Tours and Tickets

Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich provided by Best of Switzerland Tours

Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich

Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich
4.5
Book in advance
from
$79.22
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Visit Rhine Falls, and Laufen Castle, on this sightseeing tour from Zurich
Duration:
5h 15m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
48
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    5h 15m
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    48
  • Stroller accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Switzerland is known around the world for its natural beauty and snow-capped mountains, but one sight may stand out from the rest: Rhine Falls, the largest waterfall in Europe. Outdoor enthusiasts marvel at this natural wonder on this coach tour from Zurich, where you're whisked to the falls, and the quaint town of Stein am Rhein. Highlights include the views of the countryside along the Swiss-German border, a stop at Laufen Castle, and an optional boat ride to see the falls up close.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h 15m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, English
Highlights
  • Enjoy a guided walking tour through the medieval Old Town in Stein am Rhein
  • Travel comfortably in an air-conditioned coach, with a guide to lead the way
  • Hassle-free pickup and drop-off from Central Zurich included
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h 15m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Enjoy a guided walking tour through the medieval Old Town in Stein am Rhein
  • Travel comfortably in an air-conditioned coach, with a guide to lead the way
  • Hassle-free pickup and drop-off from Central Zurich included
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3885RHINESTEIN
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Walking tour at Stein am Rhein
  • Visit of Rhine Falls
  • Entry/Admission - Rhine Falls
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Boat ride at Rhine Falls (optional)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
5h 15m
Departure details
  • Best of Switzerland Tours AG, Sihlquai Coach Parking, Limmatstrasse 4, 8005 Zürich, Switzerland The official departure point for all tours departing from Zürich is Sihlquai Bus Terminal, close to Zürich’s main train station (Zürich HB). Please check in at least 15 minutes prior to tour start at the white ticket office marked with “Best of Switzerland Tours” or “City Tours & Excursions”.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 48 travelers
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Walking tour at Stein am Rhein
  • Visit of Rhine Falls
  • Entry/Admission - Rhine Falls
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Boat ride at Rhine Falls (optional)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Best of Switzerland Tours AG, Sihlquai Coach Parking, Limmatstrasse 4, 8005 Zürich, Switzerland The official departure point for all tours departing from Zürich is Sihlquai Bus Terminal, close to Zürich’s main train station (Zürich HB). Please check in at least 15 minutes prior to tour start at the white ticket office marked with “Best of Switzerland Tours” or “City Tours & Excursions”.
Duration
5h 15m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 48 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Jun 11, 2021
A note from Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich
Approved Health & Safety Concept COVID-19 under the "Clean & Safe" campaign supported by Switzerland Tourism. Face masks and disinfectant wipes will be provided free of charge.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Best of Switzerland Tours AG
    Sihlquai Coach Parking, Limmatstrasse 4, 8005 Zürich, Switzerland
    The official departure point for all tours departing from Zürich is Sihlquai Bus Terminal, close to Zürich’s main train station (Zürich HB). Please check in at least 15 minutes prior to tour start at the white ticket office marked with “Best of Switzerland Tours” or “City Tours & Excursions”.
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Zurich
  • 1
    Rhine Falls
    Stop: 70 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Stein am Rhein
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Zurich
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Popular mentions

4.5
23 reviews
Excellent
12
Very good
9
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Efi S
Egkomi, Cyprus67 contributions
Both Rhinefalls and Stein am Rhein were beautiful. We got the 15 minute boat trip which is enough. We did not have time to explore the castle though which was disappointing. The village is so picturesque but small and the one hour is enough.

Andreas, our driver and guide was excellent, and was giving information all the way. The only downside which spoilt our trip was a family of four adults that was on the minibus with us. They kept on moving seats, not wearing their face masks, chatting between them making it difficult for us to listen to the guide and even eating on the bus (making sure the driver will not see them) although the instructions were clear!

Despite the problems with COVID and the disrespectful co-travellers, the tour company and Andreas have done well and would recommend this trip to others.
Written July 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Efi2019s, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your tour to the Rhine Falls & Stein am Rhein! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour with our tour guide Andreas and the boat trip to the falls. However, we would sincerely like to apologize for the behavior of your co-travelers. Since the health and safety of our guests and employees is our top priority, we have elaborated a solid safety concept based on the recommendations of the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG). It is in the interest of us all to comply with these rules and our tour guides are instructed to inform all guests accordingly. Thank you very much for following the instructions and not letting yourself be distracted by the misconduct of your fellow travelers! We hope that over time more and more guests will be accustomed to masks so that we can avoid similar incidents in the future. And if all goes well, you may be able to enjoy our tour without a mask on your next visit to Switzerland - we would be very happy to welcome you again! Best regards, Best of Switzerland Tours
Written July 16, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

StotheN
Besiktas, Turkey305 contributions
Dec 2019
I liked today. Got up on time, had a nice breakfast and found a Franc coin in the street. But the highlight was this tour to Rhine falls and Stein am Rhein with Best of Switzerland.

Good meetup point and on-time departure. The coach wasnt full and the tour guide was Urs. He was experienced and knew the way around. Cracking jokes from time to time, his running commentary was very good.

First stop was at Rhine Falls and you get to go close to the water. The CHF 8 boat ride wasnt available this time. Stop here was for an hour and change. Make sure you go all the way to the bottom platform.

Second stop was Stein Am Rhein. This was a sleepy old town with its quaint frescoes and nice waterfront. Christmas market was still open here today! Stop here was for an hour. Urs got needled for being late to the bus on the way back.

Return to the city was again via the airport to drop off some tourists who were flying out. This option is available during booking.

Overall, the day was exactly as promised and very little surprises (specially unwanted ones). I will gladly recommend this company to anyone who wants to do this tour.
Written December 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Eva
12 contributions
Dec 2019 • Solo
Rhine Falls was absolutely amazing. I’ve never seen a waterfall before and it did not disappoint. The little town of Stein am Rhein was a nice touch as well - the buildings are all painted with frescoes, there is a nice view of the river, and on the day I went there were a few Christmas markets open so I was able to have a delicious meal of sausage, bread, apple fritters, and hot wine.

Anije was a wonderful guide! She was knowledgeable and helpful, even offering to take pictures of me at the Falls before I asked and looking out for me because I was young and traveling alone.

I could not be happier with Best of Switzerland Tours. The check-in point was easy to find and in a great central location, the bus was comfortable, and the whole day was efficient and convenient. There was just enough time at each location to see the sights and do a little souvenir shopping or eating, and not so much time that I started to get antsy.

Overall I had a great experience and would highly recommend this tour!
Written December 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JohnSG911
Singapore, Singapore125 contributions
Dec 2019
An enjoyable afternoon with the family. The waterfall at the Rhine was average. The height of the fall is not very high. There are 3 levels where you can go down and get pretty close to the water. During winter period, the water flow is not as much as summer period - which probably took away some of the awe. The village at Stein am Rhein was really pretty and amazing! Some of the buildings were built since the 15th century - since repaired and refurbished of course. As it’s december, there is a Christmas market and the atmosphere was quite joyful and boisterous. There are lots of shops selling various kinds of souvenirs and knick knacks as well as food and drinks. The time spent at the village was quit short and it would have been good to extend the tour by 1/2 to an hour more.
Written December 11, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ToddandKaren
California32 contributions
Oct 2019
We visited in October 2019. We are so happy we did. The falls were flowing hard. It is a very impressive sight to see. There are boat tours that take you up to the edge of the falls and so a small island in the middle of the falls with a lookout tower. We did not take those tours due to time, but I would suggest them if you do.
Written December 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chhaya S
26 contributions
Oct 2019
This was a great half-day getaway that allows you to see the historic town of Stein am Rhein and see the Rhine Falls. It was a bit rainy the day we went, however, if the weather is good- the boat ride to the falls looked like it would be an amazing way to see/experience the falls. The tour also takes you through some very scenic views of the countryside including some vineyards. This tour was definitely worth the time and money.
Written November 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

VeronicaHachmeister
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal2 contributions
Oct 2019
The only thing that I didn't like, was the fact that the tour guide sold us the tickets to the boat at 10 CHF before we arrive to the Rhein Falls, and when we arrive there, we saw that the tickets were only 5 CHF.
So I advise everyone, not to buy the tickets in the bus. Wait and buy at the ticket office and save 50%
I think that it would be better to include the boat tickets in the price off the tour, so that people wouldn't feel cheated.
Nevertheless, the landscape is amazing, and the view with the rainbow is lovely.
Sorry we were so short time
Also Stein am Rhein is a lovely village, with houses beautifully painted
Is a very nice way to get to know around Zurich
Written October 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Susan W
Sacramento, CA4 contributions
Sep 2019 • Solo
A very nice adventure!close look of the Rhinefalls from the boat and then walking tour of Stein am Rhein old fortress town. I wish though that we had time at the Rhinefall to pick-up some souvenirs and and coffee.
Written September 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bianca F
1 contribution
Sep 2019 • Family
We paid for tickets on line. Followed the instructions provided in the email. We got to the pick up venue to register. Even lined up in the correct queue. The lady who booked us in read everything correctly- but pointed us to the wrong bus. Also gave us the wrong stickers. AND IT WAS OUR FIRST TOUR BUS AFTER TRAVELING TO 40 COUNTRIES. They only found out they put us in the wrong bus as we were in the middle of the wrong tour. The other annoying thing was the tour guide told my 3-year old kid who got excited to see a big church to keep quiet. Wtf. Seriously? You expect a 3-year old, who did not even shout or scream to keep quiet during a tour? Ridiculous! I work with kids for 13 years and I was appalled. Trip Advisor has not even responded to me about my refund yet. #tourbusfail
Written September 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear F9533OObiancaf, thanks for your submitted review - we were very surprised to read your comments, since you seemed to be more understanding on the day of your tour. There was a mistake from our side when you were doing the check-in, which led to you boarding the wrong bus. Your originally booked tour (to the Rhine Falls & Stein am Rhein) departs only shortly after 1 pm, which is the main departure time for various city tours, which must have led to the confusion. We sincerely apologise that you were not able to enjoy the tour that you have paid for. Since it was a clear mistake from our side, we confirmed that you would get a full refund for your booking. We have had the chance to talk to both our tour check-in staff and tour guide to let them know your comments. Our guide of the city tour, that you were mistakingly on, simply reminded all parents (not only you) to try to keep their children calm in a friendly manner. On a tour with around 40 participants this is by no means out of disrespect to any parents or children, but much more to make sure that all of the other guests can understand the tour guide, her narratives and instructions. Like mentioned before, the refund for your tour was already initiated on the day of your tour and will hopefully together with the free city tour that you got compensate for the unfortunate mistake. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Switzerland and remain with best regards,
Written September 18, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tefatakespics
1 contribution
Jul 2019 • Solo
I had a wonderful time on this tour. I had done a full day of Zurich the day before and felt there wasn’t much else to see so I decided to go on this tour. Great choice. Got to see the Rhein Falls and visit a beautiful town. Had enough free time at both places. I chose to do the additional boat tour which costs an extra 10 francs. Bring cash!! But it was worth seeing the falls up close and a great freshener especially with the hot weather.
Written July 26, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 18
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Best of Switzerland Tours
HPJ1
HPJ1
00
Avoid this at all costs!
1) First of all, many different tours were packed into one bus. So the travelling time was very long as the tour gu
704artem
704artem
00
Simply magic
Fascinating experience. Despite making this trip on Christmas Eve (exactly Dec 25th, 2021), the organization was on
fidolio
fidolio
00
Jungfraujoch
train von Zuerich, great views all the way.!! nothing neg to add/'#the tit=le must be changed these days of PC!!!
peterz2022
peterz2022
00
5 star tour
Great tour. Dario was a delightful guide. Highly recommend doing this excursion because it's packed with attraction
Jet301467
Jet301467
00
Titlis adventure
I booked this trip with my teenage son 16 years of age and we both really enjoyed the trip. Andy was a great host a
EUTraveller1986
EUTraveller1986
00
Below Average experience
The tour operator didn't wait for us, when starting and made us run across the Zurich city to catch their bus for 1
williamrQ9680NQ
williamrQ9680NQ
00
A Day To Remember!
The trip was excellent!! The trip manager , Conrad, was knowledgeable and friendly, kept the group together. The 12
karimmaarouf
karimmaarouf
00
Great tour
This is a great tour, especially if you've never been to the mountains or a ski area before. There are also a coupl
W8522YZbenm
W8522YZbenm
00
snowy day
this was my first time exploring the mountains area here and it was brilliant, we had fun and our excursion was rig
Kushal B
Kushal B
00
Appaling guide called Lars
I visited Switzerland in November of this year. I had booked the Grindlewald and Interlaken tour with them. My guid
Tour35088841471
Tour35088841471
00
Grindwald and interlaken trip - under Mr. Lars guide was great!
We had the grindelwald and interlaken trip. Our guide was Mr. Lars Faber, he was very helpful, efficient, informati
dabawenyo
dabawenyo
00
Absolutely Amazing
The tour from Zurich was packed and well organised. Our tour guides and the driver were very friendly. A little exp
asava7980
asava7980
00
Awesome!
Lars was awesome! The whole trip was fun and adventurous. I just recommend taking Dramamine if you get motion sickn
zsmith0913
zsmith0913
00
A wonderful day trip through Switzerland
This day trip was great. Our guide Franz was so kind and really took the time to tell us about the history and cult
Lisa G
Lisa G
00
Great way to go
This is a great option if you want an easily coordinated transportation trip and not stuck on a informational walki
Frequently Asked Questions about Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich

Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich will start at 1:15 PM. Discover and book Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich on Tripadvisor


Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich price starts from $79.02. Discover and book Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich on Tripadvisor

Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Rhine Falls and Stein am Rhein Half-Day Tour from Zurich on Tripadvisor