Tours and Tickets

Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour provided by Avventure Bellissime

Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour

Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour
4
Book in advance
from
$36.50
per adult (price varies by group size)
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Experience Venice after dark on an evening walking tour
Duration:
1h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
20
Near public transportation
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
The picturesque streets and canals of Venice harbor a dark history, filled with tales of ghosts, grisly murders, and haunted houses. On this tour, dare to explore Venice after nightfall, stroll the moonlit Calle dei Assassini, and see landmarks such as the Bovolo staircase and Rialto Bridge, as your guide brings the city’s myths and legends to life.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Hear spooky stories and terrifying tales about Venice from your guide
  • Views of the illuminated Rialto Bridge and Venice canals
  • See Venice without the crowds on an after-hours tour
What to expect
Meet your guide near the famous Rialto Bridge in central Venice and set out to explore the moonlit streets of Venice. As you stroll the eerie backstreets and canals, learn about the ghosts that haunt the city’s royal palaces, the ancient cemeteries that lie beneath the city streets, and the mythical creatures that reside in the Venetian canals. Stop to admire the distinctive Bovolo staircase, which look even more impressive by night, and hear gruesome stories about the butcher Biasio, infamous for mixing human remains into his sausages. Finally, venture down a secret passageway, guided by torches, and visit Calle dei Assassini (Assassin’s street) and learn how it became notorious for robberies, murders, and gangsters. Your tour ends back by the Rialto Bridge in central Venice.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Hear spooky stories and terrifying tales about Venice from your guide
  • Views of the illuminated Rialto Bridge and Venice canals
  • See Venice without the crowds on an after-hours tour
What to expect
Meet your guide near the famous Rialto Bridge in central Venice and set out to explore the moonlit streets of Venice. As you stroll the eerie backstreets and canals, learn about the ghosts that haunt the city’s royal palaces, the ancient cemeteries that lie beneath the city streets, and the mythical creatures that reside in the Venetian canals. Stop to admire the distinctive Bovolo staircase, which look even more impressive by night, and hear gruesome stories about the butcher Biasio, infamous for mixing human remains into his sausages. Finally, venture down a secret passageway, guided by torches, and visit Calle dei Assassini (Assassin’s street) and learn how it became notorious for robberies, murders, and gangsters. Your tour ends back by the Rialto Bridge in central Venice.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2635GW
Important information
Inclusions
  • Professional English-speaking guide
  • Small Group tour with max 20 people or fewer
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Duration
1h 30m
Departure details
  • Campo San Bortolomio, Campo S. Bortolomio, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy Campo San Bartolomeo near the statue in the middle of the square. The guide will be holding a sign with the name of the tour and the company name AVVENTURE BELLISSIME written on it. Are you delayed? Call immediately +39-3400502444
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund. Please make sure to check your email prior departure.
  • During high water, the tour will take place, but it might happen we have to partly adapt the tour to the weather conditions.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please wear comfortable footwear as this tour involves walking.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Inclusions
  • Professional English-speaking guide
  • Small Group tour with max 20 people or fewer
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Departure details
  • Campo San Bortolomio, Campo S. Bortolomio, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy Campo San Bartolomeo near the statue in the middle of the square. The guide will be holding a sign with the name of the tour and the company name AVVENTURE BELLISSIME written on it. Are you delayed? Call immediately +39-3400502444
Duration
1h 30m
Return details
  • Splendid Venice - Starhotels Collezione, Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy The tour will finish nearby Hotel Splendid area
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund. Please make sure to check your email prior departure.
  • During high water, the tour will take place, but it might happen we have to partly adapt the tour to the weather conditions.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please wear comfortable footwear as this tour involves walking.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Campo San Bortolomio
    Campo S. Bortolomio, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy
    Campo San Bartolomeo near the statue in the middle of the square. The guide will be holding a sign with the name of the tour and the company name AVVENTURE BELLISSIME written on it. Are you delayed? Call immediately +39-3400502444
    See address & details
  • 1
    Ponte di Rialto
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Scala Contarini del Bovolo
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Riva del Carbon
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Rio Tera' dei Assassini
  • You'll end at
    Splendid Venice - Starhotels Collezione
    Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy
    The tour will finish nearby Hotel Splendid area
    See address & details
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
48 reviews
Excellent
23
Very good
10
Average
5
Poor
3
Terrible
7

Ali M
London, UK6 contributions
Excellent tour. Our guide was really fun and involved the whole group. Her knowledge of the area was second to none and we learned more on this tour than any of the other tours we’ve done in Venice. Not terribly spooky but enough to make you wonder!! Loved it!
Written June 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shell1202
Thomaston, CT23 contributions
Family
We enjoyed this walking tour with our English speaking guide. She took us through narrow all that we would never had known were there. The tour guide was knowledgeable of happenings and stories of the past. Great, fun tour. I would recommend this tour while visiting Venice.
Written September 11, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Client Thank you for your positive feedback about our Venice ghost and legends tour. I am very pleased the tour was informative and allowed you to explore the less known off the beaten track parts of Venice. I appreciate your recommendation and I hope you will join our tours again in the future! Kind regards, Aleksandra Sales Dept
Written September 12, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Andrew T
Gloucester, UK4 contributions
Family
Very enjoyable tour however not really suited to children/ young teens who got bored of the tour quite quickly as it’s more legends stories than ghostly. The tour guide was excellent, would recommend for couples/adults.
Written September 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AvvBell
Dear Client , Thank you for your feedback . I’m glad you’ve enjoyed our tour and our guide’s commentary . In regards to children and teenagers , I must say that it depends as not all teenagers or children get scared by ghost / legends stories . I’ve got myself a 12 yrs old daughter who attended to the tour with some of her school friends and they all liked it . Therefore I understand what you say , but it all depends on the children . Kind Regards Monica
Written September 2, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Joyce M
13 contributions
Friends
Went on this tour as they are usually good
This one was very boring the guide was nice but the stories were horrible quite gruesome in parts
It was good to see some of the places but i lost interest after the 1st 15 mins
Written August 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AvvBell
Dear Client , Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry you did not enjoy the tour . We’ve been operating this tour for quite a few years now and I must say that majority of people likes the stories featured . Of course I know that ghost tours in other countries , and especially in northern Europe, have different content mainly due to different traditions and many feature the visit to cemeteries and even underground passage-ways . In Venice these type of sites can not be featured and the stories featured are among the most interesting ones that can be found in this city . I understand some could be gruesome , but not more than the stories found in many ghost tours around the world . KInd Regards Monica
Written August 30, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Erniem
1 contribution
Family
The “TripAdvisor” booking website has a different meeting location (important information tab - see attached) then the details on the confirmation email aka voucher. I only saw the confirmation email and did not see the details box. We went to the location on the trip advisor booking web site. When meeting time was running late we tried to call the number from the TripAdvisor booking site but only got a recording in Italian. No one tried to call me as well to see if we were lost. Also later when I called to get a refund, they denied it. My suggestion to this company is change your info on the TripAdvisor website and be a little more customer focused. I believe that you were negligent in changing this information in a timely manner and unfortunately at my expense. I would NOT recommend them to any of my friends and family coming to Venice.
Written July 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
monica368
Dear Client , Thank you for your message and I’m very sorry you missed your tour . All information that we have included in our tour page are correct and we’ve had the new meeting point for over 1 year now , therefore I do not understand where you have found this information . In the meantime I asked Tripadvisor to check all info that we can not edit ourselves . In the tour voucher there is an emergency number to call after office hours , probably you did not see it and called the office instead . It is our normal procedure however to wait 5 minutes after the start of the tour in case of no shows and if clients contact us to advise of a major delay , we are able up to a certain delay to direct her/ him to where the guide and the rest of the group is . Please contact us directly via our web site when and if returning to Venice , and I’ll try and make up for the great disappointment you had hoping in this way to regain your trust in Avventure Bellissime .
Written July 10, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

127cait
12 contributions
Couples
The tour showed us some interesting parts of town and we learned a small amount of history, however there were only 3 ghost stories which were hard to follow in the whole tour. It was also a group of 40+ people which was ridiculous, I understand there was a computer misshap but another 8 people on the tour which meant people getting lost, difficulty following the guide and being cramped into small spaces to hear stories. I had done a few free tours already in Venice and these were much better than paying a fair bit of money for this.
Written June 24, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Client , Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry you did not enjoy the evening tour . That day the group was exceptionally made of 32 people , instead of 25 people as advertised . In fact a party that was booked for the evening before , showed up . I'm sorry this caused an overall disappointment . As for the ghost and legends tour content , I understand ghosts tours in Venice and Italy in general are different from those you find in anglosaxon countries .During the tour , there is a mixture of Ghost , Legends and Anecdotes that have met the appreciation of many clients that have attended our tours in the last 15 years . I do not want to spend any word in regards to the last part of the comment , where there is a comparison between a company legally registered and a "free" tour organization , as this is not the right place where to comment about this . Kind Regards
Written June 24, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

17mdb1
Taunton, UK51 contributions
We had a great tour with Christina. Very spooky and well presented. I think it was her personal experience which really got to us, but several of us experienced a presence on this tour.

Very passionate and well researched.. Great tour guide.
Written November 1, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Client, Thank you for your positive 5-star review of our Venice ghost and legends tour.We will certainly forward your comments to Cristina. Thank you for joining our tour! Kind regards, Aleksandra Sales Dept
Written November 2, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Greennotcabbage
Bray, Ireland37 contributions
Solo
It was an interesting tour and Christina was very engaging. Not the most spooky of ghost tours but I certainly learnt some new facts about Venice.
Written October 23, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Client, Thank you for providing your feedback. We are pleased to read you are satisfied with tour contents and Cristina's explanation and charisma. The full name of the tour is Venice ghost and legends tour therefore its main aim is not to scare people. Consider that not all the countries are the same - ghost tours that run in for example Scotland are completely different than tours operated in Italy. Tours operated in Anglo-Saxon countries like UK or USA often concentrate on the scary part and include going underground at cemeteries or similar locations. Venice is a completely different reality and has a different story to tell - our tour includes the Hidden Venice - we explore the narrow alleys, small campi ( squares - some of them are built above old cemeteries), less touristy parts of Venice. We include several ghost legends like for example the tale of Marco Polo's wife. We understand that overall tour was an interesting experience for you and we hope you will tour with us again in the future. Kind regards, Aleksandra Sales Dept
Written October 24, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Marsha M
Kinsale, Ireland14 contributions
Our guide was very sweet and I don't want to give her a poor rating because she tried to make it interesting, but this tour was not that interesting. It was actually boring.
Written October 2, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

toddoballs132002
Charlotte, NC154 contributions
We booked this on our recent trip to Venice, having done a handful of ghost tours in the US. It was well reviewed and the description looked interesting. However it was nothing like other ghost tours we had done before. We were in a group of 15 people and it was essentially a walking history tour of 6-8 random places in the city. The guide we had (Italian man in his 50s or so) was horrible at telling stories and just recited facts of various things that happened in a stream if consciousness fashion. The stories were not scary or interesting and he did a poor job of describing them to us. We enjoyed the history tours we did during the day at Doge and St Marks but were hoping this would be something different and maybe somewhat scary, or at least to learn more about a different side of Venice. This was none of the above, a waste of money and time and definitely not as advertised. I’m not sure if we just had a crummy guide or all the tours are this way but I would find something else to do with your time rather than take the chance.
Written June 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Client, We are sorry to read your expectations were not completely met. Our guide has been with our company almost since the begining ( 1999) - he is an experienced and knowlegdeable professional and according to our records was applauded by many participants on Saturday at the end of the tour. The full name of the tour is Venice ghost and legends tour. I don't know the details of your previous trips or what type of tours you attended in the past. Consider that not all the countries are the same - ghost tours that run in for example Scotland are completely different than tours operated in Italy. Tours operated in Anglo-Saxon countries like UK or USA often concentrate on the scary part and include going underground at cemeteries or similar locations. Venice is a completely different reality and has a different story to tell - our tour includes the Hidden Venice - we explore the narrow alleys, small campi ( squares - some of them are built above old cemeteries), less touristy parts of Venice. We include several ghost legends like for example the tale of Marco Polo's wife. Naturally since you are in Venice history is everywhere so our guides can hardly avoid mentioning some curious facts - most people are actually pretty interested in those, too. Our guides are aware of the tour itinerary and include all the stories advertised on the website. I presume you read our full tour description online, correct? Periodically we run checks on how our guides perform and we didn't see anything amiss about your guide's performance on tours. II understand you simply had different expectations likely based on your previous travel experiences in different countries. Best regards, Aleksandra Sales Dept
Written June 18, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 40
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Avventure Bellissime
danielsY9918MT
danielsY9918MT
00
Spectacular views and insight from Nicola
Nicola showed us through the Dolomites and Cortina. The area is full of spectacular views. Movies such as Star War
michael s
michael s
00
Great scenic tour
Great tour with a great guide. Plenty of wonderful stops in small towns and scenic overlooks. I was shocked to see
JMB1305
JMB1305
00
Dazzling Dolomites!
We left the heat of Venice to visit the Dolomites with a group of eight people from around the world. The communic
staceycW8014IG
staceycW8014IG
00
Palace and Prison tour
We very much enjoyed this tour. It was perfect for us, being that it was only 2 hours, but full of historical facts
687mehulp
687mehulp
00
Amazing Experience
This was an amazing day experience. Our driver/guide was Nicola. He met us exactly where we were supposed to right
NomadSL3
NomadSL3
00
Informative and interesting!
Knowledgable guide who, despite the diversity of age in the group, ensured she engaged and accommodated the childre
llpatrylo
llpatrylo
00
Don't recommend
WE give this tour a ZERO. We arrived at the meeting spot, entrance to Royal Gardens, and there was no one there. No
Trinodor
Trinodor
00
Great Private Tour for Family without the Crowds
Great private tour with Arianna....super friendly and informative. Catered to our every need. Made our excursion
Mobile62809388158
Mobile62809388158
00
An amazing trip
Our driver was very knowledgeable and friendly. He made sure everyone was comfortable and shared lots of interestin
Maria B
Maria B
00
Top-notch tour experience!
We could not have been happier with our custom, full-day tour of Venice organized by Marianna Marton. She was profe
Nomad56509162785
Nomad56509162785
00
Mountains are beautiful and this tour shows you many of the highlights!
It was a wonderful tour and we got to see several areas of the Dolomite Mountains. Max showed us some beautiful pl
david s
david s
00
Tour of Ducal Palace
Great tour and Georgia was brilliant. 2 hour tour around the palace and jail! We f with group of ten in all
catread8
catread8
00
Well worth it
Highly recommend this tour. Nicola is an excellent guide and a very safe driver. Couldn’t have asked for a better
Barbara Y
Barbara Y
00
Dolomite’s
Francesco was the best tour guide. He made our tour extra special. He’s an excellent driver and tour guide. Showed
roberunger1
roberunger1
00
Dolomites
The breathtaking views of the Dolomites. Our guide, Francesco, was so knowledgeable and anxious to please.
Frequently Asked Questions about Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour


Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour price starts from $30.76. Discover and book Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour on Tripadvisor

Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour on Tripadvisor

Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour is hosted by Avventure Bellissime. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Avventure Bellissime on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Venice Legends, Anecdotes and Ghost stories tour on Tripadvisor