Tours and Tickets

Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City provided by Cicerone Tours

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City

Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City
4.5
Book in advance
from
$22.07
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Costumed guide helps illustrate Quebec history
Duration:
1h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
15
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
With a grand perch in the heart of the Old City, the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is among Québec City’s most iconic and historic places—and you don’t have to be a guest to check out the interior. Join a guide in period costume for a tour that explores the outside and inside of the grand chateau, and learn about the landmark’s history, architecture, and colorful characters.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, French
Highlights
  • Choose between a range of convenient departure times
  • See the chateau without paying top-dollar for a room
  • Meet at a central location in the Old City
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, French
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Choose between a range of convenient departure times
  • See the chateau without paying top-dollar for a room
  • Meet at a central location in the Old City
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 21799P3
Important information
Inclusions
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Duration
1h
Departure details
  • Au 1884, Place Terrasse Dufferin NEXT TO THE CHÂTEAU FRONTENAC KIOSK, PRINCESSE LOUISE, Québec, QC G1R 4P5, Canada Tour departs from Au 1884, a small cafe on Dufferin Terrace, right beside the Château Frontenac.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
Inclusions
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Au 1884, Place Terrasse Dufferin NEXT TO THE CHÂTEAU FRONTENAC KIOSK, PRINCESSE LOUISE, Québec, QC G1R 4P5, Canada Tour departs from Au 1884, a small cafe on Dufferin Terrace, right beside the Château Frontenac.
Duration
1h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Jul 15, 2022
A note from Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City
All clients wanting to do the guided tour of Château Frontenac will be asked to present a vaccination certificate or sanitary pass upon departure, as required by health authorities.
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Au 1884
    Place Terrasse Dufferin NEXT TO THE CHÂTEAU FRONTENAC KIOSK, PRINCESSE LOUISE, Québec, QC G1R 4P5, Canada
    Tour departs from Au 1884, a small cafe on Dufferin Terrace, right beside the Château Frontenac.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Terrasse Dufferin
    Stop: 10 minutes
    The starting point is located on Dufferin Terrace, overlooking the majestic St. Lawrence river.
    Read more
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
157 reviews
Excellent
105
Very good
30
Average
10
Poor
4
Terrible
8

Steven Y
Raleigh, NC60 contributions
We met our guide on the Dufferin Terrace just outside Château Frontenac where we had an overview of the construction and architecture before going inside. The lobby was amazing, we got to see one of the empty rooms and got the chance to go into the Salon Rose where the historic secret Quebec Conference took place in World War II. The tour is just 1 hour but provides a great overview of such an amazing place and things you would not know if just walking through on your own.
Written June 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Traveller
Ontario, Canada16 contributions
This was an outstanding tour well worth the money spent. The guide, in costume, was extremely knowledgeable and told stories, rather than "conduct a tour". His presentation was filled with interesting information and pictures, he kept on topic and being allowed inside the Chateau was extra special.
Written July 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

BakingBookworm
Waterloo, Canada294 contributions
My husband and I enjoyed this walking tour through Chateau Frontenac. Our guide, who was an older gent, did a fantastic job (with nice added humourous touches) describing the history of this iconic building as he took us on a tour beginning outside (10 min) and inside (50 min). We saw various rooms on the first few floors and fans of Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache series (specifically Bury Your Dead) will recognize the men’s bar at the Chateau.

We were hoping to get a peak at one or two rooms (we had heard from our concierge that the tours will sometimes take the tour into a room or two) but perhaps due to Covid that’s not possible.

Enjoyable, professional and entertaining.
Written October 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marc D
Thank you for the kind review. You guessed right about taking our people inside hotel rooms. Due to Covid and current restrictions, we are not allowed to visit them. It is good to read that our professional tour guide helped overcoming that disappointment. Merci!
Written October 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MB-Nanaimo
Nanaimo, Canada7 contributions
Friends
Fantastic tour by a costumed guide in character at a reasonable price! We met outside on le Terrasse Dufferin. The guides divided us up & we got the lady playing the Countess du Frontenac. We toured a lot of the Château, including some rooms you wouldn’t see if you just wandered around. There was time to take photos & you can wander freely after the tour or any time to take more pics. Fantastic experience. Highly recommend!!
Written July 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

DanielleK723
Washington DC, DC98 contributions
The guide was full of great facts AND just a joyful person with a great sense of humor. I loved how he dressed the part. The tour provided a lot more info than just about the building; it provided historic and cultural context too. Would definitely recommend it for any history buffs. You also get to see rooms normally off-limits to people just wandering around (e.g. ballrooms etc).
Written December 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

lisabertle
Waterloo, Canada21 contributions
I had a very nice experience on the english tour of Chateau Frontenac. I booked my tour on the same day 1 hour before the tour with my phone, and the process was easy. I liked how the tour guide was dressed as a character from the past (Gladys White, the debutante) and she was just lovely- very friendly, knowledgable, and she easily answered all of our questions. There were only 2 of us on the english tour on a weekday (September 2021) so I felt like we got a very personalized tour. I learned a lot about the history of the hotel and we got to see some rooms and spaces not accessible to the general public (although we did not get to see one of the hotel rooms that guests stay in.) My expectations were exceeded and I had a really great time! Thank you very much.
Written September 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Budaroni
Rosetown57 contributions
Kate was a wonderful tour guide who was able to bring the history of the Chateau alive. Kate proved to be knowledgeable about not only the chateau, but also some history of the city.

We enjoyed the insight into the various stages to show the building that we see today. In addition, the personal history of Frontenac and his wife certainly added to the visit,
Written April 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

AMC
Hollywood, FL1 contribution
This isn't a reflection of the guide, rather the booking system. It's not clearly obvious when booking through the phone optimized website which tour will be in french and which will be in english, and when I realized the mistake, I requested a refund and was denied. There aren't enough tour times offered to really be able to change over, and there are no percentage refunds offered. It was really unfortunate that the difference isn't made clearer in the title or description of the tour, and I have a feeling they do this purposefully by how rude the customer service associate was. Will never book again.
Written September 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marc D
Bonjour, Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. We totaly agree with you: not only the tour itself has to meet guests expectations but the booking process also! Therefore we will definitely look into it carefully and do whatever we can to improve the clarity of information provided at time of booking. Now, I'd be curious to find out which customer service associate you contacted, because we will not tolerate any type of rudeness in our clientele service. Did you contact Viator customer support? Or did you contact us at Cicerone Tours directly? Please kindly advise. Our recommendation to customer when chagnes in bookings are required is to contact us directly, preferably by phone (our number shows on the confirmation voucher) and so we can meet your needs quickly and efficiently. Finally, we understand that you were not happy with the number of different departure times offered but please unserstand that the pandemic has affected our operations quite a bit over the last year and a half with all sanitary restrictions evolving on a daily basis, in addition to the limited staff crew we needed to compose with recently. But please trust that we are doing everything we can to provide the best guest experience possible within those parameters. Thank you for your understanding Sincerely,
Written September 10, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JPNY2020
New York City, NY34 contributions
Couples
This tour included a visit to many of the larger gathering rooms along with a narrative of historical insights. Our guide was knowledgeable and humorous throughout the tour and my SO and I felt very lucky to have him as our guide. We highly recommend this tour!
Written June 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Eileen K
10 contributions
Family
It was a great tour lead by the very humorous character "Thomas." My children said it was the best tour we had on our whole trip. Very informative with just the right amount of interactive content. 1 hour long - perfect! After you can explore the shops inside and the small museum on the lower floor followed by a refresher from the Starbucks. Next time we have all agreed we need to do the tour of old Quebec city with them!
Written August 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marc D
Wow thank you for the amazing review ! We hope to see you soon in our Walking tour of Quebec !
Written August 10, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 108
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Cicerone Tours
330ileneb
330ileneb
00
Informative. Highly recommend.
Outstanding tour of the Old City. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly, professional and the tour moved
Neville S
Neville S
00
Best walking tour!
Excellent guide, the best such tour of any city I have experienced. I feel we got to the heart of Vieux Quebec. Hig
williamsE1321AC
williamsE1321AC
00
Outstanding tour!
The guide was very entertaining and animated. She did a great job! She added humor to facts and made it easy to fo
rtaba285
rtaba285
00
Interesting introduction to centuries of Old QUebec
Interesting outdoor walking tour of Old City, upper and lower levels. Well-informed costumed guide. On the July w
L1830NLseant
L1830NLseant
00
great tour
very knowlegeable guides many stories to tell at every stop on the tour. also able to answer any questions you migh
ViewFromMe
ViewFromMe
00
An Educational and Fun Walking Tour
I really enjoyed Jeanne, our guide. The content was comprehensive and insightful - including historical context for
drpdonoghue
drpdonoghue
00
Absolutely wonderful!
Absolutely wonderful! What a great idea…mixing history with supporting local business and eating and drinking loca
Hsteinmiller
Hsteinmiller
00
The best!
I had no idea which walking tour I should take in Québec City, so I randomly chose Cicérone and what a serendipitou
cathy b
cathy b
00
old Quebec is amazing
this was amazing tour loved every minute. such a beautiful place. had no trouble with only being able to speak engl
Jennifer C
Jennifer C
00
Want to learn about Quebec City? Do this tour! It is an incredible tour - highly recommend!
Our family, including 2 girls ages 13 & 8, learned a lot about Quebec City. Tour guides are amazing!
paemond
paemond
00
Great tour!
The tour was very informative and the guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. I'm very happy I did this!
amg14
amg14
00
History of Quebec Come Alive
I had an excellent tour of Quebec City with my guide, Jean-Claude. He portrayed a character from the original sett
travelmaniac1957
travelmaniac1957
00
Walking tour of Quebec history
Francis gave a wonderful and humor filled account of Quebec's history while walking around and showing various land
BeyondNormal
BeyondNormal
00
Excellent review of the historic significance of the area
An excellent overview of the city from the Le Chateau Frontenac down to the lower city. Very interesting review of
Budaroni
Budaroni
00
Well worth the money!
Our tour guide was very informative and was genuinely passionate about the history of the city. The walking tour wa
Frequently Asked Questions about Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City


Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City price starts from $21.88. Discover and book Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City on Tripadvisor

Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City on Tripadvisor

Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City is hosted by Cicerone Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Cicerone Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Guided Tour of the Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City on Tripadvisor