Tours and Tickets

Open-Air Double Decker Bus Tour provided by Open Top Double Decker Tours

Open-Air Double Decker Bus Tour

Open-Air Double Decker Bus Tour
3
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Chinese, Portuguese, English, Italian, Chinese, French, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
German, Chinese, Portuguese, English, Italian, Chinese, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 11451P1
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Sightseeing bus tour • Audio-guide system in 7 different languages: English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Spanish and Chinese • Headsets to hear the audio-guide • Purified ice-cold water • Entry/Admission - St Martin / St Maarten • Entry/Admission - Topper's Rhum Distillery Tours • Entry/Admission - Amsterdam Cheese and Liquor Store
Exclusions
Hotel pickup and drop-off • Food • Gratuities • Air Conditioning
Duration
3h 30m
Departure details
Traveler pickup is offered.
If you come by cruise ship, meet us at the bus-terminal inside the Port. If you DO NOT come by cruise ship, we'll pick you up at the Bus-Stop across the Harbour
Dock Maarten, Juancho Yrausquin Blvd, Philipsburg, Sint Maarten We meet guests inside the Port, or at the Bus-Stop across the Harbor
Ports:
Saint Maarten Cruise Terminal, Saint Martin, Sint Maarten
Inclusions
Sightseeing bus tour • Audio-guide system in 7 different languages: English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Spanish and Chinese • Headsets to hear the audio-guide • Purified ice-cold water • Entry/Admission - St Martin / St Maarten • Entry/Admission - Topper's Rhum Distillery Tours • Entry/Admission - Amsterdam Cheese and Liquor Store
Exclusions
Hotel pickup and drop-off • Food • Gratuities • Air Conditioning
Departure details
Traveler pickup is offered.
If you come by cruise ship, meet us at the bus-terminal inside the Port. If you DO NOT come by cruise ship, we'll pick you up at the Bus-Stop across the Harbour
Dock Maarten, Juancho Yrausquin Blvd, Philipsburg, Sint Maarten We meet guests inside the Port, or at the Bus-Stop across the Harbor
Ports:
Saint Maarten Cruise Terminal, Saint Martin, Sint Maarten
Duration
3h 30m
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Dress code is smart casual
A very small amount of walking is involved
Not wheelchair accessible
Service animals allowed
Near public transportation
Most travelers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 70 travelers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Dock Maarten
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Cruise Port
    Stop: 15 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Marigot
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Maho
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Topper's Rhum Distillery Tours
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission included
    See details
    Pass by
    Simpson Bay
  • 5
    Amsterdam Cheese and Liquor Store
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 6
    Philipsburg
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Dock Maarten
    Juancho Yrausquin Blvd, Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
    We meet guests inside the Port, or at the Bus-Stop across the Harbor
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

3.0
25 reviews
Excellent
5
Very good
6
Average
4
Poor
3
Terrible
7

Jan P
Whitehouse, TX67 contributions
No show tour!
We were so looking forward to this excursion and so were many more from our ship! We arrived before the designated time but no one from the tour company was there. 45 minutes later still no one but Royal finally sent someone out. That’s when we got the bad news - the tour was cancelled with no explanation. They offered us a different tour but it didn’t go to the rum factory or the cheese factory which were the two places we picked for the tour. Very disappointed!! Thanks to Royal for trying to save our day in St Maarten. Shame on this tour company for leaving so many of us disappointed.
Written February 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IslandSightseeing
Dear guest, we are so sorry that you were misinformed. On the way to the Port we had a flat tire on the bus and we informed that we would take more 30min to arrive. We were told that guests didn't want to wait at all and they canceled the tour on us also, and full refunding all guests. Believe us that we were also looking forward to this excursion since this season we have fewer ships in Port. Wish you managed to have a fun day in Sint Maarten, and come back for a free tour on us ;-)
Written March 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael S
1 contribution
Stuck below
Jan 2020
Three out of the 4 stops seemed to be more about sales then sightseeing would like to have stopped at Bells lookout point for photos.
We stood mid-way in the line on the pier waiting to walk to the bus slow walkers and wheel chair families were sent ahead to give them time to get on the bus. Others behind us in line pushed past and budded in line. By the time we got on the bus, the top of the bus was full who doesn’t want to sit up top? So we sat down below by the noise of the engine. This was ok thinking we could sit up top after the first stop but the guide said we needed to sit in the same seats for the rest of the tour??? Guess we should have joined in with the push to the front crowd after all we will never see them again.
Written February 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IslandSightseeing
Hello Michael, thank you for your feedback. We have photo-stops and free tasting stops: Toppers Rhum Distillery: Free Rhum Tasting Maho Airport Beach: Photo-Stop of low landing airplanes Gelataria Italiana: Free ride on a vintage carousel Bell's Lookout Point: slow pass by on the layby for pictures of the view, stopping depends on parking availability. Dutch Cheese venue: Free Old Amsterdam Cheese tasting. Some stops do have souvenir shops for those who want to take some gifts back home, but you only buy if you want, and that's not related to our sightseeing tour. We do send the slow walkers and wheelchairs first since they take their time getting to the bus and always stay on the lower deck on the handicapped seats close to doors. There's many folks that like the shade of the lower deck, as on a normal bus. Younger generations like to open-top upper deck to enjoy the sun. It's generally a 50/50 choice, and we also never sell all seats, leaving at least 10 seats available for extra comfort and opportunity for those who had too much sun to head to the lower deck at the stops. We do ask to wait until everybody's seated on their seats, where most have their belongings before searching for empty seats. Next vacations inform the tour guide at the pier that you would like to stay on top as a returned guest, and the team will have the pleasure to accommodate you. You can also reserve seats in advance, just let us know, and your name will be printed in a sign at your chosen seats.
Written March 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Raymond R
Edmonton, Canada36 contributions
Not bad at all
Stopped at the Toppers Rhum factory - yes that’s how you spell it - which isn’t something I was looking forward to even though I love rum but hey it was fantastic and the rhum was delicious and several small samples were provided. Maho beach was amazing as expected next time I’d just go there for half day and Philipsburg the rest of the day. The carousel was probably the what’s happening here moment of the tour. I mean you’re in the Caribbean. Why would I want a ride on the carousel my ship has a carousel and I don’t even go on it there. There were no children on our tour so...... I presume it’s the kickbacks from the ice cream store. The Dutch cheese place was good. I am half Dutch so I love me some Dutch cheese but surely there must be more interesting things to do there..... anyway lots of good photo ops and overall good experience. Can’t recall the drivers name but a nice amicable joking guy. Made it fun for us.
Written January 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

C J
Michigan4 contributions
Misogynistic and Homophobic Tour Guide, Boring stops, Limited language options
Dec 2019
We booked this tour through our Royal Caribbean Cruise. I traveled with my elderly grandmother on this tour thinking it would be easier for her to see more of the island. When we approached the bus, the driver, Victor, asked us where our husbands were as if two women are not allowed to travel alone. Not to mention, I actually have a girlfriend, which I proceeded to politely tell him with a laugh. The tour guide then said something to the effect that he is fearful of two women being alone together and being close... As in, he is afraid of two women dating. I bit my tongue for the most part besides calmly telling him that what he said was homophobic.

So, that's how our day started on the Double Decker Bus!

From there, the day didn't pick up much. The stops left a lot to be desired. I'm not sure if this was due to half of the island being shut down to tourists (we only toured the Dutch side). If I remember correctly, we stopped at a warehouse/ rum distillery, a crowded beach, a carousel (why? still not sure), and most curiously, a cheese shop. By the end, we were also starving... I ended up running during the Carousel stop to a very lovely coffee shop "The Coffee Lounge" which I completely recommend! (Note: this is not a tour for anyone who cannot have dairy. The only food at the stops contained milk.)

Skip this one if you only have a day in St. Maarten. Skip this one if you'd like to avoid being belittled on your vacation.
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IslandSightseeing
Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We can only apologize for the inappropriate comments from our guide. Everyone is more than welcome on our tours and we wish all to feel comfortable and happy during their stay in St Maarten. We deeply apologize and will make sure it does not happen again. Regarding the Tour itself. This Tour is conducted only on the Dutch side of the island, since hurricane Irma seriously destroyed the Island. The tour has 4 stops as described on the brochure onboard the ship and online. The Rum distillery,(Rum is a big tourist attraction) , Maho Beach (famous for the airplanes landing), Carrocel - an Ice cream shop with a Unique Carrocel in the Caribbean and the Cheese Store, as Holland is famous for Gouda cheese. We try to show as much as possible during those 3 hours and 30 min. The unique multilingual audio system, that has all the Island History in 7 languages (including English), is GPS triggered for you to have the correct information, on the correct location. It has 2h of content about every detail of the island: Historical, Contemporaneous and even information about hotels and restaurants along the way. We thank you again and wish you the best hoping you will return to St Maarten.
Written January 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sharon A
St. Petersburg, United States43 contributions
Very nice tour and great tour guide and driver
Nov 2019
My husband and I took this tour and we sat on the bottom level because my husband can't take too much sun. At our first stop my husband wasn't feeling too well and was feeling dizzy and weak from low blood pressure. He went back to the bus and our tour guide Damy said she would get him a special veggie drink at the next stop to help raise his BP. She tried to get the drink at several shops but they didn't have it. After leaving that stop she had the driver stop at another store on the way and she got the drink and would not let us pay for it. The drink did help. She was so very sweet and did a great job with the tour. Our bus driver Victor was also great and a very good driver around the narrow and congested roads. He was also very friendly and funny and we enjoyed talking to him. Both Damy and Victor were great. Would recommend this tour.
Written November 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MsKiesha
Cupertino, CA2,023 contributions
Worst tour of entire trip
Oct 2019
This was the worst tour of my entire 7 day cruise. The tour guide was not engaging and gave poor directions at the stops. There were recordings of information played over the speakers and the guide was on the first floor so there were no opportunities to ask questions and no kind of input into the sculptures or history of the island. The stops were great. The best part was the driver, he was great and phenomenal at maneuvering the bus. I would not recommend this tour with this guide.
Written October 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Mskiesha Let me start by thanking you for choosing our tour and taking your time to give your feedback. I sorry that you left disappointed with the guide but happy to know that you enjoyed your time during the stoops and (like me) was impressed by the driver’s skills on the road. Since the hurricane the roads have a few more holes than anticipated and it is not easy, with such a big Bus, to avoid them. The unique multilingual audio system, that has all the Island History in 7 languages (including English) is GPS triggered for you to have the correct information, on the correct location, and has 2h of content about every detail on the island: Historical, Contemporaneous and even some information about hotels and restaurants along the way. On the lower lever on the bus it should be clear but we will have look to see what could have happened. I hope you have enjoyed the Island and will revisit as soon as possible. Thank you and we wish you all the best!
Written October 30, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sadt0mat0
sadt0mat075 contributions
Enjoyable tour
Sep 2019
I read the reviews before we took this tour and just took them all with a grain of salt. I am glad we did this tour. We stopped here on our Royal Caribbean cruise. Our thought was we would do the tour and then go back to any part of the island that interested us. Our driver, Victor, was great. Yes the overhead narration repeats itself and is out of date but honestly sitting up top we couldn't hear most of it do that wasn't an issue for us. We stopped at Topper's Rhum and got to shop and look around. It was definitely not fancy but the rum was decent. We stopped at Maho beach which it where the planes come in. I would have liked to spend more time there but we did get to see a smaller plane land. We stopped at a gelato stop. The gelato was delicious. We also stopped at the cheese shop. I enjoyed it but yes it is just a store.

What I really enjoyed most was just seeing the country. There is definitely a lot of destruction from the hurricane and trash in some areas but that didn't really discount the tour for me. I know some reviews said its so beautiful how do they not take better care of their island. The people are poor and are doing the best they can. It really is beautiful so go support the island.
Written October 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Irma was definitely a set back on the development of the Island but bit by bit we are getting there and visits like yours are very important to keep us going. Our unique multilingual audio system, has all the Island History in 7 languages (including English). It is GPS triggered for you to have the correct information on the correct location. It has 2h of content about every detail on the island: Historical, Contemporaneous and even some information about hotels and restaurants along the way. We try to keep it updated. I am glad to know you enjoyed it and thank you again for your support! Hope to see you again.
Written October 30, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kim N
La Plata, MD88 contributions
Not worth the money
This tour was a complete waste of time. First the bus has no a/c so it's sweltering. The tour guide sounded fine when she did her sound check before we started. However, once started she would talk as the bus was accelerating and no one had a clue as to what she said. She would give some details that sounded scripted because a similar recorded message came over the intercom and they contradicted each other! She would say up on the right ahead here you'll see something and did not point it out at all so we were all left guessing. The 1st stop was at the rhum business. It was fine, not much to see and do, no information about how many people work there, how much volume done, etc... The next stop was at an ice cream shop and carousel. No organization. So basically a free for all because people have no manners. Next was a stop at a Dutch cheese stop where we were to sample cheese. They cut off a sliver of cheese as each of us piled into the establishment. The cheese was good, the staff was friendly. The host for the bus said I have a surprise for you at the end of this tour, she gave us each 1 cookie! We were hoping for a full refund. Each time we would be driving to a stop the host would say you have blank minutes, we were not sure if that started at that time or when we finally arrived and stopped. It was a complete s**t show and total waste of money. We ordered excursion through Royal Caribbean Allure of the seas on 10/2/19. Driver was Victor, host never heard her name. Don't waste your time or money. The island had some nice spots but would probably be more interesting with a better guide.
Written October 2, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Kim Let me start by thanking you for choosing our tour and taking your time to give your feedback. Please allow me to explain a few things about your remarks. We drive an Open Top Double Decker therefore AC is never an option and I am very sorry that you left disappointed with the guide. We will do better in the future for sure! information like yours is important to look at every issue that needs improving. We have a unique multilingual audio system, that has all the Island History in 7 languages (including English). It is GPS triggered for you to have the correct information, on the correct location, and it has 2h of content about every detail on the island including hotels and restaurants along the way. If the system did not work properly we will look into it asap and we apologize for the bad experience. We do three stops along the way to show guests some of the best things the vendors on the Island have to offer together with the world famous attraction of Maho Beach. I hope you give the Island a second opportunity as it is still recovering from a major Hurricane. Thank you and we wish you all the best!
Written October 30, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SteveR066
Allen Park, MI260 contributions
Double Decker Bus RIDE is what your getting
Mar 2019 • Friends
To begin - The Driver and the Hostess were fantastic, the tour itself? Not so much. I will break it down as best I can so you have the full scoop.
The tour claims that you see historic land marks, and architecture along with visiting the world famous Maho Beach (Where the plains land) during your 3.5 Hours.
To be honest we spent more time driving and only seen 4 Land marks – which in my opinion looked like run down architecture which is extremely sad in its own way. The St. Maarten you see in pictures and advertisements is not what you will see on this tour – The whole experience left me wondering why people that live in such a beautiful paradise can live in trash, junk yards, etc.. It was very disheartening knowing what the island truly looks like as you travel in deeper and deeper. The tour was guided by a pre- recording of the historic areas that repeated the same thing over 4x. Here is the breakdown of stops
Rum Factory – 35 Minutes, why? Because you are buying intercoastal items
Maho Beach and Airport – 10 Minutes – That’s it
A statue of the Found of the island – 10 Minutes
An Ice cream Gelato Store – 30 Minutes Again Buying items to help the business Economy
Last stop is a Cheese Store - ???? Still haven’t figured this one out

So 3.5 Hour drive and 1 Hour and 25 Minutes of stops – That’s allot of driving. Again, the driver and hostess were great, the tour itself? You can honestly get more information on the internet. I understand the GDP and the business etc… However taking a bus tour that claims learn the history of the island and all you do is drive around for 2 Hours and feeling obligated to buy something at the stops felt a little disheartening for my group. You are much better off touring the island by cab or uber.

We collectively give this excursion a 3 out of 10 Stars
Written March 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

13betty
Tampa, FL699 contributions
Nice
Jan 2019 • Friends
We enjoyed this tour. We were disappointed there was no room left up top but as the morning went on, we were glad since it became very warm. It was a nice tour with recorded narration.
Written February 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 24
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Open Top Double Decker Tours
M2755OIscottl
M2755OIscottl
00
Good experience, pick up was a little confusing
The crew on the Trolly Train was very friendly. The process for getting picked up was a little confusing. They need
I5266HDmichaelh
I5266HDmichaelh
00
Did not enjoy.
So we did this excursion through Royal Caribbean in essence it sounded like a great idea. In reality it was extreme
bobbeck3
bobbeck3
00
Disappointing
The commentary was not with the location and did not even work for some of the tour. The bus doesn’t have aircondit
marceak
marceak
00
Excursion Tour while on a cruise
THE WORST!! We booked this excursion through and while on a Royal Caribbean cruise. So lame! They had a pre-recorde
Bonnie W
Bonnie W
00
Disappointed
The website description was a hoax....we didn't see any of those things...well, we did see a plane fly over head. D
opjp
opjp
00
Nice ride
Our party of 4 including 2 kids enjoyed the ride on the double decker bus. We stopped at a few places including a
Mjrice1976
Mjrice1976
00
Unimportant
Unimportant is how I felt. I was unimportant to them as they took me to unimportant places. Nothing of interest to
kevinlY1011GT
kevinlY1011GT
00
Hard to hear the the guide
The bus was new and clean. It had headphones that were cumbersome to use. Part of the tour was pre-recorded and par
theoldbikers
theoldbikers
00
not a photo tour, it's a ripoff
We were told by Royal Carribean tour desk and the brochure that there were several stops to take photos. Instead w
GWBucks
GWBucks
00
Royal Caribbean tour
Nice to have a drive around the island - I guess. Goes to a Rum distillery in a warehouse area, then to the bar at
carolkemp
carolkemp
00
Worst Tour I have been on in years
We purchased this tour from Royal Caribbean Oasis of the Seas. I have visited St. Marteen since 1999 and stayed fo
familyfun528
familyfun528
00
Horrible Experience- Waste of money
Booked this excursion through Royal Caribbean. The guides were not personable and the trolley speaker system did n
bigbob12345
bigbob12345
00
Stay on board if this is only option
This tiur was HORRIBLE!! First the tour left 20 minutes late, then the bus could only go 2 mph (yes! 2 mph) up the
David D
David D
00
Basille Day in the rain
The tour was not bad. Saw the island and learned a little. Don't go on this tour if it is a National Holiday on th
How W
How W
00
Open top double decker tours
If you want to take the tour to view the island of St. Marten do not take the open top double decker tour. It is th