Tours and Tickets

Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg provided by Panorama Tours

Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg
4.5
Book in advance
from
$80.93
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
About
Hitler’s former mountain retreat of the Eagle’s Nest can attract large crowds, so think ahead and avoid the lines by opting for this skip-the-line tour. Enjoy the convenience of having round-trip coach transfers from Salzburg included, so there’s no need to navigate. Once at the Eagle’s Nest, a guide accompanies you and explains the history of the site.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
Stress-free trip to the Eagle’s Nest with round-trip transfers included
No need to wait in long lines—enjoy having skip-the-line entry included
A guide accompanies you so you don’t get lost
Pass by scenic sights such as Hellbrunn Castle, and Lake Konigsee
What to expect
Meet your guide in Mirabellplatz in central Salzburg. Hop aboard your coach and begin your journey, passing the historic Hellbrunn Castle before crossing the border into Bavaria. Gaze out at the alpine scenery as you travel along the Konigsee River Valley and mountains peppered with farmhouses. Arrive at the mountainside hamlet of Obersalzburg. Snake up the scenic road on a brief shuttle ride, passing the mountain of Hoher Göll. Then, debark and step inside a World War II-era elevator made from brass, which once transported Hitler’s guests to the Eagle’s Nest. At the top, bypass the crowds with a direct access ticket and enter the complex. Built for Hitler’s 50th birthday, wander the site with your guide, learning the history behind it as you go. Soak up the incredible views as you look out from a perch of some 5,000 feet (1,524 meters) above ground. Afterward, visit the charming town of Berchtesgaden to explore independently and purchase lunch. Your half-day excursion will conclude with drop-off at your original departure point in Salzburg.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3595004
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Local guide • Round trip transfer by coach from Salzburg • Skip-the-line ticket Eagles Nest • Air-conditioned vehicle • Return trip by elevator to Eagles nest • Entry/Admission - The Eagle's Nest
Exclusions
Gratuities • Food and drinks • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
4h 30m
Departure details
Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1, 5020 Salzburg, Austria The tour departs from the bus terminal on Mirabellplatz, corner Hubert Sattler Gasse 1 (in front of St. Andrew church)
Inclusions
Local guide • Round trip transfer by coach from Salzburg • Skip-the-line ticket Eagles Nest • Air-conditioned vehicle • Return trip by elevator to Eagles nest • Entry/Admission - The Eagle's Nest
Exclusions
Gratuities • Food and drinks • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1, 5020 Salzburg, Austria The tour departs from the bus terminal on Mirabellplatz, corner Hubert Sattler Gasse 1 (in front of St. Andrew church)
Duration
4h 30m
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
Eagles Nest is at 6000 feet elevation. In the rarely event of adverse or inclement weather may result in a cancellation/amendment of the tour due to safety reasons.
Not wheelchair accessible
Stroller accessible
Near public transportation
Infants must sit on laps
Most travelers can participate
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1
    Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1, 5020 Salzburg, Austria
    The tour departs from the bus terminal on Mirabellplatz, corner Hubert Sattler Gasse 1 (in front of St. Andrew church)
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Schloss Hellbrunn
    Konigssee
  • 1
    The Eagle's Nest
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    Arrive at the mountainside hamlet of Obersalzburg. Snake up the scenic road on a brief shuttle ride, passing the mountain of Hoher Göll. Then, debark and step inside a World War II-era elevator made from brass, which once transported Hitler’s guests to the Eagle’s Nest. At the top, bypass the crowds with a direct access ticket and enter the complex. Built for Hitler’s 50th birthday, wander the site with your guide, learning the history behind it as you go. Soak up the incredible views as you look out from a perch of some 5,000 feet (1,524 meters) above ground.
    Read more
    Pass by
    Schloss Berchtesgaden
  • You'll end at
    Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1
    Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1, 5020 Salzburg, Austria
    The tour departs from the bus terminal on Mirabellplatz, corner Hubert Sattler Gasse 1 (in front of St. Andrew church)
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

4.5
93 reviews
Excellent
61
Very good
20
Average
9
Poor
3
Terrible
0

Shai N
66 contributions
Fantastic trips
Jul 2021
I took a two half days tours with Panorama. One to the Eagle Nest and the other to Hallshtat. Both were fantastic. The guides, Peter and Bettina, were full of knowledge, very friendly, funny and provide us a lot of tips. The tours were well organized and started and ended on time. The group had travelers from around the world which was very interesting as well.
Written July 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello bkk4ever, thank you for joining our Eagles Nest- and Hallstatt Tour and for taking the time to write this kind review here on Tripadvisor! What a pleasure in reading this comment! We are delighted to hear that you were fully satisfied with our guides Peter and Bettina - we will forward your wonderful feedback to them. There is nothing better than happy guests. We look forward to welcoming you back someday on one of our sightseeing tours! With best regards, your Salzburg Panorama Tours team
Written July 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Traveler O
Washington DC, DC625 contributions
Amazing Sights, Terrible Tour Company
Jul 2019
Eagles Nest and the surrounding area are nothing short of gorgeous and a must-see, but I'd strongly recommend avoiding a tour with this company. The bus was crammed to the brim. We arrived early to get a seat but were then directed to a tour booth nearby to get a ticket printout, despite asking about this to the tour to get better seats and avoid delays. Thus, stuck in the very back of the bus as a result. For any tour to Eagle's Nest, don't bring kids under 8. It's not prudent to do so. The tour guide was habitually annoying as he told stories about himself vice the countryside and surrounding area. Didn't make much of any mention about the historical significance of the area either. Could've spoken more to what happened to locals when the Nazis moved or even how when the bus reaches the tour center it's literally less than 100 meters above the site of Hitler's razed house, thus you're at the doorstep of what was pure evil.

Expected more effort than this for the price and duration. Very little historical context provided by the guide who looked hungover, and the tour itself was poorly arranged and carried out. The sight and surrounding area you should see as the views are amazing and the history is important to see and understand. Use a different company, go on your own, or take a private tour. This tour company simply wasn't worth it. Avoid.
Written May 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your feedback regarding our Eagle's Nest Tour, which we have read with great interest. We are very sad that the tour couldn't convice you and that you have left our coach disappointed. We are sorry you expected more historical in-depth information, but our guides try hard to give our guests as much information as possible. Nevertheless for more detailed information or special interest, we do recommend doing a private tour being much more flexible according to our guest's interests. According to our evaluations and excellent reviews here on Tripadvisor, we get a lot of positive feedback on the running of the tour as well as on our guides. We are sorry that you had not the same personal perception of this tour. Once again we are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations and we would like to ensure you that your comments will be taken into consideration as areas of improvement. We would be happy if we could get another chance to welcome you back in Salzburg someday! With best regards, your Salzburg Panorama Tours team
Written May 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Katherine G
Portsmouth, NH29 contributions
Overall it was good but...
Our tour guide Walter was a bit cranky. Not sure if it was because of the second to last day of this tour (closed Nov 3). The audio on the bus wasn’t good - they spoke so fast between languages and it was muffled so we didn’t really benefit from much of what he had to say. I would have rated this higher because the tour itself was good. The scenery at the top was magnificent. The town we had lunch in was beautiful.
Written November 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Katherine, thank you for joining our Eagle's Nest Tour and for taking time writing this hones review! We are more than happy that you enjoyed the view from the top and the time spent in the beautiful town of Berchtesgaden! Nevertheless we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our guide and with the technic on board. Your review appears to describe an incident inconsistent with the high level of service our company usually provides. We do understand your disappointment and will address this issue in the next team meeting. We will do our best to take account of your review and hope we could get another chance to welcome you on board of any of our tours someday! With best regards, your Salzburg Panorama Tours team
Written November 8, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Igoris
1 contribution
Best Views!!!
Nov 2019
Weather was perfect for this kind of trip to mountains. It was sunny so views were breathtaking. Person who is interested in history (especially WW2) should visit this place. Professional guide. Organisation level for the trip 10/10. Recommend.
Written November 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi igozevl, thank you very much for joining our Eagle's Nest Tour and for taking time sharing your experience with us and other guests! We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed the breathtaking views under sunny skies and that you were satisfied with our guide and service! Many thanks also for your recommendation and we look forward welcoming you back in Salzburg someday! With best regards, your Salzburg Panorama Tours team
Written November 8, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kelly H
Fort Worth, TX17 contributions
Eagle's nest and salt mines
We went on this tour on a really overcast day and cold. The weather was not something that could be changed and we missed some of the scenery, but the eagles nest was impressive and worth the visit. The salt mines was interesting though once Leo, our guide, had to turn us over to salt mines staff, there was definitely some lost in translation. However, the train, slides, elevator etc give a good idea of the mine and it was fascinating.

Our guide, Leo, did a great job of keeping us running smoothly and had a ton of information on the bus ride to the Eagles Nest and back down as well. He pointed out sites and gave us information the entire time we were riding... About the history, other sites, food, culture, etc. He was engaging and a great guide to have!!
Written October 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for choosing our tour company and for your review regarding our tours to the Eagles Nest and Salt Mine. Your comments about our service and guide Leo are highly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Your Team from Salzburg Panorama Tours
Written October 30, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul & Dana M
Buckeye, AZ12 contributions
A must do, but I wanted more
Oct 2019
The Eagle's Nest seemed like a checkpoint (along with Dachau today) for us to get a better perspective of the Evil in the 1930s-1945. The guide was functional. He told his stories and jokes and then turned on recorded, random classical music. We switched buses and guides when we got part-way up the mountain. He was even more taciturn. I asked several questions, as my wife chringed, and in general, I got a 'yes' or 'no' answer. I gave up. In the Kehlsteinhaus (I read that the name 'Eagles Nest' was given by the victorious Americans), there is a series of good historical panels with pictures along the terrace. We were scurried through the 'house' quickly, since it is a privately-run restaurant. We used the pictures of H and Eva to visualize...what? where Evil once stood? Anyway it felt both creepy and significant. I can see why he (or his henchmen) wanted to build it to entertain royalty and friends (mostly Eva). His/their egos must have been boosted with (sorry) a true 'King of the World' panoramic view.

BUT, I wanted more. There was so much time on the buses that a few open Q&A to prepare expectations and then on the way down/back to Salzburg, another open Q&A to help interpret what we saw and to discuss our perceptions. We talked to other people on the bus and they were all well-educated people, but they were curious about several aspects. The book sold there and at the bottom have very good pictures and a lot of history, but I think we all missed the opportunity to exchange our ideas and experience immediately after viewing this only-one-in-the-world site. We all enjoyed the canned music, but...

The goal for the guides should not to end up with happy campers at the end, but maybe try for informed, eager to do more research, and especially to tell/recommend this to others. Missed opportunities.
Written October 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Paul M., Thank you for joining our Tour to the Eagles Nest and for your detailed and honest review. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we have read your comments with great interest. We take customers opinion very seriously as there is always a place for improvements. Our guides are well-experienced and are regularly briefed, so they can provide as much information as possible. Furthermore, they give their best to make the tour also fun and entertaining for everyone. Unfortunately, it is not always possible to meet everyone's expectations. We are sorry, that the tour could not convince you entirely, but we hope we can welcome you back someday to one of our many sightseeing tours in the area. Kind regards, your team from Salzburg Panorama Tours
Written October 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

StrangeTart
Alexandria, VA20 contributions
Best Views and adventurous ride
Oct 2019
We took this tour from Salzburg instead of Munich. We loved Leo and his tour of Eagle's Nest. He was an energetic and fun guide who gave great details and information about local history (although he perpetuates the statement that Eagle's Nest was a birthday present and all the information inside says otherwise).
If you're a nervous passenger, don't get a window seat on the bus.
The ride up and back is wonderful. The views are breathtaking and the history of Obersalzburg and Eagle's Nest is very interesting. Be ready to take some stunning photos and prepare yourself for a little outdoor trekking to get to the peak.
Written October 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you, Della, for choosing our tour company and for your review regarding our Tour to the Eagles Nest. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and the sights of this historical place and the beautiful panoramic views. It would be our pleasure if we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Your Team from Salzburg Panorama Tours
Written October 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicole C
2 contributions
Great tour guide
Oct 2019 • Friends
The tour guide, Leo, is a great one. He is very humourous and informative about the place we are visiting and also the history of Salzburg & Berchtesgaden. Although the weather is bad & foggy, his cheerful spirit has cheered us up. He is excellent! Thank you Leo!
The timing of the tour is also good, not too rush for us and Panorama has the priority to go up the hill. Weather wise, they cannot do anything to change it also so we ourselves need to check the weather and choose the date that we should go, provided we have the time as well.
Overall, I would recommend this eagle nest tour. Cheers!
Written October 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Nicole, thank you very much for joining our Eagle's Nest Tour and for taking time writing this wonderful review! We are more than happy to hear that you were fully satisfied with the running of the tour (despite the bad weather) and with our guide Leo. Your feedback and compliments for him are very much appreciated and we are delighted to forward your kind words to him. Many thanks also for your recommendation and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday! With best regards, your Salzburg Panorama Tours team
Written October 18, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

runawaysuzie
Cairns, Australia99 contributions
Fantastic trip to such a beautiful place
Sep 2019
Well worth a visit but try to go not peak season as can be very crowded. The ride up was such a view and well worth it.
Written October 15, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for choosing our tour company and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Your Team from Salzburg Panorama Tours
Written October 16, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sqrblk
Owensboro, KY30 contributions
Stunning views.
Oct 2019
Great history. Moreso, beautiful scenery. Took day trip from Salzburg. Well worth the trip/expense. Would go back.
Written October 15, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for choosing our tour company and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Your Team from Salzburg Panorama Tours
Written October 16, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 84
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Panorama Tours
Trip517448
Trip517448
00
Highly recommend
The driver, tour guide and company are wonderful! I would highly recommend any tour that they have to offer!!
Mark N
Mark N
00
Great half day trip from Salzburg
Great time with LEO (Leopold) FROM PANORAMA . Very knowledgeable, super personality! Kids loved it and so did we.
CareFree2010
CareFree2010
00
Bavarian super-saver is super fun!
This “super-saver” saves you time in transport, which might be even more important that the financial savings - a v
ananthuanira
ananthuanira
00
Trip to Hallstatt
I was very happy with my tour of Hallstatt with the Slovenian guide Allenka. Her knowledge was very impressive
Eden Z
Eden Z
00
Totally worth it!
The best tour I took throughout my three months in Europe! I normally avoid “touristy” experiences, but this was pe
LiGhand
LiGhand
00
Sound of Music Tour
The tour was not up to our expectations. We thought that we would see and visit the inside of places where the fil
AaminaI1
AaminaI1
00
Perfect for sound of music fans
Absolutely loved the tour. It was actually one of the best travel experiences I've ever had. I think a lot of it ha
435mirelat
435mirelat
00
Delightfull
It was a delight to travel with Leopold! He was funny, very well informed, he gave us different tips for spare our
jginder2021
jginder2021
00
Really the real Sound of Music Tour!
Very good organized tour, in small groups, in a small bus (VW). And what we learned and heard about the making of t
Pallavi P
Pallavi P
00
A Melodious Journey in Retrospect
Our guide Allenka was super enthusiastic and knowledgeable. She tied together the narrative of the real-life Von-tr
jnlehmann
jnlehmann
00
The best bike tour for Sound of Music fans!
Amazing tour! We had such a great time with Mitch as our guide on ebikes. He was so charming, kind and knowledgeabl
danielhF5764QO
danielhF5764QO
00
nice
great guide and amazing place. though at the end of the day its a taxi service to hallstatt with explanations on
thejoshus
thejoshus
00
Great introduction to Salzburg
Leo was amazing and charming!! This was our first trip abroad after 6 months of lockdown and it was a rather chilly
injridv
injridv
00
Fantastic
If you get a chance to do this tour with Bridgette take it!!! She’s incredibly pleasant, friendly, and full of hist
jamescS4128UQ
jamescS4128UQ
00
More then what you think
This tour was not my list even though I knew about it. It rained so we did it. OH MY GOD, wow that was time well
Frequently Asked Questions about Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg will start at 8:45 AM. Discover and book Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg on Tripadvisor


Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg price starts from $80.94. Discover and book Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg on Tripadvisor

Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Skip-the-Line: Eagle's Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg on Tripadvisor