Tours and Tickets

One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives provided by Go Safari

One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives

One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives
4.5
Book in advance
from
$541.13
per adult (price varies by group size)
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
2 days
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
14
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2 days
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2 days
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 8609P3
Important information
Inclusions
  • Breakfast
  • Dinner
  • Overnight accommodation
  • Return shared transfers between Johannesburg and Pilanesberg
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Open safari vehicle game drives
  • On Wednesday and Saturday nights a buffet dinner is served in the Boma out in the game reserve.
Exclusions
  • Lunch is for your own account and can be a buffet or a la carte
  • Gratuities
  • Items of a personal nature
  • All drinks
Duration
2 days
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Between 10:00am and 10:30am depending on your hotel location We will meet you at your hotel or guest house in Johannesburg and will return you back to your hotel or guest house. A surcharge will be added if you stay in the Eastern Suburbs of Johannesburg near the airport or Pretoria
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant women past 6 months
  • Children under 5 years old allow on the game drives at the discretion of the game ranger
  • Two nights minimum stay over weekends may be enforced by the lodge
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Buffet meals will be stopped to confirm with social distancing regulations and meals will be Individually served and room service will be available.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
Inclusions
  • Breakfast
  • Dinner
  • Overnight accommodation
  • Return shared transfers between Johannesburg and Pilanesberg
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Open safari vehicle game drives
  • On Wednesday and Saturday nights a buffet dinner is served in the Boma out in the game reserve.
Exclusions
  • Lunch is for your own account and can be a buffet or a la carte
  • Gratuities
  • Items of a personal nature
  • All drinks
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Between 10:00am and 10:30am depending on your hotel location We will meet you at your hotel or guest house in Johannesburg and will return you back to your hotel or guest house. A surcharge will be added if you stay in the Eastern Suburbs of Johannesburg near the airport or Pretoria
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
2 days
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant women past 6 months
  • Children under 5 years old allow on the game drives at the discretion of the game ranger
  • Two nights minimum stay over weekends may be enforced by the lodge
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Buffet meals will be stopped to confirm with social distancing regulations and meals will be Individually served and room service will be available.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Oct 13, 2021
A note from One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives
Our 7 seater vehicles will only carry 5 people, the vehicle will be sanitized after each tour. The open safari vehicle is ideal as it is open, lots of fresh air and sun it will also be sanitized between each game drive. Tours will be limited to a maximum of 5 guest due to the health safety protocols
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
Overview
Full Map
4 stops
Day 1
Travel from Johannesburg to...
Day 2
After enjoying the morning game...
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
9 reviews
Excellent
8
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

berur2017
New York City, NY7 contributions
we went on 2 game drives, the first one late afternoon and second at dawn and got to see, elephants, rhinos, lions, girafes zebras, hipos and more.this was a once in a lifetime experience. the accomodations were incredible
Written January 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi berur2017 Thank you for writing this great review. I am glad you got to see so much but that is the advantage of staying over you get to go on two safaris and have very good accommodation. Thanks once again. Regards Glen
Written February 10, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lamar Y
4 contributions
Solo
As an American traveling alone I was unsure of what to expect, however my driver Phenyo and Go Safari manger David made this experience a seamless gateway to fantasy. A timely pickup, outstanding accommodations, and email responsive. What more could a foreigner who travels solo ask for. Bravo!
Written December 31, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Glen F
Hi 440lam Thank you for the magic review, it is always good to get feedback and know that Phenyo and David took good care of you and made your trip to Pilanesberg so memorable. Thank you for posting this review so promptly, much appreciated and I hope we have the pleasure of arranging another safari for you in the future. Regards Glen
Written January 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Dips012
10 contributions
Traveling alone for the first time to SA and trying to squeeze in just a day of the safari experience into my work trip, I didn’t know what to expect. But Go Safari made the experience one to remember. Everything from the first time I emailed Susan to inquire was like clockwork. She was super engaged and responsive. The airport pickup, drive to Pilanesberg, heavenly Tshukudu lodge, the game drives, the return back to Johannesburg hotel was all seamless. I look forward to being back on a real holiday with family! Keep up the great work GoSafari!
Written August 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Glen F
Hi dips012 Thank you for writing this great review, I do appreciate it. Tshukudu is a great lodge andI am sure you enjoyed the view. I am pleased that everything went of well because that is what I expect and I will let Susan know. We look forward to arranging a safari for your family, there are some other great lodges and reserves to visit. Until next time Glen
Written August 7, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Yasmine
5 contributions
Friends
Go Safari had the perfect package for my friends and I as we had only Saturday and Sunday free to get out from Johannesburg.
Everything was perfectly organized and the lodge were we stayed was beautiful (Bakubung Lodge).
Suzan was extremely helpful and explained everything in details by email.
I definitely recommend them to anyone :)
Written July 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Glen F
Hi Yasmiiiiin I am glad that you had a great weekend in Pilanesberg, Bakubung is a nice lodge and I hope you got to see many animals. Thank you for the kind words and I will pass this review onto Susan and good to know she was so helpful. Thank you for taking the time and writing this great review, I do appreciate it. Regards Glen
Written July 14, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Michael B
Kensworth, UK7 contributions
Couples
Being a little short on time in Joburg, this day trip to Pilanesberg was a perfect way to spend a day.

The organisation with seamless and Susan dude a fantastic job at accommodating on short notice.

Our drive between Joburg & Pilanesberg made the transfer almost as good as the game drives. Wiggie was super friendly, hugely informative and really focused on ensuring we had a great trip.

The park itself was tremendous, it felt somewhat like jurassic park and we got to see almost all the animals we could have wished for, the trucks were surprisingly comfortable too.

If you're not doing a dawn or dust drive (which you don't on the one day), don't hold your breath to see lions or leopards but even without them it was truly a fantastic day.

Couldn't recommend enough.
Written May 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi michaelbG6165YB Firstly thank you for the kind words about Susan and Wiggie it is always good to get such positive feedback about our team, I will definitely pass this on to them and secondly and more importantly than you for writing such a great review. I am glad you had such a fantastic day in Pilanesberg and you will just need to come back to see lions and leopards next time :). Kind regards Glen
Written May 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Steve K
6 contributions
Family
Go Safari was very helpful in booking two events for my US family in South Africa for our son's wedding and enabling the family to truly experience Africa while we were there. Events that were scheduled had to be scheduled around wedding activities and it was accomplished with great success. We were able to go on two game drives with our grandchildren and experience their joy and excitement at seeing the animals in their true open environment at Pilanesburg. Second event scheduled was Lesedi when they learned about the tribes that make up South Africa. All of our guides were knowledgeable and we learned at lot.
Written April 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Steve K It was a pleasure to work with you and make these tours take place when it suited you. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Pilanesberg and got to share special times with your family. Thank you for writing such a great review i really appreciate it. I look forward to arranging a longer safari for you when you visit SA again. Regards Glen
Written May 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

mbunkerlondon
London, UK10 contributions
Solo
I booked through Go Safari and the experience was great - Susan at Go Safari responded promptly to my emails and made all the arrangements which worked perfectly. Had an amazing time at Pilanesburg with the highlight seeing a white rhino stand off with a pride of lions! Caught the safari bug for sure - big thank you to Go Safari - would definitely recommend them.
Written April 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi mbunkerlondon Wow you where lucky to see the stand off between the rhino and lions and i am glad the safari bug has bitten because that means you will be back and we will have the pleasure of arranging another safari for you. Thank you for writing such a great review and for making time to do so and i am glad you had such a good time in Pilanesberg. I will pass your kind words on to Susan Regards and until next time Glen
Written May 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Evan F
Charlotte, NC5 contributions
Friends
I booked Go Safari after coming across them on Trip Advisor. David helped me with the booking several months in advance and was very quick to reply and was accommodating for our large group of 8.

The day of our guide Stephan was right on time to pick us up at the hotel and we were off to start our journey to Pilanesberg. Our safari guide was expertly navigating us around to secluded areas of the reserve where we saw 4 of the big 5 (no lions that day) and had wildebeest and elephants pass along around our truck at certain points.

Overall it was a unforgettable experience we'll be talking about for years to come!
Written March 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Glen F
Hi Evan F Thank you very much for the great review and your comments about David and Stephen, I will let them know. Glad you had a such a good game drive - now you need to come back to see lions :). Once the safari bug bites there is no cure but to come back for a longer safari. Regards Glen
Written March 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

JDRogers2014
Welches, OR5 contributions
Couples
We saved money for our South African vacation for over a year and a half and the part we were most looking forward to was our 2-day Safari in Pilanesberg. My husband even purchased a new camera for the game drives.

Shortly after we arrived at the Bakubung Lodge in Pilanesberg we were told by another guest that the evening game drive had been cancelled due to wildfires. The entire park had been closed for the first time in history. We were told that we would be informed of the status of our morning drive later that night. Had it not been for this individual we would not have been told of the cancellation- we did not hear anything from Go Safari.

We inquired on the status of the morning game drive several times that evening and nobody at the resort seemed to know anything. We went to bed disappointed but hopeful for a morning drive.

We awoke the next morning at 5AM to get ready just in case the drive was going to occur. We went to the lobby and, again, nobody had any information. Worse still....no word from Go Safari. After standing in the lobby for an hour exchanging awkward glances with the front desk staff we finally went back to the room assuming the drive was cancelled (we were literally the only guests standing in the lobby). Still...no word from Go Safari.

Our ride back to Joburg was not scheduled to pick us up until noon so we had 6 hours to sit there and do nothing. So, we sat on a bench outside and waiting for 6 hours to be picked up. As we sat there, we had hoped for word from Go Safari. Anything would have been nice. "We are sorry about the cancellations", "Would you like to try again another day?", "Can we provide a voucher for a future date?" But Go Safari did not reach out.

We understand that the wildfires were not anyone's fault and those things happen. We can tolerate disappointment. What we are upset about is the total lack of communication from Go Safari and the horrible customer service we have received.

We spent nearly $900USD on one night at a lodge with crappy food and poor service from the staff.

We had several more days to spend in Joburg and would have gladly paid for another driver to take us back after he park opened so we could even get one game drive in.

This was supposed to be a trip of a lifetime. Go Safari really messed this one up.
Written September 5, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi JDRogers2014 Thank you for this feed back, it is always good to get feed back if it is good or even not very good. To be honest with you we where also in the dark about the fire and only found about it on social media after it have been burning for a while. We did have guests who where going to Pilanesberg for the day and the company that does the game drives for us (not Bakubung) did phone and tell us that the afternoon drive was cancelled because the park was actually closed and as you said for the first time in its history. So we did know that the afternoon game drive was not going to happen and at that time no one could let us know if the morning drive was going to happen. I agree with you 100%, and hindsight is the perfect science, we should have phoned Bakubung to check what was happening and not just left it to them to inform guests and handle the situation. I have spoken to the game department since and they said they did do the morning drive but you where their and no drive was done so I don't know what to say about this. I do know that the fire did burn for a few days and one of our guides who volunteers in Pilanesberg said that it was not pleasant due to the dust and smoke even after most of the fire was out. We normally arrange the transfer at midday because most guests rather want to spend the more time at Bakubung than in their hotel in Joburg. If you had let me know we could have easily arranged for the transfer to be earlier as the guide was also just waiting to meet you at midday. But once again I do agree that if we had spoken to you about the game drives and fire I am sure we would have arranged the transfer earlier to suit you. And likewise found out that you had several days in Johannesburg so we could have arranged a day tour for you later in the week. I can only apologize for the lack of communication, this is not how I want my team to work and even being a weekend we could have made a call. I have learn from this and will make sure we check up on our guests while they are at Bakubung, we have been using Bakubung for 20 odd years now and have had hardly any complaints so I supposed we have got used to Bakubung looking after our guests well and trusted them to keep you informed but this time they did not. Regards Glen
Written September 15, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Go Safari
SusanaC1575
SusanaC1575
00
great assistance from Glen
We were very satisfied with the itinerary . We went to Mohlabetsi in greater Kruger. also went to Chobe in Botswana
GrizzNP
GrizzNP
00
Well worth the visit.
Well worth the visit. We saw 4 of the big five (Leopards only really come out at night) and the park is stunning. O
nrdesmurs36
nrdesmurs36
00
Perfect Curated 4 Day Safari in Sabi Sands/Kruger
Glen was a life saver! Booking travel to a far location, especially during a pandemic, can be challenging. As a ty
495fienp
495fienp
00
First time to South Afrika
We had a great time visiting South Afrika and the service of Go Safari was excellent! The guidances of Glen the fir
M2386OCkellys
M2386OCkellys
00
The "Big 5"
What can I say other than AMAZING! Glen was so patient and flexible in planning our last-minute trip from the US to
JMR6008
JMR6008
00
4 Days at Kruger/Balule at Private Game Lodge
Go Safari exceeded our expectations. I've contracted with Glen in the past for day trips to Pilanesberg, and he han
NadiaBogaert
NadiaBogaert
00
An amazing place
one word : AMAZING ! being so close to nature under the guidance of professional rangers is an unique experience wh
Lindaffff
Lindaffff
00
3 day trip to Black Rhino Lodge
We enjoyed a three night stay at the Black Rhino Game Lodge in the Pilanesberg organized by Susan & Glen from Go S
mistry218
mistry218
00
Great service and incredible experience
Glen was great to work with! We expected him to create an itinerary for our Kruger national Park Safari. However, h
29dirkv
29dirkv
00
Outstanding !!
roundtrip 16 days SA North/South : splendid organisation, excellent lodges/B&B, constant and precise follow up duri
mateushaas2
mateushaas2
00
Excellent experience
I was traveling together with my brother and Glen took us in our hotel perfectly on time. The ride to Pilensburg wa
Manuel M
Manuel M
00
Best travel option
It was incredibly easy to make a trip with Go Safari, especially during these covid times. I have no words to descr
Jasonchen520
Jasonchen520
00
Honeymooning in South Africa
Glen did an amazing job organizing our trip to South Africa. The trip was for our honeymoon and we wanted to have
Shards85
Shards85
00
Well organised safari
I can’t fault this company when organising our safari. We had a baby travelling with us and they were so helpful in
tokunbotoriola
tokunbotoriola
00
Family vacation in South Africa
We had an opportunity to visit pilanesberg on a day journey and the children saw Elephant, ,lion and buffalo out o
Frequently Asked Questions about One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives

One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives will start at 10:00 AM. Discover and book One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives on Tripadvisor

One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives price starts from $538.60. Discover and book One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives on Tripadvisor

One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives on Tripadvisor

One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives is hosted by Go Safari. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Go Safari on Tripadvisor. Discover and book One night two day Pilanesberg National Park safari and open vehicle game drives on Tripadvisor