Tours and Tickets
Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna
3
About
Skip the hassle of driving from Vienna to Salzburg with the convenience of a full-day tour to Mozart's home town that includes round-trip bus transportation. Take in the scenery of the Austrian Alps along the way, then visit Salzburg attractions such as the UNESCO-listed Old Town and the Mirabell Palace gardens, one of the filming locations for 'The Sound of Music.'
from
$131.24
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 100 per group
Duration: 13h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: German, English, Spanish
More

Highlights
  • Avoid making the long drive on your own by choosing a guided bus tour
  • Includes a walking tour of Salzburg and scenic route through Salzkammergut
  • Hear live commentary from your guide
  • Pickup and drop-off provided from central Vienna

  • Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
  • Bus ride through beautiful Salzkammergut
  • Walking tour of Salzburg's most popular sights
  • Visit some of "The Sound of Music" film locations
What's not included
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Hotel drop off


Start:
  • Vienna State Opera, Opernring 2, 1010 Wien, Austria
    On request free pick-up from SELECTED hotels and transfer to the departure point. Please call +43 1 712 46 83. Please enquire at your hotel reception desk regarding the pick-up time and the possibility of a pick-up. Please note: pick-ups can only be guaranteed if you book 24-hours in advance.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Infant seats available
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 3585SALZBURG

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Please note, pick up services only available with certain hotels. Please check 'view additional info' for hotel details and pick-up time
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna?
    How much is Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna?
    Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna price starts from $130.13. Discover and book Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna on Tripadvisor
    What is the Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna cancellation policy?
    Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna?
    Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna is hosted by Vienna Sightseeing Tours Wiener Rundfahrten GmbH & Co.KG. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Vienna Sightseeing Tours Wiener Rundfahrten GmbH & Co.KG on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 3585SALZBURG

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Vienna Sightseeing Tours Wiener Rundfahrten GmbH & Co.KG
      772
      Vienna, Austria
      Joined in November 2019
    • Meander61259628679
      0 contributions
      The Grand Tour is soooo worth it!!
      My wife and I had a fantastic experience at Schonbrunn Palace. We purchased the Grand Tour. Purchasing tickets in advance was a great idea, and the audio guide devices were helpful, easy to use, informative, and absolutely worth it. The incredible wealth of the Habsburgs is on full display, and it was amazing to think that we were standing in rooms that were witness to so much history. Remember that the "skip the line" refers to the line at the ticket booth. Once you pass the ticket booths, you will be in line with all the other people who bought tickets on the web, and you should allow 20-30 minutes from your arrival to make it through the line in time for your reservation time.
      Written February 7, 2024
    • Richardm1977
      0 contributions
      Hopeless - try a different operator if you want to actually see Vienna!
      Terrible service ….. we naively bought a 48 hour pass thinking that this was a better set up / routes than other tours. We were very wrong sadly. - Buses in January are roughly every hour at stops so it really matters when you miss one. Our first attempt saw us at the right bus stop (marked and numbered) where we watched the bus drive straight past after waiting 10 mins past the due time. If you are expected to request this should be very clear. It’s not. - We then finally made it on a bus at Schloss Belvedere to be told by the bus driver we’d have to get off at the next stop (the Opera House appears to be a terminal). He said we’d need to get on the next bus - not that that bus was an hour wait! In the cold…. - Eventually got on a bus an hour later and had a successful round on the Red Line - Next day we walked to Praterstern Station and thought we’d pick up the Blue Line bus at the stop there. The description of the stop was hopelessly generic (by the UBahn Ausgang and Prater exit - at a big station with a number of places fitting that description). After 25 mins, missing yet another bus we rang the phone number and were (helpfully to be fair) directed to the right stop. Outside a very Googleable restaurant which could easily have been the description. - By this time we didn’t have the time to get round the loop and therefore gave up on our plans to see a few sights Overall a tourist service that hasn’t been designed with tourists in mind - at all.
      Written February 1, 2024
    • Snowyj1
      0 contributions
      Visit time
      The knowledge of the gide was exceptional but felt the whole trip was too rushed and not enough time to explore especially outside
      Written January 30, 2024
    • Suzanne F
      0 contributions
      Beautiful destination
      Large bus with comfortable seats and big windows, rest stop there & back. Lots of information about the destination including archeology/paleontology, which was quite interesting. Short guided walk in town to see bone room at local church, then 3-4 hrs to explore on own. Unfortunately several of the suggestions were not available, which seems odd to not be more up to date. Beautiful area & stunning lake views. Basically you’re paying for transportation. Would’ve rather skipped the dinner stop on way back to arrive sooner back to Vienna. Highly recommend seeing Hallstatt!!
      Written January 18, 2024
    • Sunshinegirl2016
      0 contributions
      Great way to explore.....
      For ease of sightseeing around the city this couldn't be better. We completed the 3 tours over 2 days giving ample opportunity to visit places of interest . The commentary was excellent, the buses ran on time ,and the boarding staff most helpful.
      Written January 15, 2024
    • Achilleas M
      0 contributions
      Day excursion to designer outlet
      Huge outlet with numerous designer brands for all tastes and wallets. On average discounts range from 30-50% of RRP. Definitely need to spend several hours to see the outlet, best to plan ahead before visiting.
      Written January 12, 2024
    • ralpha850
      0 contributions
      Good Tour of Hallstatt
      Tour operator was good enough to pick up from the hotel. The Tour was good and the guide provided excellent details As per the tour we booked for the tour along with the skywalk, but the tickets to the transportation by the cable car was not provided. And due to a long queue at the ground station no one from this trip could go to the skywalk.
      Written December 26, 2023
    • dalewL3808JV
      0 contributions
      Poor
      The bus left late and returned early. The audio was not synched and repeated itself and cut off part way through explaining.
      Written December 25, 2023
    • peterlM3203BR
      0 contributions
      A Vienna experience which I would not hesitate to recommend.
      Travelled from Newcastle to Vienna with our main aim of seeing Xmas Markets from there original birthplace. Several XM in Vienna and my wife and I saw 2 of those. They were not disappointing in any way with so many stalls displaying/and selling a vast array of merchandise. If you like street food and hot punch then there is also a vast variety of this on sale. Vienna is a large City and caters for everyone. Museums and Churches are plentiful as is the large shopping area which provides every Designer shops you ever want. There is also a large fun park for the young at heart just on the edge of the city. We were amazed at the cleanliness of the City and the upkeep of paths, roads and parks. Festive street lighting was fantastic and displayed virtually everywhere. A word of warning however to anyone going in December - Make sure you take plenty warm clothes, boots, scarves and hats as it seems to have bitterly cold winds.
      Written December 22, 2023
    • din y
      0 contributions
      Limited visitor Halstatt community experience
      Hallstat ia beautiful but visitor experience is limited to the mountain sights and salt mining view. There was lack of activities for visitor experience.
      Written December 21, 2023
    • R29QUandrewo
      0 contributions
      Best ever trip with best ever tour guide
      Best tour ever simply because of Sofia/Sophia who was our tour guide best ever experience she was brilliant smart and funny
      Written December 13, 2023
    • 560allisons
      0 contributions
      Don’t bother with this company
      We hopped on a blue bus at the Hilton hotel hoping to hop off at the shopping street but it changed at opera house to yellow line without telling us So we had to sit for an hour round trip that we had already been n the day before. Not the best. Use the other company
      Written December 7, 2023
    • H6784HQsylviah
      0 contributions
      Beautiful Hallstatt
      Excellent day, very organised. Such a long way but so worth it. Stunning place with beautiful views. Would 100% recommend this trip.
      Written December 2, 2023
    • sev t
      0 contributions
      Obnoxious Spanish tour guide
      So this tour started off with one tour guide giving everyone information about Vienna in English then in Spanish and on the way to Budapest mentioned that they were going to be some local guides that talk through the information on Budapest. The trip itself to Budapest was fine and the trip back was fine however while in Budapest we picked up the two tour guides that one spoken English and one spoken in Spanish each taking turns to speak it first started off fine between the two but then the Spanish tour guide started talking to people on the bus while the English girl was talking. that was very rude & impolite. The fact that she didn't care what the English speaking people thought and kept on talking in Spanish while the other girl was talking in English speaks volumes to how rude some people can be. Also between the two tour guides talking they kept fighting to keep the microphone to themselves and speak in their own language it was rather silly watching two adults trying to dominate the microphone. I would have liked the tour if it wasn't for the Spanish people and the tour guide talking among themselves while the English tour guide was speaking frankly was very annoyingly rude for people from another country not to have respect for other people. The other part of the tour that was missing was the tour of the Buda side with the castle the fisherman's area the church and so forth
      Written December 1, 2023
    • P4141KRanac
      0 contributions
      Horrible service and bad communication
      The girls at check in did not give me a return time nor did this show on the digital ticket issued by Viator. But when I said I expected a return time at 4pm they said ok. Then they asked me where is my return ticket even if my ticket says return travel. What's hoing on? No one seem to know or care!!! Come pick up time at 4pm, the driver did not want to honour our digital ticket cause he didn't have a scanner. It was annoying, upsetting and frustrating to have to beg him to take us - yes there's at least 10 of us with the same problem. He said my ticket did not have a time booking so I can't go on his bus. Finally he relented as we were all getting angry. He called the company who gave him the OK. Not a good system. Bad experience.
      Written November 9, 2023
    See all 772 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    3.0
    21 reviews
    Excellent
    6
    Very good
    1
    Average
    4
    Poor
    2
    Terrible
    8

    Mina1891
    New York City, NY2 contributions
    Sep 2018 • Couples
    This was the worst experiences I had with a tour company. Prior to coming to Vienna, we were in Amsterdam, we also did a sightseeing trip with them 5 1/2 hours and worth every minute. So we decided to do the same for Vienna on September 4 as we were there for a few days, We were in the bus 4 hours each way, and spent less than 4 hours in Salzburg. We stopped twice on our way there each 30 mins break, we asked if it was okay if we didn't make a stop but our tour guide stated its the "law". Our tour guide was rude and was a bit racist, I asked him a question a few times while we were doing the walking tour and he completely disregarded me. In Salzburg we barely had enough time to see anything as we made it by 12:30, and had to be back at the bus by 3:50. On our way back again we stopped for 30 mins for driver/bathroom/food. Restaurant had terrible food (we didn't get to eat earlier so ordered food at this restaurant, which was recommended by the tour guide). If you're going to stop somewhere at least make sure it has a good restaurant! By the time we got back it was around 8PM. Worst tour I've ever taken. Try your best to do the minivan or private tour with whichever company offers it. If you're coming to Vienna, might as well make it worth it. I feel like we basically paid for the bus trip back and forth, which honestly is way cheaper if you do it on your own. If you're like us and you booked this trip last minute. My best advice is take a train or flixbus to Salzburg, book a tour for the day there, and come back to Vienna in the evening. Will be more than worth your time!
    Written September 9, 2018
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Mina, first of all thank you for your feedback. We put great emphasis on providing a great service and it is too bad that you did not enjoy the tour with us. Yes it is true, in Austria the bus driver is not allowed to drive more than 4 hours without breaks. This is why they have to do stops during the tour. An unfriendly and racist behaviour of a tour guide is unacceptable. We kindly ask you to write an e-mail with all the details to office@viennasightseeing.at. We want to take a closer look into your case. Thank you for your collaboration. Sunny regards, Lisa Frühbauer
    Written September 10, 2018
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    HEPal
    Lake Worth, FL4 contributions
    On June 24 we were greatly disappointed in the tour to Salzburg. We were quite surprised given the reviews. Let’s start with the bus ride. A handful of people, including myself, asked for the air to made higher because it was stuffy and the tour guide said no because “then other people might get cold”. Many of us had jackets that we had taken off and could have put back on if we were cold. There was NOTHING about it being a bilingual tour, yet we had to sit and listen to everything be completely repeated again in Spanish throughout the entire tour. If this is needed there should be a separate Spanish speaking tour. We stopped once on the way to Salzburg and once on the way back at a glorified rest stop restaurant - Landzeit. Breakfast was a cluster of epic proportion with everyone released and no direction. Dinner was even worse... €25 for pasta and €30+ for steaks. You’ll get a better meal at Burger King. The food we and other tourists ordered was inedible and ladened with salt. The tour company clearly had some sort of a deal going with them, as there were many other places we could have stopped at. Not to mention, you were given no more than 35 minutes to get off the bus, go to the restroom, order, eat, and then return. We spent more time on the bus than we did in Salzburg. We were forced to listen to the Sound of Music soundtrack and various Mozart pieces ON REPEAT the entire ride there. Our stop at the Wolfgang Lake was no more than 15 minutes before being rushed back onto the bus. The only way you were going to see any of the sites they alleged was if you were looking out your window as the bus sped down the street. Once we arrived in Salzburg we were handed off to another tour guide, seeing as we were English speakers, and within 1 hour rushed thru the town’s streets before being sent on our own way with less than 2 hours to actually explore the town and enjoy it, only to be rushed back to the bus and taken to the same overpriced dump for dinner. There were many tours rattled off that err available - but no time to do them. The icing on the cake was the “treasure box” (tip jar) that was tackily passed around the bus by our guide, as though it were a church collection box, and then immediately counted in her front seat. We have been on a number of tours in different countries and never had a tour company had the audacity to ask for a handout, especially for a scam such as this tour. For half the price we could have taken a train early in the morning and actually spent the day in Salzburg. In short, DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY. This tour and the tour company, Vienna Sightseeing, are frauds. We regret it and deeply feel we have been screwed out of our money, a day out of our vacation, and 13 hours of our lives we’ll never get back.
    Written June 24, 2018
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear customer, first of all, thank you for your time and your feedback. We are sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with the Salzburg tour. We talked to our colleagues and found out that they already answered you on your meassage on facebook. Again, we are sorry that you felt you have been screwed out of your money. This is not what we want to provide. Please be assured that we have definitely no deals with any restaurants. Our guides decide flexible the location of the breaks and try to make it most cost-effective as possible. We can understand your point of view that the way from Vienna to Salzburg is long. It takes around 4 hours with breaks and our photo stops. If you take the train from Vienna to Salzburg city, you will also need 2.5 -3 hours. The difference is here, as our colleagues already explained, that you have a guided tour included on board. Regarding the „treasure box“ I am on your side. No one should feel compelled to give a tip. Please be assured that we will investigate in this matter. We apologize for every inconvenience we may have caused. Kind regards, Nevertheless, we hope you had a good time in Austria. Lisa Frühbauer
    Written July 6, 2018
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    douglasf719
    Gulfport, MS74 contributions
    Jun 2018 • Couples
    We booked the tour by Vienna Sightseeing and were totally disappointed. First it was supposed to be an English tour. Wrong, the guide was switching back and forth between English and Spanish so I didn't understand 1/2 of what she said. When we got to Salzburg the guide said the bus would be back to get us in 4 hours. We then got a guide that only spoke English because she wanted the Spanish speaking group. He took of. My wife can't walk that fast so eventually he ran off and left us to fend for ourselves. (I heard later that the guide ending up leaving the group in the middle of nowhere). I now see the review from HEPal on 6/24/18 and they must have been on the same tour as us because there review says it better than I can. As they said, don't waste your time or money of this tour from Vienna Sightseeing.
    Written July 4, 2018
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear guest, We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy the tour with us. Vienna Sightseeing offers every tour bilingual. There are tours, which are offered trilingual and in certain cases for instance to less demand in one language. We do not advertise our tours in one language. Regarding the guided city walking tour: We are sorry that the guide ran off. We will definitely investigate in this matter. Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously. Thank you for your time and your feedback. Kind regards, Lisa Frühbauer
    Written July 6, 2018
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jebb
    1 contribution
    Dec 2019 • Couples
    If you are a young couple on a budget don't waste your money on this. Waited for people to turn up late all day and left Vienna at 7.30 didn't arrive at Salzburg till 12.30. We only had 3 hours in Salzburg. They do stop for photos and food but it's not needed. Just get the train quicker and cheaper.
    Written December 29, 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Felicia
    3 contributions
    Jul 2019 • Friends
    Horrible experience! They claim I did not pick my hotel for pick up. I know for a fact I did. I had to scroll for awhile to find my hotel. A bus got to my hotel and got some people but would not get my party of 3. I called and they refused. I emailed and they still claim I did not specifically say I needed pickup. I am a tourist in a town with no car needing to go several miles. They refused to make the situation right. They are just after money and dont care if you have a good experience or not. Horrible customer service. Rude. I would not recommend anyone purchase tickets for anything they offer. The only reason 1 star is clicked is because there are no negative stars.
    Written July 20, 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    hallju1
    Findlay, OH83 contributions
    Our travel agent offered this excursion as extension to week in Vienna. I wish I’d read reviews before signing contract! We spent more time on motor coach than in Salzburg: 4 hours going . 3 hours in town, 4 hour return. Our guide used no microphone system, making it impossible to hear her in crowds of Salzburg Easter Saturday. She described overview of Historic center walk while on motor coach. It was meaningless to me w/o sights in front of me. Eventually, we separated from group in frustration. For $160 charge, I feel cheated.
    I’ve traveled extensively with day trips usually adding rich dimension to journey. Most guides suggest tips for driver-nope. Most guides interact with each guest-nope! Most guides offer insight into history/setting.. not just here is Mozart house.
    Wish it’d stayed in Vienna!
    Written April 20, 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the tour to Salzburg. We put great emphasis on providing a great service and it is too bad that you did not enjoy the tour. Nevertheless, we hope you had a good time in Vienna. Best regards from Vienna, your VIENNA SIGHTSEEING team
    Written April 24, 2019
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    erm072015
    Badajoz, Spain94 contributions
    Jul 2018 • Family
    The guide did not explain properly the pick up place and answered aggressively and in public, to a simple confirmation question.
    The whole group had doubts about the pick up place. So much so that at least a person was not there at the pick up moment, and stayed at Salzburg.
    If there were questions, she just looked annoyed, made contempt gestures, and kept on telling her pre-established explanations. Her explanations were disjointed, and they didn’t follow any logical order at all.
    We paid to receive quality service and have a good time, not to endure haughty and arrogant attitudes that border on insult.
    The Vienna Sightseeing’s guide service was so lousy that stopped us from enjoying the tour which became a nightmare.
    It would have been better for us to travel by train to Salzburg, or another transport way, and forget about the services of Vienna Sightseeing.
    Written September 2, 2018
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear guest, We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We put special emphasis on good customer service and unfriendly behaviour of a team member is unacceptable. Please be assured that we will investigate in this matter. If you would like to get into detail with your experience, please send an email to: office@viennasightseeing.at. Best regards, Lisa Frühbauer
    Written September 4, 2018
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    ajlarrivee
    Worcester, MA12 contributions
    Mar 2019
    We took the day trip out of Vienna. The guide was pleasant and informative. His highlight tour of Salzburg was great and we were left with enough time to explore on our own
    Written March 25, 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    jmfarrand
    5 contributions
    Dec 2019 • Solo
    Overall, my trip was really great! The views were stunning and since my stay was mostly in Vienna it was nice to see the scenery. As our guide, Hans, pointed out Vienna is mostly industrial, so the this trip is a lot about seeing the lush greenery that is throughout the country everywhere else. The town is quaint but full of color. I was there in December, when the Christmas markets are in full swing — making for fun souvenirs! I felt like we had plenty of time to explore the town on our own alongside our walk with the guide too; you even have the freedom to break away on your own at any point during the walking tour. I was glad I chose to spend one of my days traveling to a different city and seeing all of what Austria has to offer!
    Written December 8, 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Andrew L
    7 contributions
    Jun 2019
    The visit is too short. It would have been nice to spend some time on the mountain where Sound of Music was filmed, instead of just looking at it from a distance at a rest stop. The quality of the tour guide is poor. He spoke too fast and without a speaker. This is especially bad when the group he took was more than 40 persons!
    Written November 28, 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 13

    Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna provided by Vienna Sightseeing Tours Wiener Rundfahrten GmbH & Co.KG

    Product Overview: Salzburg Day Trip from Vienna

    Prices From

    $131

    Number of Reviews

    21

    Number of Photos

    50

    Duration

    780 minutes