Tours and Tickets

Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten provided by St. Maarten Bike Tours - TriSport

Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten

Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten
4.5
Book in advance
from
$50.26
per adult
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
3h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
20
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 7120HISTORICAL
Important information
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Use of bicycle
  • Use of helmet
  • Bottled water
  • One cold beverage (water, soda, beer or rum punch)
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food
  • Hotel pick up and drop off
Duration
3h
Departure details
  • Saint Maarten Cruise Terminal, Saint Martin, 79 Juancho Yrausquin Blvd, Sint Maarten If you are arriving by ship, your tour starts at the Cruise Terminal near the statue of Peter Stuyvesant. If you are staying on the island, you can park at Bobby’s Marina and enter the cruise ship terminal via the EDC Parking lot . Wait for us by the big white tent.
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Use of bicycle
  • Use of helmet
  • Bottled water
  • One cold beverage (water, soda, beer or rum punch)
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food
  • Hotel pick up and drop off
Departure details
  • Saint Maarten Cruise Terminal, Saint Martin, 79 Juancho Yrausquin Blvd, Sint Maarten If you are arriving by ship, your tour starts at the Cruise Terminal near the statue of Peter Stuyvesant. If you are staying on the island, you can park at Bobby’s Marina and enter the cruise ship terminal via the EDC Parking lot . Wait for us by the big white tent.
Duration
3h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Saint Maarten Cruise Terminal
    Saint Martin, 79 Juancho Yrausquin Blvd, Sint Maarten
    If you are arriving by ship, your tour starts at the Cruise Terminal near the statue of Peter Stuyvesant. If you are staying on the island, you can park at Bobby’s Marina and enter the cruise ship terminal via the EDC Parking lot . Wait for us by the big white tent.
    See address & details
  • 1
    St. Maarten Bike Tours - TriSport
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Pointe Blanche
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Philipsburg
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Philipsburg
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
41 reviews
Excellent
31
Very good
5
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
3

P1029HBelizabethb
Toano, VA6 contributions
This was a great trip. The bikes are great, with gears, and make the trip very doable for a 50 year old in average condition. We had an awesome guide, Jenel. He ensured our safety, and explained so much of the history of the island. He loves St. Maarten and his pride made us love it too! It was the perfect way to spend our day in port.
Written February 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wander608801
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very lucky to have Jenel as one of our guides and we will certainly pass on your compliments. And thank you for choosing our tour :)
Written February 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

robininoakfield
Oakfield, NY23 contributions
Fun and easy! Use a e- bike. Marcy was caring and professional with our safety in mind. It’s a great way to see Phillsburg. Perfect for active seniors with many rest stops. She brought us water and if we fell behind she waited, no rush. We really learned a bit of history as we biked, even a stop at the steel drum school! Great rum punch at the beach as we made new friends. I highly recommend this.
Written October 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wander608801
Thank you very much for taking the time to make a review. We really appreciate it, and we are very happy you enjoyed your tour.
Written October 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Rick S
Alpharetta, GA11 contributions
Very nice, leisurely way to see Philipsburg. Marcy our guide was knowledgeable about the area. Bikes were in good shape, only needed to use a few of the gears. Stop near the end for a cold drink was a nice touch.
Written July 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wander608801
Many thanks for taking the time to review your bike experience; means a lot to us! Hope to see you again on SXM
Written July 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kathleen V
3 contributions
We paid for this experience in advance. On the morning of the tour, we called to confirm since it was raining (even our taxi driver said it was raining too hard for a safe bike ride) and were told to come to the meeting place since they expected the rain to clear shortly. The "meeting place" is a parking lot on the other side of a high fence from the bike office...only cruise passengers are permitted inside the area. We sat on wet folding chairs in the rain for an hour and called the operator multiple times for assistance (answer "still waiting"). Finally, the operator's son told us the trip was canceled and a second employee (female) confirmed that they would refund our money. NO REFUND HAS BEEN ISSUED!! While waiting for our taxi we saw the operator greeting a group from a cruise ship and bringing bikes out (the rain had stopped, the road still very wet). One of the customers near the fence (on the "right" side of the fence!) told us the cruise ship group was late so the operator had delayed the trip to accommodate them (although the weather was surely a secondary concern). No staff member approached us to apologize, offer us the opportunity to participate (now that the important customers had arrived, etc.).
Written January 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wander608801
Hello Kathleen, I am sorry to hear that the communication was unfruitful. Certainly a very challenging day with the rain. Normally showers at this time of the year pass in 10 minutes.The cruise group you were joining was held up also under a tent for the conditions to better. i understand your disappointment if you were not invited to join. I was under the understanding you were told. We will try a better communication with external guest that are not coming on cruise ships. Thanks for bringing the matter to our attention.
Written January 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Rochelle V
4 contributions
We agree with Kathleen V although our experience was a bit different. Our tour was scheduled for 8:30 am and our cruise ship docked at 8:00. We rushed off the boat and found the bike office after asking numerous folks where it was. Turned out to be just bikes parked near a bus terminal. We were told we missed our tour because ship time and St Maarten time is an hour different! Please be aware of this!!! We too were told we could get a refund, and since the guy on the ground did not have any business cards, he had us take a photo of his websites. When we submitted this for a refund, we were denied. We use trip advisor often and we highly discourage this company as they tell different stories than what to expect. Bikes did not look like they were maintained either. Stay clear.
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wander608801
We are very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. Our tours cater to both cruise ship passengers and stay over guests, which is why we keep the bicycles close to the entrance so that those not on a cruise can join our tours without the hassle of getting a visitor’s pass at the main gate. Any cancellations must be made 24 hours in advance in order to be refunded. Of course, if a tour is canceled due to weather conditions, then your payment is fully refundable. Unfortunately, in your case, you arrived late at the start, not due to our negligence, in which case, your deposit is non refundable. TripAdvisor can certainly contact us if they take responsibility for your late arrival. Our bicycles are Trek FX2 model 2020 and are frequently maintained as we are Trek USA distributors since 1992 and own 2 bike shops on Island. Hope we can take you and yours on a bike tour next time so that you can have a real feel of the company. Yours in sports, JP
Written January 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Alison B
Bournemouth, UK49 contributions
Met Marcia and Benson on this beautiful island for a cycle ride ride along the coast, quay and towns roads. Fun and informative. Complimentary rum punch following a not too hard ride in the heat of the day.
Written February 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wander608801
We really appreciate your feedback and will pass on your compliments to our wonderful guides. Thank you!
Written February 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Zonietraveller
Tucson, AZ6 contributions
Family
Very enjoyable. learned a lot. Marcie and Benson were excellent guides. not very strenuous with lots of stops. (our 13 yo son had no problem). got a good sense of phillipsburg and able to see a lot because we were on bikes.
Written July 8, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kathy S
Ocala, FL4 contributions
Couples
My husband and I booked a tour through Viator for a Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St. Maarten. We had a terrific time. We were lucky enough to have our guide, Joost of Tri-Sport, to ourselves for the full 3 hours. Everything was provided, a 21 speed bike, helmet, bottled water, and Joost gave us a great overview of the history of Philipsburg and the island of St. Maarten. We rode the bikes from the cruise port all the way out to Fort Amsterdam on the west side of the island. We are not accustomed to riding on hills and one hill was a little much for us so we got off and walked a short way, but overall the ride was tons of fun and Joost was great. He even treated us to a cold beverage once we got back to the port. We highly recommend this fun bike tour.
Written December 6, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

SoccermomApril
3 contributions
Couples
We lucked out and got a private tour with Joost. We did this tour at the beginning of our stay in St.Maarten. Joost gave us so much information about the island both in history, attractions and how to get around on foot and bus as we did not have a car for the remainder of our stay. The Gem of St.Maarten tour was challenging but worth every hill climb. Having Joost navigate us in traffic really put us at ease and allowed us to enjoy the entire ride. The views we experienced were amazing and Joost took some wonderful photos of us with beautiful scenes. It was fun to get to know him and his life on the island as a bike tour guide. Joost was kind enough to explain on the map how to hike up the large hill in Philipsburg which I did the following day. I was able to capture some beautiful photos from up there. I was so at ease because he explained how long of a hike it would be and that the roads (both paved and rocky) to the top were all public (I wanted to ensure I was not trespassing on any private property). He also explained how to flag down a bus to get to Maho and Marigot which we did a few days later. All in all the ride was great but more than that it was great to hang with someone local for a day. We learned so much!
Written March 14, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Go135637
1 contribution
A nice tour, just as described. Our guide was fun as was the other couple who joined us. We would recommend this as a simple ride.
Written March 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wander608801
Many thanks for taking the time to review our bike tour. Glad you have enjoyed it and looking forward to a next sport encounter while on St Maarten
Written March 30, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 39
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: St. Maarten Bike Tours - TriSport
kazreeves
kazreeves
00
Kayaking and snorkelling experience to remember
Just had an amazing morning kayaking and snorkelling with 3 great guys who took 23 of us on a caribbean boot camp!!
Finallybrokepar
Finallybrokepar
00
Gem of St. Maarten Bicycle Tour - Great tour! Get an e-bike!!!
My wife and I did the Gem of St. Maarten tour with one other couple as a cruise excursion. Benny was a great guid
Jenny Z
Jenny Z
00
Guana Bay Hike - Incredible and 100% worth it!
We did the Guana Bay hike and it was one of the best experiences of our trip. Good shoes (at least runners, definit
G4826EBsuem
G4826EBsuem
00
Great time!
This proved to be a great experience for our family of five. It was just the right amount of kayaking and snorkeli
kschmidt2020
kschmidt2020
00
Electric Bike tour
My husband and I took TriSports electric bike tour from the Cruise Ship Harbour in St. Maarten. It was an amazing
Lasav12
Lasav12
00
Biking St Maarten
A great company to deal with. All that was promised. Easy access from cruise port. Excellent bikes. Owner gave us a
Flyer100864
Flyer100864
00
Electric bike tour
My husband and I took the electric bike tour of St. Maarten. It was a great way to see the island. It was a 3 hou
annemQ4365PK
annemQ4365PK
00
Simpson Bay,Christmas Eve Day 2019
My 3 adult children, 2 SOs and I spent a beautiful morning kayaking and snorkeling. The excursion was well-organize
DrSunshine14
DrSunshine14
00
Great day on wheels
Excellent easy going bike tour for novice or cyclist. Great tour guides and very focused on safety. Beautiful count
Michael Ann E
Michael Ann E
00
Adventure amazing race!!
Super nice group of leaders. The race was pricy for an hour activity (about $250 for four). We did have a great tim
bastianbahr
bastianbahr
00
Great Time
Luca and Javi were amazing. We really had a good time. We came with a group from a cruise with all ages. They took
mickeyfick
mickeyfick
00
Terrific Kayak and Snorkel Cruise Excursion
Luca, Lily, and Casey were awesome! We had a great time kayaking and snorkeling and hanging out at the beautiful l
shawns508
shawns508
00
Historical Tour; cool and EZ
Marci & Jemel were great; kept us safe and taught us about life on the island and it’s history. The route was easy
Sondra G
Sondra G
00
Great time
Had a great time. Booked another cruise in May and we already book the over the mountain bike ride. Booked their el
lizbQ3339QF
lizbQ3339QF
00
Amazing bike tour philipsberg
Great tour good quality bikes excellent guides around a lovely town on the Dutch side of St Maarten . Marcie and ge
Frequently Asked Questions about Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten

Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten price starts from $50.26. Discover and book Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten on Tripadvisor

Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten on Tripadvisor

Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten is hosted by St. Maarten Bike Tours - TriSport. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact St. Maarten Bike Tours - TriSport on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 3h. Discover and book Historical Philipsburg Bike Tour in St Maarten on Tripadvisor