Tours and Tickets

Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour provided by Walkborder Tours

Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour

Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour
5
Book in advance
from
$187.69
per adult (price varies by group size)
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Recommended by 94% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Enjoy a private tour of places outside of Lisbon, such as Sintra and Cascais
Duration:
8h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Avoid crowded bus tours, and enjoy the luxury of exploring Portugal at your own pace by opting for a private tour. Enjoy the flexibility of being able to customize the itinerary based on your interests, with pickup and drop-off included. Potential places to visit include Queluz National Palace, Cascais, Sintra, and Estoril.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
Portuguese, English, French, Spanish
Highlights
  • Hassle-free tour with hotel pickup and drop-off included
  • Only go to places that interest you, and customize the itinerary
  • Get recommendations on must-see sights, such as Queluz National Palace
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
Portuguese, English, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Hassle-free tour with hotel pickup and drop-off included
  • Only go to places that interest you, and customize the itinerary
  • Get recommendations on must-see sights, such as Queluz National Palace
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 23066P5
Important information
Inclusions
  • Driver/guide
  • Transport by private vehicle
  • Sintra Local Sweets
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • WiFi on board
  • Personal accidents insurance
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch
  • Admission fees
  • Entry/Admission - Park and National Palace of Pena
Duration
8h
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Client's hotel or other meeting point
  • Airports:
  • Lisboa Airport, Alameda das Comunidades Portuguesas, Lisbon 1700-111 Portugal
  • Ports:
  • Lisbon Port
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Inclusions
  • Driver/guide
  • Transport by private vehicle
  • Sintra Local Sweets
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • WiFi on board
  • Personal accidents insurance
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch
  • Admission fees
  • Entry/Admission - Park and National Palace of Pena
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Client's hotel or other meeting point
  • Airports:
  • Lisboa Airport, Alameda das Comunidades Portuguesas, Lisbon 1700-111 Portugal
  • Ports:
  • Lisbon Port
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
8h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Jun 16, 2020
A note from Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour
Our company is certified with the clean and safe seal by the Portuguese Tourism Association, with the health safety procedures to be adopted. All of our guides were trained by Portuguese Tourism Association to understand the cleaning, hygiene and basic prevention and control measures of COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Centro Historico de Sintra
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Park and National Palace of Pena
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 3
    Cabo da Roca
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Boca do Inferno
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Cascais Marina
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Casino Estoril
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
59 reviews
Excellent
55
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
3
Terrible
0

Alyssa10000
San Francisco, CA35 contributions
Couples
Our tour was cancelled so we were looking for something last minute. We booked on a Sunday night at 8pm and they were able accommodate us.

Originally we booked out pickup for 9am but Bruno asked if we could do 830am, smart man. Pena castle gets really packed so getting there early is in your best interest so you don't waste your day waiting in line.

Bruno was a fantastic tour guide and we highly recommend him and this company. Fascinating information and he was like.an encyclopedia, you could ask him anything!

We started our day at Pena Palace, then went around the town of Sintra. Then went to Cascais and ate at a beautiful restaurant by the ocean and sat outside with great views (he made reservations and took care of everything). Then we went to Cabo da Roca and walk around beautiful ocean views. Then we went to Cascais Marina and walked around there and passed through Estoril. Full 8 hour tour getting to our hotel at 430pm.

We know the tour is pricey, but so worth it! We loved it! Highly recommend.
Written July 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

WeDreamOfTravel
New Hampshire875 contributions
Our guide was Bruno, and he went above and beyond to give us the most spectacular day we'll never forget. We had asked the tour company if they could personalize the tour for us to schedule lunch at one particular restaurant (Muchaxo) along the Atlantic Ocean in Cascais. They happily arranged everything, and Bruno's tour allowed us enough time to see the things we wanted to see, learn a lot about this scenic part of Portugal, and also be on-time for our lunch at Muchaxo. His patience and flexibility are so appreciated. Although we crammed a lot of fun into one tour, the pace never felt rushed, and there was still time to stroll around or do a bit of souvenir shopping. Bruno was the perfect host every step of the way. He gave us privacy for our lunch, but when he returned for us we were not quite ready to leave. He accepted our invitation to sit at the table and chat with the owner, and never gave the slightest indication that time was up and we had to leave. On the way back to Lisbon, we continued our conversation with Bruno from the restaurant, and he offered insightful comments that we, as foreigners, would never have thought of. As we arrived in Lisbon, he left us with some fabulous advice that we followed during the rest of our stay. Bruno made this day one of the very best we have EVER had while traveling. I can't thank him enough for his kindness, patience, flexibility, and expert guidance. This is one FABULOUS tour, and you may not forgive yourself if you don't take it.
Written March 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jenny G
3 contributions
Manuel was an excellent guide! Informative, punctual, entertaining. He customised the tour to accommodate our every need. Fabulous story-telling of the history of Portugal and great knowledge of the Sintra, Cascais & Estoril regions. Manuel located & booked a lovely little restaurant for lunch that perfectly fitted our request as a family with teens.

Peña Palace was incredible - even more so with Manuel to personally guide us through. We also loved the gardens and the Chalet. We stopped in Sintra to try the local pastries and Manuel took us on a tour pointing out the many other palaces and telling us their history.

After a busy morning doing a lot of walking we chose to enjoy the coastal scenery & townships mostly from the car with Manuel informing us of the all the key features. We took the scenic route home along the river. Our last stop was at Belem for the most famous Portuguese tarts in Lisbon - Manuel was able to jump the incredibly long queue for these delicious treats.

We had a fabulous day and would highly recommend the trip!! Thank you Manuel!!
Written June 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

vasilikicalliyeris
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil64 contributions
The tour requires a very dinamic guide once there many places to know in one day. Our guide had a deep knowledge in history and art, but was not convinced that the tour could be done in just one day, so we did not see some places included in the tour. Besides, it would be nice if Walkborder tours advice tourists about queues on busy seasons, so we could buy tickets in advance to avoid long hours waiting. We enjoyed the tour, but paid more than we saw, unfortunatelly.
Written July 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hugog467
Hello We are sorry that your tour did not live up to your expectations. However, it seems that we must correct some points; We knew that after two years with tourism "stopped" all over the world that 2022 would be a year of queues and with many people wanting to travel, hence the queues you describe, which are not only in Sintra, but across the globe. It's not true when he says that we should contact our customers about tickets, as you know, that's exactly what happened, we contacted him in the previous days, to buy tickets and even leave earlier for the tour (we have other comments here on TA congratulating us for that very reason), either by message or by WhatsApp and which ended up happening leaving earlier for the start of the tour. Our tours are private, we do not put any restrictions on the duration of our customers' visits, however they have a duration, we understand that you would like to extend the same, however this is not possible, as our guides have schedules. In conclusion, it seems to me that in this specific case, a shared tour would have had better results, because in this type of situation the guides are much more restricted in their schedules, with the tours being more busy, but the client sees (does not get to know) all of them. the locations described. In short, I feel a great injustice in your comment about our guide Elvira, who, as you describe, has a great knowledge in history and art.
Written July 31, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Peter A
Sydney, Australia189 contributions
The whole day was very disappointing and certainly not worth what it cost. We initially drove to a palace near Sintra, waited some time in some confusion about tickets, eventually we paid for our tickets and then we left without visiting the palace. We then drove to Sintra which is enormously over rated and very busy with long lines to see the rooms and a very slow possession once you are in, with no facility to leave or reduce the time. We didn't stop for a morning coffee and then the driver wanted to leave us in Sintra (not lunch) before proceeding to the coast for a lunch break in a lovely little town but in the centre of tourist restaurants. Forget about a nice seafood lunch in a seafood restaurant. The driver was safe but his general knowledge of Portugal was poor. Overall not to be recommended.
Written June 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hugog467
Hello Mr. Peter. We are saddened by your comment. However, what we cannot control is the number of people who visit Sintra (Unesco World Heritage Site), especially in your case, as you know that your reservation was canceled and we had to make several changes so that we could receive you. When referring to the confusion in the tickets, this was due to Carlos' attempt to buy tickets (not included as stated in the description), in another place with fewer queues, a place that even with the tickets there will always be queues at the Pena Palace, which curiously is today on strike for lack of employees. Upon reading your comment, I feel that your dissatisfaction is due to the number of people visiting Portugal at the moment, which is due to the end of two years in which people had not traveled, and not so much to the tour. We hope it will give Portugal a new opportunity after this rush to tourism that we are "suffering" with the end of the pandemic. Many Thanks
Written June 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul Jones
United States2 contributions
Adorable.

We wanted to thank Walkborder for this fantastic day.

Not even the crowds in Sintra, especially in the Pena Palace, did not spoil our day, which ended with a pastel de Belem already in Lisbon, after a beautiful trip along the Estoril coast.

Highly recommend
Written June 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jay L
1 contribution
We cannot say enough amazing things about our tour guide, Elvira. She was EXTREMELY knowledgeable and provided us with an amazing day. We HIGHLY recommend Elvira and we will be recommending Elvira to all of our family and friends.

Starting from our drive from Lisbon to Sintra, Elvira provided us with the wonderful history of Sintra. She then walked us through the Palace of Pena where she provided us with exceptional tour, pointing out wonderful details throughout the palace. We then had the opportunity to explore the town of Sintra on our own before heading to Cascais. On our way to Cascais, she found a lovely hidden lunch location with a beautiful view and delicious food. We LOVED Cascais and will be re-arranging the rest of our trip so we can return! Before arriving back to Lisbon, Elvira drove us to Estoril which, as we learned on our tour, played a very fascinating role during the World War.

Overall, we had a fantastic day with Elvira! We wish all of our tours could be led by her!
Written May 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Wendy B
54 contributions
Couples
We had an excellent experience with Elvira. First, she contacted us the night before and suggested that we buy our tickets ahead of time for the palace. She also suggested that we leave 45 minutes before our scheduled time, so that we could beat the crowds. She was waiting for us when we came out from breakfast at 8:15 sharp. Her car was very comfortable to ride in, and she gave us a lot of information on our way to Sintra. We were so fortunate that she suggested that! As we came out of the palace, the line was very long. We had been able to make it through the castle with very little wait in each part. Elvira was very knowledgeable with her history and her facts about the palace. We enjoyed all of the information that she had to share. We made a few stops which enabled us to get out of the car and visit different areas. Again, Elvira’s knowledge of each of these areas was very helpful. We enjoyed spending the day with her and would definitely recommend this excursion to anyone. You would be very lucky to have a Elvira as your guide. One suggestion - check the weather before you go. It was cool and misty. We didn’t expect that weather when we left. Also, wear comfortable shoes, as there is some uphill/downhill walking.
Written June 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Phill S
Benton Harbor, MI1 contribution
We had a great experience and our guide Manuel was fantastic! He picked us up promptly from our hotel at 8:30 am and helped us plan the rest of our day including stops in Sintra, Cabo da Roca, Cascais and more.

It can be a long day, but the personalized service and “go at your own pace” makes the time fly. We wholeheartedly recommend this day tour for those looking to see more of southern Portugal while in Lisbon.
Written June 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Peter A
12 contributions
Sintra is not worth a day trip from Lisbon. It is extremely busy during the tourist season. Queues are long and the inspection of the castle is poorly organised. Having got into the castle and if the inspection lines are not moving (as they were with us) it is virtually impossible to get out easily. Not worth the effort.
Written July 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hugog467
Good Afternoon Dear TA Readers With great regret we received this comment on our TA account, however it is quite noticeable that it is wrong and it is not for our company, but for Sintra. We asked TA to remove it from our account, but without success, this comment refers to the historic center of Sintra which has been quite congested, especially after two years in which people were unable to travel due to the limitations imposed by the pandemic . We believe that the visit to Sintra will improve in the coming weeks, as 2022 has been a year in which people who had travel credits want to recover their trips and, in addition, many companies in Sintra that manage the palaces and were left without enough workers, which unfortunately they had to leave tourism also due to the Pandemic. We hope that Sintra gets better soon and it is important that anyone reading this comment understands that it does not refer to our company, but to the historic center of Sintra.
Written July 21, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 33
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Walkborder Tours
sedation
sedation
00
Exceeded my expectations. Fantastic Customer Service!
Our family decided to visit Portugal on a whim and booked flight tickets a week before departure. Not knowing any
Kristen123246
Kristen123246
00
Wonderful Tour of Lisbon with Elvira
We had an incredible tour with Elvira! Her knowledge of the area, history and her driving skills were all incredib
C9889KGstephenw
C9889KGstephenw
00
A day in Sintra and it’s magnificent coastline !
This was our first trip to Portugal and we only had a few days so we squeezed in a one day Lisbon and Sintra privat
ChiromomRaleighNc
ChiromomRaleighNc
00
Traveling Portugal with Pedro was AMAZING
We had the best private trip with Pedro from Walkborder tours in Portugal. We were able to customize the entire tri
RogerGCarrillo
RogerGCarrillo
00
Don’t book it it is a trap
My expectations were to visit the Jerónimos monastery which is describe in the booking part of the trip, however I
275mehdis
275mehdis
00
Knowledgeable and passionate tour guid!
We had a one day tour of Sintra with Manuel. Manuel is passionate about his job. He was responsive and responsible,
eam23
eam23
00
We will talk about “Bruno” but only great things!
We enjoyed our tour with Bruno so very much. He was very informative and very friendly. He gives us the best tour i
brispringer338
brispringer338
00
Lisbon/Sintra/Óbidos Tour
Bruno was incredible! He took us on a tour two days: first to Fátima and Óbidos and then to Sintra and Cascais. He
TravelOasisTampa
TravelOasisTampa
00
Unforgettable Portugal tour
I lead small group tours around the world, and when I decided to stopover in Portugal before my tour in Moroccco, I
Sheila B
Sheila B
00
Walkborder Goes The Extra Mile
We were extremely satisfied with our relationship with Walkabout's manager Hugo and with Carlos, our private guide.
livelovexplore
livelovexplore
00
Lovely day in Lisbon with Carlos!
What a lovely day with Carlos! Carlos is an experienced guide who is both attentive to our needs and very informati
LindaA800
LindaA800
00
A great day in Lisbon
We had a wonderful day touring Lisbon with Carlos. While we might have hoped for clearer skies, all the other asp
BigAloha967
BigAloha967
00
Incredible experience!
We reached out to Hugo in advance of our trip to arrange transfer and tours for our few days in Lisbon. Great exp
ivonnec663
ivonnec663
00
We took a tour through the Lisbon region and Cintra
Our guide Carlos was excellent! This private tour went beyond our expectations. What especially struck us was the i
bethwS8780RX
bethwS8780RX
00
Unforgettable memories
First let me say that our recent trip to Portugal was made even more wonderful because of the tours and airport tra
Frequently Asked Questions about Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour


Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour price starts from $190.95. Discover and book Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour on Tripadvisor

Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour on Tripadvisor

Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour is hosted by Walkborder Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Walkborder Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Private Tour on Tripadvisor