Tours and Tickets

Classic Food Tour of Vienna provided by Food Tours Vienna

Classic Food Tour of Vienna

Classic Food Tour of Vienna
4
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Jun 18, 2020
A note from Classic Food Tour of Vienna
Vienna is safe and has no mask requirements anymore, as well there are no rules for shops or restaurants. So we are happy to provide our experiences as they were before.
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 40241P2
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Bottled water • Food tasting • Wine tasting • Local guide • Snacks • Coffee and/or Tea • Alcoholic Beverages
Exclusions
Gratuities
Duration
4h
Departure details
Gumpendorfer Str. 16, 1060 Wien, Austria Meeting Point in front of Cafe Sperl
Doktor-Karl-Lueger-Platz, Dr.-Karl-Lueger-Platz, 1010 Wien, Austria
Inclusions
Bottled water • Food tasting • Wine tasting • Local guide • Snacks • Coffee and/or Tea • Alcoholic Beverages
Exclusions
Gratuities
Departure details
Gumpendorfer Str. 16, 1060 Wien, Austria Meeting Point in front of Cafe Sperl
Doktor-Karl-Lueger-Platz, Dr.-Karl-Lueger-Platz, 1010 Wien, Austria
Duration
4h
Return details
Doktor-Karl-Lueger-Platz, Dr.-Karl-Lueger-Platz, 1010 Wien, Austria
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Wheelchair accessible
Not recommended for pregnant travelers
Children must be accompanied by an adult
Minimum drinking age is 18 years
Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
Stroller accessible
Near public transportation
Transportation is wheelchair accessible
Most travelers can participate
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Gumpendorfer Str. 16
    Gumpendorfer Str. 16, 1060 Wien, Austria
    Meeting Point in front of Cafe Sperl
    See address & details
  • 1
    Food Tours Vienna
    Stop: 4 hours
    Discover Austrian most delicious dishes and wines. The coffee house is a natural place for a good start of the day. You will experience one of the last traditional cafes remaining in its original state. From there, we will visit a few more places in the surrounding neighborhoods, which include a stop at the famous Naschmarket where we taste a variety of Austrian cheese. Get an introduction to the culture of Austrian cuisine through the great variety of ingredients (which are mostly local and seasonal) on display. Enjoy Eating and drinking like a local. Our next stop will be at “Leberkas - Pepi“. You will enjoy traditional leberkäs and sides. To sweeten you up we will discover one of the best and last candy manufacturies in Austria. After a short walk, you will be ready for a glass (or three) of wine. In the surroundings of a historical cellar, we will taste three Austrian wines. Short visits to a typical bakery and an artisan chocolate shop will follow. Finally, we will visit a butcher shop where we will sample Austrian bacon and ham. This tour will give you a taste of the traditional side of Austrian cuisine. Taste Come thirsty and hungry! You will have several tastings, including a variety of local cheeses, cured meats, and lovely pralines. Drinks which will be tasted include a bottle of water and three nice Austrian wines. Come hungry, and don't bother to make lunch plans afterwards but foor dinner we will be happy to help you to find the perfect restaurant for you.
    Read more
    Pass by
    Historic Center of Vienna
  • You'll end at
    Doktor-Karl-Lueger-Platz
    Dr.-Karl-Lueger-Platz, 1010 Wien, Austria
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

4.0
18 reviews
Excellent
10
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
3
Terrible
2

B H
Alexandria, VA349 contributions
Not worth the money
Dec 2019
The tour was barely a tour. We had some bread, some cheap meat and some chocolate samples. The highlight if you want to call it that, is the guide takes you to his private wine cellar where you get to try two $10 bottles of wine. Do not take this tour. Really not worth the money and/or time. Nice guy but no history or information and it felt like you were getting a few free samples of food you could have received on your own by walking in any shop in Vienna. Bummer - we have done food tours before and they have been great, so we were exited to try this one...
Written January 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kvelow
United States10 contributions
Very Rude Host
Wish I had thoroughly read the reviews before booking. Just to preface, my husband and I have been on over 20 food tours around the world. We were the only 2 people on the tour. We've never been on an empty food tour, which was our first red flag. This was our least favorite host of all time. Lukas was rude, arrogant, and short with us. From the first stop he said he couldn't explain any history and we had to read it ourselves. Ugh OK?!? Which is very different from any other food tour. The cheeses we tried were disgusting. Only the cow milk one was edible. He questioned me why I only took a bite and gave it to my husband to eat. Which I found very uncomfortable. Other guides have not been this offended by guests not eating. Lukas does not like tourists he constantly made negative comments about tourists and touristy activity, also saying that the Muslim population in the market would sell their own mother if they could. Very uncalled for commentary. We told him we were going to a music / waltz event and he rolled his eyes and covered his face in disappointment. When he asked us if we knew much about wine he made us feel stupid about the knowledge we did know. We tried to blame cultural differences, but in all honesty he was extremely rude. When he asked what restaurants he worked at as a chef he said there was no point in telling us. Seriously??!?! What if we're looking for a recommendation. Tour was supposed to be 4 hours, it was barely 3 hours. He made us feel dumb the whole time. He was extremely difficult to talk to. He should stick to being a chef where being arrogant is acceptable, hospitality is not his forte. Save your money on this over priced tour! Luckily Vienna's food saved this tour. As nice Americans we thanked Lukas for the tour and tipped him. But we'll always keep our honesty to online reviews.
Written December 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

EvaP
4 contributions
Nice tour with new experience
Aug 2019 • Couples
I got this food tour as a birthday present, me and my man are locals, so we really looking forward if there are some new places to go in Vienna. And yes, also as a local our guide Lukas find a few places, which we haven't seen before. It was a nice tour and we met very friendly people from the US and Canada. In total a good experience with tasty food in Vienna.
Written August 12, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bianca
Chicago, IL1 contribution
Vienna
Jul 2019 • Couples
I wish we had more choice where to go and what to taste. It was strictly guide’s decision. Some of the food, like horse meat, was totally off and made me feel uncomfortable.
Written July 31, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lukas H
Hey there. Thank you for leaving a review. Regarding your issue with the strict tour stops. We kinda need to stick to the same places as we want every customer to have the same experience. Otherwise this reviews never would make sense. I can always recommend to read the itinerary before booking a tour on. Also i can understand that it‘s difficult to immerse into a new eating culture. I give my best to explain why we eat horse in Austria and why its sustainable and total ok. Also we serve pork at this stop for the ones who won’t try horse. As our other tours don’t include horse meat you might should have booked one of that. Anyway thanks again for letting us know what you didn’t like. Kind regards Lukas from FTV
Written August 2, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Linda Belinda
2 contributions
Vienna Explorations
Jul 2019 • Family
We had a lovely time with Lukas and felt he opened doors for us to places we’d never have seen. Interesting insights, especially about wine. Nice pace to the tour. Ate enough bites for both breakfast and lunch.
Written July 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sinwave65
7 contributions
Tour guide doesn’t seem to like tourists
I have done many food tours all over the world and this was the least enjoyable one. The food itself was fine but the tour guide, Lukas, just seemed genuinely annoyed by tourists, including us. He made disparaging comments about tourists throughout the time we spent with him. There was definitely and edge and attitude; I don’t think he enjoys his job much.
He told us he could not talk about or answer questions about history which surprised us as it has not been typical of our food tour experiences, but ok, rules are rules and I understand. In practice though, he wouldn’t answer questions about...anything, history or not. “What is that building over there?” and he would just stare at you. It was actually fairly awkward/uncomfortable. One stop was in a very interesting wine cellar; we asked “what was this cellar used for originally?” To which he answered curtly “didn’t you read the sign?” (I guessed we missed the sign at the entrance?)...and then didn’t tell us what it was used for. “I notice this bread is everywhere, what kind is it?” He stared at me and said “it’s just bread”...ok then. I asked about the Manner stores and why they were so popular...no answer. I felt like every question I asked was somehow really stupid. I finally just stopped asking anything because he would not answer, history or not. Some questions he did not answer because he said I wouldn’t remember the answer in 10 minutes so what was the point. It was pretty bizarre actually.
My advice-find a different tour. I wish we had!

Written July 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Scovert
Newbury Park, CA15 contributions
Loved every minute
Lukas treated us to a fun and interesting food tour. From a Vienna coffee to cheeses, meats and wine, we couldn't have asked for a better variety. Lukas showed us places to which we will definitely return. Food was amazing. Moved quickly but never rushed. Visited places that were family owned with great history. Did not disappoint and will recommend to others.
Written July 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael
Haifa, Israel46 contributions
The food was nice. The guide not so much.. :(
Jul 2019 • Couples
The food on the tour was nice, and we we were taken to some good places.
That being said, we were left with an unpleasant feeling regarding the guide, Lucas.
He started by saying that he is not allowed to say anything about the history, buildings or other topics not regarding the food itself because he is not a licensed tour guide. As someone who is interested in history almost as much as food, I felt this was disappointing. All attempts to ask about such things were refused.
In addition, many other questions were answered in a sarcastic and sometimes obnoxious way.
He also seemed to rush ahead without waiting for us, giving the feeling that he has somewhere better to be at...
I have been on many food tours around the world, and have always enjoyed the combination of history, local interesting stories surrounding the food sights and the guide was always welcoming such questions. This time it wasn't the case.
The tour is not cheap and therefore I believe that it wasn't worth the price.
Written July 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lukas H
Dear Smicas Thank you for your review. I´m very sorry that you didn´t experience what you expected. Anyway, I do not advertise my tours with any word mentioning history will be told on our tours. You did get it right I´m not a licensed history guide for Vienna. As a trained chef I really take a focus on the food and try to show you the best places in Vienna. About my sarcastic way to see thing´s well that´s my personality and so we didn´t go along well. Yes, the tour is not cheap because we run around approximately 4 hours and do 8 different stops​ with several tastings each stopp trying to get you a local experience and learn you about our food. Anyway i hope the rest of your stay in Vienna was better. Kind regards Lukas from Food Tours Vienna
Written July 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brianne
7 contributions
Fantastic Food Tour of Classic Viennese Dishes!
Jun 2019 • Couples
We had an absolute blast on this food tour with our guide, Lukas. Sticking to the city's center, we explored several different restaurants where no other tourists were going. We tried many different traditional Viennese food- dishes that we would have never tried on our own. Our guide was charismatic and funny. He indulged our questions and provided a seamless experience- pacing our walk and food with perfection. We highly recommend this tour!
Written June 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sesike1
Phoenix, AZ3 contributions
Amazing Food Tour
Jun 2019 • Couples
We had so much fun on this food tour with local chef, Lukas today. He has a wealth of knowledge about the foods and wines of Vienna. Some places he takes you gets you discounts, like on chocolate. You are missing out if you don’t take this tour. So much fun!!!
Written June 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 17
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Food Tours Vienna
nekoenko
nekoenko
00
Great experience
took this wine tasting tour with two of my friends. Great experience, definetely recommend it to those who live in
AgnesWal
AgnesWal
00
An excellent way to spend an evening in Austria
Good fun tour. Learned a lot about Australian wine which was the purpose of the tour. The information before you
kmcallister1
kmcallister1
00
Lovely tour of off the beaten track wine spots in Vienna.
We were in Vienna for a few days only and being wine lovers but not knowing anything about Austrian wine, we though
Coots16
Coots16
00
Wine tasting
Excellent! Would recommend doing this tour when you first arrive as you get a lot of tips on how to spend the rest
EmmaDSBurton
EmmaDSBurton
00
Educational and enjoyable
Our tour guide Lukas, has received mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, which almost put us off booking to be honest. But
Veronica S
Veronica S
00
Simply the best Walking Talking Drinking
The entire evening proved to be a fantastic experience. The Company gelled the guide was not just knowledgeable he
diklag2015
diklag2015
00
Unfortunately.. Very lame tour
Should have been such a great way to get to know Vienna and get an overview of the food scene. Our guide was not ve
George H
George H
00
Disappointing
The tour was only two couples, nice small group. We met Lukas at the appointed time and he was very cordial. From t
Ann J
Ann J
00
Fun, informative and tasty tour of Vienna neighbourhood
Lucas was a great guide - a trained chef himself, he knows what he is talking about. We did the Grazl tour with a
303shelleyb
303shelleyb
00
Excellent afternoon of food and beer!
We were two couples visiting Vienna for a weekend. We booked the food tour followed by the beer tour and had the be
dermotb507
dermotb507
00
Great food tour
A knowledgable host, a small group and interesting tasting made this a great tour. One of the best that we've done.
Christopher J
Christopher J
00
Excellent
We thoroughly enjoyed this walking food tour of Vienna. We had expected the usual Viennese foods, strudels etc but
traveling60s
traveling60s
00
Delicious!
The stops on this food tour were perfect as we sampled bread, aged dried ham, chocolates, open faced sandwiches wit
Marissahyl
Marissahyl
00
Delightful
My partner and I had such a great time. The food experience was yummy. Getting to try different flavors. At the
debweightman12
debweightman12
00
Secret wine cellar
Good tour, tasted food in places we wouldn’t have found. One of the highlights was being taken to a secret wine cel