Tours and Tickets
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

By Railtours Ireland First Class - Day Tours
from
$136.48
per adult
from
$136.48
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 53 per group
Duration:14h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:Mobile
English


  • Host on trains
  • Information pack
  • Reserved seats on trains
  • Qualified driver-guide on coaches
  • Visit Kylemore Abbey for a photo stop
  • All travel by rail and coach from Dublin Heuston Station
  • Entry/Admission - Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Lunch


Departure details
  • Dublin Heuston, Heuston Station Saint John's Road West, Saint James' (part of Phoenix Park), Dublin, Ireland Railtours Ireland Representatives will be waiting in the main concourse area of the station with your travel pack. They will be wearing bright yellow jackets so that they are easily located. Check in is 20 minutes prior to the departure time listed.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 3310DH04

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour offers stops en route for photographs, shopping, etc.
  • Due to operational reasons it may, on occasion, be necessary to alter certain itineraries.
  • Wheelchair accessibility: As long as the passenger has some mobility then this tour would be suitable. Trains in Ireland are wheelchair friendly however buses/coaches are not. The guest would have to be able to climb the steps onto the bus. Mobility Scooters cannot be accommodated on this tour.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 53 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin?
How much is Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin?
Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin price starts from $135.88. Discover and book Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin on Tripadvisor
What is the Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin cancellation policy?
Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin?
Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin is hosted by Railtours Ireland First Class - Day Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Railtours Ireland First Class - Day Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 3310DH04

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Dublin Heuston
    Heuston Station Saint John's Road West, Saint James' (part of Phoenix Park), Dublin, Ireland
    Railtours Ireland Representatives will be waiting in the main concourse area of the station with your travel pack. They will be wearing bright yellow jackets so that they are easily located. Check in is 20 minutes prior to the departure time listed.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Garden
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    We arrive in Galway at 10:05, off the train, and our conducted tour of Connemara (by tour bus) leaves Galway. At Maam Cross, the Connemara "crossroads", there is a replica of the cottage used in the 1950s John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara film ‘The Quiet Man’, which was filmed here. From Maam Cross our tour heads out to Leenane, Kylemore Abbey and Letterfrack, in the shadow of purple mountains rolling down to blue and green rocky valleys, reflecting the rich and varied colours of Connemara. There is a lunch break at Kylemore Abbey, an 18th century castle now owned by the Benedictine nuns who run an excellent pottery, gift shop and restaurant. Letterfrack is one of Ireland’s major national parks. The colourful town of Clifden has been one of Irelands leading holiday resorts for generations. It is an excellent touring centre beloved by the walker, the biker, the hiker or the fisherman. On the road out of Clifden the Dan O'Hara pre-famine farm (circa 1840) is on your left, fronted by a replica of an ancient Irish Crannóg or lake dwelling. Further on is the fully integrated Clifden Glen Holiday Village. Back at Maam Cross again and the road turns southwards now through the Screeb, Costello and Rossaveal. Rossaveal is the departure point for ferryboats to the Aran Islands and is also a major fishing port. We are now in the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking area) of Connemara where Gaeilge or Irish is still the everyday spoken language of a bilingual people – we rarely use the term Gaelic and usually say ‘Irish’ when referring to our national language. (For operational reasons, on certain days we will not travel to Clifden – please check with your host/driver) Our tour of Connemara heads homewards towards Galway City now, along the shores of Galway bay, through the Gaeltacht villages of Inverin and Spiddal and looking out across the blue waters of the Atlantic at the unique lime-stone of the Burren and the hills of Clare. In Spiddal there is a craft village and the Standun sweater shop. After your day's touring you will be returned to Galway Station.
    Read more
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

deletk2022
deletk2022
00
Cold but happy
Our guide Kevin was just perfect we had a really nice day. Really enjoyed the museum and the walk even if it was a
Sharon P
Sharon P
00
A Long Day but Full of Delights
A full day trip-12 hours! Be sure to arrive at train station 29 minutes prior to departure. Wonderful views, deligh
taylornorby
taylornorby
00
Favorite Tour
This tour was our favorite tour on our whole trip! Paddy was our Railtour guide and Gabby was our shuttle tour guid
taylornorby
taylornorby
00
Nice trip to Blarney
David was our Railtour guide for this trip and it was a very nice tour. We had very nice weather and no lines at Bl
Blaise N
Blaise N
00
Great Day for Solo Traveller!
John, our guide, was amazing and attentive to all of the passengers on board! I was not worried as a solo attendee
Tiamet4
Tiamet4
00
Excellent day trip!
I think whenever I’m able to return I’ll brave driving and do the Ring of Kerry in a few days. If you have the time
96bennettr
96bennettr
00
Charming Rail and Bus Tour
We had a lovely trip with our guide Terrance to the Ring of Kerry. Terrance was very knowledgeable and we thoroughl
jamesnY5813EB
jamesnY5813EB
00
Great Day
Great tour and the Blarney Castle exceeded expectations. John was a great tour guide. Would recommend for a nice da
K P
K P
00
Gorgeous Bucket List Trip
We booked The All Ireland Plus 8 day tour. Fiona and Peter were so helpful in making the arrangements and answerin
JanetM1838
JanetM1838
00
First Class - Bang for your Buck
We had a fantastic time on our four day tour. Brian was informative, interesting and funny. He shared great tips an
154jagdishb
154jagdishb
00
Not First class at all
THe places they take you are good. However their organization and need to move luggage around for long distances (1
michaelfS2146JV
michaelfS2146JV
00
Great trip
Our guides were excellent Brian and Paddy. They were very informative. I learned so much about the Irish History.
bernadetteb194
bernadetteb194
00
Bad ending
80% of the tour was excellent , Bryan, Anthony, Michael were 100%. Sadly on night 5 return to Dublin from Galway wa
chinthengf
chinthengf
00
Wonderful experience
The journey was smooth and driver skill is exceptional. Sean has a wealth of Ireland history and few jokes under hi
Colby S
Colby S
00
Fantastic day trip from the city!
John was very friendly and the trip was well-timed. It’s a long day, but worth it! We saw many beautiful sights and
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
4 reviews
Excellent
2
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Taylor Norby
Fargo, ND25 contributions
Nov 2022 • Couples
We did this tour as a replacement because the weather was too rough for the Aran Island tour. Our first Railtour guide was Frank and he was very nice and got us situated where we needed to be. Then once in Galway we transferred to a lollytours bus and stopped for tea and pictures. We got the authentic Irish experience and it downpoured on us. The rain/fog made it hard to see the landscape but later in the day it cleared up and Connemara is absolutely beautiful! We enjoyed our time at Kylemore Abbey we should have found the kitchen sooner because we ended up crunched for time. Galway was very busy with the Christmas market.
Written November 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ronald A
Fort Myers, Florida, USA24 contributions
Sep 2022
John, our bus driver/guide who works for Lallly Tours was phenomenal. He provided so much history including the local flora. He spoke when needed but not overly talkative which can be very annoying by many guides.

This tour started and ended in Galway which is a beautiful town. Seeing the Connemara and the Burren along with the Cliffs of Moher is a must see when visiting Ireland.
Written September 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mike
18 contributions
Sep 2019
Frank our bus driver/tour guide did an excellent job. Kylemore Abbey looks like something out of Dowtown Abbey. The food at the restaurant is super good. It would have been nice to have a little more time to visit.
Written September 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Susan M
10 contributions
Sep 2018 • Couples
Started off a wonderful day with Frank on the train to Galway, very pleasant man, informative, jovial a credit to the company, unfortunately very bad weather meant we had to make the best of a bad day, a little disappointed that we didn't seem to actually have a guide, so dropped off by coach at various locations, not what I was expecting, although the coach driver was very informative not quite a guided tour. However on the trip back from Galway to Dublin, we were subjected to derogative remarks from the host who obviously did not like the English, I would advise anyone English to avoid this tour, paying £109 each to be abused is not my idea of fun.
Written September 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are sorry that you did not seem to enjoy the end of tour with us. When we investigated your allegations we found that you repeatedly attempted to draw our Host into a debate regarding Brexit putting him in an awkward situation and when he refused to be drawn you became frustrated, unhappy and angry, thus the atmosphere surrounding your party deteriorated somewhat resulting in your one star review.
Written September 14, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
From quick jaunts to full-day outings.

Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin | Ireland