We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tulum Express Half-Day Tour

Select Date and Travelers
From
$57.00
Date
2 travelers
Overview
This 6-hour tour takes you from your Cancun or Riviera Maya Hotel to the ancient Mayan ruins of Tulum, the only archaeological city on the coast of Quintana Roo. Tour this historic site with an informative guide, learn about Mayan culture and commerce, then walk a few steps to the sea and take a refreshing dip in the Caribbean. Round-trip transport by air-conditioned coach is included from Cancun and the Riviera Maya, as are entrance fees, bottled water, and professional guides.
Highlights
  • A private coach tour of the ruins of Tulum
  • Learn about the history of the ancient trading port and culture of the Mayas
  • Enjoy plenty of free time to snap photos of the sites
  • Round-trip transportation from Cancun or Riviera Maya
What to Expect
The clifftop ruins of Tulum make up one of Mexico’s most photogenic archaeological sites. During this informative, in-depth tour, get an insider’s peek at these well-preserved ancient sites with a comprehensive historical background on the stunning ancient trading port and the Quintana Roo coast. Avoid the hassles of arranging your own car rental or bus tickets and enjoy the scenic chauffeured drive to Tulum in an air-conditioned coach. Learn about the role that the walled trading port played in the development of Maya culture and commerce. Stroll between famous landmarks, such as the stepped pyramid of El Castillo and the remarkably intact faces at the Temple of the Frescoes. Wander the ruins at your own pace or head down to the nearby Caribbean coastline, part of the Mexican Riviera before boarding your bus to Cancun.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Traveler pickup is offered
We offer pick up at hotels in Cancun, Playa del Carmen and Riviera Maya. When you make your

reservation do not forget to mention your hotel.
Departure Time
Pick up from 7am to 9am depending on hotel location
Duration
7h
Inclusions
  • Bottled water
  • Live commentary on board
  • Professional guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entry/Admission - Tulum Archaeological Site
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Lunch
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Gratuities
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wear comfortable clothes and walking shoes
  • May be operated by a multilingual guide
  • Wheelchair accessible—if assistance is required, you must provide your own assistant
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
5
3
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
5
3
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus mayan history mike sticker stops caribbean playa ride ruins
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 13 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Don Jose (Pepe) and Gullermo were the BEST guide and driver that I could have hoped for. They made the whole Tulum tour experience both fascinating and welcoming. Their knowledge of the subject of Mayan history and archaeology and their sparkling personalities were amazing.The trip...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Perry B
Cancún P, Supervisor Riviera at Cancun Passion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Perry B Thank you for leaving your review of our Tulum Express tour, we will send your comments to the staff who guided you through the archeological zone of tulum, we will be waiting for you so we can give you the best tour...More

Reviewed August 16, 2019

The place is definitely worth a visit, enough though it is nowadays flooded with tourists. The guide spoke mostly Spanish and only repeated parts of what he had said in English. This limited the fun of visiting Tulum. Also, a half-day tour is only advisable...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Gottfried V
Reviewed June 19, 2019

Be prepared for a lot of walking. Drink plenty of water. We booked through Amstar. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The tour provided cool wet towels to refresh our faces, along with additional water and light snacks. Recommend going earlier rather than later because it...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Roam36089765120
Cancún P, Supervisor Riviera at Cancun Passion, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Hello Roam36089765120 Thanks for leaving a comment in TripAdvisor for us, we would like to thank you for your recommendations of our tour of tulum express, We hope to see you soon again with us in any tours with us so we can keep provide...More

Reviewed March 15, 2019

Personally I think there are better things to do with your time in Cancun. The tour itself does not disappoint. We got into a good air conditioned shuttle exactly at the time that was communicated (7:50AM). Tulum is a little over 2 hour drive from...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 708varunr
Cancún P, Supervisor Riviera at Cancun Passion, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Hello 708varunr We are happy to know that you enjoyed our half day tour of Tulum Express with us, thanks for the detailed review you wrote for us, We would like to see you again in another tour with us, we assure you will have...More

Reviewed January 26, 2019

We were crammed into a van that took too many hotel stops. We were the first on the bus and we were going up the hotel strip for an hour picking people up. The guide would get out, not be able to find people at...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Carla M
Cancún P, Supervisor Riviera at Cancun Passion, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Hello Carla M We are sorry for all the trouble you went during the picks ups, these situarion usually dont happens to us, so we would like to apologize for this. At least you were able to enjoy the guided tour. Have a great day....More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ruth A
January 28, 2019|
Answer
Response from jaml50aa | Reviewed this property |
I really don’t remember but was late morning or early afternoon. We are not morning people, especially on vacation!
0
Votes
Key Details
  • Duration: 7h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant confirmation
  • Languages Offered: Spanish
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall: