Tours and Tickets

Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour provided by By The Sidewalk Food Tours

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour

Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour
4.5
Book in advance
from
$57.07
per adult
About
• Come and explore Kensington Market, Toronto’s first neighborhood to be declared one of Canada's national historic sites in 2006. • Famous for its fresh produce, cheese, meats, bread and desserts, bulk spices, nuts, flowers, marijuana and vintage clothing, the area also teems with a variety of restaurants, cafés and bars. The shops spill out onto the sidewalk, giving the market a vibrant street culture unique to the city of Toronto. • Wander the open air multicultural marketplace known for its independent spirit, colorful wall art & steert murals, thriving food scene and eclectic businesses on this three hour food tour. • Includes 7 stops: tastings enough for a hearty meal. Venture outside the common ones and discover new cuisines on the tour. • Walk away with new culinary perspectives, broad smiles, satisfied taste buds and the confidence to continue exploring the neighborhood by the sidewalk!
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h 15m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h 15m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 87217P1
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • Food tasting
  • Local guide
  • Lunch
  • Entry/Admission - By The Sidewalk Food Tours
  • Entry/Admission - Kensington Market
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Transportation to/from attractions
Duration
2h 15m
Departure details
  • 202 Augusta Ave, Toronto, ON M5T 2L6, Canada
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • No Beef
  • No Poultry
  • Vegetarian
  • Other than food, one thing that would interest you on the tour:
  • History
  • Culture
  • Music
  • Street Art
  • Trivia
  • Other recommendations
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Booking ahead of time (purchasing tickets) guarantees a spot on the tour. The tours often get full in advance so plan accordingly. We don't offer waiting lists for sold out tours.
  • You don't have to purchase a ticket for an infant (0-3 years)
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
Inclusions
  • Food tasting
  • Local guide
  • Lunch
  • Entry/Admission - By The Sidewalk Food Tours
  • Entry/Admission - Kensington Market
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Transportation to/from attractions
Departure details
  • 202 Augusta Ave, Toronto, ON M5T 2L6, Canada
Duration
2h 15m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • No Beef
  • No Poultry
  • Vegetarian
  • Other than food, one thing that would interest you on the tour:
  • History
  • Culture
  • Music
  • Street Art
  • Trivia
  • Other recommendations
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Booking ahead of time (purchasing tickets) guarantees a spot on the tour. The tours often get full in advance so plan accordingly. We don't offer waiting lists for sold out tours.
  • You don't have to purchase a ticket for an infant (0-3 years)
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    202 Augusta Ave
    202 Augusta Ave, Toronto, ON M5T 2L6, Canada
    See address & details
  • 1
    By The Sidewalk Food Tours
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Kensington Market
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+

4.5
15 reviews
Excellent
13
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Experience732449
5 contributions
A Very Good Food Tour of Kensington Market
May 2019 • Friends
I booked a private tour with Sidewalk Tours for some friends visiting from the US. It was a wonderful experience. Catherine, our guide, was knowledgeable and interesting. I expected the good food but did not anticipate learning so much about the history of Kensington and the street art in the area. The only suggestion I would make is that we did not enjoy the Vegan Cinnamon bun at the end of the tour. With so many wonderful dessert places, we felt there were better options. Otherwise, this reasonably priced tour met all of our expectations. Thank you!
Written May 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

BMaj0r
Toronto, Canada53 contributions
Great afternoon in the City
May 2019 • Family
Our family of four went on the tour, this past Saturday. The guide, Catherine, gave us a lot of tidbits of information, As it was a busy and noisy Saturday, she would usually try to pull us into an alleyway where it was a lot quieter, so she could tell us about/show us a mural or give us some other bits of info. We started off the food part of the tour at Global Cheese, with some delicious cheese bites. We had a lot of munchies, but our all time favourite food was the Jerk Chicken Dumpling at Rasta Pasta and the delicious brownie that we had at Blackbird Bakery. We tried Bunners (vegan & glueten free) - their cinnamon bun was not something I would want again, but my son had an Oreo muffin there, which he thought was really good. We also had some dumplings at a Tibetan Restaurant which were good and an interesting sandwich at a South American Restaurant. The guide was interesting and kind enough to wait as some of us were a bit late - stuck in Toronto traffic. I also thought we were given a wide variety of things to eat and things to see, so that made the tour more interesting.
Written May 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Les S
3 contributions
Great Tour and Great Lunch
Nov 2018 • Couples
Have been on food tours before and this one is right up there. Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable host. Eclectic mix of foods but then again, Kensington is a very eclectic area. I am a big eater and was very full by the end.
Written November 13, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Anne K
3 contributions
Food was good!
Oct 2018 • Solo
It was my first time to participated in a food tour and love it! It is great to have a tasty foods while listening to the cultural, and historical informative guide. The amount of food were enough for me and I feel very satisfied at the end of the tour. Some of them was a bit spicy but not too much so I think anyone can enjoy. I am thinking about revisiting the restaurant we went.
Written November 9, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Live R
2 contributions
Unforgettable pleasant experience at an unbeatable price!!
Oct 2018 • Family
I was referred to this tour by a friend and glad we got on this joy ride. I was accompanied by my 5 year old and we had a more than filling vegetarian portions and had take away too. Our most Speial food moments were cheeses tasting..a 🌵 sandwich. The knowledgable guide showed us places and information that we would not notice in bright daylight ..even if we wonderd in the market for hours!!!
There was a dull moment where historical info. was being provided and all my 5 yr wanted to do was wander and eat :)
Definately recommeded on visit to toronto or as a local to know more about Kensington Market.
Written October 31, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

priyeshchheda
Toronto, Canada3 contributions
Fabulous Experience of the Market
Aug 2018 • Couples
Your food tours are my favorite activity in Toronto. I never knew about such attraction and activity called as a Food tour. It is so much more than just being walked from place to place, eating food and knowing about the history and importance of the Kensington Market. The food is just a medium but you also get to experience the city in a way that goes way below the surface that I scraped on previous visits. These tours make me feel like a true insider! Most recommended tour.
Written October 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

funhunter2018
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
Sustainable farming & food creations
Oct 2018 • Friends
We live in the suburbs & haven't visited Kensington for years. It was fun to have an introduction to a variety of local food creators who work with small, specialty suppliers.
We will visit again since we know our way around now and will go to places that are more out of the way. Thanks for explanations of street art and pre-confederation history. That is something that is harder to find out about, even for people who live in the city.
Written October 21, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you funhunter18 for your review. We are glad you had a fun time on the tour and will come back to the market now that you know your way around. Thank you for the thumbs up!
Written October 24, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Xmtler
Toronto, Canada128 contributions
Save your time and money! Skip this tour.
Please let my experience serve some purpose (to help you) – SKIP this “food” tour. Having taken over a half dozen food tours in cities all over the world this was, by far, the weakest. It was not only weak – it was simply unacceptable. Unlike every other food tour I have experienced, everyone was left hungry. In addition to the experience of being on a food-light food tour, the cultural/historical aspect of the tour was both disappointing and factually inaccurate. Upon completion of the tour, we promtly received an email for feedback with the express mention that if our experience was less than “five star,” they would “make it right.” We wrote a constructive email that expressed the above, and (more than a 2 weeks later) we have not received a response.

A more detailed review follows:

As locals who often frequent Kensington Market, we thought it would be fun to learn more about this amazing district. The blurb talked about a tour of the history of Kensington Market and the food in the area.

Upon gathering, the friendly tour guide immediately warned/apologized for not having a loud voice. She was not wrong – which is a liability for a walking tour through a busy city street tour. We were then notified for the first time that the focus of the tour would be new, up and coming entrepreneurs of the area. That alone is a surprising focus for an area of such history and character.

The first food stop was Global Cheese. Here we were presented with three “local, small batch” Ontario cheeses. The three hard cheeses were completely unremarkable. Being the first stop, we took this as a little warm-up tasting. We then moved across the street to the Mexican restaurant. While I still find it bizarre to stop at one of the newest additions to the market, it was the best stop of the tour. We were given half a sandwich and an interesting rice milk drink.

It is worth noting that we skipped Patty King – a true established gem of the area that was, coincidentally, on the review survey. Did the guide forget this stop? How could we miss it?

Then for the next hour or so we engaged in a walking tour that was horrible. Talking about the street art in the market, the guide attempted to incorporate references to Banksy. She was completely wrong about her treatment of the artist and the politics surrounding the most recent exhibit of his art.

Having only had a half a sandwich and a few cubes of cheese on this food tour scheduled over the lunch hours (11 am – 2 pm), by the second hour people were hungry. One couple asked the trainee guide (who was trailing the group) for a refund – they were talked out of it. In retrospect, I regret not adding my voice to their complaint. As one point, we passed the local bagel shop that was passing out free samples. It was a group joke that we needed to grab free samples because we were all so hungry.

At one point, the guide stopped in front of the Kiever synagogue. We were on the sidewalk, at the corner of Bellevue park across from the synagogue. Another group of four adults were looking at the building and talking at a reasonable volume some 10 feet away. The guide walked over and asked them to keep their voices down since she was giving a tour. I was shocked and embarrassed – hushing a group of people on a sidewalk in front of a public park (who were rightfully taken aback) because you can’t project your voice to a modest huddle of 8 people!? It only got worse. Explaining to the group why two synagogues were built in this area and what would have precipitated the wave of Jewish immigration – she noted the Russian Revolution and Stalin’s rise to power. Sorry, given that both synagogues were built in 1912 – they predate both of these historical events. (The wave of Jewish immigration to Toronto – and North America – was largely due to the late 19th century czarist Anti-Semitic pogroms. There were several other major inaccuracies but I suspect you get the point.)

Some two hours after the tour began we circled back to a relatively new start up brewery for beer samples of two in-house brews. This was the only time an employee even addressed us. (On food tours, one is often greeted by an owner/manager who explains their establishment.) While sampling these beers, the guide went across the street and returned with small individual take-out boxes from Otto’s Doner. Despite again being a relatively new addition to the market, it would have been a worthy stop to sample some excellent doners. As the guide passed the small sample boxes out, she explained, “You’ve probably had too much bread by now so here is a sample of the doner’s filling.” Seriously? First, how does having a half sandwich nearly two hours prior complete our “bread rations.” Second, serving a doner without the pita completely alters the experience – and not for the better.

Finally, we walked a couple doors down to Wanda’s (a pie shop). The guide comes out with one strawberry and rhubarb pie and placed it on the table with a pie cutter and made us cut the pie and serve ourselves. Why go to one of the less interesting food places in the market. Only one pie to try? Cut and serve ourselves?

Even at the lower price compared to other food tours we have taken, this tour was simply unacceptable. I regret not demanding my money back. Save yourself the time and money.
Written October 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Xmtler. We are extremely sorry for the experience you had on the tour which clearly left a sour taste in your mouth. We didn't receive the email you mentioned above to express your feedback. Could you please resend it to info@bythesidewalk.com? Apologies on not getting back to you earlier. We have looked into many things you have mentioned in the detailed review and looked to address it; From food tastings to delivering information to flow in which the tour runs. Thank you once again for pointing out what din't work for you at all. We will take the feedback and look to improve the experience moving forward. Apologies from the entire team for the bad experience. Thank you!
Written October 24, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lisa S
1 contribution
You must fit this in if visiting Toronto
Oct 2018 • Couples
My husband and I were in Toronto visiting family. This was his first visit to Toronto and this was the highlight of the trip. Great food, art and shopping. You will not leave hungry!
Written October 8, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you Lisa for you kind words. We are glad we could make your first visit to Toronto a memorable one. Thanks once again. See you on your next culinary adventure!
Written October 24, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kelly W
4 contributions
Eat before you go
First food tour I've ever been on where I left hungry. 4 food stops in 2 1/2 hours with a small sample at each place. I didn't feel the guide knew Kensington anymore than she would have learned from the internet I.e. we didn't meet any restaurant owners, talk to anyone, or hear any personal stories. I've done 4 food tours and to be fair, the others cost a lot more. I'm cheap, but I would have paid more for a better guide and more food.
Written October 8, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Kelly. We are sorry you didn't have a memorable experience on the tours. We have tightened up the experience since, from food tastings to the information delivered to our guests. Apologies for the inconvenience provided. We do hope you give us another try to rectify the experience!
Written October 24, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 15
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: By The Sidewalk Food Tours
Viper426
Viper426
00
Great for Both Tourists and Locals
I've lived in the city my whole life, but it's just too big a place to know ever nook and cranny. This tour showed
Rebecca C
Rebecca C
00
Walking tour of Kensington Market
We had a wonderful experience. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history, local shops, and art in the
Kimberly M
Kimberly M
00
Perfect balance of history and food
Our group of Texas girls loved this tour. They offered a wide variety of food types including beer and dessert. We
cama00
cama00
00
Total waste of time and money. Very disappointing!
You can do this tour yourself. No relevant information was provided, so you don’t need a tour guide for wandering t
pkjh2018
pkjh2018
00
Loads of great food from places we’d never discovered
Thought we’d try something different on a summer Saturday. It was great. The guide was excellent sharing lots of in
Frequently Asked Questions about Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour

Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour will start at 11:30 AM. Discover and book Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour on Tripadvisor


Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour price starts from $57.07. Discover and book Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour on Tripadvisor

Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour cancellation policy: All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties. Discover and book Kensington Market By The Sidewalk Food Tour on Tripadvisor