Tours and Tickets
3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh
4.5
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh

By Highland Experience Tours
Recommended by 93% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
from
$333.63
per adult
from
$333.63
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeFree cancellation

Ages 3-100, max of 32 per group
Duration:
3 days
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:
Mobile
English


  • 2 nights accommodation, as per selected
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Driver/guide
What's not included
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - Inverness
  • Entry/Admission - Eilean Donan Castle
  • Entry/Admission - Culloden Battlefield

Day 1: Edinburgh to Isle of Skye Edinburgh to Isle of Skye Your tour begins with pickup from central Edinburgh by mini or midi bus and a leisurely drive to Inverness, discovering Scottish Highlands sights along the way. The first stop is Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, where you explore Lochside villages. Continue north, to Glencoe, where you walk and admire the area’s rugged mountains and waterfalls. Next, break for lunch (own expense) in Fort William, with views of Ben Nevis, UK’s highest mountain. Then we’ll travel along the length of Loch Ness before you check into your accommodation. Day 2: Isle of Skye It’s an early start as we begin our journey to the Isle of Skye after breakfast. We have a full-day tour of Isle of Skye, covering all of its most popular landmarks and attractions. Before we reach the island we will stop to take in views of the impressive Eilean Donan Castle. Journey along the coast, admire natural wonders such as Kilt Rock and the Old Man of Storr, and enjoy free time for shopping, sightseeing, and lunch (own expense) in the port town of Portree. We will also visit Dun Beag Broch and take in stunning views of the island from the top. Return to your accommodation in Inverness to enjoy the evening at your leisure. Day 3: Isle of Skye to Edinburgh Inverness to Edinburgh After breakfast, you head back to Edinburgh, taking a different route that winds through the wild landscapes of the Scottish Highlands. We will visit Culloden Battlefield, the site of one of the region’s most important battles. If you choose to take a tour (own expense), you explore the battlefield and learn more about Scotland’s clans at the visitor center. We next visit Clava Cairns – if you’re an Outlander fan you’ll especially love this stop! Make a final visit to the rural town of Pitlochry, before heading to Edinburgh, where you are returned to the departure point.

Departure details
  • 1 Parliament Square, Edinburgh EH1 1RF, UK Please check in with Highland Experience staff inside/outside Caffe Nero by 8.15am
Return details
  • Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1, UK Please note: During August, and other times when there are events taking place at Edinburgh Castle we will use an alternative end point in Edinburgh's New Town.

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5256P19

  • Children must be accompanied by an adult. Minimum age 3 years old
  • Luggage restriction: 1 suitcase 55x40x20cm - 15 kg & 1 backpack/handbag per person
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers

  • If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.

Which attractions will I visit with 3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh?
How much is 3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh?
3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh price starts from $369.02. Discover and book 3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor
What is the 3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh cancellation policy?
3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh cancellation policy: If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee. Discover and book 3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor
Which company provides 3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh?
3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh is hosted by Highland Experience Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Highland Experience Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book 3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5256P19

Itinerary
Overview
Full Map
13 stops
Day 1
On our journey of discovery
Day 2
Exploring Skye
Day 3
Monster hunting
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

Chisann
Chisann
00
Great day trip to Stirling and beyond
We had a great day trip from Edinburgh to Stirling Castle, Dunfermline Abbey and Rosslyn Chapel. Our driver was ch
katiedG5566KZ
katiedG5566KZ
00
Saint Andrews, Falkland, and Fife from Edinburgh
Al was a fantastic driver! He was knowledgeable and professional and also hilarious! The tour itself was great and
R4919OCcameronm
R4919OCcameronm
00
A great tour of a magical country
If you don’t have much time in Scotland but want to see a bit of the Scottish highlands then I highly recommend doi
Amy H
Amy H
00
Great history, architecture and nice guide
This was a great day trip. Our tour guide James was very nice, knowledgeable and a good storyteller. We visited all
laurabA6733EV
laurabA6733EV
00
Great tour to see the Highlands in limited time
We had a great day on this tour. We only had one day to see more of Scotland and this tour did not disappoint. It i
889orvilleg
889orvilleg
00
Trip of a lifetime
This tour took us all over Scotland and included incredible scenic vistas, castles and ruins, waterfalls and whisky
ravip368
ravip368
00
Amazing
Maj was a great tour guide. Very long tour but educational. Make sure you're not late otherwise it's going to be a
Erin L
Erin L
00
Stunning views and great option for when time is limited
The Scottish Highlands was the most awe-inspiring place I’ve ever seen— just stunning! This bus tour is ideal for w
Passenger40076958607
Passenger40076958607
00
Worst and most disappointing trip I had ever. Do not recommend at all
I came a long way to join this day trip organized by Highland Experience again as I had a nice experience 3 years a
olial2020
olial2020
00
Great journey
We had a great time thanks to the weather and our guide (I’m pretty sure his name is Nestor) (ps: he definitely de
I336BYkatherinem
I336BYkatherinem
00
Don't miss out on seeing the Scottish Highlands.
So glad we had an opportunity to see the Highlands of Scotland from Edinburgh. It's a completely different country
thetjm
thetjm
00
Great day trip
Central pick up and drop off location... on Royal Mile. The entire trip was a little over 12 hours. Many stops from
Q6423XGdenniss
Q6423XGdenniss
00
Amazing Highlands
Fantastic landscapes and an amazing guide (William). Was really impressed all the things he told us about history a
231martynaa
231martynaa
00
I didn't want the trip to end!
It was one of the best tours I've ever been to. Our guide, William, was amazing and truly enthusiastic. He shared a
Hichem81
Hichem81
00
Perfect day trip.
The tour was excellent. I really manage to explore the coutryside of Schotland. The tourguide Edie was very good an
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
358 reviews
Excellent
313
Very good
21
Average
9
Poor
8
Terrible
7

Steven R
3 contributions
We have always wanted to visit Skye and booked this Skye and Highland Tour through a third party so were not sure what to expect.....we need not have worried, our guide for the trip was Barry, he organised the itinerary depending on the weather forecast which was perfect as it meant we had a fabulous trip on Loch Ness, had we waited to the planned day it would not have been anything like as enjoyable. He was knowledgeable of the Highland areas and the history behind many of the places we visited, not only that he put across in an informative and humerous manner which made it all the more enjoyable.
He took his responsibilities seriously, we felt very safe as he drove round the windy mountainous roads and gave us enough time at each stop to have some free time to absorb the areas and take in the surrounding landscapes.
in summary I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants a short, informative visit to The Highlands and Skye, and if you can get Barry as your driver and guide all the better.
Furthermore the accomodation provided in Inverness was very good.
Overall we felt this was excellent value for money
Written April 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for your fantastic review! We're delighted to hear that you had good time travelling with us! Warm regards, Maria
Written September 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicola S
1 contribution
Couples
Fantastic tour with a great guide Barry who made us laugh with his stories.
So all skye has to offer.
For sure very long time on the bus but lots of photographic opportunities and stops.
The driver was an expert! Some of the roads he took the van down are crazy!
Accommodation was OK but not worth the money paid the tour does not include the boat trip onto the Lake.
Overall I recommend this tour to see as much of Scotland as short as possible but it is very rushed.
Barry was fantastic 😎
Written May 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your tour with us. We are glad that you had a good time. Kind regards, Maria
Written September 1, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebeka Goodale
Calais, France32 contributions
My husband and I just returned from a 3 day tour to Skye and couldn’t be more pleased with the trip. Our guide (Steve P.) was superb in his knowledge about the areas that we visited and made the whole journey fun. We absolutely loved the ability to see so many different sites and learn interesting facts about parts of history. We stayed at The Skye Inn and were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and well kept the Inn is maintained. The walk into town was easy when we wanted to catch dinner after a long day. I’d recommend that if you plan to eat dinner n town, you try and book a couple of weeks out. There were a lot of places closed due to staff shortages or COVID so getting in last minute was not possible.

This is the first bus tour we’ve ever done. What a great way of seeing the well known sites as well as some things that were off the beaten track. We were also pleased at how comfortable the bus was to ride almost 600 miles round trip. A couple of tips … keep a light rain jacket with you at all times, a phone charger (ports are in the bus), just must wear a mask on the bus at all times so keep a few spare.
Written September 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and your tips for other passengers - we really appreciate all of your lovely comments! Kind Regards, The Highland Experience Team
Written October 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andrew D
1 contribution
Make sure you confirm where they will be dropping you off before you even get on the bus. Our email confirmation confirmed we were being dropped off in Glasgow but after asking the driver what time that would be, he informed me that we weren't being dropped off in Glasgow and that we would have to figure out our own transportation from Edinburgh to Glasgow. For first-time European travelers, this was very overwhelming and resulted in us needing to miss a family event in Glasgow due to the incorrect information provided by Highland Experience. In fact, they were never going to inform us of this change and the only reason I was informed was becuase I inquired about it towards the end of day 1 of our trip.

A few other areas that were disappointing:

Due to the driver not being able to find parking, we did not experience most of the scheduled itinerary including Trotternish Peninsula,The KiltRock, Mealt Waterfall and The Old Man of Storr. There were also a few other moments throughout the trip where the large size of the bus got in the way of us being able to explore what was on the itinerary. I suggest using a smaller bus that allows you to complete all activities outlined in the itinerary.

Many of the stops where we were supposed to have lunch, only had cold-packaged sandwiches to offer. As someone whose favorite part of traveling is experiencing local cuisines, I was super disappointed.

The bus itself did not have working outlets so we were unable to keep our devices charged during the 6+ hours of bus travel. The speaker system was also broken so it made listening to the same rotation of songs for three days straight painful.
Written August 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

TravelObsessed
London, UK19 contributions
Family
Ghastly. We signed up for the tour on the understanding (according to the advertisement) that we would stay two nights on the Isle of Skye but in fact we stayed the two nights in Inverness and spent a lot of time travelling between Inverness and the Isle of Skye - this was very disappointing as the main attraction for us when we signed up was the promise of staying at the Isle of Skye. The accommodation in Inverness was very poor (my room had no hot water) with a TV mounted on the wall which was the size of a laptop so I couldn’t see it. We were promised the option to visit the interior of Eilean Donan Castle (at own expense), Old Man of Storr, a Loch Ness cruise (at own expense) and Urquhart Castle but all these were closed. We had understood that the visit to the distillery was included in the price (as the ad had specified own expense for other attractions but not this one) when in fact we had to pay for this. The advertisement was far from the reality and considering that we paid £330 each for the tour we feel we were sold this tour under false pretences and we will not use Highland Experience Tours again.
Written January 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience while on your tour. Our direct website states that we do in fact stay in Inverness during our 3-day Ultimate Skye Experience tour however the 3rd party you had booked through held outdated information. We can only apologise that you were misguided by this. We are surprised to hear your comments regarding the accommodation on your tour as the accommodation you stayed in is one we use very often and receives great reviews. We were unaware of your concerns regarding the accommodation as we had not heard anything from you throughout your stay and nothing was mentioned to your guide - We would have been more than happy to rectify any issues with your accommodation and do our best to resolve the situation. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - We do take all feedback we receive very seriously and will be sure to take your comments into account to improve our service. Kind Regards, Customer experience team
Written February 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

S. Tan
2 contributions
Went on the 3 day 2 night Isle of Skye tour and was quite satisfied!

Destination highlights: Isle of Sky, Battle of Culloden Battlefield and Museum, Fairy Pools Hiking Trail

The tour size this time was only 5 people and we got around on a clean, comfortable mini bus driven by our guide Moray. Our bus had USB ports next to our seats for phone charging.
Moray was very nice, polite but also very funny and provided lots of interesting information about our destinations and some sites we passed by.

Accommodation-wise, we stayed in a bed and breakfast in Inverness for 2 nights. It was comfortable and clean.

My only wish would be that we stayed slightly longer at the scenic sights in Isle of Skye, such as stop where you can see both the black and red Cullin Mountains.

All in all, great trip and a great guide!
Written March 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your positive review and constructive feedback! We do hope to have you on board soon! Best regards, Maria
Written September 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marina T
Arlington, VA11 contributions
Couples
From beginning to end touring the highlands with Highland Experience Tours was an outstanding experience! Our guide, Chris, was authentic and welcoming to his country. He was personable, allowing us to ask questions and joke around, while also maintaining a professional demeanor and educating us on the rich history and tales of the areas we were visiting. He was accommodating to many of the guests requests on the tour and made sure that we all had a positive time with him. Aside from our guide, the tour itself was absolutely breathtaking and a unique natural experience.
Written July 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your tour with us. We're delighted to hear you had a great time with Chris! We do hope to welcome you on another tour soon. Kind regards, Clare
Written July 22, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ichapman
Galashiels, UK15 contributions
Joined the trip in Edinburgh where we met Kelly, our bus driver/tour guide. From the start, Kelly was amazing, her knowledge of Scottish history and scenery was very good. We headed north through Falkirk to see the Kelpies and then onwards to Glencoe. We had numerous stops for sightseeing and comfort breaks. It was a long day as we headed to Inverness where we were based. Unfortunately by the time we arrived in Inverness there was a difficulty in getting food as restaurants were already booked up. An early start the next day as we headed to Skye. Kelly’s cheesy jokes and banter kept us all going. Again there was plenty opportunity for sightseeing. There was a round of applause as Kelly negotiated the Quairing on Skye, the first time she had done this route. Well done Kelly. Even having to do a three point turn on a single track didn’t faze her The scenery was beautiful with mountains and lochs all looking spectacular in the sunshine. This was another long day as we travelled back to Inverness. We think probably a base nearer Skye would have been more preferable. The bed and breakfast we stayed in was sufficient for our stay (we believe that others in our group were not so lucky). Thoroughly enjoyed this trip although we had a one day stay in Inverness as we were travelling on to Orkney, so we didn't travel back with the rest of the group. Highly recommend this trip and Kelly as a tour guide
Written September 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it sounds like you had a great time! We pride ourselves on our incredible local guides and we know Kelly would have been delighted to share her knowledge with you all. We believe that all of our guides are some of the most talented and knowledgeable people in the business so I'm glad you caught a glimpse of that! We will be sure to take your feedback on board to ensure we are always improving our tours. Kind Regards, The Highland Experience Team
Written October 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

June08ng
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia95 contributions
Family
Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day trip on March 9-11 2022 .. our driver and guide Moray was thoroughly entertaining and pointed out many local sights to us . Recommend bringing a raincoat as the weather is unpredictable but spectacular views are worth it . Highly recommend this tour . We stayed in a very nice Airbnb in Inverness for two nights .
Written March 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, It's great to hear that you had a brilliant day out on tour with Moray! We would love to welcome you back on another tour one day. Kind Regards Maria
Written September 25, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alison R
6 contributions
Friends
Me and friends have just came back from Skye and Inverness after a 3 day trip with Barrie from Highland Experience Tours.
Hands down this was the single best trip we have done in our time in Scotland and we have done a few.

From the get go Barrie was an absolute blast, one of the funniest guys we have ever met, our sides were splitting with his funny stories and jokes about Scotland and its history.

The views and places we visited were out of this world. Sure the weather was against us in Skye but Barrie did not disappoint and kept us entertained with his infectious enthusiasm and passion for his country.

From Nessie hunting on the lake to seeing 4000 year old monuments and feeding 'hairy coos' this was the bucket list of things to do in Scotland!
Glencoe was breathtaking, Inverness was a hoot, Skye was breathtaking......

If you have only a little time in Scotland and want to make the most of it this is the trip to take....but make sure you get Barrie I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
If Barrie is reading this, YOU DEFINITELY WERE NOT TOO SCOTTISH 😂
Team America X
Written April 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your tour with us! We're glad to hear that you had a good time! All the best, Maria
Written September 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 295
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

3-Day Isle of Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh | Scotland