Tours and Tickets

Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride provided by SAT Group Tours

Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride
4
Book in advance
from
$51.74
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Ride a historic train from Taormina to the Alcantara Gorges and Mt. Etna
Duration:
10h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
79
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Explore two of Sicily’s most dazzling sights via vintage train on the Circumetnea Railway. Hop aboard a 1950s-era train in Taormina and ride through the picturesque countryside to the dramatic black lava canyons and pools of the Alcantara Gorges. Continue your journey to the foot of Mt. Etna, with the option of upgrading to include cable car and all-terrain vehicle transportation to the upper craters for a guided hike.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, English, Italian
Highlights
  • Visit the Alcantara Gorges at your own pace (entry ticket not included)
  • Views over the lava fields and surrounding countryside from Mt. Etna
  • Upgrade option including transport to the upper crater and a guided hike
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, English, Italian
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Visit the Alcantara Gorges at your own pace (entry ticket not included)
  • Views over the lava fields and surrounding countryside from Mt. Etna
  • Upgrade option including transport to the upper crater and a guided hike
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 6099ALCANTARAETNA
Important information
Inclusions
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Tour escort/host
  • Professional multilingual guide
  • Entry/Admission - Craters Silvestri of Mount Etna
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Entrance fee to Alcantara Gorges
  • Wind jackets and boots rental
  • Entry/Admission - Gola dell'Alcantara
Duration
10h
Departure details
  • Via Luigi Pirandello, 36c, 98039 Taormina ME, Italy Departure for all tours is from the main Bus Terminal in Via Pirandello. Pick up is also available along the coast at Taormina by the sea, Letojanni and Giardini Naxos. Customers are invited to contact for information about pick up.The coach is silver with a SAT logo in red.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please contact the supplier to reconfirm the excursion at least the day before and to get more information about the closest pick-up point
  • The high-altitude ascents are not indicated for heart passengers, asthmatics and pregnant women.
  • This tour is operated in English, German, Italian. All 3 languages will be spoken during the tour.
  • Please note the tour does not reach the summit but with the upgrade you reach an height of approx. 3000 meters.
  • During winter minimum of 12 people . There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • The cost of the excursion to Etna, ascent inclusive, has a special price valid only with advance reservation. When buying the ascent on board, the cost will be higher: Euro 62,00 for the adults and Euro 45,00 for the children.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 79 travelers
Inclusions
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Tour escort/host
  • Professional multilingual guide
  • Entry/Admission - Craters Silvestri of Mount Etna
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Entrance fee to Alcantara Gorges
  • Wind jackets and boots rental
  • Entry/Admission - Gola dell'Alcantara
Departure details
  • Via Luigi Pirandello, 36c, 98039 Taormina ME, Italy Departure for all tours is from the main Bus Terminal in Via Pirandello. Pick up is also available along the coast at Taormina by the sea, Letojanni and Giardini Naxos. Customers are invited to contact for information about pick up.The coach is silver with a SAT logo in red.
Duration
10h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please contact the supplier to reconfirm the excursion at least the day before and to get more information about the closest pick-up point
  • The high-altitude ascents are not indicated for heart passengers, asthmatics and pregnant women.
  • This tour is operated in English, German, Italian. All 3 languages will be spoken during the tour.
  • Please note the tour does not reach the summit but with the upgrade you reach an height of approx. 3000 meters.
  • During winter minimum of 12 people . There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • The cost of the excursion to Etna, ascent inclusive, has a special price valid only with advance reservation. When buying the ascent on board, the cost will be higher: Euro 62,00 for the adults and Euro 45,00 for the children.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 79 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Aug 3, 2022
A note from Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride
- FFP2 masks are required on board. - We also remind you that access to passengers with a fever equal to / greater than 37.5 ° or flu symptoms is prohibited.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
What you can expect during your visit
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Via Luigi Pirandello, 36c
    Via Luigi Pirandello, 36c, 98039 Taormina ME, Italy
    Departure for all tours is from the main Bus Terminal in Via Pirandello. Pick up is also available along the coast at Taormina by the sea, Letojanni and Giardini Naxos. Customers are invited to contact for information about pick up.The coach is silver with a SAT logo in red.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Gola dell'Alcantara
    Stop: 40 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 2
    Craters Silvestri of Mount Etna
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
9 reviews
Excellent
4
Very good
2
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
0

helenwright36
Swindon, UK5 contributions
Started slowly - lots of info on bus ( possibly too much as rambling on at times). Trip to gorge was disappointing as not there long and access very restricted ( would do this independently next time). Then train journey - didn’t see the point to begin with until we started to move through the lava fields - awesome. Trip to Etna was amazing.
Written October 26, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello helenwright36, the Etna Round Alcantara Tour that you have chosen is a complete tour of the volcano and it is scheduled to give a quick idea of the dimension and the various aspects of it. After the gorges and the Circumetnea ride, guests arrive up to 3000 metres, all that in one day that is why the schedule must be precise. All the best, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
Written May 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

1never2late
Queensland, Australia172 contributions
Couples
We joined the tour at the Taomina bus station at 7 am, before what seemed a long drive collecting people at various other pickup points. We had a full load on board, with several less than agile passengers, so getting on and off the bus every time was a slow process.
We found the stop at Alcantara Gorge to be okay, nothing outstanding. We paid the additional €13 for the 2 of us to get the very short elevator ride to the bottom of the gorge. There are not alternative steps or walking track to the bottom. Whilst pretty enough and some interesting geological features, 15 minutes in the gorge was sufficient. We were then of course channeled through the cafe/shop area.
We found the Circumetnea train ride to be crowded and underwhelming and were not sorry to get off after an hour.
The highlight was of course the bus ride up through the changing scenery to Mt Etna, the cable car up the mountain and the all too short tour and very brief commentary by a bored mountain guide.
With the benefit of hindsight this was completely the wrong tour for us. Do not recommend combining either Alcantara Gorge nor the Circumetnea train ride with a Mt Etna visit. Select a tour which allows more time on and around the slopes of Mt Etna. Mt Etna is amazing and worthy of so much more than a brief stop.
Recommend taking proper foot wear and warm clothes, gloves, beanie and scarf even if hiring the highly recommended warm jacket. It is COLD high on the Mt Etna slopes.
Written November 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello 1never2late, as you clearly write on your review, you have chosen the wrong tour, you should have chosen the Etna Basic Tour, a direct transfer to the Etna's station and longer time to spend on top of the volcano. We always stress the fact that customers should get all the information before chosing among our several tours, without complaining after. We thank you for the tips about the clothes to wear: "Recommend taking proper foot wear and warm clothes, gloves, beanie and scarf even if hiring the highly recommended warm jacket. It is COLD high on the Mt Etna slopes." Warm regards, Guest Relation Manager SAT Group
Written November 22, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

tweety492018
Frankfurt, Germany1 contribution
Family
First of all, I would like to thank the friendly and helpful staff of SAT Group! It was very nice to talk to them. They helped me before the trip with all my questions and sent me good information on where the nearest pick-up place for the trip would be. Extremely helpful!! Even when we had a small problem with the payment they could help me quickly and very friendly. The tour itself is a must do! Very intresting area in Sicily! The Alcantara Gorge is very impressive and beautiful and we had time to explore it a bit from above. The train ride is lots of fun! We had a whole railway waggon to ourself! and we were driving through the gardens and fields surounding Etna - that is beautiful and interesting too. And then the highlight of the tour - the ascending of the mountain. I recommend to take the lift and Jeep up almost to the top! Great view and a spectacular landscape ! Oh, and our tour guide was fluent in French, English, German and Italian.
Written June 19, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello tweety492018, we recognize you, we have had such a nice contact during the preparation of your trip to Sicily. We are glad to have been important part of the organization. We hope to welcoming you again in the future. It was a pleasure! GUest Relations Manager SAT Group
Written June 21, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Paty H
4 contributions
Friends
My friends and I had an amazing time especially at Mount tna but we were exhausted cause we had to travel alot from place to place. The weather was amazing!!!
Written December 17, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Paty H, The Etna Round Alcantara is the most complete and longest tour of Etna. We spent time to explore the whole foot of the volcano before getting to the top. In this way one can realize the majesty of the mountain. Thanks for sharing. Customer Care Manager SAT Group
Written April 13, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

TeamJoAdam
Adelaide, Australia1,004 contributions
We were picked up near our hotel in Giardini-Naxos at 6:45am and the double decker bus continued into Taormina to pick up the remaining passengers. The bus was FULL and the tour was conducted in English, German and Italian by the one tour guide. In hindsight this would have been better to have headsets or two languages, one on each floor of the bus as you would tune out the languages that don't concern you and you may miss interesting information when the tour guide starts speaking your language again. Our guide was Francesco and our driver, Enzo.
The tour starts about 7am and gets to the first stop, the Alcantara gorges, a canyon created by a lava flow that was cooled rapidly by a flowing river. The area was cool to look at but a natural Park like this should not be charged 6€ each just to enter and look at it in our opinion.
After 1.5 hours here, we continued to the town of Randazzo to catch the circumetnea train which takes you around the North side of Etna to Adrano. You then meet up again with Enzo to finally make your way up to Etna at 2500 metres. The whole train and circling around Etna is a tease and could have been skipped to be honest.
Once at Rifugio Giovanni Sapienza, you have three hours to do as you wish (we thought our ticket said 4 hours so were disappointed). You can go up the cable car to 2700metres and then a jeep ride to 2900m where you will meet a volcanologist who will take you to the 2001/2 craters. If you had purchased the cable car as part of your ticket then you do not pay extra. We did not have this option when purchasing our ticket so it cost 60€ each to do cable car and Jeep ride. This is a must do! We review mount Etna separately and give this part of the trip 5 stars.
We got back to our bus at 4pm and had rude passengers making us move seats so they could sit at the front and felt as though the trip at mount Etna was too short for our liking. If you just intend on seeing Etna, choose an Etna only tour. 3 hours on Etna vs 10 hour tour is not a great ratio for us. We got home at 6pm.
Written May 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello TeamJoAdam, thank you for your feedback, although it is a pity you did not fully rate because you have chosen the wrong tour. As we insist all the time, it is very important that customers choose the appropriate tour suitable to their wishes and expectations since we have a very wide program and every tour is different from another. As we write on our Tours' conditions "it is the duty of the traveler to request all necessary information at the time of purchase". Thank you for taking note. Greetings from Taormina. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
Written May 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Nikolaos
2 contributions
In summary, I can only second the conclusions from TeamJoAdam review. However we had the additional misfortune of our bus back being 3 hours and 40 minutes late.

Mount Etna is amazing. Having a bus take us to it was appreciated, as the roads are not nice. The bus drivers (more on the plural later) were very good, the tour guide was friendly, albeit rambling at times.

The Alcantara gorges are not that worth the 40 minutes visit we had time to spent in them, and the 6 euros entry was rather expensive for it (the 16 km walk-able Samaria gorge in Crete has 5 Euros entry, for example).

While SAT tours will claim you should inform yourself of this in advance to decide to take the tour or not, well, they are the ones planning and guiding the tour, not the tourists, so they are of course also responsible.

The train around Etna was ok. There will be a commotion to get a window seat.

The volcano itself is amazing. Again, go see it. In hindsight, the trek at the Silvestri craters is not that different from the trek at where the cable car and the jeeps take you, but the views on the way up were nice. We very unlucky at going on a foggy day and could not see that far, so your mileage might vary on a sunny day.
Unfortunately the 1.5 hours provided for these activities (taking the cable car and jeep to the top and trekking) are not that much, especially if there are huge queues and crowds of people. Go longer if you can.

Unfortunately when it was time to go back, the experience turned a bit sour - the bus would be late. At first we were told the bus had to rescue another set of people whose bus broke down. Then, it was the traffic out of Taormina. Then, it was the bad weather. Finally, our bus also broke down, and other buses had to come.
While the story may have some credibility (we collected most of our things from our original bus on the way back, except our sunscreen, and the other bus driver was also picked up and the bus left there overnight), the way it was handled and communicated was very poor, as we could have had more time on the volcano instead of waiting for the bus at the Sapienza refuge.
In the end we arrived 3 hours and 40 minutes late.

We took the tour at the 4th of September 2019, and the bus picked us up from the Taormina bus station.
Written September 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Traveler57455648382
Hello also_ni , we are so sorry about the inconvenience; it is true, you are reporting of a very unlucky day where most of the things went wrong. Sometimes the human factor cannot do so much against the unpredictable and the bad luck despite a fantastic view over Mount Etna. It is also true that communication between the garage and the tour guide was not excellent due to the situation changing minute by minute. Neverthless, we are sure that the emergency's handling was good considering that even a carrier like a plane can have a mechanical failure causing a consequential delay. SAT Group handled the emergency offering all kinds of refreshement to all customers such as food & beverages and a place to sit down and rest. The weather was not good and that did not help since customers were obliged to stay under the shelter instead of exploring the area a bit more. The coach, on the way back, stopped at all hotels avoiding to the customers an additional walk. We hope next time you will try our service at the best. We send you our warmest regards. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
Written September 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: SAT Group Tours
Compass746591
Compass746591
00
Beautiful place- but too much for a day trip
There was an accident on route and we were delayed by an hour or more. Consequently, we did not arrive at Syracuse
Jilly C
Jilly C
00
Great experience
We really enjoyed the market and the cooking class. Best of all we got to eat what we prepared with a nice glass (o
682evelinal
682evelinal
00
Good tour
A good tour to get to the top of Etna. Our guide up there was very knowledgeable and nice. The tour was a good len
N9729UPdanielc
N9729UPdanielc
00
Very informative tour
We've booked this trip and we don't regret it. The tour leader was really understandable and speaks fluent englis
Regina F
Regina F
00
Mt Etna in half a day
Mt Etna is everywhere, so of course we wanted to go up. This was perfect, a half day (nearly 2 hours going, 2 ho
katmlr2022
katmlr2022
00
Unforgettable experience
This week on monday we decided to join the Etna day trip to upper crater. It cost 95€ per person but it was absolut
david b
david b
00
Excellent day trip to Mount Etna
We really enjoyed this day trip to Mount Etna. Aleksandra, our tour guide was very organised, informative and amusi
Thanos T
Thanos T
00
Great experience
Very nice cooking course, easy recipe to make fresh pasta. Caponata and swordfish fillet were the other dishes. Not
Asa885
Asa885
00
Trip to Panarea and Stromboli with SAT tour
We took a tour with SAT group to Panarea and Stromboli and we really enjoyed it! It started with bus from Taormin
NIKI F
NIKI F
00
Fabulous day
Fabulous day. Well organised, and the information given, en route, is good too. Stunning scenery, fabulous food on
301wadeb
301wadeb
00
Great trip option
Getting to walk to the market and having the Chef explain produce, meats, and the blending of these flavors was ver
sirpa s
sirpa s
00
Good trip to Etna
Guide, Alexandra, was clear and it was easy to follow. Driver, Alexandros, was carefully driver. Hole trip was good
Tour246757
Tour246757
00
Lovely trip to the Aeolian Islsnds
We recently booked a tour with Visit and Live Sicily in Taormina. Pick up from near our hotel in Recanati at 9:00
127benceg
127benceg
00
To do in Sicily
It is a well organised trip, with a very nice and well prepared polish guide to a gorgeous location which you don't
Beanniemae
Beanniemae
00
Fun and delicious experience!
The food was so fresh. Dominic was a very patient and fun chef! Highly recommend! Just know that there is a lot of
Frequently Asked Questions about Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride

Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride will start at 7:00 AM. Discover and book Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride on Tripadvisor

Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride price starts from $53.04. Discover and book Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride on Tripadvisor

Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride on Tripadvisor

Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride is hosted by SAT Group Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact SAT Group Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Mount Etna and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip with Circumetnea Railway Ride on Tripadvisor