Tours and Tickets

Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour provided by Willi Ostermann Brunnen, Köln-Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour

Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour
4.5
Book in advance
from
$43.64
per adult (price varies by group size)
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
90% of travelers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
2–6 hours
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Service animals allowed
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    2–6 hours
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Service animals allowed
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2-6 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2-6 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 86919P20
Important information
Inclusions
  • Local guide "Lokafyer"
  • Customized private walking tour
Exclusions
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips and gratuities (optional)
  • Optional activity costs
  • Food and drinks
  • Transportation to/from attractions (It’s a walking tour, car transportation isn’t included)
Duration
2–6 hours
Departure details
  • Willi-Ostermann-Brunnen, Köln-Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany Travelers can request the tour to start from any centrally located hotel. In case your hotel is outside the city center we will select a convenient meeting point in the city center.Tour may end at a different location from the departure point unless requested in advance of the tour.
  • Cologne, Germany Tour may end at a different location from the departure point, unless requested in advance of the tour.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Lokafy tours provide a general overview of the city with practical information from a local’s perspective, not detailed historical facts
  • In case travellers would like to include a visit to an attraction, they would need to cover the cost of entrance for themselves and also the Lokafyer (local guide)
  • Tours are entirely personalized, please provide the start time, meeting place and information about you so that we can organize the tour
  • This is a walking tour. We recommend wearing comfortable shoes
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Children below 3 years old are free of charge
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Inclusions
  • Local guide "Lokafyer"
  • Customized private walking tour
Exclusions
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips and gratuities (optional)
  • Optional activity costs
  • Food and drinks
  • Transportation to/from attractions (It’s a walking tour, car transportation isn’t included)
Departure details
  • Willi-Ostermann-Brunnen, Köln-Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany Travelers can request the tour to start from any centrally located hotel. In case your hotel is outside the city center we will select a convenient meeting point in the city center.Tour may end at a different location from the departure point unless requested in advance of the tour.
  • Cologne, Germany Tour may end at a different location from the departure point, unless requested in advance of the tour.
Duration
2–6 hours
Return details
  • Cologne, Germany Tour may end at a different location from the departure point, unless requested in advance of the tour.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Lokafy tours provide a general overview of the city with practical information from a local’s perspective, not detailed historical facts
  • In case travellers would like to include a visit to an attraction, they would need to cover the cost of entrance for themselves and also the Lokafyer (local guide)
  • Tours are entirely personalized, please provide the start time, meeting place and information about you so that we can organize the tour
  • This is a walking tour. We recommend wearing comfortable shoes
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Children below 3 years old are free of charge
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Willi-Ostermann-Brunnen
    Köln-Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany
    Travelers can request the tour to start from any centrally located hotel. In case your hotel is outside the city center we will select a convenient meeting point in the city center.Tour may end at a different location from the departure point unless requested in advance of the tour.
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Willi Ostermann Monument
  • You'll end at
    Cologne
    Cologne, Germany
    Tour may end at a different location from the departure point, unless requested in advance of the tour.
    See address & details
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
10 reviews
Excellent
8
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Anderson Pustam
London, UK2 contributions
We are Londoner and experienced travellers. Tourguide was very friendly. But i think there were communication misunderstanding. We asked to do food tour. To taste cologne local food. The person did walk us to the places and tell us about trying here. But no tasting lol. We were sooooo hungry we had to go to grocery and buy food. Lol..we were laughing as after 2 hrs of walking around..we were tired and HANGRY
Written April 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Paul M
Liverpool, UK2 contributions
Feb 2020
What a fabulous experience this was with Dirk - 2 hours + of the sites around Cologne. Dirk is so friendly and knowledgeable about the city the 2 hours just flew by.

This tour is highly recommended - I went around with Dirk on my own but this would also be ideal for couples or small groups.

A great experience - Thanks Dirk.
Written March 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate786556
Hello, Hope you are well. We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We do not get automatic notifications for reviews on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing this wonderful review with us here. We're so glad to hear you had a wonderful experience with our Lokafyer Dirk. The aim behind Lokafy is to connect travelers with locals for an authentic experience where they can not only know the city from their perspective but can also connect on a personal level. Just like having a friend showing you around the city. Although our Lokafyers are not professional tour guides, some of them are passionate about history.The uniqueness of our tours is that you can customize the itinerary according to your preference and schedule. It's great that our Lokafyer was able to show you different places in the city and it also made your stay in the city memorable. We appreciate you recommending our tours highly. Lokafy tours are offered in more than 300+ cities around the world and Our global community of Lokafyers speaks many languages, so please get in touch with us next time you travel - we look forward to organizing your next adventure! Safe travels, Regards, Vinita Lokafy.com
Written February 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sarah Elizabeth
Nokesville, VA11 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
I knew as soon as Timm suggested an easier meetup point and a more convenient time (because we were only stopping for a train (ICE layover) that he would be a wonderful guide... and he didn’t disappoint! Cologne is little compared to other cities, but it is truly a beautiful place, however without the tour we would have missed out on so much!

We booked a 3 hour tour and specifically requested it to be focused on the Cologne Cathedral. Timm took us through the cathedral (and tomb under the cathedral) and gave us lots of interesting history, he then took us to a rooftop viewing building across the bridge to see the church and entire city.... so lovely! It was a beautiful sunny day after a series of dark days so we felt so lucky! Add in that the city was preparing for “Carnival” and we had so much local entertainment.

We truly knew nothing when we stopped over however by the time we left we had a good understanding of the city and it’s history and beauty. Highly recommend.
Check out our photos, Timm is a great photographer and took us to the best locations. I made sure to snap a few of him as well! He is the young guy in the blue jacket! Thanks Timm!
Written January 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate786556
Hello Sarah, Hope you are well. We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We do not get automatic notifications for reviews on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing this wonderful review with us here. We're so glad to hear you had a wonderful experience with our Lokafyer Timm. He was really happy to read your review and shared the feeling was mutual after meeting you both. The aim behind Lokafy is to connect travelers with locals for an authentic experience where they can not only know the city from their perspective but can also connect on a personal level. Just like having a friend showing you around the city. Although our Lokafyers are not professional tour guides, some of them are passionate about history.The uniqueness of our tours is that you can customize the itinerary according to your preference and schedule. It's great that our Lokafyer was able to show you different places in the city and it also made your stay in the city memorable. We appreciate you recommending our tours highly. We would also love to see your photos from the tour. Unfortunately they are not visible here. If possible, could you please send them at info@lokafy.com ? Lokafy tours are offered in more than 300+ cities around the world and Our global community of Lokafyers speaks many languages, so please get in touch with us next time you travel - we look forward to organizing your next adventure! Safe travels, Regards, Vinita Lokafy.com
Written February 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

sungirl57_11
Oak Park, CA17 contributions
Jan 2020
I feel so fortunate to have spent the day exploring and learning about the city of Cologne with Dirk as my guide. He inquired about my interests beforehand and then planned the perfect tour to explore all of the intricacies that I would never have found on my own. He is extremely knowledgable about the Roman and French history, the culture, the architecture, the religion, the politics, and all of the stories that make this incredible city come alive. I now have new eyes to see how much there is to explore in Cologne. I enjoyed my time with Dirk very much and would give him my highest recommendation.
Written January 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate786556
Hello Julie, Hope you are well. We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We do not get automatic notifications for reviews on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing this wonderful review with us here. We're so glad to hear you had a wonderful experience with our Lokafyer Dirk. He is indeed really passionate about history. The aim behind Lokafy is to connect travelers with locals for an authentic experience where they can not only know the city from their perspective but can also connect on a personal level. Just like having a friend showing you around the city. Although our Lokafyers are not professional tour guides, some of them are passionate about history.The uniqueness of our tours is that you can customize the itinerary according to your preference and schedule. It's great that our Lokafyer was able to show you different places in the city and it also made your stay in the city memorable. We appreciate you recommending our tours highly. Lokafy tours are offered in more than 300+ cities around the world and Our global community of Lokafyers speaks many languages, so please get in touch with us next time you travel - we look forward to organizing your next adventure! Safe travels, Regards, Vinita Lokafy.com
Written February 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Zulu_Warrior77
South Milford, UK14 contributions
Dec 2019
Our tour with Dirk gave us a great insight into, and orientation of, Cologne and it was exactly what we were hoping for. Once we had booked Dirk contacted us directly via email to get a little more information about ourselves and ask what we wanted to cover on the tour and to arrange a meeting place. Fortunately our hotel was close to the city centre and Dirk met us in the hotel foyer promptly at the arranged time. Before starting we again went over what we wanted to see however we pretty much left it to Dirk. Clearly, he has great knowledge of all aspects of Cologne and its history and we were fully satisfied with the tour's content. We particularly appreciated the time taken to give us an unrushed tour of the magnificent cathedral and this was a highlight. We visted several churches ( and although Cologne is a bustling city there are sanctuaries to be found and we discovered some hidden gems). As requested, Dirk pointed out recommended eateries and breweries away from the tourist trail and locations where the Christmas markets could be found. The entire tour was filled information, history and recommendations which we then passed the remaining two days we spent in Cologne following-up. Dirk was friendly and clearly has a passion for his home city which he genuinely wants visitors to enjoy. We were so happy to have met him and without him I am sure that we would missed many of the interesting places we visited and their significance. We have no hesitation in recommending Lokafy to all travellers interested an authentic tour of a city. Thank you Lokafy and thank you Dirk.
Written December 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate786556
Hello Zulu, Hope you are well. We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We do not get automatic notifications for reviews on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing this wonderful review with us here. We're so glad to hear you had a wonderful experience with our Lokafyer Dirk in Cologne and Lokafy overall. The aim behind Lokafy is to connect travelers with locals for an authentic experience where they can not only know the city from their perspective but can also connect on a personal level. Just like having a friend showing you around the city. Although our Lokafyers are not professional tour guides, some of them are passionate about history.The uniqueness of our tours is that you can customize the itinerary according to your preference and schedule. It's great that our Lokafyer was able to show you different places in the city and it also made your stay in the city memorable. We appreciate you recommending our tours highly. Lokafy tours are offered in more than 300+ cities around the world and Our global community of Lokafyers speaks many languages, so please get in touch with us next time you travel - we look forward to organizing your next adventure! Safe travels, Regards, Vinita Lokafy.com
Written February 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tom K
3 contributions
Nov 2019 • Couples
Our tour with Dirk was amazing. He showed us the sites based on what we sent to him ahead of time. He threw in a bunch of other points of interest-don't miss the Farina (eau de Cologne) museum.

He knew so much about the area - the time spent with him made the rest of the time much more enjoyable knowing more about Cologne's history.

Recommend the personal guide and Dirk to anyone.
Written November 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate786556
Hi Tom, Hope you are well. We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We do not get automatic notifications for reviews on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing this wonderful review with us. As we customize each tour, we consider each travelers' preferences while matching them with our Lokafyers, and I'm glad you had a great time exploring the city together with your Lokafyer Dirk. The aim behind Lokafy is to connect travelers with locals for an authentic experience where they can not only know the city from their perspective but can also connect on a personal level. Just like having a friend showing you around the city. Although our Lokafyers are not professional tour guides, some of them are passionate about history. The uniqueness of our tours is that you can customize the itinerary according to your preference and schedule. It's great that our Lokafyer was able to show you different places in the city and it also made your stay in the city memorable. We appreciate you recommending our tours highly. In the years since your last tour, we have expanded a lot, and now offer Lokafy tours in almost 300+ cities around the world. Our global community of Lokafyers speaks many languages, so please get in touch with us next time you travel - we look forward to organizing your next adventure! Safe travels, Regards, Vinita Lokafy.com
Written February 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

LAClovey
Rock Hill, NY13 contributions
This was our favorite tour while in Germany. Dirk’s knowledge of the city made this the best tour we’ve experienced. I wish he could’ve come with us through Europe. Although a lot of walking that day it was well worth it. Made us fall in love with the city of Cologne.
Written August 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate786556
Hi Lac, Hope you are well. We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We do not get automatic notifications for reviews on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing this wonderful review with us. As we customize each tour, we consider each travelers' preferences while matching them with our Lokafyers, and I'm glad you had a great time exploring the city together with your Lokafyer Dirk. He was really happy to read the tour with him brought the city closer to you and you fell in love with Cologne. The aim behind Lokafy is to connect travelers with locals for an authentic experience where they can not only know the city from their perspective but can also connect on a personal level. Just like having a friend showing you around the city. Although our Lokafyers are not professional tour guides, some of them are passionate about history. The uniqueness of our tours is that you can customize the itinerary according to your preference and schedule. It's great that our Lokafyer was able to show you different places in the city and it also made your stay in the city memorable. We appreciate you recommending our tours highly. In the years since your last tour, we have expanded a lot, and now offer Lokafy tours in almost 300+ cities around the world. Our global community of Lokafyers speaks many languages, so please get in touch with us next time you travel - we look forward to organizing your next adventure! Safe travels, Regards, Vinita Lokafy.com
Written February 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Wicky16
Cologne, Germany6 contributions
Sep 2018 • Couples
Dirk unser Guide hat uns das echte Köln näher gebracht. Wir haben viel Neues und Interessantes erfahren. Dirk kann man nur weiterempfehlen. Vielen Dank für Alles!
Dirk our guide has brought us closer to the real Cologne. We learned a lot of new and interesting things. Dirk can only be recommended. Many thanks for everything!
Written June 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate786556
Hallo Gipsy, Ich hoffe, es geht Ihnen gut. Wir entschuldigen uns für die Verzögerung bei der Beantwortung Ihrer Bewertung. Wir erhalten keine automatischen Benachrichtigungen für Bewertungen auf Trip Advisor. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie diese wunderbare Bewertung mit uns teilen. Da wir jede Tour individuell gestalten, berücksichtigen wir die Vorlieben jedes einzelnen Reisenden, während wir ihn mit unseren Lokafyers zusammenbringen, und ich freue mich, dass Sie eine tolle Zeit hatten, die Stadt zusammen mit Ihrem Lokafyer zu erkunden. Das Ziel von Lokafy ist es, Reisende mit Einheimischen zusammenzubringen, um ihnen ein authentisches Erlebnis zu bieten, bei dem sie nicht nur die Stadt aus ihrer Perspektive kennenlernen, sondern auch auf einer persönlichen Ebene in Kontakt treten können. So als hätte man einen Freund, der einem die Stadt zeigt. Obwohl unsere Lokafyers keine professionellen Reiseleiter sind, haben einige von ihnen eine Leidenschaft für Geschichte. Das Einzigartige an unseren Touren ist, dass Sie die Route nach Ihren Wünschen und Ihrem Zeitplan gestalten können. Es ist toll, dass unser Lokafyer Ihnen verschiedene Orte in der Stadt zeigen konnte und Ihren Aufenthalt in der Stadt unvergesslich gemacht hat. Wir schätzen es sehr, dass Sie unsere Touren weiterempfehlen. In den Jahren seit Ihrer letzten Tour haben wir uns stark vergrößert und bieten nun Lokafy Touren in fast 300+ Städten auf der ganzen Welt an. Unsere globale Gemeinschaft von Lokafyers spricht viele Sprachen, also kontaktieren Sie uns bitte bei Ihrer nächsten Reise - wir freuen uns darauf, Ihr nächstes Abenteuer zu organisieren! Gute Reise, Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Vinita Lokafy.com
Written February 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frequently Asked Questions about Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour


Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour price starts from $43.57. Discover and book Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour on Tripadvisor

Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour on Tripadvisor

Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour is hosted by Willi Ostermann Brunnen, Köln-Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Willi Ostermann Brunnen, Köln-Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Cologne Like a Local: Customized Private Tour on Tripadvisor