Tours and Tickets
St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas
3.5

St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas

By Great Exploration Tours
Avoid the crowds with this small group tour of St. John. You'll be picked up at your resort or cruise ship and will head to the East End ferry dock to the beautiful island of St John. Travel between the two islands on a scenic ferry ride, then step ashore on St John. Began with an island tour of this picture perfect island given by a local guide. Please note that ferry tickets to and from St. John are not included in this tour's cost and are available for purchase at the dock.
from
$123.38
per adult (price varies by group size)
from
$123.38
per adult (price varies by group size)

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 99 per group
Duration: 5h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
English, Spanish


  • Pick-up at both cruise ports in St. Thomas
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • National Park fees
  • Local guide
  • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
  • Entry/Admission - Annaberg Sugar Plantation
What's not included
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities - recommended
  • Round trip ferry tickets to St. John ($16.30)
  • Entry/Admission - Trunk Bay Beach


Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • * We pick up in most major St Thomas hotels/resort. Please inform us the name and address of your hotel, if it's not on the list. * Pick up at Crown Bay Dock will be at The Windmill, where the prepaid tours are. * Pick up at West Indian Dock will be at Gate no.4
  • Ports:
  • 8168 Crown Bay Marina Suite 528, Charlotte Amalie West, St Thomas 00802, USVI
  • West Indian Company dock, 83JG+M8H, Estate Thomas, St Thomas 00802, USVI
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9295P28

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Ferry tickets to and from St. John are not included in this tour's cost and are available for purchase at the dock. Roundtrip tickets costs $16.30 per person.
  • Pick up and tour start times must be coordinated with the local supplier and are subject to change due to traffic conditions and number of groups joining the tour.
  • Please confirm cruise ship dock upon booking for those coming from a cruise.
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Before getting in the vehicle after your beach time, make sure you're clean of sand and wearing dry clothes.
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required. This tour operates with a minimum of 4 guests. Cancellation notice will be given 24 hours in advance
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 99 travelers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

Which attractions will I visit with St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas?
How much is St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas?
St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas price starts from $123.38. Discover and book St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas on Tripadvisor
What is the St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas cancellation policy?
St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas on Tripadvisor
Which company provides St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas?
St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas is hosted by Great Exploration Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Great Exploration Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9295P28

Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See departure details
  • 1
    Redhook Bay
    Stop: 50 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Trunk Bay Beach
    Stop: 3 hours - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 3
    Annaberg Sugar Plantation
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 4
    Virgin Islands National Park
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

bigal333
bigal333
00
Great tour of st thomas
Great tour Fantastic friendly customer service with a great overview of the island and its history Wonderful views
Pnejati
Pnejati
00
Excellent
The tour bus driver (Hamblet) was prompt in arranging pickup from the hotel and very friendly. He was informative a
skwj11
skwj11
00
Excellent excursion
We had an excellent adventure with Adam and Porkchop. Definitely a trip we’ll take again. The views were magnificen
Denise H
Denise H
00
OK Tour
The tour was ok. You couldn’t hear what the tour guide was saying because the speaker sucked. Then he left us at th
Sylva S S
Sylva S S
00
Visit to St Croix Virgin Island - Relaxing on the beach, water is nice & warm, transportation very expansive, needs TLC
Beautiful beaches very relaxing, Transportation very expensive, food is expensive, from one to another restaurant
851scotta
851scotta
00
St. Thomas tour and beach
Tour was done with my whole family while on a cruise. Driver (Hamblet) found our group all waiting at the gate. We
Y6881UEallisona
Y6881UEallisona
00
Not what was advertised.
NOT what we wanted. We booked the beach transfer. We did NOT want the multi-stop shop and sight see option. So we c
Julie K
Julie K
00
Wonderful tour, great driver
Hamblet was a very good tour guide. We learned lots about St Thomas and its history. Stopped at two of the highest
I9643HVfrancescor
I9643HVfrancescor
00
Awful
I booked them rather than through our cruise and there was a time difference driver said he would wait 15min for us
M2522OKjohnp
M2522OKjohnp
00
Excellent tour for a reasonable price!
This was a great tour! The guide was very knowledgeable about the sites we visited, and was always ready to answer
rajshesh
rajshesh
00
Worth every penny!!!
It was perfect day out. The pickup was on time and the time allocated to the scenic spots was just right. Good sele
Faith P
Faith P
00
It was just ok. Wouldn’t do again
It wasn’t terrible but it wasn’t the best. Everything during this excursion was very rushed….all the stops to take
louise0305
louise0305
00
Good view of the island!
We had a nice tour of the island. Unfortunately, the weather was not perfect but we still enjoyed our trip with Ham
Paul A
Paul A
00
Started out Rocky, ended up Fine
So the description in TA doesn't really reflect what this activity includes. When i booked it said 1-6 people so
Remikasol
Remikasol
00
Coki
A lot of people..go at the left for snorkling when you look at the ocean... Went there 4 times...nice water
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

3.5
7 reviews
Excellent
2
Very good
3
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Matthew L
Macomb, MI236 contributions
This was a great excursion. We boarded the Island Lady ferry for about a 35 minute ride from St. Thomas to St. John. The ride was full of fun facts and stories about the islands. Waters were pretty rough, due to a small storm cell. We willingly got soaked with rain and spray on the lower front of the ferry. The crew was so nice, fun and easy to understand. They sell pop, water, local beer, chips, hotdogs and tee shirt on the ferry.
Once on St. John, we boarded a shuttle that took us to Trunk Bay. The roads are narrow and steep; scenery was green and lush. The most beautiful waters I’ve ever seen. The shuttle driver made a few stops for photos and told us about the history of the island as we drove.
Once at Trunk Beech, we were escorted to the beach where they gave us detailed instructions on the snorkel trail and snorkeling. We got our equipment and hit the water. The goggles leaked so I used my own without a snorkel. The water is like 16 feet deep. I recommend a life vest so you don’t have to exert yourself. Fins and a lot of motion scare the fish. We saw a lot of fish and creatures, nothing super crazy or huge.
The ferry ride back seemed longer. The top deck surprisingly did not get a nice breeze unless you were on the front-sides.
Sand is silky smooth, most beautiful beech I’ve been on. There are no chairs or umbrellas available. Would have been nice to stay longer than 2 hours.
Written April 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hambletstthomastour
Thank you for your review. We are happy, you enjoyed St. John Island one of our nations treasures. We are proud to say that we go above and beyond to offer all our customers the best experiences. We do so through a personalized experience, a dedicated selection of destinations and an appealing package of services Thank you again. Best Regards, Hamblet
Written June 5, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lisa J
Palm City, FL6 contributions
Jul 2022 • Family
Our driver and our tour guide, Kenneth, was amazing. Lots of knowledge about the island and it's beauty. I would highly recommend Kenneth for your trip.
Written July 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sheena D
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Wander. We are very happy to hear that your experience with us at The Trunk Bay Beach tour was an amazing one! Thank you for recommending Kenneth. He definitely is the best guy for the tour.
Written July 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jimmy
Spring, TX506 contributions
Feb 2019 • Couples
Hopping off our cruise ship at St. Thomas (3rd time) we took the scenic cruise and self guided tour of St. John's. The islands have suffered several hurricanes the past few years and have struggled to get back on their feet. The scenic cruise was beautiful (30 minutes) but there is little to do on your own when arriving at Cruz Bay. Swim, snorkel and have a cocktail and you're ready to get back on the boat to St, Thomas. Beautiful location!
Written June 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hambletstthomastour
Dear James D, Thank you for taking the time to do a review. St. John Island is truly one of the most beautiful islands in the Caribbean. We are happy you enjoyed your time on island.We are proud to say that we go above and beyond to offer all our customers the best experiences. We do so through a personalized experience, a dedicated selection of destinations and an appealing package of services.
Written June 5, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kittten24
Venice, FL7 contributions
Oct 2022
We were on a cruise that stopped for the day in St. Thomas. We booked the tour to St. John. While waiting to depart the ship the tour guide called me and told me if I wasn't there in 5 minutes he was leaving without me. Strike one. Then we run to the meeting spot and get on the bus to go to the Ferry to St. John. It was a very long ride with a driver who I am sure lived under a bridge somewhere. We paid the money for the Ferry and that part was ok. It was a short ride to St. John on a nice day. Once we docked in St. John a different driver met us and it went WAY DOWNHILL from there. He was very unfriendly and it felt like any minute we were going to be taken hostage. Of course we weren't but that was the vibe. He stopped the bus and made a very big deal of grilling us on whether or not we were US Citizens and if we weren't there would be trouble. It was creepy. The sugar plantation turned out to be a small stone wall overgrown with weeds. I would never recommend this tour to anyone.
Written October 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hambletstthomastour
Kitten24 we take our customers reviews very seriously, unfortunately your review is filled with insult and serious slander. I hope the individuals who take the time to read your review can see through this hateful racist rant. You post "Strike one." The driver said you have five minutes to get to the tour. You forgot to mention you were late for the pickup. All the other passengers had arrived for the tour. You being late was an inconvenience to the other guests who showed up on time. To make a statement about driver living under a bridge was nasty and says more about you than the driver. Your suggestion that a possible kidnapping of you could take place in St. John is absurd. Kenneth your driver guide is a retired police officer, which makes your comment even more ludicrous. What exactly is this kidnapping vibe you are speaking of? I can only imagine you coming to the Caribbean was a shock. To see that the majority of its inhabitants don't look like you. Is that vibe?? Annaberge Sugar Plantation Ruin is a18th-century historical landmark, with breath taking views, not just weeds as you discribe it. Lastly, our driver in St. John was not born in the United States as with about 40% of the people who live in the US Virgin Islands. There is no bias here, our goal is to provide top rated experiences for our guests by showing, them beautiful beaches, scenic views and local culture.
Written November 7, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris P
Phoenix, AZ24 contributions
Staying in St. Thomas for the week and opted for this day trip. We were provided with personal phone numbers for our driver in both locations. Ahmed and Kenneth were both excellent drivers, personal and professional, with a lot of great local information. Beautiful beach in St John. Only disappointment was that we did not see more of the island itself, only one side. Trip consisted of a couple of stops overlooking beautiful bays and a drive to Annenburg sugar mill ruins and then to beach. Probably could do the same trip on your own for half the price.
Written March 26, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hambletstthomastour
Hi Chris, We are happy you enjoyed your tour with Ahmed and Kenneth. Thank you for your kind review. Our drivers are local expert on island life. They enjoy sharing our islands with our visitors. Most guest want the time to enjoy world class beaches St. John offers so we don't do both side of this island on this tour. We do offer a full island tour of St. John which allows more island viewing. Yes, you can do the tour on your own, not for half the price, but individuals who do so put themselves at risk of encountering unsafe and unrepeatable individuals. As you stated our drivers are professionals and our company is both licenses and insured, a requirement to be apart of TripAdvisor. Thank you again for the positive review.
Written April 6, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Penny B
Waynesboro, VA24 contributions
Mar 2019
The ferry ride to and from St. John was comfortable and beautiful. Trunk Bay is glorious although quite crowded on our trip. Over all worth the prpice.
Written March 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hambletstthomastour
Hello Penny, Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your visit to St. John Island. Our tours and day trips are the perfect overview of the Virgin Island's history, culture, activities, scenic views and cuisine. This innovative approach creates the perfect storm for a top-quality service and an unforgettable experience tailored to the needs of our customers.
Written June 5, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ron T
2 contributions
Nov 2018
A beautiful beach, wait service at your beach chair, umbrella's and chairs for rent. Great drinks and food!
Written December 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

2023 St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour from St Thomas