Tours and Tickets
Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel tour
2.5

Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel tour

By Get Your Tour & Tickets
About

Ages 19-99, max of 30 per group
Duration: 2–3 hours
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English, Italian, French, Spanish
More


  • Headsets to hear the guide clearly
  • Professional art historian guide
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Entrance ticket to be paid at the office EUR 28 per adult
  • Entry/Admission - Vatican Museums
  • Entry/Admission - Sistine Chapel


Start:
  • Via Mocenigo, 2, 00192 Roma RM, Italy
    enter inside the office and show your booking to the staff you find at the desk
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Infant seats available
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9208P45

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travelers can participate
    • It's required to be at the meeting point at least 10 minutes before the visit
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

    • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9208P45

    Currently unavailable
    This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor.
    Explore other options
    Itinerary
    • Via Mocenigo, 2, 00192 Roma RM, Italy
      enter inside the office and show your booking to the staff you find at the desk
    • 1
    • 2
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Get Your Tour & Tickets
      91
      Rome, Lazio, Italy
      Joined in February 2020
    • John B
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Gallery good, ticket arrangements awful
      The gallery was amazing with great sculptures and paintings. We were sent vouchers to redeem and no-one turned up to give out the tickets. I had to phone TripAdvisor who wrongly said we were emailed them. We finally got in 30 minutes late in a very stressful state. I will be complaining
      Written May 5, 2023
    • 458stewarte
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      very disappointing
      the video is not that impressive. and it didn’t work well. also, the web site does not tell you that there is a family rate - half price. the staff agreed the web site overcharges, but refused to give a refund. very disappointing overall.
      Written April 12, 2023
    • 674dorlel
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fascinating history tour
      Decided to do the VR experience at Circo Massimo which brought the whole site to life exploring the very beginning of the area and explaining how it was developed by the Roman's to a magnificent arena for racing chariots. There are some ruins but the VR made it all come to life. If you enjoy history, this is highly recommended and good value for money. The whole tour takes about 45 minutes.
      Written April 2, 2023
    • kristimF620RL
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      DON’T BOOK HERE! Unreliable, you’ll miss out…
      DO NOT BOOK THROUGH TRIP ADVISOR FOR THIS MUSEUM! It’s through a third party vendor. We got there early, went to check in, no one was on-site so we had to call the number on the reservation. They “couldn’t find our reservation” and said that Trip Advisor didn’t send it over/“it got lost in the system.” They apologized for the error and there was nothing they could do. They also said this was frequent when booking through Trip Advisor. This was booked out over a month and we weren’t able to get in during our trip. I was able to find a number for the third party (Viator) and while they were sorry they said it wasn’t their error and there was nothing they could do. There is no way to talk to anyone through Trip Advisor and after getting the run around, their automated voice message said they do everything through online communication but no direct email either. I continued to get reminder emails after I booked all the way up to the day off. This is a total scam, and not reliable, DO NOT BOOK THROUGH TRIP ADVISOR! Book through the Museum site directly.
      Written March 30, 2023
    • D5759CLstephaniek
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fascinating 😍
      Wow. Been to Circo Massimo many many times and always tried to visualise how it was in its heyday. Not a lot of it left, but if you love history and love Rone..do this tour. It's second best option to time travel!! The visuals come up, but you can still see and hear some of 2023..surreal and absolutely fascinating. Best €12 I've spent here.
      Written March 19, 2023
    • SpanishStepsApt
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Interesting experience
      Located at the foot of the Palatine Hill, this was ancient Rome’s largest chariot-racing stadium. We did the “augmented and virtual reality Circus Maximus Experience” located at the East end of the circus where the little medieval tower is located; the tour is 12 euros well spent, quite interesting and well done, and takes you from ancient Rome through the modern period in 8 "stops." You can also climb the little tower. Helpful staff. Note that you must leave an ID for the rental of the virtual reality goggles, they accepted my old driver's license. We were lucky there was also a little group of historical re-enactors (Roman soldiers, etc.) at the site today.
      Written November 13, 2022
    • Robert A
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Worse than expected
      Worst VR experience ever had. Headphone jacks are broken. Visuell effects are old. Steady pictures. No strap on the vr glasses so you have to hold them all the time. Cannot recommend.
      Written October 1, 2022
    • melissacB6842WO
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Accommodating
      This company is great! Super accommodating! Lost ticket and they sent another copy right away! Thank you so much!
      Written July 14, 2022
    • Jill C
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Quick run through the Vatican Museum
      Our tour guide, Gabrielle, was knowledgeable and very friendly, but our group was too large, and we moved too fast to really see things. There is the option to stay after and explore more, but not with the guide. If you want to say, “I’ve been to the Vatican museum and Sistine Chapel,” this tour will work for you. Plan to stay longer or take a longer tour if you want to go more in depth.
      Written June 28, 2022
    • MikeBermud
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Terrible
      This is a SCAM. DO NOT BUY TICKETS FROM HERE. Bought tickets and showed up 20 minutes early. Waited around until 3:05 and no one ever showed up. This is a scam, I will be getting my money back from either TripAdvisor or the bank. Extremely aggravating.
      Written October 8, 2021
    • Richard B
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Total scam through Trip Advisor. Don’t book with Trip Advisor.
      We spent $300 for a tour of the Vatican that did not exist. This was booked through Trip Advisor. I assume Trip Advisor was in on the scam since they have not issued a refund. Do not book any tours on Trip Advisor since they are selling tours that do not exist. We showed up at the correct time and place and the tour agent did not have our names. She said “this happens all the time with Trip Advisor”. Total scam.
      Written September 23, 2021
    • 119sonyao
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Absolutely dreadful
      It's was awful, it is a con. They give you an address as a pick up in an email. It takes you to a place in a back street that's closed , hotel across the way say they don't see it open atall. I had to pay for tickets and services again. DO NOT BUY FROM HERE ITS A CON!!
      Written October 6, 2020
    • SamanthaVanderpuye
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great Vatican experience!
      The tour guide Faby was really nice and knowledgable and made the experience lively. Communication was really good, as the tour operators called to let us know about the change of meeting point and to help direct us. I felt it should be clearer on trip advisor that you are only paying for the guide and not entry. In addition, you don’t need to pay to enter the Basilica, so it is a little misleading that it says entry is included with this purchase. Otherwise we had a good time - loads of walking, so wear comfy shoes!
      Written October 4, 2020
    • izumifilo
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      They simply stood us up
      Reservation confirmed 3 times (2 mails and 1 SMS) by the organiser has not been respected. We went to the pick up point 30 min before to be sure, we searched everywhere, asked a lot of people, called more than 10 times to the only phone number written on the reservation sheet, sent a lot of messages via the link on our reservation.... No answer until 1h30 after the starting time of the visit, and the answer we receive is a simple cancellation of the reservation without explanation. They paid me back two days later. But not informing us in time that our reservation has not been honoured is unacceptable! On the same day 4 hours later, we received another email in which they say that unfortunately, their local tour operator has just informed them that due to ticketing restrictions related to the Covid-19 health crisis, they would not be able to get tickets before one week. As a result, they have had to cancel the ticket on the date we booked. It's not acceptable not to be able to communicate us at least before the appointment time so that we don't have to suffer stress and disappointment after making the trip to the venue???? I will never order from them again.
      Written August 20, 2020
    • customer_abcd
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Swindler and Scammers!! run as far as possible from this deler!
      Scammers. After the purchase you will receive an email with the message that the ticket has to be picked up from the Sistine Chapel in 10 minutes. But there is nobody there. Then you get a new address where again nobody is. - The tickets are bought from the dealers at the entrance in the Sistine Chapel and cost no more than 17 EUR / piece without a guide. - It is best to buy online a week in advance via the Vatican homepage! After paying via PayPal, you will receive an e-mail about the receipt of payment, but no ticket. One hour before the admission, I received another email from this dealer that the payment had been "canceled", which is not true.
      Written August 12, 2020
    See all 91 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


    2.5
    2.5 of 5 bubbles3 reviews
    Excellent
    1
    Very good
    0
    Average
    0
    Poor
    0
    Terrible
    2

    Franca V
    Wethersfield, CT2 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2019 • Family
    I booked this tour after I read in the description there were no more fees to pay. After paying the 76 euro fort be tour for a family of 4 I then received an email advising me I needed to pay another 110 euro for the entry ticket. A total of 186 euro for the whole thing! I ended up going to the Vatican and paid 66 euro for all 4 of us to skip the line which was much less than the 110 we were told we would need to spend. Do yourselves a favour - don’t buy any of these online tours and just buy your tickets from the Vatican ticket office and pay for an audio guide. You won’t have a tour guide but you won’t be ripped off either and you’ll save a lot of money!
    Written July 16, 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear customer, we are so sorry you think about this tour is a "complete rip off", but maybe you were searching for a ticket and not for a tour. Infact this is a tour and is very clearly written on the exclusions ticket fee is not included... So next time we sugget to pay more attention, because, even if you think we try to rip off you, is even obvious you bought this tour by yourself... I don't think we pushed you, and you didn't partecipated to the tour, so how can you judge it? How can you write a review? Our guide waited for you for 30 minutes and you didn't advise, next time please give us a call and maybe we will refund you... I know that probably you were searching for a cheap tour (and this is cheap) but next time is important for you (but above all for us) you read inclusions and exclusions, otherwise you don't know what you are buying!!! The real rip off is to review a tour did not enjoy. Best regards.
    Written July 17, 2019
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Sas
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sep 2019
    We were approached by a guy promoting these tickets and were sceptical. When he explained the ticket is purchased at an official office we gave it a go as we'd seen the size of the queue. Worked a treat. It was very busy so having an extremely knowledgeable guide made a positive difference. For approx £60 each we had access to everything so no need to but another ticket. We also had plenty of time to wander around on our own afterwards
    Written September 25, 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel tour provided by Get Your Tour & Tickets

    All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Rome
    All things to do in Rome
    Day Trips in Rome
    RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars