Tours and Tickets

Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off provided by Madrid City Tour

Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off

Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off
3.5
Book in advance
from
$25.83
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Comprehensive hop-on hop-off tour of Madrid offers two route options
Duration:
1h 20m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Visit Madrid’s top sights with a 1- or 2-day, hop-on hop-off bus ticket that lets you see the city your way. Board the double-decker, open-top bus and set off on Route One, Route Two—or both. Learn about Madrid’s history using a complimentary, onboard headset. Disembark to visit museums, landmarks, plazas, and theaters, and explore the Spanish capital using the guidebook and map provided.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 20m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
Arabic, German, Chinese, Russian, Portuguese, Japanese, English, Italian, French, Dutch, Spanish
Highlights
  • See the city from an open-top bus and choose from several sightseeing stops
  • Select a 1-day or 2-day ticket to further customize your Madrid itinerary
  • Includes audio headset, tour stop guidebook, map, and attraction discounts
What to expect
Hop aboard an open-top, double-decker sightseeing bus frequently from morning to evening and set off on Route One or Route Two through Madrid. Choose a 1-day or 2-day ticket option and create your own experience by selecting from multiple available sights along two separate routes (single ticket valid for either route). Along the way, use your personal headset to hear commentary (available in several languages) about Madrid’s history and landmarks. On the Blue Route (Route One), take in old Madrid’s architecture and hop off at highlights such as the Prado Museum, the Royal Palace, and the Gran Vía promenade. Along the Green Route (Route Two), see modern Madrid’s Santiago Bernabéu stadium and explore one of the city’s ancient plazas like Puerta del Sol. Alternatively, remain onboard for the entire route and simply enjoy the scenery. Admission to sights is additional, but the tour includes discount vouchers for Madrid attractions, and a bus-stop guidebook and map.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 20m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
Arabic, German, Chinese, Russian, Portuguese, Japanese, English, Italian, French, Dutch, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • See the city from an open-top bus and choose from several sightseeing stops
  • Select a 1-day or 2-day ticket to further customize your Madrid itinerary
  • Includes audio headset, tour stop guidebook, map, and attraction discounts
What to expect
Hop aboard an open-top, double-decker sightseeing bus frequently from morning to evening and set off on Route One or Route Two through Madrid. Choose a 1-day or 2-day ticket option and create your own experience by selecting from multiple available sights along two separate routes (single ticket valid for either route). Along the way, use your personal headset to hear commentary (available in several languages) about Madrid’s history and landmarks. On the Blue Route (Route One), take in old Madrid’s architecture and hop off at highlights such as the Prado Museum, the Royal Palace, and the Gran Vía promenade. Along the Green Route (Route Two), see modern Madrid’s Santiago Bernabéu stadium and explore one of the city’s ancient plazas like Puerta del Sol. Alternatively, remain onboard for the entire route and simply enjoy the scenery. Admission to sights is additional, but the tour includes discount vouchers for Madrid attractions, and a bus-stop guidebook and map.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2140MADRIDHOPON
Important information
Inclusions
  • 1- or 2-day hop-on hop-off bus tour (depending on option selected)
  • Tour map/guidebook
  • Air-conditioned double-decker open top motor-coaches.
  • Multilingual digital audio system
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
Duration
1h 20m
Departure details
  • Location Name: You may board the Madrid hop-on hop-off tour at any of the stops around the city.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Buses are adapted for passengers with reduced mobility. The features include an automatic access ramp, reserved space for wheelchairs with safety clamps and fastenings, and an extended ramp and kneeling system to the right of the bus
  • Hop-on hop-off tickets are not available for infants aged from 0 to 6 years old, as passes are free of charge
  • Please note: the regular Madrid City Tour service may be affected due to ongoing events in the city, adverse traffic conditions or force majeure reasons out of our control.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
Inclusions
  • 1- or 2-day hop-on hop-off bus tour (depending on option selected)
  • Tour map/guidebook
  • Air-conditioned double-decker open top motor-coaches.
  • Multilingual digital audio system
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
Departure details
  • Location Name: You may board the Madrid hop-on hop-off tour at any of the stops around the city.
Duration
1h 20m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Buses are adapted for passengers with reduced mobility. The features include an automatic access ramp, reserved space for wheelchairs with safety clamps and fastenings, and an extended ramp and kneeling system to the right of the bus
  • Hop-on hop-off tickets are not available for infants aged from 0 to 6 years old, as passes are free of charge
  • Please note: the regular Madrid City Tour service may be affected due to ongoing events in the city, adverse traffic conditions or force majeure reasons out of our control.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Sep 22, 2020
A note from Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off
The safety of our passengers and employees has always been our key concern at Julià Travel. The fight against Covid-19 strengthens our commitment to safety and health. Therefore we have adapted our tours to avoid large crowds and we ensured that any places we visit follow high hygiene standards.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

3.5
898 reviews
Excellent
250
Very good
241
Average
141
Poor
106
Terrible
160

ANDREW G
Playa San Juan, Spain19 contributions
When we got to the ‘main office’ by the Prado museum, we noticed that our print out only showed one adult but we had booked online for two adults. We spoke with the member of staff in the kiosk and she checked on the computer and issued us tickets for two adults. Many thanks to ‘vendadora 50’ for being so helpful. We did both tours on the same morning and really enjoyed seeing the sights of Madrid from an open top bus. At some points the bus was full so it could not pick waiting people up which must have annoyed them but we got seats each time we wanted to get on board. Great value for money, many thanks!
Written May 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Taya C
1 contribution
We booked 1-day tickets and got disappointed because we faced many issues with the bus and could not enjoy the experience on fullest/wasted lots of time on waiting and such. However, after emailing the company, they offered us an extra free day so we can full-fill the trip. Luckily, we did have time next day, so took an offer. Customer service is kind and great if you communicate an issue well.

Talking about bus trip itself, I m not sure if it s a right thing to do in Madrid. Bus covers only the wide major streets, which are not the major representatives of Madrid. The overview tourist get is not ACTUAL Madrid's image, ( I ve been living here for 6 months now, parents were visiting for the first time, so we took the tour). Moreover, the audioguide represents the boring information, nothing is actually memorable.. aka "built this year by this person", no story behind, no interesting facts.

Also, the employees in the busses, who announce stops and check tickets, differ a lot. No service consistency. Some are way better than others; they tell what this stop is closer to, what metro we can take from here, where we can go and what to se... while others just announce the number of the station with no additional comments.

We ve taken such busses in different countries/cities, and have something to compare with. If you don't have that much time in Madrid, better walk by foot.

I leave 3 stars because the organisation in the bus was okey, it was clean, customer service and response was fast and kind, but I take away the score for the content of the trip.
Written February 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Debbie L
4 contributions
Family
Great way to get an overview of Madrid. However it is expensive as even if you extend for 2 days, it's for the two days, not 48 hours from when you buy the ticket like other buses. Also some of the stops are hard to find.
Written August 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Karina R
1 contribution
Couples
Awful service. I used Big Bus in both London and Paris and it worked great in terms of the app and frequency of the buses. City Tour Madrid on the other hand has a really poor app that does not have clear instructions about the stops. Also, the frequency of the buses is really awful. If one bus is full, you will have to wait 20-30 minutes for the next one to arrive. I would much rather use the subway
Written July 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

DHM1954
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom6 contributions
This was the worst city bus tour I have ever been on. Madrid is a lovely, interesting city with a rich history and crammed with beautiful architecture. The english audio commentary was pathetic with very sparse details interspersed with long periods of irritating, repetitive 'lift style' music. It was like being on hold to a telephone call centre! The commentator, when he did speak, spent more time telling us about his love of cats and hatred of dogs than about any of the buildings we were passing. It sounded very much like he was reading a script and had never actually visited the city. Even if there were streets with very few landmarks, that time could have been filled with items about the general history of the town. If any music was required at all, it could at least have been Spanish!
Written May 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear DHM1954, Thank you for taking the time to share this review, I truly regret you were not satisfied with Madrid City Tour audioguide, Bear in mind that our audio guides provide short descriptions of the sites viewed from our bus to give our customers a general idea of the city. Nevertheless, I will take you comments in consideration to see whether is room for improvement, Hope you did enjoy your stay in Madrid, Best regards
Written May 23, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bratislav V
Belgrade, Serbia30 contributions
Family
This was a first time that I use a hop on bus to see the city and now I'm aware what I missed many times earlier. Great opportunity to see all main things in a short time. Just one note... bus stations should be marked much better. I didn't start on a first station and I had a problem to find a station on the street.
Written August 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Donna D
Minneapolis, MN4 contributions
There should have been better communication. We were riding the bus on the day of a marathon so the bus didn't start running until 3pm which we knew in advance and understood. When we got to the normal pick up location, we were told to go to another location and then a 3rd location and then there was no room on the bus and we had to further wait. There was a lot of confusion among all of the people riding the bus. The ride itself was fine.
Written May 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JULIATRAVELBCN
Dear Donna D, I regret to learn the inconveniences you experienced while using Madrid City Tour, Even though we strive for all our clients to fully enjoy our service, due to the traffic affectation created by the Marathon our official stop was not able to be used at the beginning of the service on that date. Being a later starting time, the increase in the demand was difficult to foresee and this caused affectations on our bus’s frequency and occupancy. I am glad you could use and enjoy the service despite the initial issue. Best regards
Written May 19, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Walter S
Friendswood, TX24 contributions
For the uninitiated, get on the bus and move toward the interior, and there is an attendant to issue or validate your tickets.

Then, they will tell you if there is room on top, where you can see everything if the top is rolled back...which ours was.

A blitz riding tour of the city with an informative travelog in a dozen languages.

By the time you are back to where you started, you might feel like you Lil Orphan Annie eyes from all the sites....but an easy way to get a feel for the city and cheap if you are over 65 ( 9 Eu).
Written May 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

John G
London, UK12 contributions
We bought tickets and walked 8 minutes to the nearest stop (in winter they don't do the bigger circuit they do in the summer on route 1). We waited fifteen minutes in a long queue. A bus pulled up. A few people dismounted. A few were allowed on. We waited another fifteen minutes then the same thing happened again.
We decided to try again later and caught the metro instead.
After visiting la Reina Sofia we tried again to get a city tour. Exactly the same thing happened. Another half hour in the cold and two more buses we were not allowed to board. We asked to stand on the bus, but that was refused.
We were angry. The driver tried to 'shush' us. The tour guide simply told us to get off his bus.
I asked for a complaint form (one is referred to in the back of the map). He said we had to go to the office by stop one to get one. I tried to complain on Twitter, but city tours Madrid don't have an account.
They are running a wholly inadequate service that had us waste an hour of our time in Madrid standing in the cold and going nowhere. They surely know how many tickets they have sold and therefore what the demand will be - so they need to supply sufficient vehicles to meet that demand.
And clearly they don't want to hear from customers when they fail to provide the service expected. No email address is provided by the company, and no feedback requested.
They have a monopoly on bus tours in Madrid, so they can get away with this shoddy service without great of losing custom to rivals.
We are asked the tour guide how we get a refund. That wasn't something he could help with. We had to go back to the news stand where we bought it and try there.
The metro in Madrid is clean, fast, and efficient, with helpful staff. If you want to see the city use that, don't waste money on City Tours, a company that doesn't care about leaving customers standing in the cold, and doesn't want to know about it when they do.
Written January 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear John G, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Kindly take note that we only allow on board the maximum number of passengers permitted on board our buses per safety reasons. Additionally, as it is stated in our contract conditions the seats are not guaranteed as they are subject to availability. Even though we strive for all our clients to fully enjoy our service, there are time when the increase on the demand is difficult to foresee and this may cause affectations on our buses frequency. Sincerely, Antonio B.
Written January 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tv731
Flatts Village, Bermuda37 contributions
We always make it a point to take a hop on hop off bus when we travel. It is one of the best ways to get an quick overview of the city and feel instantly connected. In all of my years in doing this, I found this particular tour to be the worst one I have taken. Let me explain why.

We picked up the blue line on Calle Mayor near Plaza Mayor and waited 35 minutes. We were third on line and were lucky enough to get 2 seats together upstairs. Many others were not able to get on. There were no maps showing the bus routes; only a booklet with coupons. There were at least two stops that were filled with people waiting but they could not board the bus as it was already full. I felt bad for them as I knew that they probably would not be able to board the next bus either. Were they oversold for the day? Could they not anticipate this? It was a Monday and many museums were closed.

The audio was not good; neither was the actual narrative. At times the description of narrated sites did not coincide with what we were passing so it was difficult to identify them. At other times we passed important buildings but didnt know what they were because it wasnt mentioned. Honestly, it was confusing. As was the pop music played during the narrative breaks. How about some spanish guitar or flamenco? I felt totally disconnected from Madrid. We didnt bother to use our day 2 ticket. Take the metro instead or Cabify.
Written February 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear tv731, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I regret to learn the inconveniences you faced while using our service. Even though we revise our fleet frequently in order to assure the proper functioning of all the features, there are times were some technical issues may appear during the day. I deeply regret it happened while you were on board and were not able to fully enjoy what Madrid City Tour has to offer. I will transfer your feedback to our responsible department since this comments will allow us to keep improving our service. Sincerely, Antonio B.
Written February 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 613
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Madrid City Tour
SasidharanSreeja
SasidharanSreeja
00
Must Do
An easy way to see the city of course. We went around...saw the places and then, in coming days, went to these plac
Carlaluisamontevideo
Carlaluisamontevideo
00
Was there in 2017
An amazing opportunity to see the city and see the most iconic places here. It is educational, fun and of course af
Jean M
Jean M
00
The Best Way to Hop From Sight to Sight
Loved this service....and, with Madrid's traffic considered, it's the best way to maneuver about the city and not w
B3763ATmarkw
B3763ATmarkw
00
Poor trip
Don’t waste your money walk instead we paid 22 euros each there being three of us got half way round on the trip an
JohnDelafield
JohnDelafield
00
Waste of money
Paid 52 Euros. Waited twice during the day at different places while full buses went past. Pleaded to be let on to
Amedee170
Amedee170
00
Great tour of city and great way to find many sites and shopping through out Madrid.
This tour bus was really great. It takes you all over the city. You can have multiple dat rates. In all parts of th
bethl750
bethl750
00
Not worth it
We decided this would be the best way to see the city on our stop off before flying home. It wasn’t. It cost €22 ea
CesmeTraveller
CesmeTraveller
00
Good orientation tour
We were unfortunate in that our visit coincided with several protests and lots of road works which greatly slowed p
kathykagora
kathykagora
00
Poor Tour
THis tour is badly narrated and some significant bits were missing (not their fault - it was roadworks around the r
_A9127OK
_A9127OK
00
Crooks
They are crooks. We are waiting now the bus for 40 min . Two buses pass full of people. Dont prefer them
TravelRY2
TravelRY2
00
Unimpressed
Reliability very poor, quicker to walk than sit at bus pickup locations. I know traffic is busy but waited more tha
Lguerrac
Lguerrac
00
Poor quality and excessive waiting
Over 45min waiting to board a crowded bus with a poor audio guide and service. Not worth the money or the time. I
OlegBabakov
OlegBabakov
00
Poor details
It's ok if you don't expect a lot from audio guide. This one hasn't a lot of facts, only info like "was built by X
Bob M
Bob M
00
Says good till 10 pm it isn’t
They will let you on until 10:00 pm but they will drop you off wherever they are at that time. Very disappointing.
Kerry O
Kerry O
00
a great start to a great trip
I enjoy taking in the sites from atop a bus -- did it again in London last week. It gives newcomers a sense of whe
Frequently Asked Questions about Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off

During this experience, places you will visit include:Discover and book Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off on Tripadvisor

Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off price starts from $26.52. Discover and book Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off on Tripadvisor

Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off on Tripadvisor

Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off is hosted by Madrid City Tour. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Madrid City Tour on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Madrid City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off on Tripadvisor