Tours and Tickets

Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour provided by Julia Travel

Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour

Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour
3.5
Book in advance
from $122.43 per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
About
First-time visitors won’t want to miss this time-saving combo tour, which hits the Barcelona highlights in just one action-packed day. Spend the morning taking in city sights with a guide, including Barcelona Cathedral, Montjuïc Castle, the Gothic Quarter, Olympic Village, and Montjuïc cable car. Then, head out to the Abadia de Montserrat to ride a cogwheel train, sample local liquor, and see the iconic statue of the Black Madonna.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h 45m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h 45m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
See historic highlights of downtown Barcelona and Montserrat—in a day
Soak up sweeping views from Montjuïc cable car and the Montserrat railway
Hear about the miracles the Black Madonna allegedly worked from your guide
Taste a unique liqueur first crafted by the monks of Montserrat
What to expect
This super saver tour of Barcelona combines the city's top sights into one convenient, money-saving package. Whether you're a first-time visitor to Barcelona looking to get an overview of this unique Catalonian capital, or simply hoping to cover a lot of ground for one discounted price, this combined excursion is a great option. Start your morning by meeting your guide in central Barcelona. Proceed on a sightseeing tour of central Barcelona during the morning, including a stroll through the Gothic Quarter and a visit to Montjuic via the sky-high Montjuic cable car. Then in the afternoon, continue on to the mountaintop retreat of Montserrat just outside Barcelona proper, where you board a cog-wheel train to explore this unique pilgrimage site, including its 12th-century Romanesque carving of the Virgen Moroneta (Black Virgin). For full details of your day-long excursion, read the full itinerary below.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2140BCNMONT
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Air-conditioned vehicle • Bilingual local guide • Montserrat cog-wheel train ride • Taste of 4 typical liquors of the area. • Radio guide system. • Montjuïc cable car ride. • Entrance to the audio visual “Espai Audio visual Montserrat” exhibition in Montserrat. • Entrance fee to The Cathedral. • Entry/Admission - Barcelona Cathedral • Entry/Admission - Abadia de Montserrat
Exclusions
Gratuities • Hotel pickup and drop-off • Food and drinks, unless specified
Duration
10h 45m
Departure details
Carrer d'Alí Bei, 54, 08013 Barcelona, Spain Julià Travel Office
Inclusions
Air-conditioned vehicle • Bilingual local guide • Montserrat cog-wheel train ride • Taste of 4 typical liquors of the area. • Radio guide system. • Montjuïc cable car ride. • Entrance to the audio visual “Espai Audio visual Montserrat” exhibition in Montserrat. • Entrance fee to The Cathedral. • Entry/Admission - Barcelona Cathedral • Entry/Admission - Abadia de Montserrat
Exclusions
Gratuities • Hotel pickup and drop-off • Food and drinks, unless specified
Departure details
Carrer d'Alí Bei, 54, 08013 Barcelona, Spain Julià Travel Office
Duration
10h 45m
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Not wheelchair accessible
Infants travel free provided they do not occupy a seat.
You have approximately 1 hour and 15 min of free time for lunch (from April to October) and 30 min (from November to March) between both parts of the excursions. Lunch not included.
From the end of January to the beginning of March (dates to be confirmed) the cable car doesn't work due to maintenance tasks, this service will be replaced by a tapas tasting at the Spanish Village.
Proper dress code is requested to enter the Basilica at Montserrat. It is not permitted to enter with tank tops, strapless shirts, short shorts or flip flops.
At Montserrat there is a mountains climate, depending on the season you will need clothes protecting you from the rain and/or cold.
Failure to show up at the established check-in time may entail losing the tour.
The duration of the tour includes the round trip to the destination.
Near public transportation
Infants must sit on laps
Please note that the itinerary is subject to change due to the events to be celebrated in the City (demonstrations, sport events, cultural events, oficial acts and public works).
Queues to see the Black Madonna may occur depending on season.
Most travelers can participate
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Carrer d'Alí Bei, 54
    Carrer d'Alí Bei, 54, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
    Julià Travel Office
    See address & details
  • 1
    Gothic Quarter (Barri Gotic)
    Stop: 2 hours
    See details
  • 2
    Barcelona Cathedral
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Passeig de Gracia
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Casa Batlló
    Casa Mila - La Pedrera
    Barceloneta
  • 4
    Abadia de Montserrat
    Stop: 3 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Carrer d'Alí Bei, 54
    Carrer d'Alí Bei, 54, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
    Julià Travel Office
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

3.5
9 reviews
Excellent
4
Very good
0
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
2

Rinki D
Clarksville, MD31 contributions
Bad experience with Julia travel
This has been my own experience that they made me miss my visit to montserrat as their staff are not trained and dont take their job seriously. Stay away from them.
Written November 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear RinkiD19, I wold like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. I regret that the organisation of our tour failed you to enjoy the visit to Montserrat. Bear in mind that as per our contract conditions all customers have to be at the meeting point 15 minutes’ prior the start of the tour in order to prevent them to miss their visit. Kindly take note that we strive to provide the best customer service possible and your comments will be transferred to the corresponding department to take them into account. Sincerely, Alex B.
Written November 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Companion741716
1 contribution
nice place to visit
Sep 2019
Julia Travel seem to be going to few changes. their travel agency seems to be very unorganized. we did not get what we were told during our tour.
Written November 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Companion741716, Thank you for sharing your experience. I regret to learn that the explanations during the tour did not meet your expectations. I will transfer your comments to the corresponding team in order to ensure the improvement of the information provided during our tours. Sincerely Alex B.
Written November 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ACepero79
1 contribution
Barcelona Highlights Tour
Oct 2019 • Couples
This tour begins with a walking tour of the Gothic Architecture near the Plaza de Catalunya - notably the Barcelona Cathedral. From the plaza, you board a bus that tours throughout the city to a fort that sits atop the city. The views are spectacular. The tour ends with a site of the Olympic stadiums and the museum.

Aaron was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge of the history and charms of the city. You won’t regret the opportunity to experience the highlights of Barcelona with him leading the pack.
Written October 31, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

stracq
Lawrenceville, NJ22 contributions
Worth visit to Montserrat
Because we also did hop on hop off, the first half of tour was uneventful and a waste of our time. The stop at the Spanish Village was not needed and you get maybe 10 minutes at Montjuic.
But...do not miss Montserrat. Incredible! I would just do it with another combo.
Written March 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Stracq, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our Montserrat half day tour. After reading your commentaries I regret you did not enjoy the first part of your combo tour through the city of Barcelona. Rest assured your opinion will be taken into account and transferred to our Barcelona manager to see if there is room for improvement for the Spanish Village part. Furthermore, I am pleased you did enjoy the afternoon part of the tour to Montserrat. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Barcelona. Best regards, Alex B
Written March 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Suellen F
March, UK125 contributions
Barcelona Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat
Well what can i say but amazing. The tour is very interesting as you pass by the most known parts of Barcelona. As youre on the bus you can't really take pictures as the bus doesnt stop but you can still have a feel of Barcelona. Cable car to Montjuic amazing and its a most. Our tour guide Cecília was amazing always making sure that we were ok and giving alot of info on Barcelonas history. Spanish Village beautiful would recommend it.
Montserrat breathtaking views also alot of history a few things to do and see while you're there.
Would definitely recommend this tour if you're in Barcelona for a short visit.
Thank you Cecilia
Thank you Barcelona
Written November 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

khaliljaan
Los Angeles, CA7 contributions
Montserrat
Jul 2018
At Placa Espanya just go into the metro (get there about 15-20 mins before train departure, if you miss the train you will have to sit there for the next hour), find signs for Montserrat and follow. Buy tix from machine or "information" desk for montserrat.
Written August 2, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David G
21 contributions
Was way worth the price and do not miss this
Fantastic day trip up to the mountain and arrived by bus and the took cable train up to the Monastery. We toured the entire Church and had some samples of the brandy. Wonderful facilities and most of all a great guide who explained in detail the churches role and existing day to day routine of the Monks. Also we were shown a great film and again the trip was a must do
Written July 21, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear David G, Thank you for sharing your feedback on our Montserrat tour. I am delighted to read your experience with us was so fantastic. We strive to share this wonderful location with our customers for them to enjoy it the most. Regarding your comments on our guide I will make sure to personally pass your compliments along to our guide. I hope to be able to welcome you back again in one of our tours on your next visit to Barcelona. Kind regards, Edgar W
Written July 26, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian V
Squamish, Canada75 contributions
A mixed bag
Jul 2017 • Couples
My wife and I booked the Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour. Our impression: a very mixed bag. The first half of our trip, which included a Barcelona city highlights tour, along with a cable car trip up to Montjuic was poorly organized. Our tour guide was not just lacklustre. She repeatedly failed to communicate clearly with us about where and when to meet when we made stops along the way. Overall, we were quite disappointed with this leg of our tour.

The second half of our tour - a trip to to Montserrat, was fabulous. Our guide, Giovanna, was very engaging, knowledgeable, and provided very clear directions. We enjoyed our tour of Monserrat immensely.
Written July 9, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sanju J
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
Terrible tour agents
Dec 2013 • Family
Julia travels was not able to provide the Barcelona Super Saver : Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour on 26th December 2013 as promised.

We were directly pushed to the Montserrat Tour instead with no explanation from the Julia staff. Once the tour started and we understood that the tour was not the one we were promised, we were then "informed" that 26th December is a partial holiday in Barcelona and theyhad provided us the morning Montserrat Tour instead (without the cog wheel train option) which costs 55 Euros per person. We had paid 98 Euros per person for the combined Montjuic and Montserrat tour. We felt that Julia travel staff were trying to cheat us by not informing us about this change in tour activity in the first place.

Julia travels personnel were rude and refused to take any responsibility in the matter. They talked to us as if it was our mistake and the fault of out travel agent through which we booked this tour. The staff at the Julia travels travel desk have no customer service skills whatsoever and have a very bad attitude.
Written January 4, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Julia Travel
Navigator510701
Navigator510701
00
They want just much money as possibile
They are just selling the player experience with the walk on the pitch and in the same Moment they rent the pitch f
globaltraveler85
globaltraveler85
00
Amazing tour of a spectacular church
The guide was SO informative and interesting. You get to see the whole church, skip the long line and learn a ton o
BDavis1236
BDavis1236
00
Life savers
We went with them on a very nice bus tour to Girona and to the Dali Museum, when a protest by Catalonian nationalis
Departure03093635734
Departure03093635734
00
Very dissappointing second visit
Guide was not very good, mumbled a lot and therefore was hard to understand. This was our second visit, so we knew
CazzaHayes
CazzaHayes
00
Barcelona from the top of a bus
This turned out to be a really good way to get a feel for the city on the first afternoon so scope out where to ret
Mike P
Mike P
00
Lovely day out
A great and interactive tour. A great day out with the family. Many of the areas in the stadium are under the canop
Andyf64a
Andyf64a
00
Fantastic
We did both routes the day before the shut down of Barcelona and so glad we did. Great way to see all the sites and
Selohe15
Selohe15
00
Great Experience
We used the bus services last month while visiting Barcelona. Great prices for two day use. At the end of the first
marshar655
marshar655
00
AMAZING!!!!!
We saw the game on Friday and then we did this tour on Saturday. It was amazing!!!! This is a must do in Barcelona!
marshar655
marshar655
00
You can see everything!!!!
Best way around town for sure. Audio is provided and you learn history as you drive all over Barcelona. This was ou
Suhairalsaad
Suhairalsaad
00
Segrada Familia great architecture
Nice place to visit and see the 19 th century beautiful architecture. The place is surrounded by excellent resturan
Jan S
Jan S
00
Great way to see the city
Gives you a great view of the city and its highlights with an emphasis of things you want to come back and visit in
T3825UVdaveb
T3825UVdaveb
00
Excellent Tour of a wonderful place
Well worth the visit and price of tour with guide. This is a very unique building not available any where else in t
M9778QJteresan
M9778QJteresan
00
Hop-On Hop-Off Barcelona City Tour Julia Travel
Dreadful do not do it! 1). We didn't know that there was more than one company doing the bus tours in Barcelona. A
Fearless627267
Fearless627267
00
Dreadful do it yourself
This is not a tour with a guide of any sorts just a pre recorded tape that sounds as though was recorded twenty yea
Frequently Asked Questions about Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour

Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour will start at 8:15 AM. Discover and book Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour on Tripadvisor


Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour price starts from $121.90. Discover and book Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour on Tripadvisor

Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Barcelona Combo: Highlights Barcelona and Montserrat Sightseeing Tour on Tripadvisor