Tours and Tickets
John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness
4.5

John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness

By Timberbush Tours
About
from
$68.81
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 4-99, max of 32 per group
Duration: 11h 15m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More
Written guide
Print or digital reading material such as a guide, map, brochure, etc.
: English
More


  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
What's not included
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Attraction Tickets
  • Entry/Admission - Dunrobin Castle and Gardens


Departure details
  • Railway Terrace, Inverness IV1, UK Railway Terrace, Inverness, IV1 1NW. Look out for our coach or our sign on the lamp post.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6898P30

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 4 years old.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark the bus.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

Which attractions will I visit with John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness?
How much is John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness?
John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness price starts from $68.46. Discover and book John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness on Tripadvisor
What is the John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness cancellation policy?
John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness on Tripadvisor
Which company provides John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness?
John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness is hosted by Timberbush Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Timberbush Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6898P30

Reserve your spot

Similar experiences

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Railway Terrace
    Railway Terrace, Inverness IV1, UK
    Railway Terrace, Inverness, IV1 1NW. Look out for our coach or our sign on the lamp post.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Loch Fleet
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Golspie Gallery
    Stop: 25 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Dunrobin Castle and Gardens
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 4
    Helmsdale Beach
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Wick Heritage Museum
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 6
    Dunbeath Heritage Museum
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 7
    Brora Beach
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator
Timberbush Tours
750
Inverness, Scotland

#20 of 153 Tours & Activities in Inverness
  • F5184WWcraigm
    F5184WWcraigm
    0
    0
    Amazing!
    We had so much fun on our tour. The sights were absolutely stunning, even in the rain. Our tour guide Liall was the best, he kept it very entertaining and we learned so much history from him. Would definitely recommend!
  • Katherine H
    Katherine H
    0
    0
    Great trip and tour guide!
    We had a wonderful time on our two-day tour from Inverness to the Isle of Skye. Our tour guide (Liall) was amazing - - he was able to share so much knowledge about the areas we were seeing and went out of his way to make sure that we had a great tour! Breathtaking views, culture and plenty of humor! I would definitely recommend this tour and Liall!!
  • Sunshine12763914828
    Sunshine12763914828
    0
    0
    Great tour
    I really enjoyed the tour, our driver/guide Marita shared with us a lot of amazing stories. There was no moment in which we were not entertained either by the views or everything that Marita told us. She made us promise to return to the highlands every year and I might keep it.
  • Climber25823557991
    Climber25823557991
    0
    0
    Great tour
    Great tour of you only have one day for Isle of Skye. Our family enjoyed it. Andy was a great guide. Entertaining and full of history and folk stories.
  • 233marilynv
    233marilynv
    0
    0
    Isle of Skye —Drambuie tasting
    Luke was a fabulous tour guide and a great driver. We learned a lot of history as well as Luke introduced us to additional sites we won’t know about It was a very enjoyable day.
  • David T
    David T
    0
    0
    Great day, great driver and even better Scottish music!
    Liall was the perfect driver / host for our day tour to Isle of Skye and Eilean Donan Castle. Liall provided informative commentary enhanced by a playlist of Scottish music to create the perfect atmosphere for the day! He was respectful of all customers and as a close to the day played the National anthem of each person on the bus! I would highly recommend this tour from Inverness.
  • mayadG3840OJ
    mayadG3840OJ
    0
    0
    4/5 Pure bliss on skye.
    Alex was a fabulous tour guide. Extremely knowledgeable about the sites we stopped at and drove past. Full of interesting and funny stories and facts. All the sites and scenery were gorgeous and at each stop we had plenty of time to explore and take photos. Overall great way to see the isle of skye.
  • JohnP1950
    JohnP1950
    0
    0
    Great Time Touring the Isle of Skye for 2 days
    Just returned from a 2 day tour of the Isle of Skye with Timberbush tours which had an excellent selection of stops over the two days and our accommodation selected by the tour company for the one night was a nice B&B. I was originally thinking of renting a car and driving around on my own, but then common sense set in and my wife and I booked this tour and very happy we did. The roads on Skye in many places are just one vehicle wide and getting to the various sights would be difficult if you didn't know your way around. Our tour guide, Jack, obviously did and was a very safe driver. Plus Jack with Scottish Kilts and a Clansman beard looked like he had just stepped out of the movie "Braveheart". Jack is very knowledgeable of the Inverness and Skye areas, plus has many historical stories, which made the tour even more interesting. If you want to tour the Isle of Skye, it would be hard to beat the Timberbush tour, especially if your lucky enough to have Jack as your tour guide.
  • Savvyoldbird
    Savvyoldbird
    0
    0
    You need to book
    Andy s knowledge very good full of interest. Fun stories, good driving and we had running commentary. Loved all the places we stopped. Was a full day and would not hesitate to recommend this company's trips
  • Savvyoldbird
    Savvyoldbird
    0
    0
    You must go.
    Stunning place. Everywhere I was driven was amazing. Scenery gorgeous and our guide so well informed..had great personality.
  • Deborah S
    Deborah S
    0
    0
    Isle of Skye - beautiful
    Alex was an informative, humorous, and attentive tour guide. He even had a bag of phone chargers for those who needed them. His driving was very skilled and we always felt safe and accounted for - no fears of being left behind. We absolutely loved this tour and we were able to see beautiful parts of Scotland in a comfortable van. Thank you for an enjoyable experience!
  • RippedOff42
    RippedOff42
    0
    0
    Eilean Donan Castle
    While traveling in Scotland, heading to Isle of Skye, we stopped at Eilean Donan Castle, Parking lot was full, so we had to park across the bridge and walk back. Admission was reasonable, gift shop with restrooms available. We walked around the outside and took the stairs (steps) up and entered. Found out it is owned by a private individual, was allowed to enter all areas, but some areas didn't allow photographs. It was a very interesting with stories of the castle and its history. It was beautiful and worth the price, time and effort.
  • DayTrip20711601939
    DayTrip20711601939
    0
    0
    professional guide
    The tour covered many places of interest. The schedule was nice, not too tight but without lazy moments. Our guide and driver Malcom was a good presenter and could answer our questions.
  • geezer1944
    geezer1944
    0
    0
    A great guide and driver; thoughtful and knowledgeable and helpful and courteous!
    We thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Alex! Highly recommend Timberbush as a very good experience and a very enjoyable ride !
  • 178merryb
    178merryb
    0
    0
    Amazing!
    The itinerary was perfect for us. Our driver was patient, funny, and wonderful! Our accommodations in Portree were delightful! The bus was comfortable and clean. We opted out of the Fairy Pools and went with others to the beach -beautiful! We would definitely go again on this tour and with Timberbrush Tours again!
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
42 reviews
Excellent
31
Very good
4
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
3

Aparajita Roy
United Kingdom343 contributions
Aug 2023 • Solo
This is an underrated tour in my opinion. I had such a good time and I enjoyed a lot. The bus was very comfy and the temperature control inside the bus was perfect. Our tour guide Kathleen and Sinclair was awesome. I’ll give them 5stars. Very knowledgeable, calm, helpful and very good driver. They gave us lots of photo stops and toilet stops. The dunrobin castle was beautiful. You are allowed to take photos without flash inside the castle. There’s lots of stuffed animals and animal skin inside the castle. The view from the castle was mesmerising.
The garden was beautiful as well. So many beautiful things to enjoy and so little time. We had lunch in a very small sea food place at Dunbeath, which is a hidden gem in my opinion. I had a tub of crab meat. The shop is called Tasty Toes. Thanks again to the tour guide to suggest a place like this. John o groats was beautiful. Don’t forget to walk around and then you’ll find the colourful buildings where you can take your pictures. The tour guides gave us enough time to explore and fortunately it was not raining. There’s a Christmas shop in John o groats. I bought a Christmas decoration with John o groats written on it. Then we went to meet the highland coos. They’re very cute but didn’t get a chance to pet them as they were on the other side of the fence. Then had ice cream from a shop called capaldis of Brora. Then our guides took us to watch the seals. We were fortunate enough to see the seals (with binoculars). They were spending lazy time on the beach far away from human reach. I’m glad that I booked this tour and very grateful. It’s a wonderful tour.
Written August 27, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Deborah H
1 contribution
It was a nice day. The tour guide was informative about some things. Otherwise he shared things of his own interests. The tour mainly focused on the Dunrobin Castle. He decided that we would have lunch there rather than stopping in Wick. The food was basic, not much selection and expensive. The pacing was good for stops along the way. At John O Groats we were told we had 20 minutes. It seemed that the goal was to take a picture of the sign, pee and have some ice cream. We asked if we could go to the stacks at the lighthouse. He reluctantly agreed to take us there. I would have liked to have more time to walk around there and enjoy the coast.
Written August 7, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Chrissy M
6 contributions
Jul 2023 • Couples
We took a tour with Timberbush in July '23 to John O'Groats and while we were initially hesitant to book a day tour we are SO glad we did. Our guide, Liall, was humble, witty, and kind; a true pleasure to talk with. He really made sure that everyone was comfortable and got what they wanted out of the day, including making extra stops even though it meant he worked a longer day. Liall being from the area we were touring was an added plus as he was able to share stories and additional information that may not have normally been shared. Despite this being Liall's first time leading this tour he did a phenomenal job! We would definitely book a Timberbush Tour again. The tour itself was well thought-out and stopped at both places of historical importance and natural beauty. The bus was comfortable for our group, and Liall drove it well. Thank you Liall, for making this trip to John O'Groats a highlight of our 2-week stay in Scotland!
Written August 3, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ShyamalD
New Delhi, India54 contributions
Jun 2023
Great tour to the far-north of Scotland. Would highly recommed based on the experience. Our guide, Mr Malcolm was amazing, and made the extra effort to ensure we carried back good memories. Not only did he gve a running commentary on the places in the itinerary, he also shared a lot about Scottish history and culture. Thank you Malcolm.
The highlights of the tour was the Dunrobin castle, where the guide also encouraged us to also have a glimpse of the falcon show. We did spot a few seals. On the way back, an un-scheduled visit to see a "broch" was also worth it.
Written July 1, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander30450903232
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review! We appreciate it immensely, and we'll be sure to forward the kind feedback along to Malcolm for you! Our drivers can make those unscheduled stops if the day allows and we're glad Malcolm was able to make such a stop for yourself!
Written September 30, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kirsten W
Coldstream, Australia45 contributions
Apr 2023 • Couples
This tour was a long day, and unfortunately it felt it. I wanted to love this day out, but due to a persistent migraine combined with being publicly humiliated on the bus by the couple sitting next to us who demanded we move seats as we were taking up too much of the back seat space being larger people (and then again by the guide, Sinclair, who was oblivious to what was going on and thus blamed us for holding up the bus), I struggled. (Of course we moved as I do understand the personal space issue, but I couldn’t help but feel embarrassed with the whole bus judging us.. it just wasn’t nice)
The highlight of the day was Dunrobin Castle. Definitely do the optional tour! Also I have to say our driver, Tonks, was incredible and a very lovely lady.
Written May 3, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander30450903232
Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Dunrobin castle is definitely worth the visit in our opinion too. I am glad to hear you had such a great time with Tonks! I am sorry to hear that you were feeling under-the-weather on tour and your experience with the other guests was not positive. I've passed your comments regarding the guide on to our transport managers to have a further look in to. I'm sorry that you didn't receive the service that you were expecting. We still hope you enjoyed your visit to Scotland and enjoyed the stunning views on the journey. Kind regards, Ciara
Written May 22, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

stacidar
6 contributions
Oct 2022 • Couples
The trip was a bit of a disappointment as we were expecting from the tour description to see puffins only to discover when we got to the lookout that they had since gone back out to sea for the season. Our driver while full of information actually fell asleep at the wheel while driving us back in the dark. It was very scary and he then had to pull over several times and turn all the internal lights on inside the bus to stay awake. A most upsetting way to end our time in Inverness.
Written April 18, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
timberbush
Dear stacidar, Many thanks for your review. Please could you kindly contact us directly on tours@timberbushtours.com to clarify when you went on tour? Currently this tour does not return in the dark and you are making a very serious allegation which I would like to follow up with the driver concerned. Regarding the puffins, our description says: "perhaps see some local wildlife. John O’Groats is one of the best places in the UK to see Atlantic puffins, you might also see some grey seals or even an orca!" We certainly do not promise you see this wildlife. Kind regards, Lisa
Written May 10, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Richard T
Lake Macquarie, Australia728 contributions
This is a full day trip. Our mini bus arrived on time and Alex, our driver/guide gave us a nice welcome and detailed information on the day’s program. The morning stops were nicely timed and spaced, although it would be much better to allow passengers to see the full falconry display at Dunrobin Castle, only thirty minutes, rather than to have to leave before it finished.
Owing to the distance travelled in the day, we did not reach John O’Groats until after 2.00 pm which made for a late lunch. There was just enough time for a meal, a few photos, and a very quick visit to a gift shop before re-boarding for the long ride to Inverness.
There was a thirty minute stop during the return journey to allow Alex a mandatory rest break, but this was not a great experience for the passengers as, at the time, it was rainy and windy and the location was not particularly exciting.
Overall, we are glad we took the trip, and would recommend it.
Throughout the trip, Alex provided a good commentary and gave enough information, without continually talking, which gave us time to view the scenery without having to concentrate on the narrative.
Overall, we are glad we took this tour. Alex had a great commentary, and was a brilliant driver.
Written October 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jodie P
Hi Richard, Thanks for taking the time to review the tour. We are so glad you had a nice time on tour and enjoyed the falconry display. We hope to welcome you on tour again one day soon.
Written October 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carmen P
Geelong, Australia10 contributions
Nice guide, but trip seemed disorganised, weather not the best,too many stops of no interest and not long enough at John o Groats.
Written October 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jodie P
Hi, Thank you for taking time to give some feedback on your tour experience. We are happy that you liked our guide. We are sorry that you didn't feel the tour was organised well, stops weren't interesting and you didn't have long enough at John O'Groats. We do stop at John O'Groats for at least one hour during the tour. Some of the stops are just for comfort breaks for all the passengers and not always scenic stops, we do stop every 1-1.5 hours so nobody feels they are on the coach for too long. Unfortunately in Scotland we can never predict the weather (it can be sunny one moment then raining the next), we do ask you come prepared for the Scottish weather. We are sorry you weren't fully satisfied, we hope you will try one of our other tours and we will try and make it a better experience for you. Kind regards, John
Written October 3, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LOUISE B B
Nottingham, UK2 contributions
Sep 2022 • Couples
Fantastic time great driver and guide, lots of information and interesting facts . Couldn’t have asked for a motte perfect way to end our holiday
Written September 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David B
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time out on our John O'Groats tour and had a fantastic driver and guide as well. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
Written September 22, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rudolph M
4 contributions
Sep 2022 • Solo
Julian was our incredible tour guide. What an amazing experience this was. He shared so many personal stories of his connection to the place. One of my favourite day trips.
Written September 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David B
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you had a brilliant time on our John O'Groats tour and that Julian was an incredible guide - full of personal stories about his connection to the places you visited. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
Written September 12, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 38

John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness provided by Timberbush Tours

Product Overview: John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness

Prices From

$83

Number of Reviews

42

Number of Photos

116

Duration

675 minutes