Reykjavik Tours
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik
4

Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

By BusTravel Iceland
About
The northern lights are famously tricky to see, so increase your chances by booking this tour from Reykjavik led by an experienced aurora hunter. Leave nighttime driving to the experts and travel outside the city, away from light pollution, to a location specially selected for its optimal aurora-viewing qualities. Avoid disappointment with the knowledge that if you don't see the lights, you can join the tour another night for free. Enjoy access to the Aurora Museum in Reykjavik on the day of your tour.
from
$62.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 8-99, max of 65 per group
Duration: 4h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Aurora hunter-guide takes you to the best location for northern lights viewing
  • Take a free second tour if you don't see the lights
  • Warm up with hot drinks while waiting
  • Hassle-free hotel pickup and drop-off from Reykjavik included

  • WiFi on board
  • Entry/Admission - Aurora Reykjavík - The Northern Lights Center
What's not included
  • Dinner

After pickup from your Reykjavik hotel or other designated departure point at the prearranged time, meet your guide and settle into the vehicle for the journey out of the city and into the countryside. Your exact destination depends upon the conditions and the informed decisions of your aurora hunter-guide, who takes you to where their experience tells them you have the best chance of seeing the lights. Enjoy a warm cup of hot chocolate as you wait for the aurora to make its appearance. With luck, the lights will soon appear to dance across the sky in colors of green, pink, and violet. Your guide can take souvenir photos for you to capture the moment (additional cost). If, however, the lights do not appear, join the tour again on another night at no additional cost. Your tour package also includes tickets to the Aurora Museum in Reykjavik which is valid on the day you join the tour. Afterward, the tour returns to drop you off at your original departure point.

Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
  • Bus Stop #12 Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 6, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland
    Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)
Pickup details
  • Our pickup can take up to 30 minutes so please wait at your pickup location from the time written on your ticket.
Hotel pickup offered
During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
    Port pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included ports.
    • Skarfabakki Harbour, Reykjavik
    Additional pickup options
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included pickup points.
    • Bus stop #1 - Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstræti 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus Stop #2 Tjörnin The Pond, 43W6+7JR, Lækjargata, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus Stop #3 Lækjargata, Lækjargata 4, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus stop #4 Miðbakki, 5325+4PG, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus stop #5 Harpa, Sculpture & Shore Walk 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus Stop #6 - Safnahúsið The Culture House, Ingólfsstræti 1, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus Stop #9 Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus stop #11 Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus Stop #12 Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 6, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus Stop #13 Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus Stop #14 - Skúlagata, Klapparstígur 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Bus Stop#15 - Vesturbugt, Mýrargata 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • Perlan, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland
    • BSI á Íslandi, Skútuvogur 1d, 104 Reykjavík, Iceland
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Near public transportation
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 16698P7

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Minimum age is 8 years old
      • Booking this Northern Lights tour also gives you a free ticket to visit the Aurora Museum in Reykjavik, Grandagarður 2, 101 Reykjavík. The free entrance is only valid on the day you join the tour, from the time we announce whether the tour is ON (by email and on our website). The entrance fees to the Aurora Reykjavik exhibition are complementary meaning that if you do not wish to go to the museum, there is no partial refund.
      • Most travelers can participate
      • Dress in warm, wind and waterproof clothing and footwear.
      • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 16698P7

      Reserve your spot

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • 1
        The Northern Lights, also known as the Aurora Borealis in the Northern Hemisphere, are actually the result of collisions between gaseous particles in the Earth's atmosphere with charged particles released from the sun's atmosphere. The locations visited are different from day to day as we head in the direction with the most chances of seeing Northern Lights. As this tour is weather dependent and sightings are not guaranteed you are welcome to join another Northern Lights tour free of charge. Booking this Northern Lights tour also gives you a free ticket to visit the Aurora Museum in Reykjavik, Grandagarður 2, 101 Reykjavík. The free entrance is only valid on the day you join the tour, from the time we announce whether the tour is ON (by email and on our website). The entrance fees to the Aurora Reykjavik exhibition are complementary meaning that if you do not wish to go to the museum, there is no partial refund. Join us for a night of adventure in the Icelandic countryside!
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • BusTravel Iceland
        9,856
        Reykjavik, Iceland
        Joined in October 2009
      • 852adrienned
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        The perfect tour!
        I loved this tour! You get to see so many unbelievably beautiful places. Our tour guide, Matt, really made the experience though. He was so funny, taught us so much about Iceland, and even helped with taking pictures for everyone. Keeping us safe all the while. 10/10 would recommend!
        Written July 12, 2024
      • carolinekeeton
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Excellent Customer Care
        Our tour guide Zak was absolutely amazing. He was extremely knowledgeable about the places we visited and was very patient with the questions thrown at him by our very inquisitive group. Nothing was too much trouble, more so when we explained that if we got back after the trip at 8.00pm we would miss our airport transfer. So kindly, Zak called the bus operator and arranged for us to be picked up outside town which meant we made our transfer on time Going above and beyond is a true indication of excellent customer care and we are very grateful. Please acknowledge our gratitude to Zak with a great big fat THANK YOU!
        Written July 12, 2024
      • andrewmartin1985
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Dennis is the ICE-MAN! Great guide and fun tour.
        Our guide Dennis was an absolute delight. I loved his enthusiasm and clear love of iceland. Despite poor conditions, we hiked through crazy winds with no views and he had a smile on his face the whole time. The hike itself was challenging and he was very accommodating to meeting the needs of a split group between ambitious and less ambitious physical condition folks. Pickup was prompt and he was a good driver with safety in mind. Dennis also went above and beyond and took us to the bridge between continents which was a major detour. It would’ve been awesome to have better views but he can’t control the weather! I wish I could hire him as a personal tour guide and driver for other sights and sounds of iceland. Very enjoyable experience.
        Written July 12, 2024
      • U3359ULleahs
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Amazing Golden Circle Tour!!
        Our tour guide, Addi, was incredibly knowledgeable, helpful with advice, and full of personality. Our family was so impressed with every part of the tour - all of the sights we were able to take in, the photos we were able to take, and the comfortable drive. Thank you, Addi, for such a memorable day!
        Written July 12, 2024
      • Z7517XTkathyd
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Rich with Ritchie on the Snaefellness peninsula tour from Grundarfjorour
        What can I say.. this tour was made so much better by Ritchie who is a walking encyclopaedia. A font of knowledge about Iceland. Great locations . Well worth it.
        Written July 11, 2024
      • Ssmd91
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Fantastic guide!
        Had an absolute blast today! Amazing experience filled with interesring history and tips for further travel during our time here in Iceland.
        Written July 10, 2024
      • Felicia T
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great Bus Tour
        This bus tour shows all the great points of the peninsula. Tony, our guide, was great; he answered all of our questions, was giving information/facts the whole time, and always threw in a joke! Overall a great trip!
        Written July 10, 2024
      • Sarah O
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Amazing.
        What a great day. We saw a bunch of the southern coastline which is rugged and beautiful. The Katla volcano/glacier was astounding. Our guide to the ice cave was knowledgeable and helpful. My 10 year old quickly felt comfortable and said he’s a glacial expert now. 🤪 bonus: we saw an arctic fox! Great waterfalls on the way home. This was a must do tour. It was worth every penny.
        Written July 10, 2024
      • 184kirsit
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Snaefellsnes peninsula
        We enjoyed the tour enormously, so many things to see and we had the greatest guide and driver Alain. In addition to being able to keep everybody interested the whole time, he sings well!
        Written July 10, 2024
      • 322kerenk
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        The best tour of my life!
        My husband and I brought our show to the Reykjavik Fringe, and we had only one day to get outside of the city. I have randomly booked a tour with BusTravel Iceland (to see the gold circle), and it was such a great choice! The tour was very well planned and it left a lasting impression, it was one of the best days in 2024 and definitely the best guided tour I have ever had in my life! The guide, Matt, was very nice and very professional, passionate about Iceland and very knowledgeable, and also extremely shrewd and funny. We could not stop laughing, and this was a great way to retain the many extraordinary facts about this incredible country. I felt that the pace was just right, just as the time spent in every location, and the order in which we have visited the sites. Everything was clear and - truly - just as a perfect tour should be. In the end of the day we felt fulfilled, inspired, but not too tired. The bus driver, Artur, did also a great job, making sure everything goes smoothly, and was, too, friendly and helpful. I warmly recommend this tour (or any other tour with those guys) to everyone!
        Written July 9, 2024
      • AliB_10
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great tour with an excellent guide
        Well-planned whole day tour taking in all the main sights. A full ten hours but there were plenty of stops-even a few not on the schedule. We actually did the tour in reverse starting with the crater and ended at the national park but that was no problem. Great views especially at the end. Highlight probably the waterfall. We had only one full day in Reykjavik and were totally satisfied with this. Our guide Daniel was exceptional in his breadth of knowledge and a commentary which he delivered with a dry wit. He also took care of all passengers and dealt sympathetically with a difficult situation which arose on the way. And finally he recommended an ideal evening restaurant for us. Top marks!
        Written July 9, 2024
      • fjp08
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Golden Circle and Hvammsvik Lagoon with Monika
        Did the Golden Circle and Hvammsvik Lagoon Small Bus Tour with Monika today. Great selection of sites. Good amount of time at each. Smaller size of group made for easier movement. Monika was a great guide. Professional. Very knowledgeable. Friendly. Great sense of humor. Playlist was an added bonus! Many thanks for making our day great!
        Written July 9, 2024
      • julzngo
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Incredible South Iceland
        Highly recommended! Have no exact words to describe the sights we went and mind blowing experience. Hiked all the way to the top of waterfalls , seen glaciers, and name it, it’s all worth it! Our guide Alain is professional and knowledgeable. He’s patient with some who come late at the bus and has the audacity to be upset. There is no way this man deserves any rudeness because he is great in doing his job by keeping us safe and showing the incredible otherworldly beauty of Iceland! Thank you so much Alain, we hope to have another tour with you in the future. Hats off as well to our amazing driver Peter for navigating the narrow roads in such an unpredictable weather.
        Written July 9, 2024
      • Nick H
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great way to see a lot
        Addi was a great guide who provided us with lots of knowledge. We could have used a bit more time at some of the stops, but we also would not have wanted the tour to last longer. So this was a great way to see a lot — both the three highlights of the Golden Circle as well as a few extras. The small bus, however, was not optimal: Our legs didn’t fit as the seats were very too close together, so we left with painful knees. But overall, we left with great views of the magnificent nature of Iceland + some nice food.
        Written July 8, 2024
      • HenrikFibaek
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Golden Circle
        Our guide, ADDI10, has an extreme knowledge about averything Iceland and speaks high level English. He is also a very good and secure driver. Recommendable!
        Written July 8, 2024
      See all 9,856 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      4.0
      4.0 of 5 bubbles394 reviews
      Excellent
      236
      Very good
      58
      Average
      27
      Poor
      14
      Terrible
      59

      Mihai B
      London, UK17 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      This is an exceptional company to book with. They are trustworthy, knowledgeable, very professional and most importantly they all seem to absolutely love what they do. Went on the Northern Lights Tour twice as first time we didn't manage to see anything but still managed to get a nice experience out of it - drivers set up a nice bonfire while serving hot chocolate and Icelandic chocolates to everyone, keeping us warm with blankets, telling us stories of Iceland and Northern lights and teaching us great photography tips for the next trial. Although the tour was 4h long we ended up staying more than 5h altogether as they were really keen on us seeing the lights. On the 2nd try I felt like I just wanted to get it over with and go home as it was really cold but the drivers who do this every day went above and beyond to ensure we see as much as possible. The fact that they are so keen and passionate says it all. Not to mention great communication via phone and email with the office at all times. Could not praise enough, and both Simon and Siggi, our guides the first and second time around, were absolutely fabulous and have a wealth of knowledge they are ready to share. 10 out of 5!
      Written March 1, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      2007todate
      Ireland507 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2020 • Friends
      Booked 2 tours with this company on their website and was very happy to get a discount of 30% as was a January special offer code.

      Northern lights small group tour- had the pleasure of Gauti as our driver / guide. He was very informative, pleasant and passionate about the tour. He stopped numerous times to check if the lights were visable. After driving over 2 hours with stops he parked and said this would be the best viewing point. We were delighted and privileged to see them. We were the only bus parked there. Didn't feel rushed, had plenty of time to enjoy them, served hot chocolate which was the nicest hot chocolate ever on a freezing cold windy night. Best part was Gauti took a photo with his professional camera and emailed us photos ( no charge) . Tour started at 9.30pm and we returned to our hotel at 2.30am.

      Golden circle small group tour - great tour and driver / guide ( cannot remember name but had a English accent) . Weather was great which added to the enjoyment of the tour. Has plenty of time in each stop, the scenery was amazing, the waterfall was my high light.

      I would highly recommend Bus Travel Iceland.
      Written March 2, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      mad_max555
      Leffrinckoucke, France54 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jan 2023
      Let me start with the positives. Our guide was Daniel (Aurora whisperer) who was excellent and very amusing. He was very knowledgeable and explained why the aurora happens. He’s also a keen photographer so was very helpful to those trying to take photographs with the camera settings and phone settings to get the best results. Unfortunately my iPhone XR does not have the capability to take photos with an exposure time of 15 seconds. He also lit a fire and provided hot chocolate to warm us. Take note standing for an hour in negative degrees with a strong wind and you will get cold. Many layers and little exposed skin is essential. Seeing the Aurora with the naked eye is quite often somewhat underwhelming as we don't have the ability to compound what we see over 15 seconds. So a photo over 15 seconds will be so much more impressive.
      Now the negative aspects. Bus travel Iceland, as the name implies, involves running buses. So, when they organise a tour you would expect enough buses would arrive in time for the hundreds of people booked on that tour. Oh no. We arrived, as instucted, at 20.00 for a 20.30 tour at bus stop no.12 along with hundreds of people not booked with Bus Travel Iceland. Bus stop no. 12 is just that, a bus stop. There is no shelter from the elements and BTI buses did not start to arrive until after 21.00 and then only two. The tour guide would then call out names for their bus (56 per bus) and assured us that other buses are two minutes behind. This is an Islandic 2 minutes that can represent half an hour.
      Nobody knew which bus they were on (why?) so we all crowded round every BTI bus that arrived in the hope of getting out of the cold. When Daniel's bus arrived he could not access the list of people on his bus due to software or connection problems, resulting in more delays. Note that other tour operators also use bus stop 12 for their pick ups so you can imagine the chaos every time a bus arrives with little or no identification. Considering how late this tour normally finishes, a delayed start is not helpful.
      Written February 1, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Dear mad_max555, We are very sorry that your experience with us was not pleasant. We're always working to improve our tours and how we deliver them, so we appreciate your constructive feedback. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback as it helps us grow and improve the quality of our products and services. We are very happy that you enjoyed our tour with our guide Daniel. We will pass this message on to him. We kindly ask you to forward more details on what has gone wrong to info@bustravel.is We apologize for any inconvenience caused and look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Andrius
      Written February 5, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Marc T
      Leeds, UK11 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      I have been to Iceland before & have seen the Northern Lights, so coming back I was really excited to bring my girlfriend & go on a Northern Lights excursion. We were told to be there at 8:30, so we arrived at 8:30 and we were stood freezing cold at the bus stop until 9:10.

      We then got on the bus and travelled for around 10 minutes & then stopped off for a toilet break for around 35 minutes (not sure why we stopped off for the toilet break as we had just left, but y’know we were buzzing for the northern lights) we took the drive & talked about a man that turned into a whale & then we drove through the largest tunnel in Iceland (probs the highlight of the excursion).

      We parked up in only what I can describe as a quarry to then be told that there was aurora there. Now I wear glasses, but you decide if you can see aurora in the picture below...

      When I went before we went to a beautiful location with a waterfall, but this just felt like we were parked in an industrial estate - even when there was no aurora (and there was) there was still beautiful scenery to look at. It was fairly obvious that there wasn’t going to be any activity early on, yet we stayed there for TWO HOURS (FREEZING). Then to make the evening even better he cracked out the fermented shark that smelt like cat pee. He did say we could go back the next night for free, but we took a hard pass.
      Written March 15, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      We are sorry you did not enjoy your Northern Lights tour. We go to the best location to see the Northern Lights, and so sadly there is not always an option to take passengers somewhere where there might also be a waterfall. Although these tours are at night and in the winter we do try and take passengers to interesting locations where we can tell you about the history and folklore etc. Unfortunately during the night it is not possible to see extensive scenery, due to the darkness. We are sorry you did not enjoy the traditional Icelandic snacks offered on your tour. Whilst fermented shark is not for everyone the feedback we receive from our guests is that they enjoy the opportunity to experience a truly Icelandic cultural delicacy. We also provide hot chocolate and candy which you did not mention in your review. We go above and beyond on our Northern Lights hunts to make these tours an experience. We offer expert guides, stories, information, advice on setting up cameras as well as blankets and traditional Icelandic snacks. We want all our guests to enjoy their time in our beautiful country. We care deeply about the experience, so we are surprised to hear you did not enjoy it. We would like to investigate further and encourage you to send us a direct message so we can improve our services.
      Written March 16, 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Becky G
      4 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Tour on Friday 28th Feb with Tomme
      While we were not expecting great things, given the weather, we were more unhappy with the fact that we were congratulated on the way back as we had ‘successfully’ seen the lights.

      To see them was impossible with the naked eye.. only a pro camera could pick up greenish tinges in the sky.

      The guide on the return journey clearly knew he was fooling nobody with the great success story! As he remained silent on the return.

      Just one stop.. no other options provided or chasing to get a better viewpoint.

      I would have just preferred a little honesty about the whole experience.
      Here is what an ordinary camera captured!
      Written March 2, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Alice D
      Torquay, UK70 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dec 2022
      We arrived in Reykjavik late afternoon but decided to take a chance and pre-book with BusTravel on their large group coach Northern Lights tour that same evening, as the aurora forecast looked promising.
      Our pick up was very smooth from bus stop #13 and the smaller bus took us to meet the larger coaches that we would travel on. There was an unforeseen system mix up with another driver's pick up, meaning that we were delayed from leaving central Reykjavik for an hour. However this did work to our advantage in the end...
      The tour guide on our coach, a lovely chap called Thor, was very apologetic about the delay and provided lots of useful info while we drove out of the city to get away from the light pollution. After about a 45 minute drive north, we stopped at a place with just one other coach. It only took around 20 minutes and then the Northern Lights went crazy - we had a spectacular display right above us! This was around 11:30pm when the Lights appeared and remained dancing for at least half an hour. It was remarked that this was the best display of the season so far, and we know we were extremely lucky to see them this well.
      As long as you have patience and understanding that the Lights are not guaranteed to appear on the night that you book for and that something may pop up (system issue, bad weather etc.), BusTravel is a great option for searching for the Northern Lights!
      Written January 4, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      GOLFF
      Exeter51 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Nov 2021
      Belatedly but as i am planning another trip to Beautiful Iceland, I felt that i had better let other readers know of our experiences having already reported on the lovely hotel we stayed in.
      Disappointing trip this was…virtually from start to finish.
      Disorganised chaos at the ‘bus stop’ where the pick up was. we weren’t advised beforehand that there would be so many other groups being picked up by other bus companies of varying sizes!
      We weren’t expecting over 50 people on the same bus as ours…especially during CoVid times, very few people wearing masks. The Tour rep announced the mask rule once, then her duty was done.
      Therefore we double masked ourselves…we couldn’t afford the risk.
      Then we were off, no we weren’t because we had two more pick up places to go to. With the ‘suffocation’ of passengers i was already wanting to get off, but this was my wife’s treat during our short holiday. She paid around £75 each so by my calculations was £3750 for the operators evening…nice work when you can get it.
      It was driving and driving into virtually nowhere…quick toilet stop then onto somewhere else. Then a stop off for the Luke warm chocolate and a couple of bite size lava chocolates. Eventually back on board and long trip back to the city, listening to the snoring behind. Sadly the commentary was poor and couldn’t disguise the snoring. Even though we were offered another trip the following evening, we weren’t going to waste another six hours when we could enjoy something better.
      Would i recommend to others…NO…unless it was more of sensible price like £25pp.
      BE WARNED and PREPARED
      Written March 22, 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Dear Golff, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy our tour. Regarding the pick up, indeed there are more then just one tour company in Iceland and since the city has created the official tour bus stops for tour companies like us to pick up our guests from, there will also be other companies around. We are sorry that this confused you. Regarding the tour itself, we indeed take you out into the nowhere where you have the best chances to see the Northern Lights. As they are a natural phenomenon we can not guarantee sighting as mentioned online. However we offer all our guests to reschedule their tour free of charge for up to 3 years until they see the Northern Lights :) We are sorry to hear that you were not interested in this offer. It is also sad to hear that you did not enjoy our extra of hot chocolate and lava chocolate bites, of course you were not forced to try them :) We hope you still enjoyed your trip to Iceland!
      Written March 23, 2022
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Mark J
      Burton upon Trent, UK4 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2022 • Couples
      We booked onto this trip after two others were cancelled due to poor conditions . The first night with this company was also cancelled due to the pesky weather . However on our final night with snow falling we set out with low expectations .
      Our guide Daniel “the Aurora Whisperer “ took us out to find gaps in the cloud cover .
      And find them he did with upto date equipment downloading real time data from satellites measuring the solar wind he presented us with a magical 20 minute display of dazzling dancing Northern lights .
      Not only that he patiently helped everyone set up phones and cameras to take the best possible pictures.
      My Tips
      Make sure you have plenty of layers by gum does it get cold
      For best photography take a tripod for the 3-10 second exposures .
      Go with Daniel the other buses seemed to follow him arround which tells its own story. Nothing is for certain with the Northers Lights but with Daniel “the Aurora Whisperer “ I’m certain you have the best chance of seeing them.
      Highly recommended Thank you
      Oh and there was hot chocolate 😋
      Written February 4, 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Madeleine
      New York City, NY27 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      This was our first trip to Iceland and we were lucky enough to see the Lights on our first try! I was so impressed with the professionalism, flexibility, and compassion of the company—due to unforeseen circumstances, we had to change our reservation just an hour out from the scheduled departure. They were so kind and understanding, and very generously offered to switch our reservation to the later tour that evening. It took what was a very stressful situation and made it much better. If you want to try see the Northern Lights, this is a straightforward, no frills way to do it. Our guide, Mr. A was kind and very informative. We were successful at our first hot spot thanks to the intel from earlier groups that had gone out (they recommend a later tour time because the lights and more developed and earlier groups have gone through the trial and error). A great experience!
      Written February 23, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Leh
      5 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      We did the Small Group Northern Lights tour and were so impressed!
      The first night of our trip we did this tour with Omar, it was snowing so unlikely to see anything. Tried 3 places just in case but no lights.
      We rebooked and was cancelled due to bad weather, the next day rebooked - most tours cancelled this evening but BusTravel didn’t…and we saw the lights! Kristinn was our guide and he was brilliant, really happy and approachable. He bought his camera too so we had some professional pictures of the lights and us with the lights!
      Both times we were given hot chocolate and a little sweet.
      Would definitely recommend this company, and hopefully you get Kristinn as your guide too!
      Written January 28, 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Showing results 1-10 of 376

      Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik provided by BusTravel Iceland

      All Reykjavik HotelsReykjavik Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Reykjavik
      All things to do in Reykjavik
      Day Trips in Reykjavik
      RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars