning to boat.
      Written January 12, 2024
    • holidays1111
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Enjoyable half day trip
      Got on board the Reef Rocket at 1pm for a half day trip to Green Island where we spent some of our time on the glass bottom boat watching some amazing sea life and coral. Went for a swim and a stroll later before getting back on board the Reef Rocket for the crossing back to Cairns. Got back at 5pm, all went too fast.
      Written December 2, 2023
    • loops983
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      A great outing
      when my husband and I arrived on green island the weather and hospitality was disappointing. after a few hours the weather stared to clear up, me and my husband had the most enjoyable stay at the hotel and a great time on the beach As well as in the water, the snorkeling gear was defective yet we had our own gear from our house, the restaurants were an expensive and open really late but had great food, the tickets were a bit pricey but overall it was a great experience and amazing time. David and Derold Rileyn
      Written November 20, 2023
    See all 1,121 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.0
    4.0 of 5 bubbles248 reviews
    Excellent
    131
    Very good
    51
    Average
    38
    Poor
    18
    Terrible
    10

    Gerard M
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2021
    I and my wife have booked a cruse to Fitzroy Island through "Fitzroy Island Adventures". The Island we visited was good, unfortunately, after some problem appeared while a boarding process (which actually wasn't our fault), we have experienced the bout crew staff: not polite! :( arrogant! :( not helpful! :( at all - simply unprofessional! On the following day we have booked another cruise to Green Island this time and on that time (thank you God!) through a different cruise provider: "Big Cat Reef Cruises". The service was great! :) Professionalism from the very beginning to the very end - Thank you :) We have also realized later that the company we were very happy with ("Big Cat Reef Cruises") also offers cruises to Fitzroy Island. We regret now that we did make our booking (to Fitzroy Island) through "Fitzroy Island Adventures":( I would definitely recommend (to anybody in future) to book a cruise (either to Fitzroy or Green Island) through "Big Cat" as "Big Cat Reef Cruises " is professional and offers a professional service.
    Written April 3, 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hey there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review - we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear that your experience on Fitzroy Island Adventures was not up to standard. Both Fitzroy Island Adventures and Big Cat Green Island Cruises are both operated by Experience Co so we will be sure to look into your comments internally regarding your experience with Fitzroy Island Adventures. If there is anything you'd like to add, please do not hesitate to contact us at res@fitzroyislandadventures.com. We are so happy to hear that your experience with Big Cat was great, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
    Written April 26, 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Margaret H
    Albion Park, Australia16 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2021
    Our trip out to Green Island by Reef Adventures was amazing.
    On getting to the island we went to have breakfast at 9.30 but the only place opened was the restaurant but after we sat down we were told they were closed and we could get drinks , alcohol ,at 10.30 across from restaurant when they opened they only served alcohol,drinks, not what you want for breakfast.
    We had to wait till 11 to buy dried up snitzel rolls,dryedbup fish plate.
    No where decent to eat .
    The grounds looked so run down ,not looked after,mud over paths,leaves over paths.
    The weather was not good ,occasionally raining but no cover to sit under .
    The island was so disappointing. This place needs to have a good look at what service could be given ,day visitors are customers too.
    Don’t just cater to those staying at the hotel.Extremely disappointmented.
    Written May 5, 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hey there, Thanks for leaving your feedback, however we don't believe you have travelled with Big Cat Green Island as you have mentioned travelling Reef Adventures/Great Adventures. We are also a transfer service to Green island and we do not operate the resort on the island. If you did not travel with us, it would be much appreciated if you could please remove this one-star review :) Thank you!
    Written May 16, 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Tania O
    Melbourne, Australia6 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020 • Family
    Great day out for the family. Departed at 9am and returned at 5pm. We did the semi submarine, glass floor boat with lunch. It was good to get the boat tours over and done with early which were amazing. Lunch was so yummy and you could go back for seconds. And it was so nice to relax at the beach after lunch until we parted. We wish we just had one more hour to relax a little more because we paid for 2 day beds on the beach at $40 each for only 2 hours. Great day overall highly recommend. Service from the provider was excellent and very organised.
    Written January 20, 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks for taking the time to write in Tania. We really appreciate the feedback. Regards, Chris
    Written February 10, 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Joan F
    Seattle, WA61 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    We took this half-day cruise because it offered snorkeling and we weren't feeling up to a fullday excursion. We ended up on their smaller boat, which was fine, and cruised for about an hour out to Green Island We were two of a handful of people who chose to snorkel; most were going to experience the glass bottom boat, or semisubmersible, or both. Because it it (jellyfish) stinger season and I am sensitive to most stings we rented stinger suits from them. The cost was reasonable and I felt well protected although I only saw a couple of jellies while we were snorkeling. My snorkel and mask did not work well and they did not provide no-fog. But the worst of it was the area where they told us to snorkel. It was mostly eel grass, almost no coral or fish although we did see a massive turtle.
    Written February 11, 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks for the feedback Joan, We do advise passengers about expectations of what to see of both side of the Jetty. On one side which is mainly sea grass this is where you'll more than likely see turtles, where as the other side you'd expect to see more coral and marine life. With regards to the mask, I am sorry to read you had trouble, our crew are more then happy to exchange any equipment should you have any issue as we want our passengers to get the most enjoyment as possible out of their time on the reef. Great to read you had an encounter with a turtle. Regards, Chris
    Written February 24, 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Sophia
    2 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2021 • Family
    We enjoyed the island however felt some of the vessel staff were not very professional and seemed unsure of what snorkeling/swimming was available/recommended - particularly when told that we were not the most confident of swimmers. The ad said snorkeling equipment was supplied so we assumed that included a wet suit and/or life jacket as per other snorkeling companies we’d been with - but it didn’t. I was charged an additional $25 for the suits and another $20 for the vests on top. It was also apparent that if they had your size then you were lucky so no planning had been done there. I asked if there were supervisors to watch/count the snorkellers and was told it was a big island and we can’t watch you. I didn’t necessarily need it but was feeling a little unsure as it’d been a little while since I’d last been. They did nothing to reassure us. I noticed other people were also left feeling uncertain too.
    Written January 19, 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Sophia, Sorry to read of your disappointment and thanks for your feedback . I'll be passing your comments onto the marine operations manager as our crew our trained to inform our guests of the recommended area for snorkelling which is patrolled by life guards. Additionally we show a snorkel demonstration video on the way to island showing guests how to use the equipment and where the patrolled areas are. With regards to our advertisement of snorkel equipment our brochures and websites do advise that suits and flotation vests are an optional extra and are available in a number of sizes. We appreciate your 3 star review Sophia and apologies if you felt our communication was not up to standard on this occasion. Regards, Chris
    Written January 27, 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Aju M
    Brisbane, Australia3 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2020
    We did a Green Island day trip with Big Cat. As non-swimmers there was not much activity to do on the island other than just enjoying the view. Reef viewing on semi submersible boat was good.Lunch provided on the boat was not worth for the price, carry your own lunch if possible.

    What made my trip memorable is the SNUBA dive with Benny. He is a well experienced and patient trainer. He is a great communicator and took care of me during the entire process. I was overjoyed with the underwater experience and with the fact that i spent almost 15-20 mins there. I would recommend anyone to try SNUBA even if you are non swimmer.
    Written January 11, 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Ewan
    United Kingdom267 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Absolutely incredible. We picked up a $40 day tour including snorkelling on a last minute deal and it was easily worth triple! We saw turtles, sting rays, a small shark and dolphins. Friendly and attentive crew and a stunning location to snorkel or to just spend the day chilling on the beach. 10/10 would recommend
    Written February 22, 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks for the awesome feedback Ewan. Regards, Chris
    Written February 24, 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Helen K
    Melbourne67 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    The island is lovely and set up was good with so much potential but looked tired and staff looked like they didn’t want to be there. You can’t swim on the beach due to coral and even snorkeling wasn’t that great. The glass bottom boat was good and the guide was very informative. The young man at the food kiosk was very friendly as were the staff at the dive desk. There is so much potential for this island. Lying on the beach, the guy selling drinks and icecream and renting beach umbrellas and lounges (for $40) played music just for himself. If he had trendy music playing nice and loud, the vibe would be so much better - it would feel like you were in the Mediterranean. I’m not sure how happy those staying there are about daily visitors to the island either.
    Written May 28, 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hey there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review - we really appreciate it. However, you have left us a one-star review and your comments are mostly focused on the island itself and the resort areas, of which we have no control. We hope that your experience onboard Big Cat during your transfers to and from Green Island were as enjoyable as the glass bottom boat tour you enjoyed with us. If you feel as though we deserve a higher rating than one-star based on this, we'd really appreciate you updating your review :) Have a wonderful day!
    Written May 30, 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    nathan942
    Leeds, UK15 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2023
    Brilliant day out. Parts of the island are really quiet and secluded and look like paradise.

    However the highlight was the semi-submersible trip. The views of the fish was amazing. We say a big manta ray, a black tipped reef shark, a green turtle and loads and loads of other fishes.

    The view from under the water is breathtaking - if you go on this tour tour I would strongly recommend adding on the semi-submersible extra.
    Written February 5, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Nathan, We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time on Green Island and had a pleasant experience with us. Thank you for the 5 star review and positive feedback, we really do appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon on your next adventure :)
    Written February 9, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Elliott P
    Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Booked the Snuba experience on the boat ride over and it did not disappoint.
    Benny and the team were fantastic. Easy to pick up with excellent coaching. My partner struggled initially and Benny went above and beyond to make her feel comfortable, to the point of holding her hand and guiding her around so she could enjoy it fully and build her confidence.
    I would highly recommend it to anyone of any experience level. Words can’t describe how much better it is than just snorkelling and how easy it is for any experience level.
    Definitely worth hitting up Benny and the team if visiting Cairns. Great job team and thanks again.
    Written August 15, 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wow Elliott ! What awesome feedback. Thank you for choosing Big Cat Green Island and Snuba for your reef experience. Regards, Chris
    Written August 23, 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 234

    Green Island Day Trip from Cairns provided by Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour

    All Cairns HotelsCairns Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cairns
    All things to do in Cairns
    Day Trips in Cairns
    RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars