Athens Tours
Athens Shore Excursion: Acropolis Walking Tour
5

Athens Shore Excursion: Acropolis Walking Tour

By Athens Walking Tours
Recommended by 94% of travelers
94% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
$97.41
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 24 per group
Duration: 3h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Round trip transfer from the Port of Piraeus and back
  • Acropolis guided tour
  • Local licensed guide
  • Skip-the-ticket line service (if WITH ticket option booked)
  • Free time in Plaka
  • Athens guide magazine
  • Athens map
What's not included
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
  • Entrance fees (Depending on the option you choose)
  • Entry/Admission - Athens
  • Entry/Admission - Acropolis


Start:
    Pickup details
    • Pick up from the cruise ship terminal
    Port pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included ports.
    • Piraeus
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Near public transportation
      • Infant seats available
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2906PRTATHACRO1

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
      • IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT BABY STROLLERS: baby strollers are not allowed on the Acropolis archaeological site and that there is no cloakroom at the side entrance we use to enter. For your own convenience, it is recommended to use a baby pouch instead of a baby stroller
      • Comfortable walking shoes, sun-screen and a hat are recommended
      • Dress according to weather
      • Bring a bottle of water
      • Strict Acropolis entry times mean we can't wait for latecomers. No refunds will be given.
      • All visitors undergo airport-style security; expect peak season waits of up to 30+ minutes.
      • Cutoff times sync with Athens local time.
      • Tours run rain or shine.
      • If you have selected the “Book WITH Ticket” option, everything is included, and you will collect the admission tickets from our staff during check-in for the tour at the meeting point. We will be prepurchasing the tickets for you for the specific timezone.
      • If you have selected the WITHOUT Ticket option, it's up to you to purchase your admission tickets from the official site. This means you'll need to carefully choose the right date, time slot, and ticket category.
      • The tour starts with the City Tour and accesses the Acropolis two hours approximately past the tour's starting time, at approximately 11:40am
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2906PRTATHACRO1

      Reserve your spot

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • 1
        Pass by
        National Garden
      • 2
      • 3
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • Athens Walking Tours
        4,702
        Athens, Attica, Greece
        Joined in May 2012
      • E5389YOtinac
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Guided walking tour of The Acropolis
        This was a fantastic tour our guide Dimitris was extremely informative and also very funny everything is so well organised from start to finish make sure to purchase your entrance ticket along with the walking tour as this saves so much time queuing The Acropolis is amazing and well worth a visit
        Written June 10, 2024
      • Navigate56039253256
        0 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Beware
        This tour was advertised as though there wouldn't be many at the Acropolis because you would be going early in the morning. Actually, there were many groups and individuals entering at the same time and it didn't take long for the place to fill up.
        Written June 9, 2024
      • 382kausara
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Amazing tour of Parthenon and Acropolis!
        The walking tour was incredible! Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and shared a lot of history and detail. She was affiliated with the university and did a great job! Loved the audio situation where each person was given a device and ear buds to listen to the guide. Very helpful as the group couldn’t always stay very close. Wish all tours provided this type of audio guide.
        Written June 8, 2024
      • 705darlenen
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great Class with Amazing Meal
        I would not hesitate to book this culinary adventure. The class was fun and informative about Greek foods. The cooking instructor was very personable. The food was served outside with an amazing view of the Acropolis. I should mention that you need to plan for an entire evening.
        Written June 5, 2024
      • arizonagirl57
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        GO EARLY with this tour! Especially since it is getting hotter now in Athens!
        great tour mainly because we were the first ones in the gate and up the path to the Acropolis/Parthenon. Our guide was very knowledgeable and nice. She took her time and gave the group (not too big luckily) time to absorb everything. My husband and I ended up going in on a day where it was free admission to museums in Greece and we were told we'd get a refund of the ticket part of our portion but that has not happened. Perhaps it still will?
        Written June 4, 2024
      • Caleb S
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Off the Beaten path food tour with Niki
        Experienced great food, amazing art, and a knowledgeable tour guide, Niki. I would highly recommend this tour and to request Niki as your guide. She was extremely kind, friendly, funny, and most importantly, she knows her stuff.
        Written June 1, 2024
      • B2993OVsuzannec
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Good tour to try out some local cuisine
        Orestis was a great guide knowledgable not only about all the food but the area, sharing some historical tidbits. We had some of the best souvlaki on our trip here and got to eat plenty of food. It turned out just to be 2 of us so on the tour so it was a cozy group.
        Written May 27, 2024
      • Heather H
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great tour
        Yohannes was excellent. Very knowledgeable and was thoughtful about giving us the best experience. The city is a treasure and filled with history that Yohannes introduced us to. Highly recommend a tour with him.
        Written May 25, 2024
      • W52HKjuliea
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Would do again in a heartbeat!
        Amazing food, amazing views, amazing teacher, amazing class. This class was a highlight of our time in Athens and we would absolutely do it again!
        Written May 24, 2024
      • Alun_Silver
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        A food tour of Athens in the company of an amazing private guide
        This was our second walking tour of Athens, and we had an amazing food tour with Eva who introduced us to lots of lovely authentic food in a variety of places away from the main tourist areas. But she wasn't just knowledgable about the food, and she told us lots about the city and modern Greek life (her passion for Athens shone through the whole tour) as well as giving us suggestions for things to do and see while we were there. We had the most enjoyable time with her, and it felt like we were saying goodbye to a friend at the end of the walk. Not just a good guide but great company too.
        Written May 22, 2024
      • Alun_Silver
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Brilliant private guided tour of the Acropolis and Athens City Centre
        This was my first time in Athens and I fell in love with the city and its people. We had a 6-hour private walking tour of the city, the Acropolis and many other monuments in the company of Vicki (Vasiliki) who was not only a wonderful guide but an archaeologist as well, so she had so much to tell us about the places we visited. And she bought the history of Athens alive by telling us stories and making us laugh. We could not have asked for a better guide for our first day in Athens and Vicki planned a really good route for us with stops for coffee and at places just to take in the view.
        Written May 22, 2024
      • 71jenniej
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Detailed and informative tour!
        I highly recommend this walking city tour for people who like to learn about the history of a new city. It is a very long tour, especially when it is hot in Athens, but it is well worth the info that you learn from your guide! Our guide Giannis, an archaeologist, was a fountain of knowledge, and tried to pace the tour to accommodate each member's needs. We were also provided with ear pieces that made it easy to hear our guide throughout the tour. If you like learning, this tour is definitely for you!
        Written May 21, 2024
      • D5058NJbethl
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Walking Tour of Athens
        We had a wonderful experience with Athens Walking Tours. We saw and learned so very much from our tour guide Rina. She was a wealth of knowledge about the city, the Acropolis, the history of Greece and the artifacts in the museam. Far better experience than if we had walked on our own. Highly recommend if you are visitng athens.
        Written May 20, 2024
      • Kristin M
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Food tour
        We thoroughly enjoyed our food tour and all the background and suggestions. Ovestis was engaging and helpful, highly recommend.
        Written May 20, 2024
      • tonycS6877NY
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Acropolis
        The Acropolis was awesome. Learned a lot about the history. The architecture was amazing. It was very interesting how they are restoring it. The view of Athens was fantastic!
        Written May 19, 2024
      See all 4,702 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      5.0
      5.0 of 5 bubbles18 reviews
      Excellent
      15
      Very good
      2
      Average
      1
      Poor
      0
      Terrible
      0

      Lara G
      9 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      We were disappointed with our Athens walking tour. We felt it was not good value for money (paying over $145 AUD and the group was way too big (28 people) . It was hard for our poor guide (who was very knowledgeable) to keep everyone organized. We did a quick stop at changing of the guards and a walk through the gardens, saw the temple of Zeus. Then it was onto the acropolis. We still had to pay for our entry tickets, another $20 EUR/person. We then did the guided tour of acropolis. We were glad to say goodbye to this large group and have some free time on our own. The rest of the group moved onto the museum. We enjoyed our free time in Plaka, having a lovely Greek lunch at ‘the cave of acropolis’ and a wander around the Plaka streets. We then meet up with the group again to catch the bus back to our ship. I feel
      We would have been better to catch a taxi into Athens and downloading an audio guide and touring ourselves. The tour was way to expensive and too large
      a group. It was not what I thought we had signed up for. Very disappointed.
      Written September 12, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      We're truly sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. We completely understand your concerns about the group size, as it indeed exceeded our usual maximum capacity. The larger group size was an unexpected situation caused by the late disembarkation of your cruise ship, which regrettably led to some challenges in maintaining an ideal tour size. We want to emphasize that our tour descriptions clearly mention our maximum group size of 24 participants, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by the larger group on the day of your tour. Our guides always strive to provide an informative and enjoyable experience despite unexpected circumstances and we are glad to hear that you found our guide knowledgeable Regarding the admission tickets, we also make it explicit in our tour description that these are not included in the tour price. This information is shared to ensure transparency with our customers, allowing them to plan their budget accordingly. We understand that every traveler has unique preferences, and for those seeking a more personalized experience, we do offer private tour options that allow for a smaller group or even individual tours. Once again, we apologize for any disappointment you may have experienced during your tour, and we appreciate your understanding of the circumstances that led to the larger group size.
      Written September 14, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Jme15s
      Kitchener, Canada54 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      We booked a guided tour of the Acropolis to make sure we would learn and appreciate the 5000 years of history. Eleni was an amazing guide and went way above our expectations. She was very knowledgeable and funny. I feel like she made the tour worth it and would recommend a guided tour of the Acropolis.
      Written June 9, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for your nice comment, we appreciate it! We are happy you enjoyed your tour with Eleni who is indeed an amazing guide, full of energy!
      Written June 18, 2019
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      sapamire
      Blue Bell, PA256 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Oct 2019
      I was originally supposed to do a walking tour during our port visit in Pireaus. Unfortunately, our cruise ship was not able to dock because of weather conditions.
      Athens Walking Tours monitored our ship's status for docking and they proactively cancelled our walking tour. They proactively sent me an e-mail denoting the cancellation policy if a ship does not dock and they refunded our money in full.
      I was really looking forward to this tour, but if you are on a cruise ship, please be assured they will monitor your ship's status.
      Written November 6, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for your comment, we appreciate it! We are sorry you did not manage to enjoy your tour due to the weather conditions! In Athens Walking Tours we do not only offer tours. We care about you and we aim to offer you the best experience. We hope that you come again in Athens and finally enjoy one of our tours!
      Written November 12, 2019
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      victor m
      Plymouth, MI2 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sep 2019
      Would give it a 5 stars but think in my limited time in Athens should have just done the acropolis and forgone the museum . Tour guide was very knowledgeable and very thorough !
      Written October 9, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for your comment. We offer a variety of tours (archaeological, cultural, gastronomical etc.), with or without the Museum, based on your preferences, time and tastes!
      Written October 22, 2019
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Sunil R
      Singapore, Singapore29 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jun 2019 • Couples
      We did the morning walking tour of the Acropolis and loved every minute of it. It was packed with insightful details and touches of humour. A great way to spend a morning in Athens, especially if you're on a short trip. Katerina, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and went above and beyond to throw in details and even took us for an bonus tour of the Athena temple at the top of the Acropolis.
      Written June 29, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you very much for your comment, we appreciate it! We are happy that you had such a nice experience with Katerina. She is a great person and a very knowledgeable guide!
      Written July 5, 2019
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      nanobot1
      Canton, GA65 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jun 2019 • Couples
      We only had a few hours in Athens while visiting with a cruise ship and wanted to see the Acropolis. This group has you meet at a yogurt shop near the base of the Acropolis and they are very well organized once you get there. They put us in a group of about 15 with our tour guide Stella. She was excellent and really made you understand what you were seeing. Having the skip the line option is really worth it as the place is crazy with tourists. I visited 40 years ago and it is not the same place in terms of crowds. Stella did a great job of speaking away from the groups so you could hear and also getting through the throngs of people. Wear good walking shoes and beware of the slippery stones you must walk on. I saw one bad fall so if you are unsteady on rough surfaces take the cruise line tour that drives by most sites and requires little walking. Beware of the taxis at the cruise ships as they all want to sell you a tour of the city after they have you in the taxi. We had been forewarned of the up-sell and stood firm on just the ride to the Acropolis. There is the X80 express bus from the cruise terminal to the Acropolis area which is about 10 euros round trip but the man in the booth told us (after we bought our ticket) that he did not know when the next bus would come because of morning traffic. We did use the bus to return and there is a stop right around the corner from the yogurt shop. Traffic in Athens is horrendous so plan accordingly if you have a short shore excursion.
      Written June 12, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for your comment and the time you took to write it! We imagine Athens was totally different 40 years ago! We are glad you enjoyed your tour with Stella who is indeed an excellent guide. Traffic in Athens can be bad so it is better to keep it in mind while organizing your schedule in Athens! And of course that is why it is better to take a Walking Tour! :)
      Written June 18, 2019
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      iris
      1 contribution
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Mar 2023
      we had a lovely tour with the guide named Niobe. she was very professional, experienced, enriched us with a very interesting knowledge and made our visit to the acropolis prefect
      Written March 10, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Acropolis Tour. We are thrilled to hear that you found the tour beautiful and that Niobe, our guide, was able to provide you with an enriching and interesting experience. Our team at Athens Walking Tours takes great pride in providing high-quality tours and ensuring that our guests have an unforgettable experience. Thank you again for choosing Athens Walking Tours, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another tour soon.
      Written March 16, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Nadia W
      1 contribution
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Aug 2022 • Family
      We really enjoyed our walking tour around Plaka neighborhood, Acropolis and The Parthenon. Eli, our tour guide, is really friendly and knowledgeable.
      Written August 15, 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      We take pride in the fact that you spared your time to leave us a review. This helps us strive to deliver the best possible experience, and continuously improve. Thank you!
      Written September 4, 2022
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      H&M
      Belize City, Belize5 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Apr 2022 • Couples
      Our guide Dafni was great . Excellent English and focused on people needs. A must do in Athens. We highly recommend this tour.
      Written April 15, 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      It is always rewarding to hear that we have been successful in our goal of providing our guests with the best possible experience! Daphni will be very pleased! We hope to see you again soon, and until then, stay safe and have a great day!
      Written April 27, 2022
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Chéréneffe Fleur
      1 contribution
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sep 2020
      Although we were visiting the Acropolis, the guide Despina made the tour so much fun! She really brought the energy and showed us around. I also felt a little under the weather on the tour, and she was so sweet to look after me! The tour is a must if you go to Athens and I would advice you to book Despina Savvidou!
      Written September 14, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      What a wonderful review about Despina! Thank you so much! It’s true that Despina is one of the most experienced and passionate guides that we have in Greece and we are very happy that you enjoyed your tour to the fullest!
      Written November 13, 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Showing results 1-10 of 12

      Athens Shore Excursion: Acropolis Walking Tour provided by Athens Walking Tours

      All Athens HotelsAthens Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Athens
      All things to do in Athens
      Day Trips in Athens
      RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars