Tours and Tickets
Sydney Ghost Walking Tour
3

Sydney Ghost Walking Tour

By Lantern Ghost Tours
About
from
$25.62
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 8-99, max of 30 per group
Duration: 1h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
English


  • Local guide
  • Live commentary
  • Entry/Admission - The Rocks
What's not included
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off


Departure details
  • 69 George St, The Rocks NSW 2000, Australia Departure Point: Observer Hotel Address: 69 George St, The Rocks
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6024SYDNEY

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please wear comfortable shoes, as this is a walking tour
  • Minimum age is 8 years old
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

Which attractions will I visit with Sydney Ghost Walking Tour?
During this experience, places you will visit include:Discover and book Sydney Ghost Walking Tour on Tripadvisor
How much is Sydney Ghost Walking Tour?
Sydney Ghost Walking Tour price starts from $25.33. Discover and book Sydney Ghost Walking Tour on Tripadvisor
What is the Sydney Ghost Walking Tour cancellation policy?
Sydney Ghost Walking Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Sydney Ghost Walking Tour on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Sydney Ghost Walking Tour?
Sydney Ghost Walking Tour is hosted by Lantern Ghost Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Lantern Ghost Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Sydney Ghost Walking Tour on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6024SYDNEY

Reserve your spot

Similar experiences

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    69 George St
    69 George St, The Rocks NSW 2000, Australia
    Departure Point: Observer Hotel Address: 69 George St, The Rocks
    See address & details
  • 1
    The Rocks
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Lantern Ghost Tours
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator
Lantern Ghost Tours
141
Australia

#207 of 711 Tours & Activities in Sydney
  • claytonp511
    claytonp511
    0
    0
    Fantastic insight to the establishment
    It was definitely an experience for the whole family to enjoy. The 2 hours night tour was very well paced for time. Watching the short video of actual inmates truely bought the moment to life. One of my group was fortunate to feel a spirit in the kitchen area.
  • Z2665VJfrancot
    Z2665VJfrancot
    0
    0
    Good tour, shame about the "spoilers"
    Beautiful homestead, history and surrounding land. Great host, well guided. Shame for the group of disrespectful idiots that decided to "party" halfway through that ruined it for the rest of the group. If I knew this demographic were on the tour I would not have booked and was on verge of demanding my money back or move my booking to another session.
  • deef690
    deef690
    0
    0
    Got completely ripped off
    Bought tickets, organised accommodation in Ararat, took time off work, drove from Melbourne, turned up early for tour, there was no one there. Tour had been cancelled and we weren’t informed. Really disappointed, rang on return to Melbourne, no one could help, no one would even refund my money!
  • 900graemes
    900graemes
    0
    0
    Great night
    We had a great group of people and funny, informative and friendly guides. Very entertaining and informative night out.
  • bronm2018
    bronm2018
    0
    0
    Worthwile doing whilst in Ararat
    Absolutely fantastic. Highly recommend you do this tour as well as Aradale. The history behind J-Ward and the inmates is something we should all learn about. Respect the history for the time it was open.
  • kond698
    kond698
    0
    0
    Interesting and quite humbling from a historical perspective, but no ghosts on hand.
    I loved learning about J Ward from a historical perspective. It's history and the role it has played in terms of housing the "criminally insane" is in itself both sad and compelling. I think that the preservation of the buildings, cells and surrounding structures is paramount to Ararat and it represents a key tourist attraction. I also felt that the building itself is both claustrophobic and disturbing, making the additional "ghost related" activities somewhat unnecessary. The use of diving rods and so on, was I felt a little gimicky and really didn't add to the experience at all. The hosts were fantastic, very knowledgeable and told the story beautifully. I also thought that the scariest person there was the lady who held the keys, didn't speak a word all night, just threw out the odd smile but didn't engage with anybody. Could this be the one and only true ghost at J Ward?
  • Nooshie2014
    Nooshie2014
    0
    0
    Sense of suspension and true believer’s were present
    We enjoyed learning the very tragic history. Particularly the absurd treatment of the men who were sentenced. The girls who conducted the tour keep close to facts, and had all the tour intrigued with the incidents that have and still occur
  • zozos647
    zozos647
    0
    0
    There are talking all night so I have to go
    Bad walking all night in the street in the end I said I’m going toilet then I lost there no one call me back
  • Debbie N
    Debbie N
    0
    0
    Amazing
    Just fascinating. The guides really know the history of J Ward, before when it was a jail and when it became an asylum. Very interesting and informative.
  • Dee-Rich2006
    Dee-Rich2006
    0
    0
    I loved it and I will be back
    Night tour its the best ghost tour ive been on yet and i ak coming back on the weekend Saturday night with my sister
  • MelbourneDebby
    MelbourneDebby
    0
    0
    Brilliant Night
    Experience was amazing, the whole family enjoyed the night. Lots of details of life behind the bars of J Ward. Stories of hauntings and terrible tales.
  • 1_E_m_i_l_y_0
    1_E_m_i_l_y_0
    0
    0
    Very intriguing
    The tour was fun and informative. Whether you believe in ghosts or not it's a great tour to find out more about Melbourne. Tip: where comfortable walking shoes as there is a lot of walking.
  • 1_E_m_i_l_y_0
    1_E_m_i_l_y_0
    0
    0
    Great night out
    The food was delicious and the tour was fun and informative. Whether you believe in ghosts or not it's a great tour to find out more about the homestead and the area. Our guide was very passionate, knowledgeable and friendly. Tips: where comfortable walking shoes as there are some uneven surfaces and weather appropriate clothing, it can get quite cold in Eynesbury.
  • Somapesu
    Somapesu
    0
    0
    Wonderful evening tour in Ararat
    Our group of 14 did the ghost tour on a Saturday night. We had 2 great guides who were very knowledgeable and really brought the stories from the asylum to life. Everything does seem eerier at night! Highly recommended if you are staying in or around Ararat.
  • Cheryl M
    Cheryl M
    0
    0
    Enjoyable Ghost Tour
    Whether you believe or not the stories were memorable and interesting, loved the history. Excellent guide. Thank you.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

3.0
81 reviews
Excellent
29
Very good
13
Average
8
Poor
10
Terrible
21

Greg Cook
Greater Sydney, Australia2 contributions
Jan 2021
This tour was terrible and uninteresting. Stories appeared t be made up and little reference to ghosts.. . The guide was very poor and after 15 years as a guide should have been more professional and better at story telling., Very amateurish. My 30 year old daughter went home after 30minutes..
Waste of money - and would not recommend - new guide or way better stories and story teller.

Originally booked in for wrong day/ evening.
Informatrion given was that there was a cheaper meal available at the Observer Hotel - but it was not open.
Very disappointed.
Written January 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer S
Hi there , thanks for your review, We are sorry to hear you booked the incorrect date, Lantern Tours offers date change prior to tours, you just need to phone the office. Unfortunately the hotel for meals is still closed due to Covid-19. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy any part of this 90 minute tour. If you would like to speak to someone regarding your tour , please contact us, details on all tickets
Written February 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Raymond N
Ryde, Australia1 contribution
Feb 2021
My wife and I had a wonderful time!, people often complain 'we didn't see any ghosts!', 'where are the ghosts?'. People this is a historical tour more than anything!

We had Ally as our guide and enjoyed hearing alot of interesting stories from different areas/buildings we walked past as well as ghost stories from other buildings and general history of the area.

Definitely makes for a fun evening, you will be surprised by what is in your own backyard.
Written February 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer S
Hi 87raym, thanks so much for posting your review after attending the Haunted Sydney ghost tour. So great t hear you enjoyed the tour and all the stories along the way , Hope to see you again soon on another Lantern Ghost Tour
Written March 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Russell M
Bendigo, Australia136 contributions
Yes lovely night for a walk around the Rocks over Easter, great under lights and all the harbour activity ......but the tour was not a history tour of the rocks if that’s what you’re expecting. Really just about some recent ghost stories at 5-6 spots. Guide was knowledgeable of the story and ensured people’s safety.
Written April 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer S
Hi Russell, thanks for your review after attending the Haunted Sydney ghost tour. We are pleased to hear your guide was knowledgeable & you enjoyed the walk hearing the ghost stories Happy Haunting!
Written April 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lisa M
Sydney, Australia34 contributions
Apr 2023
My 79 year old Mum, 11 year old nephew and I did the Ghost Tour in The Rocks last Saturday night, and we all really enjoyed it! Jake our guide was excellent and explained every story really well, and answered any questions that the group asked him. We saw a fair bit of The Rocks and just for the history side of things alone, it was really interesting (not to mention the spooky stories which were great, too!) Luckily for us it was a clear night and no rain, and the views from up on Observatory Hill were spectacular! There's quite a bit of walking and some stairs involved, so wear comfy shoes and take water with you. My nephew was fascinated with some of the stories and is still talking about it. Great fun for anyone aged 10 or above, and Jake is an excellent guide.
Written April 3, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Thomas F
1 contribution
Dec 2022 • Couples
I had a great time, my wife and I had a few experiences on the tour and looking back through the photos I took I spotted a few odd things that were interesting. The tour guide had amazing knowledge of the sites. I will be recommending this tour to my friends.
Written December 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Julie C
1 contribution
Sep 2017 • Friends
I was so excited to go on The Rocks lantern ghost tour for my birthday but I was beyond disappointed after doing so.
Firstly our tour guide did not dress up or provide lanterns as he did not want this tour to be theatrical which we all accepted as he kept telling us how great this tour would be so we remained positive that we would have a great time and a fantastic experience.
Our excitement quickly turned into awkwardness when we had to line up and touch each other from behind, he encouraged strangers to pinch and grab bums, no one did this as it was uncomfortable and inappropriate plus there were children in our group.
We then moved on walking through alleyways, apparently there was a ghost in one building we walked past however our guide did not tell us anything about this ghost and informed us we would not be waiting around to see it.
We walked under the harbour bridge, he told us all about how it was built, showed us photos on his iPad of it being built and told us 150 people died building it, apparently they were insignificant though as were the all the people who committed suicide by jumping off of it. We were not told any engaging stories and the group was getting restless as our tour seemed to be taking us on a history tour and rarely mentioned ghosts.
From there we saw Luna park off in the distance and learned about the deaths of a number of children on one of the rides. He had a couple of photos but could tell us nothing apart from how awkward a boy looked in one of them before he died. This had the potential to be very eerie but he just repeated the same thing over and over. Sadly this went on the be the scariest thing we heard on the tour.
The group walked around the area, most of us unable to hear much as our guide spoke forward while walking.
We stopped in a few areas that could have been very creepy, we needed some engaging stories, some stories about specific deaths or ghosts or spirits to make us all get into it and make us connect to what was around us. We needed to know things that had happened where we were standing and we needed time to look around and get a feel for the place. Instead we listened to some babble about the plague, he had very vague stories and flicked around on his tablet a lot, it led no where.
This was when the first two people left the tour and walked off, they had enough.
The rest of us kept going up the hill and learnt nothing of the old pubs and buildings other than there had been sightings of a woman and some hospital used to exist there.... which is when the next two people walked away and left the group.
He then took us to an underground area and we all though..... yes finally!!
But no, I learnt a bit about this area by reading the signs showing me where the kitchen was and what was found in the well when this area was discovered. Our guide instead showed us pictures of random bodies being propped up and how people tried to keep the dead alive by doing this and took photos of them in this state. We did not find out anything about the area we were or nor did we find out about sighting of spirits or information about who may or may not have died there. Our guide did not leave us in the quiet or tell us stories to creep us out, however he kept saying we are a hard group because none of us wanted to tell the group about ourselves or supernatural things we had experienced and then he yelled to try and scare us. He had no idea what any of us had or had not seen prior to this tour and believed because none of us felt the need to share our experiences that obviously we were being too closed off to have any experiences on this tour.
After this we walked through some more areas that had a lot of scare potential but to no avail and then over to a little area that was supposedly some sort of orphanage, once again... scare factor could have been great but I know nothing of the people that were here nor what creepy things people had seen other than specs in their photos. I imagine this place had a lot of stories to tell however I have no idea what went on there, I guess children possibly played there and died there but I'm not certain, he had nothing to tell us.
In the end he told the group that we did not have any experiences as we were not open to having any.
This is a terrible excuse for an awful, dull and uneventful ghost tour, we were very open and willing to have experiences otherwise we not have booked a ghost tour. I am so disappointed, not that I didn't see a ghost but that our guide did not allow any of us to make any type of connection through his stories and tales about people from the past. He seemed to have no idea what he was trying to say most of the time and often seemed flustered.
Overall all I can say is that we went for a lovely stroll around the rocks and had a few laughs with some strangers during it.
So unfortunately I can not recommend this tour or this tour guide to anyone as it felt very unorganised, very uninformative and very unengaging. I am sad to say I almost walked away from it on numerous occasions but clung on to the hope it would get better. It most certainly did not.
Written September 7, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Julie, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Haunted Sydney ghost tour. Lantern Tour's takes all feedback seriously, we will look into what happened on the evening you attended. Thank you for your feedback , it will be considered when planning our upcoming tour's.
Written September 13, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TravellingUncleMatt
Sydney, Australia84 contributions
Aug 2017 • Couples
I like to do fair reviews but unfortunately I think one star is a fair assessment of this tour. The rocks is a really interesting place for tourists (we live in Sydney) but this somehow managed to kill an otherwise atmospheric part of town!

The stories told were rambling, didn't make sense and seemed to start somewhere in the middle and finish before the end or maybe major parts were missed because it did not make sense. We've heard so many interesting stories about the rocks before this was just "a ghost called Anne lives here sometimes she comes out sometimes she follows people". Would love to go into some of the interesting buildings in the rocks on this tour or up to observatory hill which would be spectacular for tourists. This was just a walk around obscure parts of the rocks. Sorry nothing good to say. No need for generic response.
Written August 12, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Thank you for your review, We take all feedback seriously and would like to look into what happened on the evening you attended our Haunted Sydney ghost tour. If you would be so kind to provide a date you attended please ? Happy Haunting!
Written August 14, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Slagana Z
Sydney, Australia311 contributions
Feb 2017 • Friends
Received a red balloon voucher for my birthday so myself and 3 friends decided to go. The tour guide 'Sandy' was knowledgable enough but the voice she put on - like a baby talking to her sugar daddy was enough to make you run. She used a cheap plastic skull head light as her point of compass 'in case you get lost, follow the light' probably half price from the $2 shop. People were staring at us in the street and it was embarrassing at times. The night would have been better if we'd spent it on a cocktail instead. At least we got our 10,000 steps up walking the beautiful streets of The Rocks, Sydney.
Written February 4, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our haunted Sydney ghost tour. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. We value all feedback from our guests such as yourself and it will be considered when planning our upcoming tours, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear our ghost tour is not what you had expected it to be, perhaps a paranormal investigation would be more suited to yourself. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed walking the beautiful streets of the Rocks. Happy Haunting!
Written February 7, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

buzzbuzz202
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
May 2018 • Friends
I attended the 8pm tour on Saturday the 5th of May and was extremely disappointed.

Our tour guide, for starters, did not tell us his name. At every single stop along the way, he spoke as though he was reading a poorly written script, pausing every few seconds to 'um' and 'ah', trailing off and fumbling around words. Our guide also spoke in a monotonous voice which made it appear as though he did not care about what he was doing and would rather be at home. It was akin to doing a walking tour with someone's grandfather.

At each stop, we were greeted with partial stories and cloudy facts. I am a fan of ghost tours, so I was very excited to hear the gruesome side of Sydney and hear some nice history along the way, but all I got was basically the following:

This area had lots of things happen in the 1800s. Someone died here. Take photos. If you can't see any ghosts, open your third eye and align your chakras. Let's go.

And then we were quickly walked to the next place, our guide not taking a second to look back and make sure people were following.

To say I was disappointed in this tour is an understatement. When anybody asked questions of our guide, they were fumbled through and answered with "We don't have time". When anything of substance or interest was said, there were too many inconsistencies and it was short-lived and then it quickly devolved into talk about 'scientifically proven' theories of using 10% of our brains, a 50 year old monk with the brain of a 25 year old and aligning your chakras.

I do not believe in writing brutal reviews. I stayed on this tour in the hopes that perhaps it was this fella's first night on the job and to give him a chance. It became clear throughout that this was not going to improve and I am deeply disappointed with how this ghost tour panned out.

I did not learn about the history of the Rocks, nor did I hear any ghost stories. I did, however, learn that we should all open our third eyes and that leprechauns are scientifically proven to exist.

Despite writing 2000 characters in this review, words cannot truly express how let down I am with this tour. A focus on more detail would be nice. For example, at Observatory Hill we were only told that people died, not who they were, how many, why etc. It was just brushed over and this was the exact same at each stop along the way.

The only real highlight was, of course, the cottage under the apartment building at the end. However, our guide did not even tell us anything about the cottage so we had to learn that ourselves through the signs.

This ghost tour lacked any spirit. There was no flair, no excitement and no content.

Anybody reading this and considering the Sydney ghost tour, I would recommend you either go with another company or just read the signs around the place yourself because you are likely to learn more that way.

I am happy to discuss my experience further with management.
Written May 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Haunted Sydney ghost tour. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy this ghost tour or the history provided throughout the tour. Maybe a paranormal investigation would be more suited to yourself, these include longer duration with a team of paranormal investigators and equipment for guests to use throughout the investigation. If you would like to speak further regarding your ghost tour experience our contact information is located on your tickets. Happy Haunting!
Written May 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

casmurnieks
Chatswood, Australia246 contributions
Mar 2017 • Couples
I have done a number of ghost tours but this was by far the worst one yet. Not only did I not see any ghosts (which I don't always expect to see), but we didn't even go into any properties. We stood outside and listened to some story (whether it was true or not) and moved on.
We partly did this story to hear about the history of the Rocks, but even that lacked some substance as well.
Would not recommend this tour to anyone..
Written March 5, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to review our haunted Sydney ghost tour. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. Sorry to hear you didn't see any ghosts and found this tour boring. As stated in the description this is a walking street tour. Perhaps our other ghost tours , investigations or Escape Room experiences that include entry at different locations would suit yourself better. Happy Haunting!
Written March 7, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 78

Sydney Ghost Walking Tour provided by Lantern Ghost Tours

Product Overview: Sydney Ghost Walking Tour

Prices From

$16

Number of Reviews

81

Number of Photos

53

Duration

90 minutes