We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise

Select Date and Travelers
From
$44.45
Date
2 travelers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Travel independently to the Thames River departure pier in central London, and be shown on to your comfortable sightseeing cruiser.Take a seat at one of the smart, white linen-clothed tables in the indoor cabin, and admire the views of London’s riverbank sights as your boat follows a round-trip route along the Thames.
    Watch the landmarks unfold through the panoramic windows, or take a stroll on deck to capture them on camera. Cruise by majestic Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament; enjoy awesome views of the Tower of London and dome of St Paul’s Cathedral; and glide by other top London attractions including the London Eye, The Shard and the cone-shaped skyscraper known as the 'Gherkin.’
    Along the way, enjoy the lilting background music courtesy of the resident pianist, and savor a classic English afternoon tea. Sip on freshly brewed teas and coffee, and dig into an assortment of freshly prepared finger sandwiches and cakes, as well as scones served with Cornish clotted cream and strawberry preserves. See the Itinerary for a sample menu.
    Your cruise ends when your boat docks at the original starting pier.
    Itinerary
    Sample Afternoon Tea Menu
    Freshly cut finger sandwiches:
    • Smoked salmon, cream cheese and horseradish
    • Cheddar cheese and cucumber
    • Ham and mustard mayonnaiseScones and cakes:
    • Fluffy English scones served with Cornish clotted cream and strawberry preserve
    • Selection of traditional English cakes and mini pastriesTea and coffee:
    • Selection of high quality teas and Fairtrade coffees
    (Products may contains nuts or traces of nuts)
    Show More
    Reviews (126)
    Filter reviews
    63 results
    Traveler rating
    20
    8
    6
    13
    16
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageEnglish
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    20
    8
    6
    13
    16
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews pianist playing wonderful afternoon tea hen party dinner cruise top deck birthday treat
    Selected filters
    FilterEnglish
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 63 reviews
    Reviewed 3 days ago

    First the good. The boat and cruise offer beautiful views from the Thames. The seats and tables are well spaced and not overcrowded. Most people appeared well served and happy. The afternoon snacks and tea all tasted great if one had them. Now, the bad.....More

    Date of experience: August 2019
    Thank Joseph S
    Reviewed 6 days ago

    Sat underneath a freezing cold air conditioner, tea was lukewarm, no glass of champagne despite having paid for it. Cakes were stale and not homemade clearly from a packet. All in all not a great way to spend over £40 each on. Don’t waste your...More

    Date of experience: August 2019
    Thank Furrydogmother
    GRBateauxLondon, Manager at Bateaux London, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

    Dear Furrydogmother I'm disappointed to read your comments and I sincerely apologise for your less than brilliant experience with us. The air conditioning is set according to high temperatures we've been experiencing lately. However; we could have adjusted it or moved you to another table...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    A lovely experience, everything very well organised and we enjoyed both the tea and the river cruise. We booked the premier package as this gets you a seat by the window as well as a welcome glass of champagne. We expected to have to stand...More

    1  Thank Tigerfeet44
    GRBateauxLondon, Manager at Bateaux London, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

    Dear igerfeet44 Thank you so much for this amazing TripAdvisor review. I appreciate you sailing with us for afternoon tea and cannot wait to share your feedback with the team. I also note your comment about the toilets and I'm pleased to know you enjoyed...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Pleasant day, weather sunny and dry. Food was just what you would expect a tea to contain, nice variety and tasty. Service was good.More

    Date of experience: July 2019
    Thank Norine H
    GRBateauxLondon, Manager at Bateaux London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Norine H Thank you for reviewing your Bateaux London afternoon tea experience on TripAdvisor. We love to hear how much you enjoyed your sailing and dining experience on board. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back and sail down the Thames again...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Great way to see some of the main sights, bubbly was decent, sandwiches were ok but selection and quality of cakes can improve as can the service...we weren’t given options on any other drinks apart from tea and coffee, we weren’t really waited on during...More

    Thank noorih2015
    GRBateauxLondon, Manager at Bateaux London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

    Dear noorih2015 Thank you for reviewing your recent afternoon tea sail on TripAdvisor. We apologize for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. We value your feedback greatly and your comments about the quality of cakes and service will be shared with our Head Chef...More

    View more reviews
    Questions & Answers
    Ask a question
    gillian c
    July 9, 2019|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from Kathy S | Reviewed this property |
    I think they say children over thee age of 3.but wouldn't recommended it. Went again last Saturday as was already booked with some friends one who was a vegetarian. She was given only 3 sandwiches to our 4 and when we asked... More
    1
    Vote
    becks710
    April 11, 2019|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Nicole S | Reviewed this property |
    No strict dress code, it's more about looking nice for a nice event so trainers and jeans are ok.
    1
    Vote
    formeremployer
    January 22, 2019|
    Answer
    Response from Nicole S | Reviewed this property |
    Yes, they do - just make sure you speak to them in advance and give them your requirements as on the day they may be harder to fulfil.
    0
    Votes
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: