Tours and Tickets
Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh
5

Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh

By Highland Explorer Tours
Recommended by 98% of travelers
98% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
The Scottish Highlands is renowned for its idyllic scenery and traditional Scotch whisky. Experience both on this guided tour with included transportation from Edinburgh, as you explore Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, admire views of Hermitage forest, and enjoy a tour and tasting (own expense) at Glenturret whisky distillery.
from
$73.87
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 5-99, max of 30 per group
Duration: 9h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More
Audio guide: German, Chinese, Portuguese, Italian, French, Spanish
More

Highlights
  • Magnificent views of Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle
  • Visit all the best Highlands viewpoints on this seamless guided tour
  • Sample authentic Scotch whisky (own expense) at Glenturret Distillery
  • Hassle-free round-trip transportation from Edinburgh

  • Local English Speaking Guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Distillery tour
  • Dram of local whisky
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - The Glenturret Distillery

Meet your air-conditioned coach and driver in central Edinburgh for your trip into the Scottish Highlands. Along the way, stop at the Kelpies to learn about Scottish folklore Admire Highlands scenery as you drive through Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park. Stop for lunch and an optional tour (both at own expense) of the Glenturret distillery. If you opt for a tour, learn the whisky-making process and sample a dram of the popular whisky. In the afternoon, continue through the forests of the Hermitage and enjoy a short walk to see the Braan River, Ossian’s Hall, and Black Linn Falls. Make a final stop in Dunkeld village, which was made famous in Shakespeare’s Macbeth, before returning to Edinburgh. Your tour ends where it began.

Start:
  • Highland Explorer Tours, 60 High St, Edinburgh EH1 1TB, UK
    This tour will depart at 8:15 am from 60 High Street, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh, EH1 1TB. Meet 15 minutes before departure and look for the check-in staff wearing blue high-visibility vests there to greet you.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5211WHISKY

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travelers can participate
    • As this tour celebrates whisky, it is unsuitable for those under the age of 18.
    • It is recommended to book transport to the departure point in advance. Please also allow extra time to get to the departure point for check-in. We advise you arrive at least 15 minutes before the tour departure to allow time to check-in for the tour. Unfortunately, we are unable to hold back the tour for late arrivals.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh?
    How much is Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh?
    Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh price starts from $72.46. Discover and book Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor
    What is the Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh cancellation policy?
    Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh?
    Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh is hosted by Highland Explorer Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Highland Explorer Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5211WHISKY

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • 60 High St, Edinburgh EH1 1TB, UK
      This tour will depart at 8:15 am from 60 High Street, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh, EH1 1TB. Meet 15 minutes before departure and look for the check-in staff wearing blue high-visibility vests there to greet you.
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Highland Explorer Tours
      9,044
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Joined in June 2008
    • J732SJmichellec
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Terrible
      the bus driver made 3 stops along the road in edinburgh to talk for 20 to her office about her hours. This put us behind schedule so we did not stop at glenfinnian or glenco as advertised. The AC was often off - the speaker was horrible and her "lectures" were laughably inaccurate. not as advertised and a very dissapointing and uncomfortable experience.
      Written May 27, 2024
    • Donna A
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Breathtaking views, artful storytelling!
      We were treated to Three days of Graeme’s masterful storytelling and the rich countryside . There was all of the supporting details setting the stage like : waterfalls , huge rock clusters , castles, lochs & livestock to weave the legendary cast of Scottish folklore including : sea serpents , faeries , & giants . Our tour also featured modern happenings like rewilding efforts , fish farming and other economic , political , historic issues . Graeme’s tour was interesting , informative & entertaining ! He was skilled at driving the bus on tight crowded roads . Our guide was very knowledgeable on Scottish subjects , patient with concerns of members of our group and was a very skilled “ tourist herder “! He kept us abreast of the plans and schedule ! Be sure to ask for his secret for eternal beauty ! Well done , Graeme! I highly recommend this tour !
      Written May 27, 2024
    • Dream785791
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great trip
      Graeme was an outstanding guide, extremely entertaining and knowledgeable of Scottish history. His safe driving was also most appreciated. Super experience.
      Written May 27, 2024
    • alainag684
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fun
      Charlie was amazing and such a pleasure to be around! My friend and I had an excellent experience. The tour was very informative, not only about Outlander but about Scottish history.
      Written May 27, 2024
    • joycep1848
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      3 day trip with Teigan in Scottish Highlands
      Teigan our tour guide was awesome! Totally recommend this trip. The highlands are just besutifu. The castle tour was a bonus. Our a comodations in the Isle of Skye were very comfortable and the food fresh and well presented.
      Written May 27, 2024
    • bornel
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      The most uncomfortable 7 hour bus ride of my life
      Driver was great. Scenery so cool At all cost avoid the back seat. It does not hold 5 adults. 7 hours of uncomfortable, back breaking driving. Kids may be ok. So angry that I paid the same price as all the people who could enjoy the drive
      Written May 27, 2024
    • Sherpa690167
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Trip to the Highland Games
      Great trip to the Scottish Highland Games opening event. Louise was a wonderful driver and narrator, and made the bus ride seem short.
      Written May 27, 2024
    • Adventure53492377526
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      6 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ tour
      This tour was amazing! I'd give 6 stars if I could. Rich was bloody awesome ⭐️ his humour, extensive knowledge, stories & love for his country just made for the best experience possible. Absolutely in love with Scotland after this tour 💙🤍 stunning scenery and landscapes, people so friendly & welcoming, history at every turn, food and whiskey amazing, trad music that just makes you smile & feel bloody happy and those adorable Highland coos 🤎 bucket list activities included Jacobite steam train, Loch Ness cruise and everything on Isle of Skye ! I will definitely be back to do the 4 day tour of Mull & Iona after seeing Rich's video of the puffins! Thanks Rich & Highland Explorer Tours for such a memorable trip 💙🤍
      Written May 26, 2024
    • PilarC1962
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Wonderful trip with Alistair and Torvan
      We saw a most beautiful part of the country and learned a lot about its history thanks to Alistair and Torvan. Stirling Castle is stunning, much more interesting than Edinburgh castle. They had exhibitions and actors in 16th century costumes. A very enjoyable tour, highly recommended.the autoguide in other languages, however, needs updating
      Written May 26, 2024
    • kathrynmY2683KJ
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      We had a great time!
      Louise did a great job explaining the Atholl region and showing the history or the highlands! Additionally, the games were amazing! We had so much fun!
      Written May 26, 2024
    • shelliey2019
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great guide, but the tour made us leave before the end.
      One positive, one negative. The guide was charming and funny and told wonderful stories - a true delight and I highly recommend her!!! The negative is that we had to leave well before the games were over. This is a once in a lifetime event for me and to have to leave before the caber toss is done is not what I expected at all. Seems like a little flexibility to accommodate the fact that the event does not run on a perfect schedule would have been the better way to do this.
      Written May 26, 2024
    • GrandTour47771687296
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Blair Atol Highland Games
      Louise was fantastic. Great driver and very knowledgeable. A little rainy but still a wonderful experience to see the games and all the concessions.
      Written May 26, 2024
    • joannecX5553TB
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Five stars for the guide, 1 star for everything else
      We did the 1 day Harry Potter & the Hogwarts Express Jacobite Train tour. Five stars for Sophie the guide but 1 star for everything else. Sophie is friendly, positive and energetic. The train is not worth the time, the windows are filthy and for sightseeing tours like this, it’s essential that the views have to be clear. Loved that we stopped at a very charming town of Pitlochry, but that was the only stop that I liked, unfortunately. Would be nice to stop by near bodies of water like lakes because we did pass by some and they look absolutely beautiful. Would have been nice to stop by more picturesque Scottish towns as well. We were expecting more and it fell short of expectations.
      Written May 26, 2024
    • 495petab
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Beautiful scenery
      Was a great way to get a taste of the highlands and go on the Jacobite steam train. The best part was actually the journey through the highlands due to our guide Sophie. She gave a lot of interesting facts and information that made the trip so much better. Scenery was great.
      Written May 26, 2024
    • FatPug
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great day out!
      Sophie was such a great guide and driver! She had so many stories about all the places we stopped and/or drove thru. She even made a special stop so we could say hi to Hamish the hairy coo and his friends n
      Written May 26, 2024
    See all 9 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    5.0
    5.0 of 5 bubbles105 reviews
    Excellent
    100
    Very good
    3
    Average
    0
    Poor
    0
    Terrible
    2

    Matthew K
    Los Angeles, CA6 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Allison was a tremendous guide. Her knowledge of the sites visited was superior and she’s at the top of her game. Unfortunately, she works for a company that refuses to answer their phone nor respond to MULTIPLE messages on the Trip Advisor app that was happy to take my money. Be warned that there may be multiple performances of the TATTOO on the day of your booking and NO ONE at Royal Highland Tours will bother telling you which performance you’ve purchased until your departure making your evening impossible to plan. Attention to this kind of detail is a minimum requirement. Long story short: ALLISON gets a 10, Royal Highland Tours should be avoided. Also our coach was packed to capacity and it was no fun when my rather large seat mate - a complete stranger- kept falling asleep, snoring, and using a good 3/4ths of the seat
    Written August 27, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    G0_Eagles
    Yanchep, Australia46 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2024 • Friends
    We had a wonderful tour with Louise. We had a bit of rain at the start but by mid afternoon ithe weather was very pleasant. She was very friendly and informative and made the tour lots of fun with her stories snd narrative and played us some beautiful Scottish music. It was a small group of 7 which made it very easy for everyone to participate. The whisky tasting was great. Best whisky we have tried here in Scotland. The visit to The Hermitage was fabulous, such a beautiful walk thru the forest and the waterfalls were amazing
    Written April 18, 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We really value your feedback! It sounds like you had a wonderful time on tour with our fantastic guide Louise. I love the whisky tour, it has such a lovely pace and lets you explore some beautiful parts of Scotland. I am thrillled that you though so too. :) It is so nice that you found a whisky that you liked so much ! If you like Glenturrett, you should try the Balvennie 12 year. Slainte! Best wishes for the future, Rhi
    Written April 20, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Lauren F
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2023 • Solo
    We had Sophie as our guide and she was wonderful. She gave a lot of great historical and sometimes humorous facts about the landscapes and is a great storyteller. We had a small group so I felt like she really focused on us and got to know us all individually and answered any questions we had. Glenturret was amazing! Very high end and the whiskey was fantastic. If you're lucky you get to meet some of the distillery cats too!
    Written October 12, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Amy P
    Newark, NJ2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2022
    This was a great tour. It was a quick 9-5 jaunt outside of Edinburgh where we stayed and a superb value for the money. Our tour guide was Stephen and he tread the line between entertaining and knowledgeable like a pro. I normally hate group tours and tour guides and kept my interest the whole day. It rained on and off but the activities could be done in any weather. There were two quick walks (one uphill), the whiskey tour and tasting, and a stop for lunch in a very cute town with shops. It was really a well-planned itinerary, with just enough scenic driving to enjoy the many sheep of Scotland.
    Written November 28, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Amy, Thanks for leaving us a 5 star review. We are glad you enjoyed the tour. Steve is an amazing guide. We will pass your feedback on. We hope to welcome you on another tour with us soon. Thanks. Keith
    Written December 4, 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jeffrey B
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2023 • Family
    I took a tour with Paul on August 5th. It was a great tour. He provided entertaining music and historical facts throughout the day. It was a great day to learn some history and enjoy some whisky.
    Written August 5, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Magaly V
    2 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2023 • Friends
    Landscapes are amazing! The stops make the trip a lot more ease. The waterfalls are surreal, it is just the most beautiful place i've waled in Ireland. The whisky tour was very informative, the distillery is cozy, you can see an artesanal work there happening. We took the tour for the whisky stop so I think it was too short, I wished to taste more that one whisky, maybe three would've been better.
    Written November 1, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Dyandrea L
    5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2024 • Solo
    I believe Dusty was our driver on my trip - he said he had been with the company for only a year but I wouldn’t have been able to guess that! Not only was he an amazing bus driver navigating tight busy streets and pulling into tight spots, but he was a great story teller and informational guide. If there was an answer he didn’t know, he looked it up for us!
    Written March 27, 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi, thanks for leaving us a 5 star review. We are glad you enjoyed your tour with us. Dusty is an amazing guide and we will pass your feedback on. Kind Regards, Keith
    Written April 7, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    May
    Jersey City, NJ4 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Terrible service and would not use them again for any tours out of Edinburgh. They’re not very good with communicating with their customers or even reaching out for a courtesy call regarding the tour. I have tried to contact them 2-3x the morning of my tour to inform the office I was 5 mins away by foot, no one answered their phones. As a result, I did not get to go on the tour at all. The people working at the office are not very helpful or kind at all. They don’t really care about their customers or providing solutions as a result of their poor customer service. I spent a lot of money for the tour and they knew they could just take my money with minimal to no help. I was very frustrated and bummed to not go to the tour and I was flying out the next day. At least they can do is do a partial refund for the way they handled my situation. They don’t deserve my money and will never ever go back to use them again.
    Written November 27, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, thank you for taking time to leave a review. You arrived at our office around 08:55, which is 25 minutes late for check-in. Our T&C’s state: “It is your responsibility to check-in with the Operator not less than 15 minutes prior to the specified departure time”. You were extremely upset and raised your voice at us. We apologised for being unable to answer the phone as we were doing check-in, however we cannot hold the bus for anyone. This is clearly stated in our T&C’s: “Due to time restrictions, we are unable to wait for late passengers.” We explained that we can't contact the driver once the tour has departed as they cannot answer the phone whilst driving, we phoned another member of staff who advised us that you would have been unable to catch up.. You missed your tour because of your poor time keeping, not because your call was not answered. We even offered you a free tour the following day, however you advised us that you could not attend. Once you had calmed down, my colleague very kindly spent around one hour with you. She helped you plan a day trip, gave you information on how to rent a car, and even printed out maps for you. We also offered you a free distillery tour – which you took. This was a gesture of goodwill and not our standard procedure; our tours and additional activities are non-refundable and non-transferrable if a customer misses them. The distillery was completely sold out that day, but they were extremely generous and were able to accommodate you. I’m very surprised and disappointed that you felt our staff was not helpful, kind or caring as I feel that my colleague was extremely considerate, cooperative and professional despite your abrupt words towards her. Customer service is the heart and core of what we provide, and we feel that in this situation we went above and beyond for you. I feel that it was handled perfectly and that we did everything we possibly could to help you. Before you left, you took time to apologise to my colleague for your sharp behaviour and seemed in good spirits, which is why I’m extremely shocked by your words. I am sorry that you feel disappointed in all the help we provided you. Kind regards, Victoria
    Written November 28, 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Teal
    Providence, RI11 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2024 • Family
    Fantastic Day tour! Cara and Brodie led the tour with trainees. They were all knowledgeable, professional, and personable. Cara did a great job in the lead, providing ample information with awareness of when to give travelers time to absorb the material and the sites. In addition to their knowledge, the guides are clearly fond of their country - which showed through.
    Written January 20, 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Teal, Thanks so much for your lovely review of your Whisky and Waterfalls day tour with Cara and Brodie! Delighted to read that you both had such an enjoyable day and soaked up all the knowledge from the multiple co-pilots. We hope you enjoyed the drams, and hope to see you on another tour in the future. Kind regards, Ayla
    Written January 22, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Mung B
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2022 • Friends
    Our guide, Owen was very knowledgeable and entertaining throughout the trip. I enjoyed listening to the history, stories, and experiences he shared while enjoying the beautiful country landscapes. Although this tour didn't venture far into the Highlands, I was grateful for what we were able to fit in and am looking forward to the next time I'm able to book a longer tour. The tour schedule was well spaced out, with time to walk around, explore, and soak in our surroundings, not to mention try some really delicious whiskeys at one of the oldest distilleries in Scotland! Thank you for a great experience!!
    Written July 15, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 97

    Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh provided by Highland Explorer Tours

    All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Edinburgh
    All things to do in Edinburgh
    Day Trips in Edinburgh
    RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars