Tours and Tickets

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier provided by Arctic Adventures

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier
4.5
Book in advance
from
$171.75
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
4h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
8
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    4h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    8
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Explore the surreal landscape of Iceland's Solheimajokull Glacier during this 4-hour experience. Join your guide at the glacier for glacier hiking and ice climbing on top of this ancient ice formation, enjoying spectacular views of its constantly changing blend of colors and shapes. Take the journey through a frozen maze of towering ice formations, jagged ridges, and deep blue crevasses whilst exploring all that this magnificent glacier tongue has to offer.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
  • After making your own way to Solheimajokull Café, located in the town of Vik, you’ll greet your guide. Following a short drive to the mighty Sólheimajökull Glacier’s base, you’ll get fitted out with crampons and ice picks while listening to a thorough safety briefing. Then, set out on a climbing and hiking adventure over the glacier’s frozen crevices, caves, and sinkholes. Maneuver yourself on jagged ridges, marvel at unique ice formations, and learn about the geographical creation of the glacier from your guide. Throughout your 4-hour adventure, you’ll receive personalized attention from your guide in a small group of 10. The experience concludes at your original departure point, Solheimajokull Café.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • After making your own way to Solheimajokull Café, located in the town of Vik, you’ll greet your guide. Following a short drive to the mighty Sólheimajökull Glacier’s base, you’ll get fitted out with crampons and ice picks while listening to a thorough safety briefing. Then, set out on a climbing and hiking adventure over the glacier’s frozen crevices, caves, and sinkholes. Maneuver yourself on jagged ridges, marvel at unique ice formations, and learn about the geographical creation of the glacier from your guide. Throughout your 4-hour adventure, you’ll receive personalized attention from your guide in a small group of 10. The experience concludes at your original departure point, Solheimajokull Café.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5590P55
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • Small group guarantee
  • Guided glacier hike on Solheimajokull glacier
  • Certified glacier guide
  • All necessary glacier gear
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities
  • Hiking shoes (can be rented for a small fee)
Duration
4h
Departure details
  • Sólheimajökulll, Iceland Solheimajokull Glacier parking lot.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour is a small group adventure, limited to 8 participants per guide, ensuring a more personalized experience.
  • Minimum age is 14 years
  • The tour is about 4 hours with approx. 3 hours on ice.
  • Remember to bring: Warm outdoor clothing, waterproof jacket and pants, head-wear, gloves and good hiking shoes.
  • Sturdy hiking shoes, waterproof jacket and pants can be rented from the local operator for a small fee, please contact the local operator prior to traveling if you wish to rent some gear.
  • This tour is available all year round
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
Inclusions
  • Small group guarantee
  • Guided glacier hike on Solheimajokull glacier
  • Certified glacier guide
  • All necessary glacier gear
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities
  • Hiking shoes (can be rented for a small fee)
Departure details
  • Sólheimajökulll, Iceland Solheimajokull Glacier parking lot.
Duration
4h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour is a small group adventure, limited to 8 participants per guide, ensuring a more personalized experience.
  • Minimum age is 14 years
  • The tour is about 4 hours with approx. 3 hours on ice.
  • Remember to bring: Warm outdoor clothing, waterproof jacket and pants, head-wear, gloves and good hiking shoes.
  • Sturdy hiking shoes, waterproof jacket and pants can be rented from the local operator for a small fee, please contact the local operator prior to traveling if you wish to rent some gear.
  • This tour is available all year round
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Popular mentions

4.5
57 reviews
Excellent
50
Very good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
3

Pat L
2 contributions
Dec 2021 • Friends
My husband arranged this holiday to Iceland as a surprise 60th birthday gift. As part of a tour by G Adventures, this activity was the highlight of my trip. Our guide Valerio was amazing. He ensured we understood the importance of safety and taught us step by step how to put on the equipment and gave us tips about how to hike with crampons. This company had us wear a helmet and harness. We saw other groups with neither of these! Parts of the climb were a little challenging (nerve-wracking) but very doable and so beautiful - truly breathtaking. I had no expectations of what a glacier hike entailed and I was blown away. I actually had a few moments of joyful tears at the top! This is an experience I will never forget.
Written December 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear W1344TBpatl, We say a big thank you for taking your time out and writing us this good review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your time with us. Your safety is our #1 priority, so we are glad to know you felt safe and had fun at the same time. Looking forward to your next visit! Let's explore more of Iceland together! Greetings from Iceland.
Written December 17, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Elisasarassacum
4 contributions
Nov 2021
Absolutely wonderful! If you are searching for a great, adventurous and super safe experience on a glacier this is the perfect tour for you! Our guide Valerio was really perfect! He gave us all the info about the glacier with a great balance between the walk and the time to deeply experience the place. The tour was about 3 hours with a perfect time planning, perfect equipment and fun! I will deeply reccommend this tour and Valerio as the best guide for the Sólheimajokull glacier walk!
Written November 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Elisasarassacum, Thanks a lot for taking the time out and leaving us a wonderful feedback! It's amazing news to us to hear that you have enjoyed the glacier walk with our incredible guide Valerio! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and everyone else and a special thank you for all your kind words. We are looking forward to your visit soon again for more amazing experience with us! Greetings from Iceland.
Written November 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Brian L
3 contributions
Aug 2021
My afternoon with Arctic Adventures provided a lifetime of memories in a 4-hour tour. My guide, Nikol, was fantastic! She was extremely knowledgeable as a guide, demonstrating expertise the technical part of the climb, safety practices, Solheimajokull's history, and glacial science. Every part of the tour was seamless and the highlight of my Iceland trip. This exact tour with Arctic Adventures had been recommended to me by a friend and I see why, it's unrivaled!

As part of my tour we hiked from the meeting point to the base of Solheimajokull before we put on our technical gear (crampons, helmet) and was given a tutorial on how to properly walk on the ice. Again I want to reiterate the professionalism of both Arctic Adventures and Nikol's service, who ensured proper safety the entire time.

From the base we hiked to the glacial wall I would be climbing, where I was given instruction on proper climbing techniques. I was lucky enough to get multiple climbs in and it was the experience of a lifetime! I also got to do some "viking pushups" and experience the raw natural beauty of the glacier. And don't worry, there's plenty of opportunities for photos!

I want to thank Nikol and the entire Arctic Adventures team again for an unforgettable afternoon that created memories to last a lifetime. This tour was the highlight of my Iceland trip and is a must-do when visiting!
Written September 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear BLTraveler76, Thank you so much for taking the time out and leaving us a review. We are so happy to hear that the tour went smoothly for you. It's such great news to us to know that you had not only a great time but also an informative one. Your safety is our number one priority that's why you must follow all the instructions on how to properly put on the technical gear! We were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review! Thank you. We appreciate that very much. We are looking forward to your next visit. Greetings from Iceland.
Written September 27, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jason W
1 contribution
Sep 2021
We booked the 5.5 hour Glacier Explorer tour with Arctic Adventures in September 2021. When booking the tour we researched on the website to see if the tour would be appropriate for my 6 month pregnant wife. On their website for the Glacier explorer tour, it states that:

FAQ's for the Glacier Explorer Hike, "I am pregnant, can I still join your hike? "This is, of course, a personal choice, we have often had pregnant women on our trips. We recommend you take a close look at our trip description and difficulty rating, they will hopefully give you a better idea."

After reading this, we saw that the Glacier explorer tour was rated Moderate, which is categorized on their website as "Suitable for those in good condition who are able to walk for about 4 hours at a low or moderate pace. Trails are generally of good quality and glacier travel at a relatively low angle."

After reading this rating we decided that it would be appropriate for my wife to do this tour as she is in good shape and could easly walk for 4 hours at a low or moderate pace.

When we arrived on-site at the meeting location for our tour we notified staff that my wife was pregnant and would be participating. The guide then pulled her aside and spoke of the terrain we would be crossing and told her that the tour is rated difficult, though this is not what was stated on the website, and asked her to make a decision as to if she still wanted to participate in the tour. We discussed it and decided that yes, she still wanted to participate. She was then fitted in the safety harness and with crampons.

She was then pulled aside by another lead guide that tried to dissuade her from going on the tour and stated "if I was leading this tour I would not allow you to go on it but since this other guide is leading the tour it is ultimately up to her decision and that it was very dangerous." It was apparent from both of the guides that pulled her aside that they were not comfortable with her going on the tour even though she stated that she knew the risks and still wanted to go.

After being pulled aside from both of the guides who basically told her that she should not go for safety reasons we made the decision to not have her go on the tour.

The next day we emailed Arctic Adventures requesting a refund for the trip and they refused to give a refund stating " Mrs. XXXXX made a decision on her own not to take a risk participating in this hike.
Since you didn't evaluate properly your ability to take part in this tour, I'm afraid no refund could be issued."

Their response and refusal to give a refund was a bit appalling because both tour guides told her that she should not go for safety reasons, and then told us that we did not evaluate properly her ability to take part in the tour when the tour was rated MODERATE on their website.

While this review may not apply to everyone interested in the tour I hope it saves another family in our situation from losing money due to their incorrect ratings on their website.
Written September 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear E5083OWjasonw, Thank you for reaching out to us. We would like to begin by establishing that customers' safety and overall good experience are our top two priorities. Our tour descriptions include difficulty ratings, FAQs, customer reviews, and pictures to help you to choose the best fitting activity. Our guides are also there to make the last evaluation and recommendations prior to the tour. We confirm that your case has been investigated thoroughly and we have checked the guide's report. The tour you have booked is not rated as moderate or difficult. It is rated as easy. The hike itself is not strenuous in any way. The only reason why we are asking for pregnant participants to reconsider before booking it is that the hike takes place on slippery surfaces. The same goes for ice cave tours. This is exactly what the guide had in mind when giving recommendations not to go because of the safety. We understand your frustration and disappointment. If you are not happy with the settlement of your complaint, you can always e-mail us back and we will re-open your case.
Written September 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Svavar J
Liverpool, UK1 contribution
Keep it simple, don’t do business with this company. Service is not an option for them.
If possible they will try to charge you extra. There are a lot of companies in Iceland doing same/similar tours - use them instead!!
Written September 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear svavarj2017, Thank you for reaching out to us. We want you to know that negative feedback is appreciated as much as the positive one. We apologize that our service did not satisfy your expectations. Could you please send us every detail to info@adventures.is so we could investigate what you were charged extra for. It must have been for additional services that you have used. Thank you. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. All the best, Team Arctic Adventures.
Written September 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Fabrizio Borgia
Darmstadt, Germany199 contributions
Jul 2021
This is one of the most unforgettable experiences I ever had in my trips in Iceland.
Our guide, Marco, was very knowledgeable and inspiring (and that really made the difference, since the weather was not so good for the whole duration of the hike). We had the feeling he was really enjoying being on the glacier with us.
The views from the Sólheimajökull glacier are simply breathtaking. I will remember the noise of the crampons on the ice, the small streams of water running on the glacier and disappearing in small, blue crevasses, the white and black colours on the glacier plateau, and the big chunks of ice floating in the the glacier lagoon.
I uploaded a few pictures below, but they do little justice to the majesty of the Sólheimajökull glacier.
We were actually tempted to go again the next day!
Written July 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear IN3lutTabil3, Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with us and everyone else. We appreciate that. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed every minute you spent in Iceland. We know you have choices when it comes to your travel adventures, and it means the world to us that you’ve chosen to book an experience with our team. We can’t thank you enough for the kind words. Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we’re on the right track! We can't wait to have you back soon for more adventures! Best regards, Erika
Written July 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chris S
1 contribution
Jul 2021 • Family
We had a great tour and really appreciated our tour guide Pawel, who was experienced, patient, and told interesting stories about the glacier and Iceland.
Written July 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear G2933NNchriss, We can’t thank you enough for the kind words about our guide Pawel. Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we’re on the right track! We cannot wait for you to come back to Iceland for more adventures with us! Best wishes, Erika
Written July 16, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kathleen S
Greenwich, CT13 contributions
Jun 2021
What an amazing adventure! We spent the afternoon (5-6 hours) with Claudia and Han. Our group was quite small (just 5 in total, us 3 and another couple). Claudia shared her in-depth knowledge of the Solheimajokull Glacier with us so we could truly appreciate this natural wonder. We felt well prepared with our equipment and she taught us how to move around carefully on the glacier. (Unless you have steel-tipped hiking boots you will need to rent boots from them for the ice climbing - yes, they have them there to rent on location.)
We each got to test out our new climbing skills on a short wall (approx 20') and then later on Claudia found a great spot to try our skills again - we were lowered into a moulin and climbed out - absolutely amazing to be somewhere no one has ever been and see below the ice. We had to use our new skills to climb back up and out - it was simply thrilling! We took tons of photos - our best pics are on my brother and my son's cameras but I'll post a few that I took.

A couple of tips -
*There are restroom facilities at the base for a small fee (good to know bc once you're on the glacier there's no place to 'go'. )

*When we first arrived we didn't notice the big yellow bus in the tremendous parking lot - that's their 'office' that contains all the equipment and where you get set up before your excursion.

*Bring layers & bring good gloves that you can grip with - you need to be able to hold the handle of the pickaxe.

* Bring sunblock
Written June 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear kathy s, Thank you for your detailed review. We hope that it will help future travelers to get to know better our tour from the inside. We are glad that you enjoyed the time in Iceland and we are happy that you let us be a part of this experience. Thanks a lot for your tips, we bet they are going to be very useful for the people who are planning to go on a tour with us. Looking forward to meeting you once again in the future! Sending you warm wishes from Iceland, Erika
Written July 16, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

C M
4 contributions
Thank you to our tour guide Alberto for a once in a lifetime experience. We appreciated how it was a small group tour and we got to explore so many parts of the glacier as well as climb. Definitely have to be in shape for this tour but highly highly recommend. Thank you to our guide for being so personal and knowledgeable about the glaciers. 10/10 experience.
Written June 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear C M, Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience with us and the community! We are so glad you enjoyed the guide company as much as the tour. You have to come back soon to explore more of Iceland! Once again thank you and hope to see you soon. Best regards, Erika
Written July 20, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

sjoakar
Kopavogur, Iceland57 contributions
May 2021 • Friends
We had the best time at Sólheimajökull with our best tour guides, Francesco, Bilbao and Mark. Perfect Icelandic weather🙌
Written May 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear sjoakar, It's such great news to hear that you had a good time with our wonderful team! We hope to meet you again soon on one of our tours. Best wishes from Iceland.
Written July 27, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 47
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Arctic Adventures
Annie O
Annie O
00
Unforgettable Experience
I cannot say enough good about this experience. Karl, our driver and 2-day guide, was knowledgeable and fun. And de
Inspire761844
Inspire761844
00
Fabulous Iceland
A wonderful experience. Our local guide -- Vjeran -- did a great job. Loved seeing everything: Blue Lagoon was
Diane N
Diane N
00
Fun Trip with Fannrar
A great trip! Fannrar was our guide and he was awesome. His liveliness really kicked off the morning for us and the
Companion14848579196
Companion14848579196
00
Worth doing
Great superjeep experience! U can actually se the power of this kind of car! Great guide! He answered all questions
Karen93160
Karen93160
00
Mesmerizing waterfalls, black sand beach and glacier hike!
I booked this tour because I wanted to discover the South Coast of Iceland and experience glacier hiking for the fi
Elinamic
Elinamic
00
A great way to experience the glacier although it felt a bit rushed
This hike was a great way to explore a glacier and learn more about it. The tour took place on the Falljökull glaci
Elinamic
Elinamic
00
A unique experience
We decided to go to see the volcano with a group and although at the beginning I was disappointed as the weather wa
638isabellez
638isabellez
00
Amazing experience
We joined a 3-day tour (Golden Circle, south coast, ice cave) guided by Vjeran and we absolutely loved it. We defin
Neil D
Neil D
00
Beautiful and efficient way to see some of Iceland’s many wonders
If you want to see some of the most beautiful parts of Iceland, in the fastest and most efficient way possible, thi
Roxanna P
Roxanna P
00
Amazing tour - highly recommend
We had Nick for our tour and it was absolutely incredible! He is knowledgeable nice, and very helpful. The weather
BirtheD18
BirtheD18
00
Into the deep dark blue!
Amazing tour! Fannar, our guide, drove us safely through rocky terrain and was super responsive to our group. Thank
Nannette F
Nannette F
00
Magical
The only word to describe this trip is magical. Our guide Hjalti was fantastic. He made sure we were safe and made
Jennifer B
Jennifer B
00
Unforgettable ice cave tour
We did a glacier hike and ice cave tour with Ollie today! He was the best! His expertise made us all feel safe. He
Razzel
Razzel
00
Great tour in a strange land
Just completed this trip with my family. Amazing combination of scenery, adventure, and culture. Our guide Hjalti
kimputer04
kimputer04
00
Truly the best way to experience Iceland :)
This tour was fantastic! Our guide Hjalti Björnsson was full of all sorts of knowledge about the island, but what r
Frequently Asked Questions about Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier will start at 12:30 PM. Discover and book Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier on Tripadvisor

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier price starts from $173.05. Discover and book Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier on Tripadvisor

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier on Tripadvisor

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier is hosted by Arctic Adventures. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Arctic Adventures on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier on Tripadvisor