Tours and Tickets
ShorEx from Civitavecchia Port: Luxury Private Full-Day Rome Tour
4.5

ShorEx from Civitavecchia Port: Luxury Private Full-Day Rome Tour

By Cruising Rome
Recommended by 90% of travelers
90% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
$358.54
per adult (price varies by group size)
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99
Duration: 8–9 hours
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Audio guide: German, English, Italian, French, Spanish
More


  • Private English-speaking driver
  • Booklet (available in German, French, English or Spanish)
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Port pick-up and drop-off
  • Private transportation
  • Entry/Admission - St. Peter's Square
What's not included
  • Tour guide
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Skip the Line tickets to the main Rome attractions (Colosseum and Vatican)
  • Entry/Admission - St. Peter's Basilica
  • Entry/Admission - Sistine Chapel


Start:
    Pickup details
    • Hotel pick-up and drop-off provide upon request. Please provide your preferred pick up time. We usually suggest around 8:00 am anyway you can customize it at your choice.
    Port pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included ports.
    • Civitavecchia Port
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Wheelchair accessible
      • Infant seats available
      • Stroller accessible
      • Near public transportation
      • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 7415P2

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Children must be accompanied by an adult
      • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
      • At time of booking, cruise ship passengers must provide the following information: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
      • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
      • Most travelers can participate
      • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      Which attractions will I visit with Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome?
      How much is Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome?
      Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome price starts from $358.04. Discover and book Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome on Tripadvisor
      What is the Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome cancellation policy?
      Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome on Tripadvisor
      Which company provides Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome?
      Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome is hosted by Cruising Rome. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Cruising Rome on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Civitavecchia Port: 9 Hours Luxury Private Full-Day Shore excursion of Rome on Tripadvisor

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 7415P2

      Reserve your spot

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • You'll get picked up
        See departure details
      • 1
        Civitavecchia Port
        Stop: 15 minutes
        See details
      • 2
        St. Peter's Square
        Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
        See details
      • 3
        St. Peter's Basilica
        Stop: 30 minutes - Admission excluded
        See details
      • 4
        Sistine Chapel
        Stop: 2 hours - Admission excluded
        See details
      • 5
        Arch of Constantine
        Stop: 10 minutes
        See details
      • 6
        Roman Forum
        Stop: 30 minutes
        See details
      • 7
        Piazza di Spagna
        Stop: 30 minutes
        See details
      • 8
        Pantheon
        Stop: 30 minutes
        See details
      • 9
        Trevi Fountain
        Stop: 20 minutes
        See details
      • 10
        Spanish Steps
        Stop: 10 minutes
        See details
        Pass by
        Civitavecchia Port
      • You'll return to the starting point
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • Cruising Rome
        31
        Italy
        Joined in January 2019
      • Shanty70
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        See all the sights
        See all the major sights in Rome. There is not enough time to go into the attractions but you will be able to get pictures and see so much. Our driver Emanuele was amazing! Picked us up at the port and was very knowledgeable. I highly recommend this trip
        Written October 5, 2023
      • RodoPaneque
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Terrible experience. Unethical company selling a product they don't offer to get you to do a cheaper tour w/o refunds.
        Terrible experience. I booked the small group tour with entrance to the Vatican. I communicated with the company and we agree the pick up time a day prior. After disembarkation I sent them a whatsapp mssge informing that I've been waiting for over 30 minutes. They told me my tour wouldn't go since I booked an old product and they didn't have tickets to the Vatican. I told her that nobody mentioned that the days prior to the tour and I was in contact with them. I was offer to do another tour without the Vatican, I accepted since at that point all tours were sold out. I requested to be refunded the extra $64 that I paid to access the Vatican with the skip the line access, and so far I haven't received it yet. I message them every day and everyday I get a different story. Please be aware and do not book with this company if you wanna avoid a headache.
        Written August 1, 2023
      • Paradiso604
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Bad organization at the station
        Service was terrible the employee made us miss the train by telling me to go directly to the track before they gave me a ticket
        Written June 16, 2023
      • Compass663084
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Tickets never materialised for Rome Express fast train
        The tickets were not sent in time so was not allowed onto the train. I shown proof of purchase/payment but still was not allowed to board. Trying to get in touch with yourselves is a bit of a nightmare as keep being sent around in circles. Please refund the £122.00 back into my account
        Written May 22, 2023
      • michael b
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Crowd Free Rome Alternative
        We loved the history and lack of crowds. The guides were very helpful and there was much to see. Great alternative to visiting Rome.
        Written May 15, 2023
      • babumjane
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Book with this company
        Even though we had to cancel due to a health issue, my money was refunded and back in my a/c within 24 hrs with no problems. This is a company you can trust, and I did a lot of research, and they are the best priced, have the best tours and you know exactly what you will get. Do not be afraid to book with them. I checked that we visited because it would not let me submit unless i did.
        Written October 8, 2022
      • goeast140
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        ZERO>>>ZERO
        We were there for a excursion on November 14/2019 booked thru Expedia. My other review states the problems we encountered on our once in a lifetime retirement trip...this day was completely ruined for us! Expedia is really not much help, they sponser this company thru their website (Expedia ended up losing ALOT of future bookings, we went with Viator, never a problem with them so far), but do not care that it is a less than savoury company! I guess no matter what time they show up, as long as they do... they feel they did their job! Dissappointing and a fraud! We have been trying to get a proper refund amount since this "excursion"... with no luck from either company!1 We feel it should be Expedia compensating us since they are the promoter!! Just say NO to this company!!!
        Written April 20, 2020
      • goeast140
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        This is a ZERO rating!
        Didn't show up till 10:30 AM, agreed time WAS supposed to be 8:45/9AM! I am sure the only reason they showed up at all is because I asked another tour company if we were waiting in the wrong spot and he happened to know them and called. When we were still waiting a half hour later he called again, this time not very friendly! We requested an English driver (it was an option), he tried, but was nowhere near understanding us and when driving he never offered much and most times no information on what we saw along the way! We were supposed to have 20 stops, but because of his being so late plus wasting more of our precious time picking up the tickets taking another 30 minutes twice...which we felt he should have had already had..we got 4, possibly 7 sites.. if you take in to account the drive by ones that he actually said something about! We paid alot for this tour, and we were expecting much more than we received! This was NOT a VIP tour in the least...they didn't even have water!! There are so many much better options out there...don't be fooled like us!
        Written April 18, 2020
      • LSDel
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Beware
        Pre arrival it took days to get an answer to a simple question - how will we know if trip cancelled due to operator having insufficient bookings? Answer: day of by phone or email. Good luck if don't travel with their method of contact. The pick up went smoothly however " they had to fill the van" before we could go. Turns out folks from our ship with no reservation joined and paid half of our price. Then the driver - " an expert historian" would drop us near a site give basic hand directions, with no info on the history, and want us all back. If not for Google maps and search important info and sites would not have been seen. For example at one stop the Roman forum was less than .3 miles yet have no clue it was there. Later as we passed the area he noted just that it was a political area on way to colloseum. Driver did not really understand English so had to use Google translate. There was no active narration of the visit. Driver should have known that access to Vatican and Basilica was restricted on Wednesday due to papal events but took us there first when access was mist restricted. Driver implied that all participants had to eat lunch in the same place so tour could continue on time however for each stop we were on our own with responsibility to return at designated time. As a group we did get driver to relinquish the one restaurant idea but he was reluctant. During the tour due to disappointment I wrote to the contact info provided by Cruising Rome only to find they directed you to another vendors website and support. I had multiple contacts with this agency - who were professional - only to find they were not the agency. I immediately sent complaint to Viator with a copy of all correspondence to the first agency. It has been several days and no clear resolution. I did get a response requesting the reasons for a partial refund request to which I resent all the correspondence indicating why and trip not as promised. If this is a sample of the quality Viator! TripAdvisor tours then we will be hesitant to select again.We only booked one of three tours through TripAdvisor and are thankful we used alternative agents.
        Written October 12, 2019
      • TARDISTOURING
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Lovingly curated collection of Pre-Roman historical artifacts
        Skip the big city sites and visit this small but amazing museum. I visited last summer after the tomb site. The beauty of this museum is in the building as much as the exhibits – from the peaceful patio and pillars to the deep set window seats. The large pieces such as sarcophagi are downstairs. Upstairs each room naturally unfolds to the next category of exhibits. It includes metalwork such as tools and weapons, pottery reminiscent of the most ornate Grecian work progressing to smaller items such as coins. It is lovingly assembled, leisurely and uncrowded. I had it to myself. It helped me bridge a gap in my understanding of Italian history. The view from outside is beautiful. There is a small and limited shop. Across the street is a small sidewalk café with delicious offerings including salads.
        Written October 10, 2019
      • Culture25479879718
        0 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        Not that great
        We were on a Mediterranean cruise and booked a private shore excursion in Rome directly with cruisingrome, the contact person was very nice and would respond to all my questions in detailed. However, her response time was a bit long (sometimes 4 days) which I understand considering high season is starting. Our driver Luca was not that great, he was late to pick us up 15 min which was not a big deal, the problem was that he was very quiet and didn't seem to want to socialize with us. I don't blame him as I think this is his personality. However, I don't think this is the right job for him. He tried to share some info of the area by showing us pictures in a book :( he played an audio at times with info but he would skip parts or simply turn it off after 2 minutes. If he was going to talk after that and share more info, I would say go for it, but given the circumstances, I would have preferred the audio to the dead silence in that car. Beware that you do not get a choice of the restaurant they'll take you to have lunch even though you will pay for the meal. They have a "deal" with the tourist restaurants and perhaps they get a cut from it as I heard when they called him to ask him if we were on our way. When I asked him if there was another restaurant that was more for locals nearby, he said No and that this was the only restaurant he could take us to. The food at that place was okish and the service was awful. Our whole Rome experience was so bad that my husband does not want to ever come back. It was raining so that didn't help, but our driver could have made the best of it and help us have a more enjoyable time. We had arranged to do some extra hours as we really wanted to see it all. We ended up asking the driver to take us to our ship earlier than arranged, yes we were that bored :(
        Written May 22, 2019
      See all 31 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      4.5
      4.5 of 5 bubbles20 reviews
      Excellent
      15
      Very good
      3
      Average
      1
      Poor
      0
      Terrible
      1

      GrandTour103333
      Washington DC, DC2 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jul 2023
      If I could rate this a 0, I would. Beware of this company! We reserved this excursion for our July 2023 Disney Cruise trip on April 25, 2023 for 7 adults and 2 children. On May 5, I realized that children 10 & 12 are considered adults, so I messaged the operator to let them know that it should be 9 adults. It took a few days but they confirmed that they had updated our booked details. Our cruise started on July 8, and on July 10 the operator sent a confirmation email that they had charged my card and that pick up at the port would be at 8AM on July 13. All 9 of us were at the pick up place at 8am, 20 minutes later, there is still no driver to pick us up. Around 8:20 I place a call to their office, no one picks up. I make 2 more calls, I try to pull my email but the connection was bad and was unable to. Finally around 8:40 a man picks up the phone and tells me they cancelled our reservation. I asked why and he says "no room for 9 people", when I followed up with a questions, he simply hung up the phone. We were so disappointed and mad, this was going to be one for our big excursions during our cruise.
      We were fortunate to find Limousine Cruise Service, but lost a lot of time and only ended up having 4 hours in Rome. If you are looking for a Civitavecchia excursion operator, go to Limousine Cruise Service and ask for Bruno. He was excellent! Don't go with Cruising Rome, we heard from another family who said they know another group who was cancelled by Cruising Rome.
      We were refunded the money from Cruising Rome, but stay away from this company! Turns out they emailed at 5pm the day before the planned excursion to cancel the reservation and only said "I'm really sorry to inform you that for a serious of contingieces we are not able to provide you the service tomorrow." They also knew we had tickets at 1PM to go to the Colosseum on that day.
      BEWARE!!!
      Written July 16, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hello, As I told you I'm really sorry for the issue that was related to your service, based on some serious contigiences of the period, including an important public transportation strike. That said, The service provided by the other company, if based, how I suppose on a Van. it was illicit, does it means that if the police stops you in Rome will issue a fine, and if any accident happen, you will not cover by any insurance. We do not provide service on Van for 9 passengers , as that can of vehicle can host at least 8 passengers. Doing it it is an your risk, and we cannot provide it as we respect the law
      Written July 19, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      boulets17
      Montreal, Canada8 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sep 2019
      We had a wonderful tour of Rome. We were a group of four, George our driver picked us up at the dock and we were off. We wanted to see as many sites as possible, so we hadn’t booked any museum tours. George showed as all of the major points of interest, he was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of information through out the tour.
      Written October 3, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      barnsnob
      Camas, WA24 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jun 2019 • Family
      We did this tour because we came in on a cruise ship and only had one day to see Rome. Our guide, Carlos, was great! He picked us up at the cruise terminal on time and easy to find. Carlos drove us around in his clean van with cold waters in the back to drink. There is so much to see in Rome but Carlos did his best to show us many main sights all around Rome. He even made reservations at a great restaurant for lunch. The best part is that Carlos was very knowledgeable and fun to be around. I would recommend this tour because it is personal and a lot more efficient than a big group!
      Written June 28, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Amanda
      San Antonio, TX14 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      May 2019 • Couples
      My husband and I had a phenomenal visit! We traveled by cruise ship to Civitavecchia, and booked this full-day shore excursion with 'Cruising Rome'. Marco was waiting for us cruise ship curb-side, with our Name written on a sign. Easy!! It was the BEST decision we made. Our Driver Marco was Professional, Punctual, Respectful, and went Out of his way to be a generous and delightful tour guide!!!! Marco helped my husband and I make the Most of our short 8 hour excursion to Rome to visit the Palentine Forum, Colosseo, Vatican, Arco Di Constantine, and St. Peter Square. Marco helped us to stay on track with timing, and drove us back to Civitavecchia just in time to catch our cruise ship that evening. We would DEFINITELY do this again with family/friends. I HIGHLY recommend this company, and this particular Rome Excursion experience. My only regret is not taking a photo with Marco, and also leaving him a larger, larger tip (I tipped him additional) that he deserved!
      Written June 11, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Phil J
      Pontefract, UK194 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sep 2018
      We were picked up at the side of the ship by our driver Georgio who spoke excellent english and gave us a brilliant tour of Rome. We had the minibus to ourselves which was good because my wife needed to take her electric wheelchair with us. She had a single step into the minibus whilst Georgio loaded & unloaded the chair into the back of the bus. He tried to park the van as close to all the sights as possible to that she did not have too far to manouver. Please Note - we took her disabled parking permit from the UK (Blue Badge) so that Georgio could park in disabled only bays. He took us to see all the major sights - Parthenon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Colosseum and Roman Forum, St Peters etc.
      Please Note - for wheelchairs at St Peters you do not need to join the massive queues - simply got to the head of the line and they will let you in immediately.
      We had a nice lunch at a restaurant in one of the less 'touristy' areas which was delicious and quite reasonably priced.
      After a hectic day he then drove us back to the ship in time to sail to our next port.
      We would thoroughly recommend this trip which was cheaper than the ship's own excursions and would particularly recommend Georgio who was an excellent guide.
      Written October 7, 2018
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hello Phil, We are really happy that you enjoyed the experience that we offer, Thanks for your precious feedback.
      Written March 29, 2019
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Tarsha M
      Lakewood, CA8 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sep 2019
      Our driver Manuele was there waiting on us as we disembarked from the cruise ship. It was 6 of us in the group. Manuele was very friendly and knowledgeable. His vehicle was clean. I purchased tickets in advance for the Colosseum, Roman Forum, and Palatine Hill and also the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel. These tours are quite long and I felt we were rushing to get from one destination to the next, even with "Skip the Line tickets". Not sure if purchasing tickets was a good idea, but I couldn't imagine visiting Rome and only seeing the attractions from the outside. However, because the tours for the Colosseum and Vatican Museum were long, it cut into our time to see other sites like Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. After our visit at the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel, he said we didn't have time to visit Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps because traffic was going to be bad heading back to the cruise ship. I felt he rushed to get us back to our ship as we still had another 2 hours of tour time left and believe we could have seen more sites. The good thing is we did our souvenir shopping before going to the Vatican Museum. So we did not get the full "9" hours. Overall, it was great tour and I would highly recommend. Just double check timing if you plan on purchasing tickets to the major attractions like Colosseum and Vatican Museum. As I stated, we were rushing to get from one attraction to the other.
      Written October 17, 2019
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Edie H
      Orange, OH8 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jun 2018
      I hired this company to take 3 of us to Marino, Italy and Castel Gandolfo. Our driver was courteous and knew his way around. His limo was clean and he was very helpful.
      Written December 12, 2018
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hello Edie, Thanks for your feedback, we are really happy that you enjoyed our experience.
      Written March 29, 2019
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Amy A
      2 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Nov 2023 • Couples
      Great tour guide. We did some adjusting to the schedule and Manny was very accommodating. I would definitely book again.
      Written November 29, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Resort04552084853
      1 contribution
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jul 2023 • Family
      Great guide,very nice and pleasant,his name is Emmanuel.He showed us everything we wanted to see,answered all our questions
      Written July 30, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Ken B
      2 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jun 2023
      Giorgio was our driver and we had an awesome visit from Civitavecchia cruise port into Rome. There were 6 total people in our group and we had the best day!
      He knew all of the secret back alley parking spots that allowed us to maximize our day.
      We ended up directly calling them to confirm and everything went smoothly the whole day.
      Highly recommend this tour!!
      Written June 19, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Showing results 1-10 of 17

      ShorEx from Civitavecchia Port: Luxury Private Full-Day Rome Tour provided by Cruising Rome

      All Vatican City HotelsVatican City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Vatican City
      All things to do in Vatican City
      Day Trips in Vatican City
      RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars