Tours and Tickets
Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group
4.5

Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group

By Welcome Italy - Day Tours
Recommended by 90% of travelers
90% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
$273.59
per adult (price varies by group size)
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-90, max of 24 per group
Duration: 10–12 hours
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: Portuguese, English, Italian, French, Spanish
More


  • Free transfer offered by Welcome Italy in air conditioning Minivan
  • Tour Assistant for the whole trip
  • 2 hours professional guide in Pompeii
  • Limoncello tasting
  • Ticket skip the line in Pompei
  • Entry/Admission - Pompeii Archaeological Park
What's not included
  • Lunch
  • tips
  • Gratuites


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
    Pickup details
    • Free Pick-up and drop-off to the Hotels, Apartments, Bed & Breakfast, and other accommodations. The address must to be provided on the reservation. Please contact customer services one day before the tour to confirm the pickup time.
    Hotel pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
      Additional pickup options
      During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included pickup points.
      • Rome, Metropolitan City of Rome Capital, Italy
      End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

        • Infant seats available
        • Not wheelchair accessible
        • Stroller accessible
        If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 8515P2

        • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
        • Most travelers can participate
        • Provide the Correct address of your Accommodation , Hotel, B&B
        • Hotel pickup and drop-off Hotel, B&B breakfast, Apartment
        • Provide the correct phone number with international country code
        • check that you provide all the details to the agency
        • Without this information we can not guarantee the correct service
        • Free transfer offered by Welcome Italy in air conditioning Minivan
        • Emergency number also operational via whatsapp
        • Un giorno prima Chiama l'agenzia per confermare l'orario del ritiro
        • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
        • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers

        • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

        Which attractions will I visit with Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group?
        How much is Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group?
        Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group price starts from $271.20. Discover and book Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group on Tripadvisor
        What is the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group cancellation policy?
        Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group on Tripadvisor
        Which company provides Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group?
        Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group is hosted by Welcome Italy - Day Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Welcome Italy - Day Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group on Tripadvisor

        If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 8515P2

        Reserve your spot

        Similar experiences

        Itinerary
        • You'll get picked up
          See departure details
        • 1
          Pompeii Archaeological Park
          Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
          See details
        • 2
          Positano
          Stop: 3 hours
          See details
        • 3
          Amalfi Coast
          Stop: 60 minutes
          See details
        • 4
          Meta
          Stop: 30 minutes
          See details
        • You'll return to the starting point
        About the operator
        Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
        • Welcome Italy - Day Tours
          334
          Rome, Lazio, Italy
          Joined in September 2013
        • 785bethanyt
          0 contributions
          Fantastico!
          We are so glad we booked this trip! Our main guide(Alex) and driver (also Alex) were wonderful. Alex was knowledgeable, kind, and a joy to be around. And our guide in Florence, Giovani, was charming, attentive, and a true expert of the city. The enthusiasm and love of these guides for the places we visited made the tours such a positive and enlightening experience. We would recommend this tour to everyone traveling to Rome!
          Written February 2, 2024
        • GlobeTrotting651105
          0 contributions
          Superb!!!!
          Amazing! We are so greatful!! Luigi and Teresa are excellent!!! So greatful!! I will do this again!! And Giovanni in Florence was superb too!!! Thank you thank you thank you!! What an unforgettable experience!!!
          Written January 9, 2024
        • luizgT121WV
          0 contributions
          beautiful experience
          Taking a private tour of cooking lessons in Rome was an absolute delight. The experience was not only educational but also incredibly enjoyable. The cook was skilful, passionate and shared insights into authentic Italian cuisine. Participation in the preparation of traditional dishes added a personal touch. The tour provided a unique cultural immersion, making it a must-do for anyone looking for a memorable dining experience in the heart of Rome
          Written January 4, 2024
        • AndrewW99
          0 contributions
          Fantastic experience
          We had a wonderful day at Pompeii and Amalfi. The tour made things SO much easier, and we still allowed plenty of time and space for us to enjoy it as a family. Thank you so much to Charlotte (tour assistant) and Max (driver) for such enjoyable company along the way.
          Written January 4, 2024
        • sway8989
          0 contributions
          Highly Disappointed
          We as a family of 4 were extremely excited about visiting the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii. My husband booked this day trip several months in advance along with several other tours. After a long 12 hour flight from the U.S. to Rome we arrived around noon. Upon landing we received a message from the tour company stating that our guide would pick us up around 6:45 am the following morning. We were tired, but I think the excitement about visiting the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii kept us going. At 6:40 am we were outside of the hotel waiting for the guide, at 6:54 am we sent a message stating that we were outside. Then again at 7:48 am wanting to know if they were still coming. In the meantime, we were inside calling Trip Advisor's CS. If I could rate Trip Advisor's CS, they would definitely receive 5 stars. They called the tour company several times and could not reach anyone. We finally received a response from the tour company stating that their office was closed and if we could text them, which we did. Someone eventually called my husband and wanted to "reorganize" the tour for another day. All our days were booked with day tours, so there was no way it was possible. After going back and forth, we were told we could "request" a refund. Which we immediately did. Then they proceed to tell us that "WE" cancelled the tour!!!! Just thinking about this is upsetting. My husband told them that was not the case. Then they came back with - "How do you think we could have organised your trip if it was cancelled". We cancelled because they were a "NO SHOW" Overall, this was a HORRIBLE experience with this company. I CANNOT AND WILL NOT RECOMMEND!!!!
          Written January 3, 2024
        • magnetar68
          0 contributions
          Exceptional Experience!
          We had one of the best days ever. The tour team was exceptional. The car was very new and clean, they were on time, and the driver and our guide were awesome. We saw Pompei and Amalfi and had an absolutely wonderful experience.
          Written December 29, 2023
        • 7jatins
          0 contributions
          Must do experience
          Arif was our tour guide and the driver I forgot his name..both did such an awesome job! Thank you Arif and the driver!! I really liked this tour for a number of reasons. First, it’s a small group tour in a minivan - so no more than 6 people for a quaint, intimate experience. Second, they pick you up and drop you off at your hotel to make logistics easier. We drove to Pisa and saw the Leaning Tower, and 1 hour of free time to roam around. The real highlight of the trip was Florence, where we stopped for a relaxing lunch then had a walking tour - including seeing David statue. Only one negative which I don’t like about this tour is the guide they provide in Florence..he talk so much whether you are interested in listening or not..i was in Florence for relaxing not for the history class of Rome..he even go to academia and tell us non stop about the history of sculpture without giving us our free time there. Prepare for a long (but well worth it) day - they picked us up between 6:30- 6:45 AM and we were back at the hotel at 8:00 PM. An action-packed day for sure.
          Written December 27, 2023
        • annamango11
          0 contributions
          The best for families!
          Best decision to book this tour instead of taking the train! It was so much easier to see all the sites with a tour guide and car, and a lot faster. I highly recommend if you are short on time and are traveling with kids. Absolutely loved this!
          Written December 10, 2023
        • 830eugenew
          0 contributions
          Great day trip fro Rome to Pisa and Firenze
          Amazing…. Rini was a pleasure and an excellent guide. Giovanni in Firenze was extremely knowledgeable and offered a lot of history and information. Highly recommend!!
          Written December 10, 2023
        • TammiC318
          0 contributions
          Mostly Good Tour
          Tour had goods and bads. We did enjoy the small group feel for most of the day. Our guide from Rome really was not a "guide". He just made sure we got where we were supposed to be. He was super friendly and knowledgable about things on the way to and from Pisa and Florence. He literally dropped us off with tickets at the Leaning Tower saying "Meet me back here in 25 minutes." We were very rushed trying to use the tickets he gave us for the cemetary and church then rushed to take our photos of the Tower. Everyone in the group felt a little lost. He was very nice and did not rush us while buying souvenirs before leaving. Then we went to Florence and he took us to a nice place for lunch. We thought it was strange that he did not have lunch with us. He had many friends at the restaurant that he spent the time visiting with. After lunch another "guide" came and we met up with another tour group for a walking tour of Florence. It was wonderful. Although he did walk really fast and did not try to make sure every one in the group was keeping up, he was super knowledgable and friendly. He did not rush us but we felt rushed because he walked so fast, leaving everyone behind in a very crowded city. The tour was great. The statue of David is a MUST SEE! The walking tour was beautiful and picturesque. Overall the tour was good. Our driver from Rome was a really good driver and friendly as well.
          Written November 13, 2023
        • Remy d
          0 contributions
          Vatican & St Peter's Smooth sailing with Mohammed
          Our guide Mohammed was extremely knowledgeable and personable. He guided us with ease through what could be an overwhelming experience.
          Written November 11, 2023
        • dianesY5071LP
          0 contributions
          Great way to see more of Italy while in Rome.
          It was a wonderful day trip. The driver picked us up at the hotel and was an excellent driver all day lone. Our tour guide was Jazzy and was so nice and informative. He was able to give just enough information about the different sites alone the way and at all the stops. Very intelligent person. We had a separate tour guide at Pompeii and he was 3 generation tour guide for this wonderful place. You could feel how much he care about Pompeii history. The views and stops alone Amalfi coast were amazing.
          Written November 10, 2023
        • Dakkin
          0 contributions
          Excellent!
          We had an excellent time on this tour. Our tour guide, Jazzy, was super the entire time. Very knowledgeable and entertaining. Daniel the guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable and passionate. Finally our driver was very friendly and efficient. Thank you!
          Written November 5, 2023
        • Nomad38271073059
          0 contributions
          Must-do experience while in Rome
          Arif was our tour guide and he did such an awesome job! Thank you Arif! I really liked this tour for a number of reasons. First, it’s a small group tour in a minivan - so no more than 6 people for a quaint, intimate experience. Second, they pick you up and drop you off at your hotel to make logistics easier. We drove to Pisa and saw the Leaning Tower, and 1 hour of free time to roam around. The real highlight of the trip was Florence, where we stopped for a relaxing lunch then had a walking tour - including seeing David statue. Prepare for a long (but well worth it) day - they picked us up at 6:30AM and we were back at the hotel at 8:30PM. An action-packed day for sure.
          Written October 29, 2023
        • 937priyam
          0 contributions
          Absolutely fantastic road trip
          What an absolute fantastic experience. Frederico our driver was on time, infact ahead of time for the pick up from the apartment. The car was clean and spacious and very comfortable He was friendly courteous and very very knowledgeable . I learnt a lot of facts about Italy I had not known before and he is a walking encyclopedia on Italy and beyond. Absolute joy to be with and learn from The trip to Pompei was smooth and we were handed off to an experienced guide there who showed us around that magnificent place with fantastic knowledge and experience. The trip to positano was breathtaking and so so amazing Frederick suggested a restaurant on the beach which was super duper good with a great menu He in fact took care to mention to the restaurant about my food allergies and ensured I got the appropriate food The return back to Rome after an eventful day was fantastic as he did a great job driving us back Thanks Frederico
          Written October 27, 2023
        See all 334 reviews
        These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

        Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

        Popular mentions

        4.5
        65 reviews
        Excellent
        48
        Very good
        11
        Average
        2
        Poor
        3
        Terrible
        1

        Dallasite090
        Dallas, TX9 contributions
        Nov 2023 • Family
        We had a wonderful day in Pompeii and Positano with our guide JJ and driver Max. We were picked up at our hotel right on time in a very comfortable van (5 guests total plus Max and JJ) and whisked to Pompeii with JJ pointing out sights along the way. We got to Pompeii early enough to beat the crowds and had a very knowledgeable local guide for our private tour who arranged for us to go to spots not open to the general public. Then it was on to Positano for photos, lunch, and shopping--we opted for a restaurant on the beach recommended by JJ and it was lovely and delicious. We also had the option to do a quick limoncello tasting. We dozed a little on the drive back to Rome and Max had us back at our hotel in time for a dinner. Pompeii and Positano are definitely worth the drive and this tour was a very enjoyable adventure with a great guide and driver.
        Written November 13, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        sitnalj62
        Atlanta, GA2 contributions
        Sep 2023 • Couples
        Small group of 6 was perfect. Quick but nice tour of Positano and Pompei. We had a driver and a guide although our guide was not the guide for Pompei walking tour. The van guide had a lengthy convo with the 2 Indian ladies sitting in the first row. He offered no info on the trip there or back. The majority of the journey he had his headphones in. For the price of this tour, that was disappointing.
        Written October 23, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Clarisa K
        Doral, FL3 contributions
        Oct 2023 • Family
        The tour was amazing Charlotte was very acknowledged and explain every think and the guide in Pompeo was very acknowledged and the trip to Positiano was very beautiful city and view of the amalfi coast.
        Written October 9, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear customer, thank you for your kind words, we are happy that you had an unforgettable experience. Charlette and all our staff are highly professional and attentive to customer needs. Our philosophy is to let the wonders of our country be experienced through a window. Thank you for choosing our services, we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Italy to live other experiences.
        Written October 13, 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        SueL532014
        Canggu, Indonesia8 contributions
        Sep 2023 • Solo
        Very long 13 hr day with only 90 minutes at Pompeii. I felt that an extra hour to wander alone after the tour would have been great. We had no choice for lunch in Pompeii, rip off takeaway pizza with 10 minutes to eat.
        90 minutes in Positano was too long as we'd already had lunch. Straight back after Positano, no Limoncello factory tour and tasting
        Written October 7, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear customer, we are sorry but we do not understand your consideration. the Amalfi coast tour includes a 2-hour visit to Pompeii, at the end we continue to Positano for a stop for lunch, relaxation and shopping. at the end, still in Positano we visit the limncello factory for tasting. your statement regarding limoncello tasting is false This is what you and the other customers who gave 5 stars did. travel times are those of local traffic and roads. During the Amalfi coast tour you travel 800 km, it is normal for the tour duration to be 13 hours if you wanted to have more time for your needs you had to purchase a private tour. We advise you to carefully read what the tour includes, if you had any doubts you could call our call center and ask for information, we would advise you to purchase the private tour.
        Written October 8, 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Barbara B
        Vancouver, WA189 contributions
        Great itinerary, great itinerary although it is a very long day. Immature guide but he will improve with time. He did not speak clearly and often his voice was so soft we could not hear at all. All in all a good day.
        Written September 25, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Vacation58291265247
        1 contribution
        Aug 2023 • Family
        Perfect amount of time in both Pompeii and Positano. Very informative tour guide in Pompeii. Positano lunch spot was incredible.
        Written September 5, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Chris H
        1 contribution
        Absolutely amazing! Our tour guide promptly picked us up right at our hotel in an extraordinarily comfortable and air-conditioned van. The driver, Pietro, was terrific and our tour guide, Antonia, had perfectly timed facts to explain along the way covering not just things we passed but cultural insights as well and was full of enthusiasm and animated in her story telling- the teens were even enthralled. Once we got to Pompeii, Romulus was so passionate in his tour, and had perfectly timed anecdotes to keep us all (even the teens) entertained- he really brought the city to life. The small group size was ideal and the travel was perfectly timed with pitstops along the way. Highly recommend!
        Written August 21, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Michael B
        11 contributions
        The tour provided wasn’t a tour as much as it was just transportation. The van was comfortable and the guide was friendly but he barely spoke the entire day. We had an actual tour guide meet us in Pompeii and that was great. When we got to Positano we were just dropped off and told to meet back at the van in 2 hours. All in all I feel like the extra money spent on the “small group” probably wasn’t worth it for this one. I think we just ended up paying for a van instead of a bus.
        Written August 18, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear customer, thank you for your review, however we would like to clarify some points that we think you have misunderstood. 1 – all our tours are carried out with the latest generation minivans or cars and are all equipped with the best comforts to allow a relaxing journey. The minivan seats up to 6 passengers. However, the comfort between a car and a minivan is different. 2 – we are happy that you enjoyed the Pompeii guide service, it is our goal to satisfy the needs of customers. 3 – the assistant is a traveling companion and is not a guide, the information provided is generic but interesting. This tour is very panoramic, suitable for photography and sea lovers and for discovering the natural beauties of the Amalfi coast. The stop in Positano is 2-2.30 depending on the arrival time, during this time you can eat in one of the restaurants recommended by us, go shopping or simply relax and enjoy the wonderful scenery of this corner of paradise. The assistant is however at your disposal for any needs. 4 – in this tour, in addition to the stop in Positano, we make 2 stops for photos and a visit to the limoncello factory. The Amalfi Coast road is very narrow, full of curves and there is a lot of traffic. The best solution to enjoy are minivans and cars. Thank you anyway for choosing our services, we hope to have you again as a guest of ours tour to live other experiences.
        Written August 21, 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        David P
        Florida1 contribution
        Aug 2023 • Solo
        While I recommend the tour, I had multiple issues! First, I was charged for 2 and I was just one person! The tour owner told me he was only paid for me and not another. He said he apologized but I need to complain and get refunded from Trip Advisor! Next issue was with the driver. When we were doing about 35 miles per hour he put the transmission in park! 8 of us in the van flew around like dolls! Multiple injuries of which I am stiff and hurt along with others! Other than that, both tour guides were excellent. I highly recommend seeing Pompei and the Coastal area!
        Written August 7, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear customer, thank you for your review but we do not agree with your consideration. Evidently you are not used to traveling or maybe you don't know the travel rules. however we will answer why it is not correct to write false things: - the price of the trip is at least 2 paying people, this means that if you travel alone you pay for two.. it's the same concept of hotels, the single cut when the double. in some cases there is a small difference but the single traveler pays more than a couple. these rules are international. - The Amalfi Coast is a long and winding road. The roads are not like in other countries and during the high season, traffic and curves can cause some problems. We are sorry if you suffered the curves during the journey but this is the road and perhaps it is the characteristic and the landscape that you admire that is so requested and loved by tourists. Thank you for appreciating the trip and our work but we believe that your evaluation is incorrect.
        Written August 8, 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        award119
        Omaha, NE1 contribution
        Jazzy was our tour assistant and Hector was our guide at Pompei, they both were wonderful.

        Jazzy was very personable and made the day so easy and relaxing. He knew a lot about the areas as we were driving that made the trip down very interesting and engaging. The van was very comfortable and our group was only 4 people total. We hit all of the highlights we would’ve wanted to hit and weren’t completely exhausted even though it was a long day.

        I would say the private tour is the way to go, having a small group made this very enjoyable. If you want to spend a lot of your time at certain places and take your time this is NOT the tour for you. It’s pretty quickly paced, which we loved, but may not work well for larger families or people who like to take their time.

        Hector was our Pompei tour guide and I loved how knowledgeable he was having grown up 3 miles away from the site. He showed us all the highlights in two hours which was very impressive and he was very charming.

        I would definitely recommend this tour for couples and people who move at a quicker pace. A great and easy day!
        Written August 6, 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Showing results 1-10 of 61

        Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group provided by Welcome Italy - Day Tours

        Product Overview: Amalfi Coast and Pompeii: a Day Tour from Rome in a Small Group

        Prices From

        $272

        Number of Reviews

        65

        Number of Photos

        83