Tours and Tickets

Glacier Snowmobiling and Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik provided by Arctic Adventures

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Glacier Snowmobiling and Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
Select Date and Travelers
From
$279.15
Date
2 adults
Options
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
For adventurous outdoor enthusiasts that love speed, look no further than this adrenaline-fueled glacier snowmobiling adventure, with easy travel from Reykjavik. After donning your cold weather gear, and reviewing some safety tips, you can hop on your snowmobile and open up the throttle to soar over the ice of Langjökull Glacier. Highlights include the mountain views, visiting an ice cave, and experiencing the deep blue frozen waters, from inside the glacier.
Highlights
  • Ride across glaciers on this snowmobiling adventure, from Reykjavik
  • Cruise across an ice cap, and descend into the insides of a glacial cave
  • Get a great value, with riding gear, guide, and shared snowmobile included
  • Convenient, air-conditioned pickup and drop-off from Reykjavik—included
Important Information
Duration
10h
Inclusions
  • Pick up from authorised Reykjavik pick up points
  • 1-hour snowmobile ride with two persons sharing a snowmobile
  • Snowmobile gear (includes: overall, a balaclava, gloves, and a helmet)
  • Small-group experience
  • Certified glacier guide
  • Free wi-fi on board
Exclusions
  • Food & drinks
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Small group experience limited to one guide per 6 sleds.
  • Minimum age: 8 years old (to be a participant at the back of the snowmobile)
  • Not recommend women that are 3+ months pregnant
  • Warm outdoor clothing and good hiking shoes are recommended
  • Please note: You have to have a valid drivers license to operate a snowmobile
  • Be aware that if you book odd numbers of participants you have to pay single rider supplement. If you do not choose it in the booking process you will be charged the extra fee on location
  • Transportation vehicle is a super truck that includes air conditioning
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
101Reviews
12Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 56
  • 7
  • 1
  • 7
  • 10
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Noehm wrote a review Nov 2020
Parla, Spain2 contributions3 helpful votes
Es un fraude! Cancelan la actividad sin siquiera avisarte y no te devuelven el dinero. Fraud! You cancel the activity one day before without notifying me just because I was worried and I called. THEY KEPT MY MONEY.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
danielmanier wrote a review Nov 2020
São Paulo54 contributions40 helpful votes
On March/2020, I schedule the snowmobill tour and ice cave for 5 people. We drove over an hour to get to the pick up location and we boarded on their truck. When we got to glacier, we were informed that due to the bad weather on the previous day, the ice caving would not be
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Pete K wrote a review May 2020
Faringdon9 contributions19 helpful votes
Cancelled trip in March. Email received saying I would have a response in 7 days. Received an email saying bookings were cancelled and this was reflected on my booking details page. Four trips - all clearly stating - cancelled. As per terms and conditions when booking made,
Read more
Response from Laura P, Customer Care at Glacier Snowmobiling and Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik
Responded Jun 17, 2020
Dear petek667, Thank you for reaching out to us. We understand your frustration and can assure you that our customer care team is providing all the available information to you as well as any other customer. Please rest assured, we have no intention of keeping funds for non-provided services. Unfortunately, the work of our finance department, as well as our company in general, has been highly affected by COVID-19. The spread of the crisis resulted in thousands of cancellations and most of our staff being laid off. Our finance department is operating by 25% of their previous capacity and is struggling with a backlog. Refunds are being issued with a significant delay. At this point, we can only thank you for your patience and ask you to give it a bit more time. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Read more
Dave 😎 wrote a review May 2020
London, United Kingdom10 contributions9 helpful votes
I have cancelled an April family tour early in March (due to Covid19). First, we were promised to receive a full refund up to four weeks later; then six to eight. Today we've started week number ten and we still haven't received the refund. I think those guys don't realise how
Read more
Response from Gintare B, Customer Care at Glacier Snowmobiling and Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik
Responded May 18, 2020
Dear drd1977, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is true that our refund process is currently delayed and we are working to resolve this as fast as we can. Unfortunately, due to the current circumstances it's taking longer than we expected and we cannot advise on a specific date. We understand the situation is not ideal and we apologize for this frustrating experience. If you are worried at all we can always check your booking and your request - you just need to e-mail us and we will get back to you. We can assure you that our customer care team answers everybody as fast as possible. It can be that a reply will take longer on weekends, but if you have not heard back from us in several days, we encourage you to reach out to us again by sending a new message. Once again, we apologize for this troublesome experience.
Read more
jon d wrote a review Apr 2020
California174 contributions302 helpful votes
You'll spend 6 hours, if you're lucky on a bus. What you see is no natural wonder. It's a tunnel cut out of the ice with chainsaws, essentially. To make matters worse, I really don't want to be lectured about the climate by a scientifically ignorant school girl who gets almost
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Arctic Adventures
Akulasthraxus
00
Borrow the extra gear
I did the Glacier Snowmobiling and Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik and it was wonderful! I was picked up from the bus
Read more
StephanieP978I
00
Magical
Fantastic experience with a really lovely but intimate group who all got along very well. The instructor always mad
Read more
GoSetReady
00
Time for one tour only? Choose this one.
This tour took place in December 2019 Most likely the best tour I have ever been part of. If there is only one tou
Read more
Shaun186
00
Terrible Guide running away leaving the tourists behind
A guided tour like this is when one of the guide leads and the other comes at the end. My friend and I took this to
Read more
Cruiser268673
00
Bad customer service
Because of COVID-19, 17. March 2020 I cancelled my booking on 5-28-2020, but till now 11-21-2020 eight month passed
Read more
Guðbjörg E
00
Padi Open Water Course
I did the Padi Open Water Course with Arctic Adventures and it was simply fantastic! Nick is an excellent teacher w
Read more
Vanderblij
00
Great! Simply great..
Took the Sunday diveschool-course with Nick and Halli. Great instructors and nice and calm tempo. Now I have to mov
Read more
szapa11
00
Vatnajokull glacier October 2020
I had read this post and it got me a little scared, really. Then I decided to contact Melrakki Adventures and now I
Read more
laurabristol
00
Avoid!!!!!!!!!!!
Like so many others here, they have refused to refund my £2000 for trips booked. I cancelled within the required ti
Read more
travellerUK000000
00
AVOID WITH A BARGEPOLE. MONEY ROBBING!!
do not book with this money-robbing company. the amount of stress caused is disgusting!!!!! they owe me 1600 pounds
Read more
stella8462
00
we lost our money
we had booked one day tour which had been canceled last moment. we ask for refund but they offer a voucher for nex
Read more
ljiljanapav
00
very bad
We made a reservation to watch the whales from Dalvik. Their rules said that it could be canceled 24 hours in advan
Read more
ThreeDugongs
00
AVOID AT ALL COSTS
I booked a holiday to Iceland and Norway which had to be cancelled due to COVID issues. Despite giving over 60 days
Read more
SoSophie123
00
Be aware
We booked with Extreme Iceland a tour for Landmannalaugar and we waited for 30 mintues at the pick up location but
Read more
746nigelm
00
LAUGAVEGUR TREKKING & FIMMVORDUHALS – 6 DAY HIKE (HUTS)
Went of the 6 day Laugavegur& Fimmvorduhals hike (huts) - was an absolutely fantastic experience seeing all terrain
Read more
Key Details
  • Langjokull Glacier, Gullfoss, and 1 more
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Pickup offered
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071

Frequently bought together

Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik
from $63.27*
Popular: Booked by 29,157 travelers!
Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik
from $62.03*
Popular: Booked by 33,380 travelers!
Frequently Asked Questions about Glacier Snowmobiling and Ice Cave Tour from Reykjavik