We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crystal Ice Cave Tour from Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon

Select Date and Travelers
From
$167.80
Date
2 travelers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Your tour departs from the café at the Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon, where, wearing warm clothes and sensible hiking shoes, you'll greet your guide. From here, you’ll board a vehicle for the short drive to the Vatnajokull Glacier, one of the largest glaciers in Europe.

    On arrival, you’ll descend to the glacier’s subterranean caverns and spend the next 40 minutes discovering frozen caves, deep crevasses, and unique ice formations. Capture photographs of magical light reflections and learn about the glacier’s geographical formation from your guide.

    Return to your original departure point at the Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon at the end of your tour.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Jökulsárlón, Iceland
    Duration
    2h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Professional guide
    • Return transportation from Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon to the ice cave
    • All taxes, fees and handling charges
    Exclusions
    • Transportation to/from Reykjavik
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    • Food and drinks
    • Gratuities
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund.
    • It is very important to be properly dressed for this tour with layers for staying warm. Bring with you waterproof clothing, hat, gloves and good hiking shoes. We recommend that you bring with you a water bottle and food/snacks.
    • There is no guaranty that our group will be alone in the cave, as the same cave is used by more tour operators.
    • From 15th of December to 15th of January daylight in Iceland is limited. We would like to make it very clear that during this time our 14:30 and 15:45 departures will take place as darkness falls, and you will be visiting the Crystal Ice Cave in the dark. The advantages to visiting the ice cave at this time include a less crowded experience and of course, beautiful blue ice photographic opportunities! We also provide powerful head torches allowing you to light your way safely to, from and inside the ice cave.
    • Please note that ice caves are an ever changing natural phenomenon and, therefore, unpredictable. We will visit one ice cave during the tour and the choice of a cave is based on conditions and safety.
    • Minimum age: 6 years old
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    Reviews (32)
    Filter reviews
    24 results
    Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    2
    11
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageEnglish
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    2
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews small hike black rice off road super jeep unique experience thor light cold
    Selected filters
    FilterEnglish
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 24 reviews
    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

    Disappointment! the 4 hours of promised activities are divided into about 40 minutes of travel to reach the starting point, more than 2 hours of chatter on the history of the glacier and of what is around, about 30 minutes of information on safety and...More

    Thank U9288AUstefanob
    Laura S, Customer Care at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

    Dear U9288AUstefanob, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The safety of our customers is a factor we value greatly and we always have a safety briefing prior to the tour which we consider to be a crucial part of the overall...More

    Reviewed September 1, 2019

    We took a super Jeep up to the glacier, which was an experience all on its own. Our Jeep actually broke down on top of the glacier, but our guide recovered from that like a pro and promptly got us to the ice caves after...More

    Date of experience: November 2018
    Thank CED1003
    Erika A, Marketing assistant at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Safety is the number one priority for us! We are glad that you still had a good time even though there were some difficulties. Thank you for choosing us. We hope you come back soon. Best wishes!

    Reviewed July 20, 2019 via mobile

    The day of the visit was really rainny and cloudy day so I think the tour should have been cancelled, it is almost imposible to enjoy the experience because all was grey , the ice, the glacier, the cave... only cloudy view on the top...More

    Thank Soy_Munieca
    Laurasabonyte, Customer Service at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

    Dear Soy_Munieca, Thank you for taking the time to share your insights. The weather in Iceland is known to change quickly and often, rarely it can be predicted far in advance. We usually do not let the rain stop our tours because rain is a...More

    Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

    The Arctic Adventure canceled our tour half way there. They did not offer us a refund, nor the opportunity to rebook the tour. Me and my girlfriend hired the tour to Ice Cave on 19/03/19. We arrived at the agreed place at the agreed time...More

    Thank guilhermec454
    Viktorija G, Customer Support at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

    Dear guilhermec454, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this amendment has caused. If we would have been aware that the ice cave...More

    Reviewed April 9, 2019

    We were originally booked to hike a glacier the day we did the ice cave, but cancelled due to high winds. I didn't know any info about this in advance except it was to an an ice cave in super jeeps. We got to the...More

    Date of experience: March 2019
    Thank RoseTroy3
    Erika A, Marketing assistant at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hello RoseTroy3, Thank you so much for taking your time and writing us this amazing review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour. Looking forward to your next visit! Best regards, Erika

    View more reviews
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Crystal Ice Cave Tour from Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon staff and past visitors.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Submit
    Posting guidelines
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: