Tours and Tickets

Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube provided by Vienna Sightseeing Tours Wiener Rundfahrten GmbH & Co.KG

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube

Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube
3.5
Book in advance
from
$83.04
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
See the nearby country of Slovakia with this easy day trip from Vienna
Duration:
11–12 hours
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
45
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
About
The Slovak capital of Bratislava is a mere hour from Vienna but working out how to get to another country on vacation might put you off a visit. This excursion is the answer, packaging hotel pickup, round-trip coach transport, and a walking tour of the Old Town into one relaxing day trip. Your tour includes a high-speed catamaran cruise on the Danube River.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 11-12 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, English
Highlights
  • Get the lowdown on Bratislava’s sights from a local guide when you arrive
  • Find the main sights on a walking tour and hear tips for attractions to visit
  • Cruise the Danube River and return to Vienna in style
What to expect
Leave Vienna by comfortable, climate-controlled coach and cross the border of Austria to Slovakia, your destination for the day. In just an hour, you’ll stop in Bratislava, the country’s captivating capital city, framed by the Little Carpathian mountains. Get your bearings on a walking tour of Bratislava Old Town and hear the history behind landmarks such as Grassalkovich Palace and the Primate’s Palace with its pastel pink façade. Then, make the most of an afternoon of free time to have lunch or explore the city at your own pace. The Slovak National Theatre and the bars and cafes of the center are worth visiting. Meet your guide at the prearranged time to board an express catamaran and admire the sights of the Danube River as you cruise back to Vienna.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 11-12 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Get the lowdown on Bratislava’s sights from a local guide when you arrive
  • Find the main sights on a walking tour and hear tips for attractions to visit
  • Cruise the Danube River and return to Vienna in style
What to expect
Leave Vienna by comfortable, climate-controlled coach and cross the border of Austria to Slovakia, your destination for the day. In just an hour, you’ll stop in Bratislava, the country’s captivating capital city, framed by the Little Carpathian mountains. Get your bearings on a walking tour of Bratislava Old Town and hear the history behind landmarks such as Grassalkovich Palace and the Primate’s Palace with its pastel pink façade. Then, make the most of an afternoon of free time to have lunch or explore the city at your own pace. The Slovak National Theatre and the bars and cafes of the center are worth visiting. Meet your guide at the prearranged time to board an express catamaran and admire the sights of the Danube River as you cruise back to Vienna.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3585AT012
Important information
Inclusions
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Hotel pickup
  • Professional guide in Bratislava
  • Bratislava walking tour
  • High-speed catamaran cruise
Exclusions
  • Food and Drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel drop-off
  • Guide on coach to Bratislava
Duration
11–12 hours
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • We pick up from SELECTED central Vienna hotels. Please provide hotel details upon check-out. Please call +43 1 712 46 83. Please enquire at your hotel reception desk regarding the pick-up time and the possibility of a pick-up. Please note: pick-ups can only be guaranteed if you book 24-hours in advance.
  • Vienna Operahouse, Opernring 2, 1010 Wien, Austria BRATISLAVA: Please get to departure dock "pontoon HUMA 6" at Razus Embankment (Rázusovo nábrežie 811 02 Bratislava) punctually. For the exact departure time, please contact our Service Center.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • Please note, pick up services only available with certain hotels. Please check 'view additional info.' for hotel details and pick-up time.
  • Please note the tour is non guided on the bus to Bratislava. At arrival, your local guide will welcome you.
  • Due to unpredictable events such as high or low water or delays during locks or bridges, a program and / or route change may become necessary.
  • Please contact our Service Center for the exact departure time of returning to Vienna by modern highspeed catamaran - the Twin City Liner. Please get to departure dock "pontoon HUMA 6" at Razus Embankment (Rázusovo nábrežie 811 02 Bratislava) on time.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Check the current entry requirements of the Slovak Republic both when making your booking and immediately before the start of the booked day trip, as well as the current entry requirements for Austria in connection with your return journey. You are responsible for compliance with these provisions. We are not responsible for the fact that the authorities may allow you to enter the country.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers
Inclusions
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Hotel pickup
  • Professional guide in Bratislava
  • Bratislava walking tour
  • High-speed catamaran cruise
Exclusions
  • Food and Drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel drop-off
  • Guide on coach to Bratislava
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • We pick up from SELECTED central Vienna hotels. Please provide hotel details upon check-out. Please call +43 1 712 46 83. Please enquire at your hotel reception desk regarding the pick-up time and the possibility of a pick-up. Please note: pick-ups can only be guaranteed if you book 24-hours in advance.
  • Vienna Operahouse, Opernring 2, 1010 Wien, Austria BRATISLAVA: Please get to departure dock "pontoon HUMA 6" at Razus Embankment (Rázusovo nábrežie 811 02 Bratislava) punctually. For the exact departure time, please contact our Service Center.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
11–12 hours
Return details
  • Franz-Josefs-Kai 2, 1010 Wien, Austria The tour ends at the Twin City Liner station in Vienna at Schwedenplatz.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • Please note, pick up services only available with certain hotels. Please check 'view additional info.' for hotel details and pick-up time.
  • Please note the tour is non guided on the bus to Bratislava. At arrival, your local guide will welcome you.
  • Due to unpredictable events such as high or low water or delays during locks or bridges, a program and / or route change may become necessary.
  • Please contact our Service Center for the exact departure time of returning to Vienna by modern highspeed catamaran - the Twin City Liner. Please get to departure dock "pontoon HUMA 6" at Razus Embankment (Rázusovo nábrežie 811 02 Bratislava) on time.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Check the current entry requirements of the Slovak Republic both when making your booking and immediately before the start of the booked day trip, as well as the current entry requirements for Austria in connection with your return journey. You are responsible for compliance with these provisions. We are not responsible for the fact that the authorities may allow you to enter the country.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Jul 11, 2022
A note from Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube
Always check the restrictions before travelling.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Vienna Operahouse
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • Pass by
    St. Martin's Cathedral (Dom svateho Martina)
    Bratislava Castle
    Slovak National Theatre
    Maximilian"s Fountain
  • You'll end at
    Franz-Josefs-Kai 2
    Franz-Josefs-Kai 2, 1010 Wien, Austria
    The tour ends at the Twin City Liner station in Vienna at Schwedenplatz.
    See address & details
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

3.5
46 reviews
Excellent
16
Very good
9
Average
8
Poor
8
Terrible
5

K Wong
Seoul, South Korea16 contributions
Very small town with very little attraction and very little things to do. A few hours should be well more than enough. Unless you are passing by to Budapest or to Vienna , may not be worth to go there purposely to visit such a small town.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
OfficeVSightseeing
Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. We are really regret, that you didn`t enjoy our Bratislava tour. Aside from all, we hope that you had great days in Vienna and we can welcome you back soon. Have a nice weekend, your VIENNA SIGHTSEEING Team
Written February 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

thetones
Calgary, Canada51 contributions
Couples
We used the "visitacity" site and booked with a group named "happytovisit" so here are a couple comments.
1. The transportation to Bratislava is simply the usual bus that typically runs between the cities but not from the inside of the terminal but on the street. I wish they could have explained that to us before hand as the persons who working inside the booth of the terminal are not friendly at all and gave little help. Once we figured out the bus we needed to be on though things got better.
2. The city is amazing we loved every moment of it and it is worth visiting this city, it is so historic and has so many little things to look at. We got into the crystal thing and loved it. Our guide was amazing and it was just my wife and I so he took the time to explain everything and even took us off the usual path. Our tour ended with a traditional Sloviacian lunch which was a nice touch.
Do visit this city if your a traveler and want to see history its worth it.
Written December 28, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Tony, thank you for your time and your honest feedback. We really appreciate your review. :) We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Bratislava tour with us. We hope to welcome you back soon on board. Best regards, Lisa Frühbauer
Written February 27, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

2kidvacation
Cary, NC126 contributions
Couples
The bus ride had no commentary on the way there. The driver did not understand English. Once we arrived we got our English speaking guide. He was good. Basically did a 2 hour walking tour. You have to go to the castle on your own and inside the Church. You are give 6 hours to wonder the town. This was a long time since there is not much to do. The ride back was on a fast ferry. This was very nice and had commentary all the way. If I had to do this again I would have just bought round trip on the ferry and booked a walking tour when I arrived. Bratislava is a beautiful place would definitely recommend spending some time there.
Written May 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear guest, first of all thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we could not meet your expectations with our tour. It is clearly stated on our website that the guided tour starts in Bratislava. Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed your rest of your stay. Kind regards, your VIENNA SIGHTSEEING team
Written June 5, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tully G
14 contributions
I took a day trip from Bratislava to Vienna with a few stops along the way. My driver picked me up from my Airbnb and, after providing some background on my selected stops, delivered me safe and sound to my hotel in Vienna. My driver was courteous, polite and friendly. As a single female I was wary of driving such a way with an unknown male but I had no need for worry. My driver put me at ease and I had a wonderful tip. I opted to stop at Devin Castle, Carnuntum Roman Ruins and the Leichtenstein Castle. The whole drive with stops took about 5 hours but it was a lovely and affordable way to travel and sight see. I highly recommend MyDayTrip.
Written February 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

movieturtle
Monterrey, Mexico85 contributions
Family
We booked this expensive tour expecting it to include a bit of history of the region on the bus ride to Bratislava, then the walking tour, free time, and then the bus ride back.

After getting to the bus terminal, I had to call to figure out where the bus was going to be because there was no sign. A guy found me later and told me and the rest of the people that we would be taking a Flixbus (regional bus company) to Bratislava. We were very disappointed that this was the transport, along with other people who were just going to Bratislava. My father sat next to a girl who paid €5.50 for her round-trip bus ride and we paid $62 for our tour.

Once we arrived, after not knowing what stop to get off on because there was no communication (this was also after stopping to pick up people at the airport), we met our guide. Brona was lovely. She was not the easiest to hear because it was noisy with all the rain. She really needed a small microphone to amplify her voice. Despite that, she got us all to a store to buy umbrellas because of the hard rain. She then led a wonderful tour. She was passionate and very knowledgeable. The best thing about the tour by far! She even took us to a lovely shop to warm up and see some of the Slovakian wares and talk about the traditions. Our tour lasted from 10-12pm. We had until 2pm to get back to the bus, so the free time was nice.

The bus back was a bit irritating because we didn't know if we were on another Flixbus and neither did our guide. Fortunately, we had a bus just for our tour. Again, it would have been nice to have more information and more of a "tour" feel.

Honestly, you can save yourself a lot of money, take the Flixbus yourself, get off in the center of town and use GPSmycity to take you on a tour, or hire a guide in Slovakia on your own. It will be better and save you a TON of money.
Written December 22, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear guest, we are sorry that we could not meet your expectations with our Bratislava tour. This tour has been developed to provide a comfortable tour to Bratislava where our customers get an overview of the city. We are truly sorry that it was not clear which bus you should take. Our staff dressed in yellow with the logo "Vienna Sightseeing" is also at the bus station to inform our customers which bus to take and to answer the questions of our guests. We are sorry that this information was not clear for you. A constructive feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously. Kind regards, your VIENNA SIGHTSEEING team
Written January 3, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ton
25 contributions
Family
If you want to travel from Vienna to Bratislava, take the yellow Regiojet bus. Comfortabele trip, cheap (only €7), free drink included, wifi on board
Written October 5, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

rrss1234
Toronto, Canada3 contributions
Solo
I had bus and boat tour to Bratislava.We went to Bratislava by bus then after spending sometime in downtown our tour guide was called to tell the people that the boat return at 4:pm has been cancelled and everybody should be in front of our office at 2 pm. I was there exactly at that time among all other people including many seniors where after about half an hour we were told again that come back again at 4:00 pm to return back and take the bus instead of the boat.this is while there were a long distance between their office and the city center.The lady who was insructing people seemed to be completely unresponsible and uniformative.
There were more catamarans over there and they had more than enough spaces to accomodate our tour people but this company did not attempt to take those as a substitute for their own catamaran
The brochure of the vienna sightseeing mentions the busthat transfers you is a modern coach ,this is not completely true , It is a regular bus even without wifi.
They still have not paid me back the price difference of the "boat and bus tour " and the "only bus tour" which i think is 16 euro.
Written June 27, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

CatrinaE
Sydney, Australia70 contributions
Couples
We paid 72 Euro per person for this trip. Way over priced. The bus took us from the Vienna Opera House to Batislava where our guide Zuzanna from Flora tours was waiting for us. She introduced herself, explained a few things (which hardly anyone could hear as she did not use a microphone, her voice was soft but very fast, and because it was raining her face was mostly hidden by an umbrella) She then proceeded to take us through the historical centre of Bratislava, but more and more people dropped away. Us included. We were told that from 12 noon we could "enjoy" ourselves with free time, we did not have to be back until 6pm when we were going back on a boat. 6 Hours free time in a city which is very foreign to most of us in the group.
Vienna Sightseeing company this is unacceptble and I would advise other tourists to be wary of this company.
Written May 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Catrina, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the tour. We are always trying to improve our service and a good quality is very important to us. Since our customers are asking for more free time to explore the city on their own, we include this aspect on our products. Again, we are truly sorry to hear that this was not what you expected and that you can't recommend our tour. Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously. Nevertheless, we hope you had a good time in Vienna. Kind regards, Verena
Written May 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tibrewala
4 contributions
Friends
We booked the Bratislava day trip Fromm one of the kiosks with bus while going and Catamaran on our way back. On the way, we got held up for 2 hours as there was an accident, we therefore reached only at 11.30. Of course this was not the fault of Vienna sightseeing! The tour which was to be for 3 hours was squeezed to an hour. Vienna Sightseeing had made a mistake with our bookings and gave a bus return instead. (For which they did refund the difference) We requested the tour guide if we could speak to someone about the wrong ticket, or at least delay the bus leaving by an hour so we could spend some time. But she said she was not able to help in anyway. So technically we spent an 8 hour day to Bratislava with half hour of looking around and an hour for lunch. The bus on the return was virtually empty. It would have been helpful if the guide could have spoken to someone to give us more time. This is one of the very few times we took a tour. It just makes more sense to do it yourself. You at least have more control on whats happening.
Written August 20, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience. Our team tries hard to stay on schedule. Unfortunately, this is not always possible because of traffic jams and other delays. We put great emphasis on providing a great service and it is too bad that you did not have the feeling of being well informed. Your feedback will be taken into account to improve our service. Kind regards from Vienna, Lisa Frühbauer
Written August 21, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alice l
Aberdeen, UK18 contributions
Couples
Paid the book though the internet , all confirmed the bus collecting us to the main bus , then bus taking is to Bratasalvia ! Cruize on the Danube on the way back Looking good and all good so far ! Arrived in Bratasalvia where the tour guide met us she was very nice! 10 mins into the walking tour announced we have not time to go to the castle as the office called to say we have to meet at the boat 2 pm ( ornigal meeting time 4pm) told eventually no Boat? and that we all had to come back for 4pm -this was an utter mess as no body would from the office would commit and come clear what was happpening and elderly people walking down to the boat then getting back into Bratasalvia was not really good. So in other words we all had to go back 4 pm and bus took us back to Vienna - refund on a ruined day €30 and paid for the two of us €138 one person said when we got back to Vienna they over book the boat all the time? But they said the boat had broken down?
Written June 25, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Alice, first of all thank you for your feedback. We talked to our colleagues and they said they already answered you via e-mail. We received the information from the boat company that on this day all boats have been canceled. Therefore, our colleagues searched for an alternative return at 04:00 p.m. by bus. We apologize for all these inconveniences. Please be assured that we put special emphasis on a great service. Again, we are very sorry about your disappointed experience with our company. Kind regards, Lisa Frühbauer
Written June 26, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 32
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Vienna Sightseeing Tours Wiener Rundfahrten GmbH & Co.KG
T2296VJbrians
T2296VJbrians
00
Hurried
Need more time at the first stop in Durnstein. Rest of the trip was good but it started off feeling rushed.
danielhT3149KN
danielhT3149KN
00
Jaw dropping walk and tour, around a world heritage site
Well hosted, truly beautiful daytrip. Both the trip itself, up through the alps, was a sight to behold. All the w
Scott S
Scott S
00
Beautiful!!!
Absolutely stunning day!!! Well organized and guide was very knowledgeable...exactly as described Saffer's
wetwonma
wetwonma
00
Very Rushing Tour
Should give more sightseeing time in the city Super rushing tour No time allowed to see in the city Only gave 1:45
DawnDEric
DawnDEric
00
Vienna Danube River Pick Your Seat
Mixed experience. The good: 1) Staff was very nice, spoke multiple languages, and were generally accessible. T
isobelc219
isobelc219
00
Painful
I will never book anything through TripAdvisor/Viator again. Due to an accident on our tramline we missed the meet
A1175MWmarian
A1175MWmarian
00
What a beautiful day !
A great day. A good combination of cultur, relaxing en local information, although our guide was talking a little t
Angela W
Angela W
00
Great Day trip
It would have been a great trip if there would have been options for those that weren’t able to walk as far. The to
CubaqueenOntario
CubaqueenOntario
00
good way to view the city
This was a great deal for 2 days. Only a few euros more for the 2nd day. Ear phones were provided and you just had
Malachit93
Malachit93
00
Be careful
We had one day for this experience. Went to the main ticket booth. Told the clerk we want to do Schloss Schoenbrun
amitkapur70
amitkapur70
00
Visit to danube valley and melk abbey
The trip started on time , easy to locate near the vienna opera house , the tour guide was good spoke english and l
scg96753
scg96753
00
I was left behind. I could see the coach pulling away and they didn’t stop. Maybe I was a couple of minutes late? Still!
Thought I was booking a small group! Large group and hard to hear! Not at all what I expected. Would have done mor
Cyrus1023
Cyrus1023
00
Decent.
It was nice to be on the bus and seeing different sites. The palace itself is very impressive. The difficulty was t
KK48
KK48
00
Ok but buses unreliable
We had a 2 day ticket. For the most part it was good value but be warned, these buses cannot be relied on if you n
Rebecca A
Rebecca A
00
A typical hop on hop off bus which is what we wanted
This is a typical hop on hop off tour with an open top level. It has 3 routes and we took all 3 over the course of
Frequently Asked Questions about Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube

Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube will start at 8:30 AM. Discover and book Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube on Tripadvisor


Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube price starts from $85.96. Discover and book Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube on Tripadvisor

Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Bratislava Day Trip from Vienna With Catamaran Cruise on Danube on Tripadvisor