Tours and Tickets
Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide
4
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide

By WorldTours
See Pompeii the easy and affordable way on a half-day tour from Naples that fits in all the UNESCO-listed site’s highlights without taking up a full day of your vacation. Avoid the hassle of train timetables with hotel or port pickup, and explore the well-preserved ruins of baths, frescoes, homes, and an ancient forum. Commentary from an archaeologist guide adds fascinating context that you wouldn't get touring on your own.
from
$62.77
per adult
from
$62.77
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 40 per group
Duration:
4h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:
Mobile
English, Italian, French, Spanish

Highlights
  • Tour the ancient city of Pompeii with an expert archaeologist guide
  • Learn about the site's history and devastation by the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius
  • Half-day group tour fits easily into most schedules and budgets
  • Includes door-to-door transfers from Naples hotels or the cruise port for convenience

  • Licensed live guide (with minimum 6 pax otherwise audioguide will be provided)
  • Pickup from several meeting points in Naples
  • Round-trip shared transfer
  • Bottled water
  • Pompeii entrance fee
  • Pickup available from Naples Cruise Terminal
What's not included
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities


Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • 24 hours after the booking you will receive an email with the pickup time and the meeting instructions
  • Ports:
  • Molo Beverello, Porto di Napoli
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 18971P2

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Transport is wheelchair accessible; however, be prepared for uneven surfaces at the sites visited which may be difficult for those with walking disabilities or using a wheelchair
  • During the low season from November to to March, the live guide inside Pompeii will be replaced by an official interactive audioguide for groups of less than six.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

A note from Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide
  • Vaccination required for museums, pubblic transportation, archeological parks, restaurants. EU DIGITAL COVID CERTIFICATION or NEGATIVE COVID TEST CERTIFICATION of the last 48 hours.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide?
How much is Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide?
Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide price starts from $66.83. Discover and book Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide on Tripadvisor
What is the Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide cancellation policy?
Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide?
Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide is hosted by WorldTours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact WorldTours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 18971P2

Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See departure details
  • Pass by
    Pompeii Archaeological Park
    Forum
    Stabian Baths (Terme Stabiane)
    Tempio di Giove Capitolino
    Macellum
  • You'll return to the starting point
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

774benediktb
774benediktb
00
Sandra is an excellent guide and capri has to be seen at least once in your lifetime
Our tour guide was Sandra. She did an excellent job communicating with the entire party of travelers in multiple la
stephengV5148UM
stephengV5148UM
00
Great day out
The whole day was brilliant, our guide Gabriel and our driver Amigio were excellent.Gabriels knowledge and enthusia
312n_storr
312n_storr
00
Just on point
Gabriel is an excellent guide! Archangello, the driver, does his job incredibly! The Sorrento/Positano/Amalfi tour
333pamelar
333pamelar
00
31st Anniversary Trip to Amalfi Coast!
Just a wonderful breath taking your. This was a well organized tour. It was super easy to meet the tour operator
Jalasete
Jalasete
00
Take this tour!
Excellent tour! Our guide Gabriel was funny and engaging, and took us off the main path to introduce us to a local
1510fitzy
1510fitzy
00
Best Tour Guide Ever!
Best Tour we have ever had. Great experience. Gabriel and Remigio were fantastic, friendly and funny. Couldn't reco
P3140CNjonathand
P3140CNjonathand
00
Sorrento and pompeii,
Gabriel the tour guide couldn't do any more for you if you asked, and the bus driver was brilliant, very safe and c
CelesteCelesteGC
CelesteCelesteGC
00
Good advice in Capri
The tour to around Capri was incredible! Thanks for all your advice, Tiziana. Muy buena guía trilingüe!
alvinlK6935QP
alvinlK6935QP
00
Amazing day in Naples
Gabriel and Gennaro were an amazing team, he's very knowledgeable and offered great advice from sightseeing to food
Jodsrog22
Jodsrog22
00
Very entertaining from start to finish
Gabriel was a brilliant guide, took care of everything and had good communication all through the tour. Ginaro was
Andrea G
Andrea G
00
Great way to spend the day!
This was an excellent tour! Our guide, Gabriel, was the best guide I've ever had on any tour! His enthusiasm, ener
Wendy L
Wendy L
00
Fantastic Tour to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius
Wonderful tour to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. Our tour guide Gabriel was amazing. Could not have asked for a bette
maddogswofe
maddogswofe
00
Wonderful Day!
This was an awesome experience. I highly recommend for everyone! The views were absolutely stunning and Sandra an
maddogswofe
maddogswofe
00
Pompeii and Vesuvius
Loved the tour of Pompeii and the restaurant where lunch was served! I wish that they would have given more inform
KHA5724
KHA5724
00
Amazing Tour - Amazing Guide
Εξαιρετικη εμπειρια! Pompeii was beautiful, Mount Vesuvius was amazing although weather didn’t allow us to enjoy it
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
33 reviews
Excellent
21
Very good
5
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
4

rakb94
London, UK3 contributions
Solo
A lovely, well-organised half-day activity. They picked us all up individually from locations handy for us, the tour group was a good manageable size and our guide Anna was super friendly, knowledgeable and helpful!

When booking, be aware that the tour doesn't always include the price of the ticket to access the site, just the transport and tour guide fee, so you might end up paying for this on the day. Apparently it depends through which agent you book.
Written August 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

SamiD
Washington DC, DC3 contributions
Family
Anna was amazing, she gave great details and was really helpful in understanding Pompeii in a short amount of time. My boys enjoyed her as well. She is very communicative and warm and we look forward to future tours with her.
Written August 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Cosmin
Salgareda, Italy4 contributions
Incredible day in the Pompei ruins, guided by Jasmine, she is nice, expert and available, showing us evey dettail of the city. We had an amaizing morning in the ancient city, living each dettail just like they did 2000 years ago.
Remigio, out driver, is very fast, nice and allways on time, and he tooked us to Vezuvio and back home.
Our vote is 11/10, highly recomended.
Written June 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lauren
Thatcham, UK13 contributions
We would highly recommend a tour of Pompeii! The tour operator emailed us after we made the booking to confirm our pick up time/location. Our guide Sandra was very friendly and made sure our trip was interesting and fun. Sandra introduced us to our tour guide Nancy, who was very knowledgeable and showed us all the highlights of Pompeii. We hesitated booking the shorter trip as we weren’t sure whether it would be long enough, but it definitely was! We got to see so much in the 2 hours we had and at the end we had some time to grab a cold drink before heading back in the minibus. All in all, it was a fantastic day and we would like to thank Sandra and Nancy for making it so enjoyable!
Written June 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

J4339UUmollys
3 contributions
Friends
Great trip to Pompeii ! Was super easy and they picked us up from near our Airbnb, our driver Domenico was so nice and gave us lots of great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. Tour around Pompeii was great but was slightly ruined by an inappropriate message from the guide afterwards. However still a great trip :)
Written June 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

laurent D
1 contribution
Friends
Our driver Dario was amazing, he knows every shortcuts and find always his way in Napoli. Made us discover the magnificent city of Napoli and the ruins of Pompei and Herculaneum as well as the vesuvio. That was quite intense days. Grazie mile Dario
Written April 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sarah C
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
Do not book with this company! We booked a 3-4 hour tour of Pompeii from Naples and were rushed through in an hour. The driver had to pick up the guide from the port of Naples, where we waited half an hour in the hot, old minivan for her to arrive. She didn’t introduce herself and made several phone calls during the drive to Pompeii. The driver sped and swerved all over the road, also using his phone during the trip. The guide rushed us through the site in just on an hour. She did point out some interesting sites, although we did not see the house of the tragic poet and the brothel as stated in the itinerary. We were told at the beginning of the tour that we would see the “famous” plaster bodies and the Pompeii dog, but the guide lied and said these areas were closed (we checked with Pompeii staff and they were not). We were only in Naples for two days, specifically to go to Pompeii, and will never get the chance to go again. The company deletes bad reviews on Facebook and isn’t interested in any of our complaints. Please don’t book anything with World Tours of Italy, you would be better off making your own way to Pompeii and wandering around yourself!
Written July 2, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Sarah, I am sorry that our Pompeii tour was different from what you were expected. We have the group tour in the excavations with an excellent guide that knows well the itineraries to follow especially if something changes during the day at the last moment. Pompeii is a site in continuous evolution but our customers have nothing to fear because all our guides are aware of what happens in the excavations minute by minute, much more than the official site or what you can find in Google, this is the reason why our guests rely on the care of local guides. I will give you two examples specifically and I am sure that you can understand what I am talking about, is not fair you said our guide lied because we do our best to make your visit enjoyable and please you can check on Google if I am lying right now: 1 Currently the excavations host the Naples Theater International Festival, this means that some houses are closed at the time to give the opportunity to the artists to rehearse the shows. 2 Famous and / or important personalities come to visit the excavations, Mattew McConaughey this week (can you imagine delirium) so the security closes some accesses to the streets, and we could watch without doing anything instead our guides promptly change itinerary without making you lose precious minutes of the visit. Also we are really interested in your complains because thanks to them we make our service better and reading your complain, I could suggest to you a private tour next time if you don't like to wait for other people. We use to call our group tour "Family" because for one day you are all togheter with a guide and as family we suppose to wait if someone goes to the rest rooms or if someone get lost in the ruins. I will be at your disposal if you have any further requests for clarification.
Written July 5, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bren T
2 contributions
Couples
Whatever you do, do NOT go on this tour. It is an absolute waste of money! First off, they were late picking us up, then they had us waiting in the souvenir shop/restaurant area for about 30 minutes before we got into Pompeii. The tour guide they provided could barely speak English, he repeated the same things over and over regarding how the roads were higher in the middle so that animal poop could be washed away by the rain. I understand that it is an interesting piece of knowledge but to repeat it several times in different areas of Pompeii was redundant. The guide himself powered through the tour, walking extremely quickly not giving us any time to take pictures or to enjoy the scenery. In fact we had an elderly couple from Australia who couldn't keep up and we lost them like 3 times! Several of us had to remind the guide that they were part of the tour and that he had to slow down. We didn't even see any of the frescos, and we only saw a single statue which was located at the entrance/exit of Pompeii!!!

Our "tour guide" was useless! We should have just wandered the ruins on our own!! Then after the tour we exited Pompeii but they made us wait for an hour in the same souvenir shop/restaurant place because they had to call the bus!! We specifically asked if we could spend more time in the ruins but they told us that the bus was parked and that we couldn't wait due to the high volume of tourist!! Couldn't wait???? Then why did they make us wait for an hour in the souvenir shop/ restaurant area??? If we had known we would have spent the time wandering the ruins!!! On top of that after the hour that we waited "for the bus" our guide took us to a "bonus" tour to try some lemon alcohol and some random shell carving demonstration. Aka it was to another souvenir shop to get us to buy some stupid trinket!!! Note this was NOT during the hour we were waiting but AFTER!!!!!! MEANING we probably spent 90 minutes in the souvenir shop after the tour. Add that to the 30 minutes we waited prior to entering we spent 2 hours in the souvenir shop!!!!!!!!! We could have wandered the ruins during that time!!!!! We spent more time in the stupid souvenir shop then we did in the actual ruins!!!!!! This was the worst tour I have ever been too!!!!! Do your self a favour find another tour group!!! Or take the red Napoli excursion bus (15 euro) to Pompeii!!! We had to pay our own entrance to Pompeii so it was the same thing!!!! In fact it would have been better because we could have wandered at our own pace and seen everything ourselves!!!

Let me repeat this tour was USELESS!!!!!! Do not waste your money on this tour. They must get some sort of kickbacks from the shops, why else would they make us spend so much time in the souvenir shop!! We spent more time in the stupid shops then we did in the ruins! The guide lied to us!! This "tour" ruined our trip (excuse the pun)!!! Do NOT spend the money. I'm so angry I'm posting this on every tourist site I can find, Expedia, Google, Viator, lonely planet, the worldtours website itself, every site I can find!!! This is how angry I am!! I willingly spent an hour when I returned to Canada I am finding and posting this review on every site I could find!!!!
Written August 29, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Bren, My name is Mafalda and I work in the WT staff. I am writing to reply to your review, saying first of all that we were very sorry that you did not appreciate the ruins of Pompeii and that you did not like our tour, one of the best sellers along with that of the Amalfi Coast. The first thing that catches my eye when I'm reading the review is not only that you did not like the tour but that something important happened that annoyed you. - Regarding the delays if there were any, they certainly do not depend on the company but on our customers, they are on holiday! Is a group tour and we go to take all the customers in the hotels and if someone leaves late, we wait for him but obviously we will be late for the next pick up. - Our guides are all qualified and qualified by the Italian Government, it is unthinkable that a guide does not speak English but what I can think is that perhaps there were many people in the excavations and then maybe you could not listen well to the guide but it would have been enough to get closer to understand better the history of Pompeii. - talking about the elderly couple who lost themselves in the excavations I can say Welcome to Pompeii, it is very famous to get lost in the ruins and you are always looking for someone or because they are elderly or because they are adventurers, but I repeat, it's a group tour and at that moment we are like a family, if someone gets lost the guide looks for him and the rest of the group has some time to take pictures. - Is the guide useless? I assure you that the guide in the excavations of Pompeii is not useless. I will repeat it to infinity, Pompeii is a whole city 64 to 67 ha. (170 acres) (660,000 square meters), wandering the ruins alone without an itinerary is not advisable, with a guide you can see the main things, the most important, the most significant. - After leaving the excavations we always give free time, customers are asking for it (you can imagine that time is money for a company would be better to return and end the tour) But our guests want to buy souvenirs, books, and especially go to the bathroom or take a bottle of water, eat something. Meanwhile, the guide calls the bus to get it in front of the ruins, because the parking areas you see in front of the excavations are not parking areas, are only for pick up and dropp off, means that we can only leave customers and go to resume them. Would you imagine a parking area right outside the ruins? This year the site had 3.4 million visitors, August 450,000 per day, you can not have buses and cars out of the ruins for this the bus must be called to come and pick you up. But this point is only for the benefit of our agency because many other agencies make their customers walk under the sun to reach the parking areas, we give free time and we come to pick you up under the excavations not a meter more. And with this I reconnect to the other point - free time can be spent as you wish but we also show you one of the historical shops of the site where you can make some free tasting of limoncello and liqueurs, enter and go out easy. Even the demonstration of the carving of the cameo and the processing of coral what she called stupid trinkets is one of the oldest working traditions of our region known all over the world and absolutely in line with the Pompeian culture. The live demonstration of these carvings is something really precious to see but is not forced to observe it at all. They are ideas (limoncello or coral) for the free time you have after visiting the ruins, nothing more. - you can choose to arrive in Pompeii with a private tour, with a taxi (they are quite expensive) or as you suggest you can take the red bus but clearly would not have the guide included (120.00 euros institutional fee for the guide only), would not have the skip the line to enter the excavations (she mentions having paid the ticket for entry, which is normal in my opinion) but the guide did give the ticket upon arrival in the excavations, you did not have to put in row and I remember 450,000 visitors a day, maybe get in line for an hour or more and wait to buy the ticket, that would have been a waste of time. I am still sorry that you did not take full advantage of the Pompeii site. We are always available for further clarification.
Written August 30, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AlexM120984
1 contribution
Solo
According to the website upon booking we would’ve had ear pieces to hear the guide. This did not happen. There was no communication on the bus and the tour operator did not point out any sites on the bus. Another guest asked about ear pieces and the guide said “the group size is small so we don’t need them”- we had 21 people in the tour. Other tour groups with even 8 or 9 people had ear pieces for hearing. It was very hard to hear the guide and we had to stop instead of having flow to hear what she was saying. There was one aspect of the tour we could not complete due to ‘timing’ and a ‘long que’ and needing to make it back.

What was worse, we left the Pompei site at 11:30am and then kept waiting till 12:10pm at the exit as our tour guide needed to ‘sort some things out’ and we were waiting on other people to join the tour group. No communication and we could have stayed in the museum to enjoy more time and see what we missed out on.

When we arrived st Mount Vesuvius we were told to go for 1hour and 45 minutes and be back at 3:45pm. We were told we would meet our guide near the top for our ‘archeological tour’. Once we hiked for 30 minutes there was no proper guide. Instead a guide that was for all the tourists to utilise was there but the next tour was not going for another 20 minutes. So we decided to self tour. Had we waited, we would’ve missed the time to be back and not had the opportunity to see the full site.

Very disappointing a number of things was promised, and that we were kept waiting for such a long period of time.

I was looking at other tours WorldTours did in Europe but will not use them and highly recommend doing your research, after doing the tour and seeing other tour operators it is certain there are many others that stick to what they say and deliver a better service
Written August 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Gilberto G
Buenos Aires, Argentina18 contributions
Solo
The ruins are impressive and worth visiting. The group tour (excluding travel time) is about 2 hours with a guide, and you are shown the cobbled streets and the ruins of different buildings, public and private. Sometimes, because of the good preservation under the ashes, and the restoration, it is difficult to believe that the whole city was buried 2,000 years ago by the eruption of the Mount Vesuvius. There are many fascinating details, including some that convey the sense of a sudden catastrophe (i.e. some plaster casts of buried victims). Unfortunately, WorldTours chose not to include in the visit the famous paintings that are well preserved and are one of the main attractions of Pompeii (without informing that in their advertising). When I protested to the guides, the only answer I got was that they were sympathetic, but these were the instructions they got from WorldTours. That half ruined my visit, and I will never use WorldTours again.
Written October 18, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Gilberto, We regret that you did not enjoy our tour but our guides are knowledgeable and they always offer the best service possible. In Pompeii, our tour guides always provide all infomation about the historical and cultural heritage of the site. Surely, the standard group tour inside the ruins lasts 2 hours but there is a schedule, which has to be followed. If some clients aim to spend more time inside the ruins, they can choose the private tour. We offer it as well in order to satisfy clients, who aim to learn more about Pompeii ruins. Kind regards, Maria
Written December 28, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 22
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide | Naples, Italy