We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A half day in Dublin with a local: private & personalized

Save
Share
Select Date and Travelers
From
$106.46
(Price varies by group size)
Date
2 travelers
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Overview
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Join a like-minded Local Host to explore the heart of the city and see the most famous sights, the area you’re staying in or an off the beaten path neighbourhood - the city is yours to discover and your local will design an experience that’s fully personalised to what you’d like to explore!Immerse yourself in the culture of the city and discover its rich history and the communities who have influenced the way of life here as you visit famous attractions and historic landmarks from Trinity College to Kilmainham Gaol, and the hidden gems in between!As well as visiting the places you most want to see, stop by local spots and places of interest along the way as you stroll through the lively heart of the city and your local shares hidden gems and stories with you. Your Local Host will also advise you on the best way to spend the following days of your trip, allowing you to discover other areas of the city that you will love and sharing their recommendations for where to eat, drink and enjoy Dublin’s culture like a local.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Dublin, Ireland

    Traveler pickup is offered
    Once you have booked your experience, we will be in touch in order to finalise the meeting point details with you. We can arrange pick up from hotels and other locations in the centre of the city. Your meeting point must be confirmed and agreed by the experience planners in advance. This is a walking experience, so your host will meet you on foot
    Departure Time
    Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.

    4/9/2018 - 4/9/2019Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 08:00 PM

    4/10/2019 - 12/31/2023Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 08:00 PM
    Duration
    4h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Private and personalised experience
    • 4 hours with a Local Host
    • Walking experience (if required, your host can suggest public transport or private taxi options)
    • Hotel meet-up (available on request for central location)
    Exclusions
    • Food and drinks
    • Tickets to any attractions
    • Transportation costs
    • Gratuities
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Itineraries are fully personalized so any additional requirements like tickets, transportation and food & drinks can be arranged for an additional cost
    • Private groups are normally no larger than 6 people (if your group is larger, please make this known so that arrangements can be made)
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    2Reviews0Q&A
    Traveler rating
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    • 1
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    Margaret was a great host! We had a very enjoyable day walking around Dublin and getting to know the area! I would highly recommend her and this walking tour.
    Read more
    It was a waste of my time and money! I want my money refunded ! Was she really a guide???? Knew nothing was not forthcoming could hardly speak proper English!!!! I knew more about the city than she did ! Kept quiet the whole time. I let her go after 2 hrs !!! Could not bear to
    Read more
    Response from AnnaK17201, General Manager at A half day in Dublin with a local: private & personalized
    Responded Aug 11, 2019
    Dear Zehra, I am so sorry to hear that your City Unscripted experience in Dublin was a disappointment. We appreciate that you got in touch with us straight after the experience and gave the team a chance to solve any problems. This way we can make sure that similar situations won’t occur in the future. After your email we got in touch with your host for further information. The host told us that they planned the experience according to what you had and hadn’t already seen in the city. Having already toured the city the day before our experience, you might have already seen the places our host was planning on showing. The introductory email you received from the host prior to the experience could have been more detailed and clear, and this would have allowed the host to manage your expectations for the experience and Dublin as a city better. With this being said, I would like to clarify that here in City Unscripted we don’t have “tour guides” but rather friendly and knowledgeable locals who know their city by heart. I am sorry if there was any confusion regarding this. The diversity of our hosts across across all of our cities is one of the things we pride ourselves on the most. These “hosts” can take you off-the-beaten-path and give you an insider’s view of the city. Hopefully with the refund you received you’ll be willing to give us another chance in any of our 40+ cities. We would love to make this up to you! Best regards, Sonja Mursula Customer Happiness Manager City Unscripted
    Read more
    About the operator

    This experience only has a few reviews, but you can read what other travelers have to say about the operator.

    By: City Unscripted
    27 reviews
    Bobbi C
    22
    Best
    Best visit and host! My host was had great knowledge of the city and was wonderful. I would highly recommend the
    Read more
    onetireddaddy
    20
    A great day!
    Conor was the best! He was a superb guide and driver. His local knowledge of the area made our day that much
    Read more
    Greenrambler1234
    Calgary
    102
    The best way to learn about Dublin and find some hidden gems too.
    This was a highlight of our trip to Ireland. Conor was an absolutely fantastic guide. His knowledge of the
    Read more
    Beaconsfield-1
    Montreal
    115
    Money wasted
    The activity did not meet our expectations. The guide was a wonderful person and we had a great interaction, but
    Read more
    CHRISTINE C
    30
    Literary Dublin
    Kevin Flood led us on a wonderful walking tour, including a Seamus Heaney exhibit we wouldn’t have found, and
    Read more
    g v
    Saint Louis, Missouri
    85
    Tour of Dublin
    Our experience with the guide was okay. I was disappointed in the fact that he seemed unprepared for our tour. I
    Read more
    Dusty S
    20
    Dublin
    Margaret was a great host! We had a very enjoyable day walking around Dublin and getting to know the area! I
    Read more
    Zsófia S
    London, United Kingdom
    5924
    Private tour with Aurora Procopio
    I've booked a tour for a friend who went to spend a few weeks learning English in Dublin. I've asked City
    Read more
    Ildi27
    10
    Good decision
    I wanted to learn a bit about the practicalities around the city: orientation, the use of public transportation,
    Read more
    Reelmommy3
    Woodbridge, VA
    185
    The Only Way to do a real pub crawl in Dublin
    Thru our many years of traveling we’ve found the only way to even get close to the culture of a place is by a
    Read more
    Sean M
    10
    5quests
    5quests was great and our games master Harry was a very good games master I loved the wizards castle room thx a lot
    Read more
    1765
    326
    Walking Tour with Charley
    Bob and I want to thank Charley for such a delightful tour of Dublin. Having just come off a long plane ride, it
    Read more
    Zehra H
    10
    Dr.
    It was a waste of my time and money! I want my money refunded ! Was she really a guide???? Knew nothing was not
    Read more
    marysya818
    Los Angeles, California
    913
    Worse tour ever
    Hello, we are very dissatisfied and disappointed in our tour today with guide Razwan Akhtar. We have never had
    Read more
    gpierce447
    Rockford, Illinois
    195
    Dublin Overview
    Lia was an excellent guide giving us a great overview of the city along with some interesting facts and
    Read more
    Key Details
    • City Unscripted
    • Duration: 4h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
    Frequently bought together
    Dublin Traditional Irish Musical Pub...
    1,532 Reviews
    from $19.75*
    Skip the Line: Guinness Storehouse...
    2,247 Reviews
    from $29.18*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Skip the Line Guinness and Jameson...
    148 Reviews
    from $88.65*
    Special Offer
    Private 4-hour Dublin tour with a...
    14 Reviews
    from $79.85*
    $106.46
    Special Offer
    Special Offer
    Kickstart your trip to Dublin with a...
    2 Reviews
    from $49.90*
    $66.54
    Dublin: book a local host
    9 Reviews
    from $79.85*
    Special Offer
    Cliffs of Moher, Galway, and Wild...
    96 Reviews
    from $44.88*
    $56.11
    Dublin Traditional Irish Musical Pub...
    1,532 Reviews
    from $19.75*
    Likely To Sell Out
    6-Day All-Ireland Tour from Dublin
    89 Reviews
    from $593.60*