Tours and Tickets
Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik
5

Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik

By BusTravel Iceland
Recommended by 95% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon—the largest of its kind in Iceland—borders the Vatnajökull National Park in the southeast of the country. On this tour, spin through the Icelandic countryside with your guide who drives and navigates, and enjoy spectacular views over the coastal scenery. Watch icebergs floating in the Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon, and visit the Séljalandsfoss Waterfall—with round-trip travel from your Reykjavik hotel included.
from
$168.00
per adult
from
$168.00
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 6-90, max of 65 per group
Duration:
14h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:
Mobile
English

Highlights
  • Ride along Iceland’s southern shores in comfort with your guide at the wheel
  • Visit remote sights: Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon and Séljalandsfoss waterfall
  • Views over the dramatic cliffs and sandy beaches of coastal Iceland
  • Hassle-free round-trip transport from your Reykjavik hotel

  • Driver/guide
What's not included
  • Food and drinks

Your full-day tour starts with morning pickup from your centrally located hotel in Reykjavik. Drive out of the city toward the southern shores of Iceland, and enjoy sweeping views over the black-sand beaches and dramatic rock formations with your guide at the wheel. Head through the rugged Icelandic countryside to Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon—the largest and deepest glacier lagoon in Iceland. On arrival, hop out of your vehicle and explore the landscape on foot. Led by your guide, head straight to the best viewing spots, including the Diamond Beach on the coast of the Norwegian Sea, and admire panoramic views over the lagoon’s floating icebergs and crystal-clear waters. Along the way, learn about the glaciers and rivers feeding the lagoon and gain insight into Iceland’s geography. Next, visit the Séljalandsfoss Waterfall—one of southern Iceland’s top natural attractions. Walk behind Séljalandsdoss’ powerful torrent and marvel at the power of the cascading waters. Your tour ends with drop-off at your Reykjavik hotel.

Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Our pickup can take up to 30 minutes so please wait at your pickup location from the time written on your ticket. More locations we do offer pickup service from: - Subway at the former Oddsson Ho(s)tel, Hringbraut 119 - Burgerjoint (Hamborgarabullan), Geirsgata 1 - Gamli Gardur, Hringbraut 29 - BSI Bus Terminal, Vatnsmyrarvegur 10 (front / taxi side) Many accommodations in central Reykjavik are redirected to official "Tour Bus Stops" from which we also offer pickup: - Tour Bus Stop 1, Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstraeti (64.146316,-21.941491) - Tour Bus Stop 2, Tjörnin - The Pond, Maedragardur on Laekjargata (64.145763,-21.938547) - Tour Bus Stop 3, Lækjargata, Laekjargata 4 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 5, Harpa, Austurbakki 2 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 6, Safnahúsið - The Culture House, Hverfisgata 15 by Arnarholl (64.147454,-21.932894) - Tour Bus Stop 7, Traðarkot, Hverfisgata 20 (64.146706,-21.930425) - Tour Bus Stop 8, Hallgrímskirkja, by Eiriksgata (64.141548,-21.927973) - Tour Bus Stop 9, Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24 (64.143497,-21.916289) - Tour Bus Stop 10, Hlemmur, Laugavegur 105 (64.143155,-21.915414) - Tour Bus Stop 11, Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37 (64.142364,-21.917228) - Tour Bus Stop 13, Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120 (64.142658,-21.913866) Free pickup location: - Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)
  • Þórunnartún 1, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)
  • Ports:
  • Skarfabakki Harbour, Reykjavik
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 16698P1

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

A note from Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik
  • Face masks will be available to purchase, if forgotten. All clothes worn by staff are washed on a hot cycle after every tour. Passengers are requested to wear clean clothes. Instructions on how to avoid infection are in all our vehicles.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

How much is Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik?
Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik price starts from $168.00. Discover and book Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor
What is the Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik cancellation policy?
Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik?
Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik is hosted by BusTravel Iceland. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact BusTravel Iceland on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor
How much time do I need for Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik?

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 16698P1

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Þórunnartún 1
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See departure details
  • 1
    Reykjavik
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Glacier Lagoon
    Stop: 90 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Fellsfjara
    Stop: 90 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Stjornarfoss
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Vik
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 6
    Seljalandsfoss
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

477angih
477angih
00
Great experience
This was a wonderful experience..you get to see some beautiful places. The black beach is magical. The waterfalls a
ruthandgreg2016
ruthandgreg2016
00
Northern lights
The trip was great on September 14th. Gary was our guide and did a great job. His camera was superior to ours. We a
Praveen R
Praveen R
00
Tom was an amazing guide
Had a great time with our guide Tom, who took us on a hike and secret spots in landamannagular. It was the last day
Suzanne W
Suzanne W
00
Too crowded/limited glacier views
If you want to see the glaciers, don’t do this tour. Do the zodiac instead. We had a better review of the glaciers
alis0nc8
alis0nc8
00
Fantastic
Our driver HBO was great, very informative and the scenery is stunning. The Blue Lagoon was brilliant, a perfect en
marianaa179
marianaa179
00
Great tour!
Great tour! The tour guide was friendly. The driver was friendly. All the places we went to were beautiful.
cayladucky
cayladucky
00
Hike is not worth it
The hike was exhausting, long, really difficult, and quite boring. It was 3 hours of wet rain, slippery slopes, and
2021AJ
2021AJ
00
Great
The Tour was great, and see some incredible sights in iceland and our Tour guide (Ms. Warrior)and Bus driver (Mr.
I1475ELryans
I1475ELryans
00
South Iceland Tour
Monika was a great knowledgeable, friendly and entertaining guide! The tour is a must. We had a wonderful experien
Carmel D
Carmel D
00
Fantastic tour
Excellent tour … the guide Monika was very knowledgeable ,informative and helpful at all times. Stunning scenery a
Guide590352
Guide590352
00
Great Land with an outstanding guide
Iceland has so much to see. Seeing it with our driver/guide, Hauser made it even more exceptional! He is an encyclo
titchyj92
titchyj92
00
Fantastic would recommend
My partner & I booked a trip to Iceland and booked this tour. Our tour guide (Howser) was fantastic and very knowle
SingaporeBms
SingaporeBms
00
Great tour of the Southern part of Iceland
A well organised tour showing the best parts of Southern Iceland. Our guide, Karolina, was terrific, highly informa
wweir73
wweir73
00
Well paced introduction to Iceland
Great tour for those who are time compressed, expertly led by a knowledgable and friendly guide (David). Ample tim
Roving68397177625
Roving68397177625
00
Stunning
Beautifull day tour. Everything went according to plan. Our guide was super knowledgeable and fun. Weather was beau
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
130 reviews
Excellent
113
Very good
11
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
2

Clipper
London, UK45 contributions
Get Your Guide, day trip to the south coast from Reykjavik, was spectacular! This was a 14-15 hour long day out, but with so many sight seeing stops, beautiful scenery and pitstops, all along the journey in both directions, it really broke up the duration. It was so not a problem, and we were so glad we did this amazing trip. Again, a wonderful guide, who made the whole experience so interesting, and an unphased professional driver, with challenging weather conditions, was so competent to make you feel really safe. He really was excellent all round, helping us all get even more out of this special day trip. The highlights were of course Diamond Beach, which was incredible, and Glacier Lagoon, which was other worldly. But there was so much more on the trip as well. Highly recommend this trip to see so much of Iceland.
Written May 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

CanadianCupcake
Toronto, Canada7 contributions
Solo
I did this trip in August 2022. Amazing day tour of the south coast. Our guide, Jona, and driver, Mikail, were amazing. Jona was very informative, and I appreciated her personal stories about growing up and living in Iceland. The south coast is beautiful, and the long drive to the glacial lagoon and diamond beach are worth the effort! Even at the height of summer, there were still icebergs in the lagoon and on the beach. One thing to consider: this is a very long day tour (~800kms roundtrip, ~15hours). You’ll spends lots of time on the bus (a very comfortable coach with bathroom). I was still able to take some good shots of the general scenery as we went by, and we had plenty of breaks to stretch our legs, eat and go to the bathroom. We also got to see some additional sights on the south coast (Vik, Black Beach, waterfall - and even some bonus puffins). This trip was a good way to see as much as possible in a short timeframe. If you like road trips and stunning scenery, this is the trip for you!
Written August 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Joseph F
1 contribution
Friends
We did this day trip and we had Simon as our guide. One of the best experiences of my life. With regards to the trip per se, although it was a long day the places totally rewarded us. The trip is excellently planned with regular stops for comfort brakes and adaption to the programme takes place based on the weather conditions.

With regards to the guide, he was very well informed, he recommended some amazing places where we had our coffee and dinner. He drove us to some places that were not in the initial itinerary and were beautiful. He was personable and creative and made the day unique. Just to note that in general I prefer to travel without a guide but this day may make me reconsider!
Written November 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Bar
San Francisco, CA2 contributions
The glacier lagoon is a wonderful trip and a beautiful place. it's far from the capital but being able to see it in one day and coming back is a huge advantage if you plan to go for a short time. Hjörtur Howser, our spectacular tour guide, kept us entertained during the very long ride while also educating us about Icelandic history, geology, and folks legends. Hjörtur Howser is very friendly, we got all of our questions answered and he showed us pictures of related sites. You can notice by his voice how much he loves his work.
On the way back we had some time to relax. We were ahead our schedule because of the lack of traffic so we had more time at the lagoon.
He's a photographer and bird watcher so we spotted some interesting birds that otherwise we wouldn't have noticed!
The restaurant he took us was very good and not expensive at all in comparison to other tour in Scandinavian counties tourist restaurants.
I cannot do justice in this short review to how much I enjoyed the tour and the company of Hjörtur Howser.
P.S.
Ask him about his time in Antarctica!
He can read the original Viking script (Runes).
Hopefully we meet again on another tour 😃👍
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Written August 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ana C
Oslo, Norway5 contributions
Solo
Day tour to Jökulsarlon glacier lagoon
They are super professional, answered the email promptly and were on time for the pick up.
It's a long way to the lagoon (380km one way) but the scenery of the south part of the island is fantastic and our saga man at the wheel, Hauser, delighted us with all kind of explanations about volcanos, lava fields, glaciers, stories, tips and curiosities. And always ready to answer our questions.
Time flew fast and we arrived in the Diamond beach to catch some washed ice pieces on the black sand. Walking just 5 min, the lagoon. No words, you have to see it. I didn't book the boat trip in advance but Hauser sorted it out. Half an hour around the impressive icebergs. It is definitely worth it.
On our way back we stopped in the Black beach (in Vik) and Seljalandsfoss waterfall to see how the sun was going down behind the powerful water.
It was an amazing day in these challenging times of Covid.
Great tour, highly recommended 😊
Written August 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Zuyuan Zhu
Lincoln, UK3 contributions
This is the most expected trip to Iceland, far better than the Golden Circle.

I just love the cost viewings, driving along the foot of giant mountains. Icelandic mountains and black beach, that is what makes Iceland famous.

The guide, Gerry(sorry, not sure about the spelling, wearing green jacket, most handsome guide) and the driver are fantastic. Especially Gerry, who is knowledgeable of Iceland and has his own insightful thoughts on Iceland. The narrate of related knowledge is very important, which makes the spots vivid. We are here not just for viewing, but also for learning.

The time control is tricky, as many tourists have their own excuses for being late for every attraction. But it's also super important to protect other tourists' benefits. Gerry was doing great. While is still room to improve. Maybe considering making all tourists set alarms before getting off the travel bus.

I am a photographer, I would prefer to go to half places but stays longer for each attraction. I really need time to construct my frames.
Written August 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Obidi
7 contributions
Solo
This company provide absolutely horrid customer service, so please read this as a heads up if you will need to contact this company with questions or accommodations.

Any email you send to inquire about the tour takes several days to receive a response, even if it’s as simple as clarifying a pick up location, which can change depending the situation.

However the biggest issue is that I sent them a message to inquire about possibly canceling a tour and still receiving a refund due to a need to get a Covid test on that day. They finally respond letting me know they cancelled the tour and I will not receive a refund. I didn’t get a chance to clarify that I was just asking, and knowing I won’t get a refund I'd like to still do the tour. Nope. They already cancelled it and it couldn’t be undone.That was $136 down the drain, and they refused to give me a refund based of their misunderstanding.

Save yourself the trouble and go with a different company that can be more flexible.
Written August 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Obidie, We are sorry to hear of your bad experience. Is it possible for you to provide the name that your booking was made under and the date of the tour you were due to go on so we can investigate this further? Best regards, Sam
Written August 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Crystal D
Philadelphia, PA8 contributions
There are not enough words to describe how amazing this journey to glacier bay was. This is a long day but it is beyond worth it, it was one of the most magical experiences of my life and I am very well traveled. I can't thank BusTravel enough for everything. The ease of just booking an adventure and not having to deal with anything else but a great bus ride with a rewarding finish.... add wifi, chargers and a seat comfortable enough for a great nap in-between stops.. That is if you want to nap while tour guide, Halla, (The best around) not only gives us some much valuable information about Iceland but keeps you so entertained with her stories and legends you may not want to nap at all!

The stops along the way were all special in their own way, but one we arrived at glacier bay I couldn't help but splurge and take the boat ride into the lagoon! They even picked up a small piece of glacier ice and broke it up on the boat so we can enjoy a piece of super old ice! This was unforgettable especially because I was lucky to see an iceberg FLIP!!

If you get a chance to choose a company that really did everything right from booking, to tour guide, to comfort and attention to detail check these guys out!
I hope you get to enjoy some fish stew or asparagus soup on your journeys, I can't stop thinking about it!

Thank you to all of you!
Written July 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Hannah P
1 contribution
Friends
A fun day trip and would definitely recommend! Our lovely tour guide gave us a lot of information about Iceland and how many of the natural areas were formed, or even just the traditions of Icelanders. The scenery is beautiful and you are seated on a warm bus (straightforward drive - not bad if you’re the motion sick type like me). We saw waterfalls, the glaciers and diamond beach which was breath taking. Views from the bus included the desert areas, mountains, waterfalls and drives through Vik. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t as cooperative (extreme winds) which meant the boat tour at the glacier had to be cancelled but glad safety was put first for the travellers. Still felt it was worth the long hike out there given everything else we had seen. It felt like a long day but worth it (and you can nod off on the bus when tired). Do it!

Ps. Dress really warm as it can be really cold out there (Oct experience), and sit on the left side on the way there.
Written October 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

123
7 contributions
Really great tour with excellent tour guide. Everything was extremely well planned and throughout the day our tour guide kept up to date on the storm approaching and made sure we were able to see everything on the itinerary. We were safely back in Reykjavík before the storm arrived. The glacier is incredible - we touched 1,000 year old ice! This is a great tour company.
Written February 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 120

Day Trip to the Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón from Reykjavik | Iceland