We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whale watching in luxury

Select Date and Travelers
From
$95.30
Date
2 travelers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Detailed description:

    Come aboard a luxurious yacht and see the incredible wealth of marine wildlife that lives in the waters just off the shores of Reykjavík City. Nature lovers looking to see some of Iceland's majestic whales, dolphins, and porpoises,  but who wish to do so in a small group, should grab this chance now.

    The ship sets sails from Reykjavík's Old Harbour and during your journey, you'll sail among the small islands in the Faxaflói Bay, as well as along the coast of Reykjavík, providing you with a fantastic view of the city as you search for the wildlife in the water.

    The most common sights are minke and humpback whales, dolphins and porpoises. However, there is always a chance to spot a few orcas (also known as killer whales) as well as a wealth of other species. The professional team onboard is very experienced in spotting whales and are dedicated to making sure their passengers leave with a smile! 

    This tour is conducted on a beautiful yacht known as the Amelia Rose. With three panoramic deck areas, the vessel provides every passenger with a good view of the surrounding area as well as an excellent opportunity to capture some amazing pictures. The decks are partially covered, providing some shelter from wind and rain, and you can easily circle them to enjoy the best views.

    Amelia Rose is designed as an offshore vessel, making it better adapted to take on the turbulent waves of Iceland's waters, ensuring a smoother sail with less probability of passengers experiencing nausea or seasickness. 

    If that's not enough, on this tour, you don't have to worry about overcrowding or not getting a right spot to see the whales. You'll be sailing on Faxaflói in a small group which will make your experience personal, meaningful and memorable! 

    So don't hesitate! Book now to enjoy whale watching in both style and comfort on this small group whale watching tour. Check availability by choosing a date.

     
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Ægisgarður 1, AEgisgardur 1, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

    Traveler pickup is offered
    Pickup is not included in the price, it has to be requested and we charge extra for that service, please contact us. Many thanks.
    Duration
    3h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • 3 hour whale watching
    • wifi
    • warm blankets
    • sea sickness tablets
    Exclusions
    • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
    • Food and drinks (drinks and snacks available to purchase
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
    • Important information
    • The tour is dependent on weather and sightings cannot be guaranteed.
    • Weather and sea conditions can be unpredictable during the winter months. Our captains will make their decision to sail based on many years of experience, always keeping in mind passenger safety and comfort.
    • We can never guarantee sightings on our tours, but in case of no sightings we do offer a FREE ticket to try again!
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    234Reviews31Q&A
    Traveler rating
    • 181
    • 15
    • 4
    • 4
    • 3
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    The tour was great and while we didn't see anything other than a fin of a whale, the whole experience was wonderful. The vessel was small enough and because of that was very personal. When the first tour was canceled due to the weather, they made sure notification was sent and
    Read more
    Three of us took this tour. Though it was cold and we didn’t see any whales or dolphins, the tour itself was well organised. The staff were friendly and approachable and made the effort to introduce themselves to the people onboard. It was disappointing not to see any whales or
    Read more
    Response from Sea Trips A, guide at Whale watching in luxury
    Responded 1 week ago
    Thankyou so much for taking the time to write us this lovely review, I am so sorry you didn't get to see our wonderful whales but you are welcome to come and try again any time for the next three years. I hope you had a awesome time here in Iceland nonetheless. All the best.
    Read more
    It was a really nice trip, the guide Jorge was very nice, did a great job. Although we did not spot any whales but we saw a group of dolphins which was great as well. And the ticket is valid for 3 years to try again.
    Read more
    Response from Sea Trips A, guide at Whale watching in luxury
    Responded 2 weeks ago
    Thankyou for this lovely review and your kind words about Jorge! I am sorry you didn't get to see any whales but I am glad you got to see those dolphins! Just let us know if you are coming to Iceland again in the next few years and we will try and find those whales for you. All the best.
    Read more
    We booked the yacht Amelia Rose for whale watching. The night before we were informed that the Amelia was not available but we could still go out on their other boat. This was our last day so we wanted to still experience it. The boat turned out to be one step above a tug
    Read more
    Response from Sea Trips A, guide at Whale watching in luxury
    Responded 2 weeks ago
    Hi, thanks for taking the time to review us. As you waited three months to review us this must have weighed heavy on your mind from your holiday. However I must say I feel it is a little unfair to give us one star... we did tell you in advance that we were changing boats and offered you the chance to refund your tickets or reschedule for a different day. Then when you got onto the boat we gave everyone a free drink. The ship we moved to is custom made for whale watching and has a 5 star rating on it's own reviews, one of which talks about the lovely whales they saw on that day you went out! Your comments about no heated cabins and snacks are confusing, unless you didn't go inside the ship the entire time. That ship has 3 inside rooms open to the customers and all are centrally heated, and in the main saloon we have a bar offering hot, cold, and alcoholic drinks and a range of snacks.It is true we don't have blankets on that ship...instead we offer full winter suits that are water and windproof to keep everyone snug! As for you being loaded like livestock there was only 15 adults and 3 children on a ship designed for 120 (we only ever take 75 but still) so I feel that analogy was a little exaggerated. I hope us having to change boats due to a confusion over dates no longer troubles you. All the best.
    Read more
    We saw several types of whales as well as dolphins. The boat was nice and the crew very friendly. I would highly recommend going on this trip!
    Read more
    Response from Sea Trips A, guide at Whale watching in luxury
    Responded 2 weeks ago
    Oh how lovely that you saw dolphins as well as our impressive whales! Thank you so much for this brilliant review, I hope the rest of your holiday was great here too!
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • Sea Trips Reykjavik
    • Duration: 3h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: